Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

9th August 2011:
Excellent entry! Wonderful. Incredible. I loved it so so much!

What an inspired idea to write about The Grey Lady. We read so little about her that it's always a pleasure to know more about our beloved minor characters. I loved how you kept her in character, even though we don't know much about her or how she truly is...if that makes sense. Her relationship with the Baron was also spot on. Even if they ended in relatively peaceful terms, she didn't forget their past. It's always invigorating when I read events and characters kept close to canon.

Also her evolution felt real. How she used to hide every time she was supposed to do something but preferred not to meddle. It really seemed the like the type of thing she'd do. But then she finally realised that doing what was easy was never the right path to take. The ghost assembly was a delight to read. I always wondered what the ghosts did for the Battle.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hi,
First ghost story I have come across in the collab but it is very well done. You have them helping rather than watching it take place because lets face it, I doubt they would.

Your seperate story of Helena within the story of them helping the war was really nice as well because it shows as much as a war destroys things it doesn't mean time amd life stops.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
YAY!! I loved this!! I am quite fascinated by the baron and grey lady and it lifted up my spirits to see an entire chap on them!! coool!!

~AD

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Seeing what the ghosts could do in the war is really strange. I liked the conversation with her mom though it added a lot of depth into the story! :) this was a great read!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
YAY Helena Ravenclaw first helping find the Diadem (even though she stole it in the first place) and now rallying the ghosts (and Peeves) to fight and help the Light side of the fray.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Drummergirlred 

18th August 2010:
Interesting tale with the ghosts. I like that Helena seemed to forgive the Bloody Baron. I love that Helena was the one to get all the ghosts with helping with the battle and she took control. This was Clawsome! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by momotwins 

18th August 2010:
There is just not enough Grey Lady stuff out there. Nice to see a bunch of people portraying her for the collab. :)

I like her conversation with her mother. It's funny, I'd never thought of the portraits and ghosts interacting before, but I think it would have been inevitable for Helena to seek out her mother's portrait over the centuries she's haunted the castle. I also like Helena's disgust for Myrtle, seems very in character for what we know of her.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
I like the concept of this chapter: the Grey Lady, finally having the chance of getting her good name back. Your writing style is also good, but I think that Helena is out of character.
She was always the quiet one. She didn't seem to have any inclination to make great speeches, to get people together and fight for her home. If she would have helped, it would be something small: saving a student's life by gliding in front of a Death Eater before he cast a spell, for example.
Even if I disagree with the plot, the chapter is undoubtedly well written and it flows in a thought-out way.

 Report Review

Review #9, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
This was a very interesting take on the battle. The ghosts weren't mentioned much if at all in the books and I like that you took on the challenge of writing from their pov. I would have liked to find out what they would do for the battle. Being non-corporeal, it must be tough to fight a war. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by melian 

30th July 2010:
What a fascinating story! Reading the perspective of the Grey Lady was quite illuminating - I really liked her hiding from the battle, then the discussion with her mother, then leading the ghost council to fight for good. It was just so well thought out and executed that I can't help but bow in admiration. This is probably one of the best thought-out stories I've yet read in this collaboration. Nice job!

 Report Review

Review #11, by propertyoftheHBP 

22nd July 2010:
I really liked this! The Grey Lady is a Ravenclaw rather open-ended to write about, and the idea of a couple dozen ghosts or so swooping around Hogwarts and acting like...well, acting like ghosts is rather scary indeed.

I loved the scene where Helena made peace with her mother--like I said, we don't know much about her, or her mother, but they are Ravenclaws, and they fit that characteristic well.

Also, I liked how she made a semi-sort of peace with the Bloody Baron. I mean, he killed her, I doubt that they're going to ever be bosom ghosty buddies, but now there isn't a strange awkwardness between them.

It's a great entry, good work! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by RonsGirlFriday 

26th June 2010:
I really enjoyed this characterization of Helena, as well as the idea that the ghosts could do something to help in the battle. The interaction between Helena and the Baron was also really touching - the fact that he still has that reverence for her despite the coldness between them. And the writing itself is flawless. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #13, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
That idea that Helena would be grey no more, that catharis, that redemption - that was lovely. And it worked so well in this.

You really got inside Helena's head and the way she must have felt. I don't know how you did it, but you really did! I loved that interactions between all the ghosts, particularly the Baron. That was all so well done. As was the interaction between Helena and Rowena. That was such a touching moment.

It's lovely to think that even the ghosts would want to band together and show their loyalty to Hogwarts and you really captured the essence of that well here.

 Report Review

Review #14, by theelderwand 

19th June 2010:
The ghosts! Very original, the interchange between Rowena and Helena was excellent. And the ghost council flourish was brilliant.

I liked this alot!

TEW

 Report Review

Review #15, by butterbeergal 

19th June 2010:
Excellent portrayal of the Grey Lady, especially in the first part. I am amazed at how you managed to get into her head so well and to tell her story in just a short piece. What's funny is that my favorite character here has to be the Bloody Baron. Even though he barely said anything, and only appeared twice, the way you wrote him really left an impression on me. I think he was not at all bad and was just a sorely misunderstood person/ghost, and you definitely showed that side of him here.

Awesome job!

 Report Review

Review #16, by JLHufflepuff 

18th June 2010:
This is brilliant! The characterization fits with what little we know about the Grey Lady, and I feel that I really get to know what she stands for, what her issues are. I love that she gains redemption at the end and is no longer doomed to be grey - because she faced her resentment toward the Baron and her fear in general. When she learns to use her heart instead of just her head, she is "freed." This is a great idea!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review