Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

8th August 2011:
All the stories I have read showing us how hard losing Fred was to George are just heart wrenching. Yours had something else in it, something more that made it special: you created that unbreakable link that unites twins. I loved the fact that George knew, the moment the wall had exploded, that something had happened to Fred. I still firmly believe that there is a special, stronger link between twins than other siblings.

It was a very fine read and I'm pleased to say that you have kept the characters in character. If you follow my other reviews, you will notice that this is one if one of the most important aspects when writing a story for me, so every time I find an author that does that makes me want to squeee :D


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by slytherinchica08 

29th March 2011:
wow this so was beautifully sad. I like how you have George thinking its a big joke and then when they take Fred to the Great Hall he thinks about their pranks and them laughing. that last paragraph really summed it all up and I really enjoyed it! Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
aw. this was so sad. if there's one thing that i didn't like about JKR's writing, its fred's death. thats the ONLY thing... :(

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
I hate the thought of this. George without Fred it just doesnt seem fair, not at all. I think this is portrayed really well honestly. I can see George in his mind thinking of every single way to prove to himself that this was not real and Fred pulling a joke seems most probable! This was really well done and i could feel the emotions George had Great job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
Poor George, and the rest of the Weasley family, losing both a son/brother and close friends all in the same night. it's a shame that's the price of war weither it be real or fictional

 Report Review

Review #6, by strawberrydarhling 

23rd March 2011:
I had no idea how much this would affect me. You carry the emotion so well it felt as though I had lost my twin (I don't have a twin, but you know what I mean).

This was amazing, I'm lost for words.

Megan
xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

22nd August 2010:
Wow! I love how you've portrayed George, particularly as actually sensing that something was amiss with Fred, I haven't seen that done yet! However what I loved even more than that was the way you've captured so much emotion in such a short space of time. In under 600 words you've managed to portray so much raw emotion it's almost difficult to believe! I'm in awe of how you have done this so realistically and wonderfully!

Keep up the marvelous work!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Drummergirlred 

18th August 2010:
very interesting George piece, left it very open for interpretation. This was very well written and nice variation on a popular character choice for the collab. nice job!

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle 

15th August 2010:
This story is really well written. Fred's death is always so sad, so its no wonder this is a sad story. I've read many George's perspective, and I liked your characterisation of him here. Him being able to 'sense' Fred with the hole in his chest was really sad, and him thinking it was a joke, is truly their personality. The ending is so sad. You wrote this really well though, and I liked reading it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne 

14th August 2010:
I am nearly in tears, It's like Fred has died all over again. I wonder if George did feel something when Fred died in the books? You have come up with a wonderful idea and I loved this so much even if it was extremely sad. I just have to read this again.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
Dramatic, emotional, heartbreaking. Deeply connecting the two brothers, as if they were one person, as if when one died, a part of the other went with him, made the other not whole anymore. Showing the truest family love that connected the Weasleys, but ran especially strong in the twins' blood, despite their many pranks and disobediences. Showing the other twin's unspoken grief. All that every story about Fred's death should be.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
Goodness. Some of these collab pieces are just breaking my heart and this one really accomplished that, heh. Fred stories always get to me. I loved the way you portrayed George's belief that it was all just a joke. It was so appropriate to their characters. Of course George thought it was a joke. That's just what makes sense, or at least that's what your story convinced me of. You wrote this wonderfully.

 Report Review

Review #13, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
The second I read the first sentence, I knew who this story was about. From beginning to end, it read GEORGE. Your ability to pull his feelings out and express them as a writer is phenominal.

I especially like this passage: "As I looked at him, realizing I would only ever see him breathe again in my reflection". It caught me off guard. So profound and so true. Wonderfully done.

 Report Review

Review #14, by DemetersChild 

27th July 2010:
Aww, this was so bittersweet. Of course, George would think he was just playing anther joke. I actually saw a bit of fanart that portrayed the same sort of thing, except Fred came back to life in the piece. (He lives!)

I think that George would have felt it the moment it happened, even though he wasn't there. He would just know.

Lovely sad story.

-Dem-

 Report Review

Review #15, by melian 

25th July 2010:
Gee, this was tragic. The thought of poor George running through the castle trying to believe that it coudln't be true, then to be faced with it, is awful to read about. I'm incredibly impressed that you managed to do this in so few words and still make it this powerful because that's quite a feat, especially when dealing with such a subject. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #16, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
That denial that George feels, that disbelief that Fred could actuallly be dead is just so real and so true to what happens in real life. And it makes perfect sense that he would want it to be one big joke, that it could not possibly be real. Such good characterisation of George.

I loved that you used that 'twin connection' for George to feel that something was wrong with Fred. I also love that you showed the other Weasleys, all united in their grief. It was one of the most distressing parts of DH, but you captured it wonderfully.

 Report Review

Review #17, by butterbeergal 

19th June 2010:
I had goosebumps reading this. I cannot even begin to imagine how George felt at that time, but I'd say you did a solid job portraying him here. When he initially thought that Fred was just pulling a prank but eventually realized that he was really gone, wow, that was truly heartbreaking. And even though Percy didn't say anything here, I really liked how you wrote him.

Good job.

 Report Review

Review #18, by JLHufflepuff 

18th June 2010:
This almost made me cry, dang it! :) It was neat that you used the mysterious connections that twins have to let George know there was something wrong. I also think it was completely fitting for him to originally think Fred had convinced Percy to play along in a joke. It's very typical of both of them - and that's what makes it so horrifying when he realizes it's NOT a joke. Very moving!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review