Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Iloenchen 

13th August 2011:
Oh, I really liked this one-shot. It's so interesting to read about the battle from Oliver Wood's POV. I loved that he decided to fight on a broom, it fits him well. Was he actually in the battle in the books? I can't remember - not that it matters very much because you've written it all so well that it sounds very believable to me.

It's interesting how they decide to use the killing curse, but I guess that's what a war makes of you. Also, I loved the idea of summoning the cloak. That part was almost funny, when they were looking at the person from above and had no idea if it was a Death-Eater or not.

Altogether, you've done a great job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Debra20 

8th August 2011:
I'm speechless. Honestly. This was SUCH a great story I barely know what to say. You gripped my attention with your writing from the very beginning and never let go until the very end.

I loved all the characters. They seemed well in character (apart from the Killing Curse use...I just can't imagine them using it). Oliver Wood was fantastic. The idea to fight on brooms is just so like him it's almost canon. Very believable speeches gave even more depth to these minor characters apart from their actions.

The action scenes and description was just perfect. You have fantastic flow! All the time it felt like something big was building up until a certain point, the end, when Oliver killed Voldemort. I must have started at the screen for a few seconds re-reading that part. I was very surprised but not at all displeased It's a nice twist from canon and it fitted with the story. You are a very accomplished writers I must tell you :)


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hello,

I think my jaw just dropped. You are a women, I'm just guessing, after my own soul with orginality! I really love how he played to his strengths like Harry in the Triwizard tournament. It is smart and very well done.

Awesome story, just for the orginality points!

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
woah! that was surely a different angle of the war. Oliver killed Voldemort!! woah! but the idea and all was good!

cheers!
AD

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Oliver wood of course he would take the quidditch approach on it all! :) It was a strange read that is for sure, but interesting too. It kept me guessing untill the very end that is for sure! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
This was a really interesting piece. I liked how you had Oliver play into this and the idea of taking the fight to the air as welll. It was something really different and neat. I really enjoyed this piece, it flowed really well and was fun to read. I like how you have the ending not cannon since so many of the collab pieces are cannon. It was fun to see something different. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #7, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
YAY for Oliver coming up with a brilliant idea that of course still involved quidditch

 Report Review

Review #8, by Drummergirlred 

18th August 2010:
Nice little AU piece. Loved the flying and the action of this story. I was really able to picture Oliver and the rest of the group flying around picking off Death Eaters. Interesting having Wood kill off Voldemort, but it worked, nice job.

 Report Review

Review #9, by momotwins 

18th August 2010:
I remember reading this one before, but apparently I didn't review it.

I'm not much for AU, I'll admit. Still, it was fun to see Oliver as the hero of the day, and for him and Alicia and Angelina to work as a team again. I liked this line: So this was what they'd come to. after his first Killing Curse. It marks a line he's crossed, and can never go back from, so I'm glad you put that in, it sort of recognizes it in a subtle way.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
I've always had a soft spot for Wood. His characterization at the beginning was great - it gave a bit of a comic backdrop, for us ot bond with the character. The idea for Oliver, Alicia and Katie to attack from above was brilliant! The chapter was well-written and I couldn't see any grammar or spelling errors. You could work on making flow smoother (as not to use the lines), but it's fine as it is :-)

 Report Review

Review #11, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
wow. this was a good spin on the battle. I never really liked Oliver much, but you made it very readable, and I was engaged the whole time. I kind of would have liked it if it was kept cannon at the end, but the way you executed it was done very well. good job!

 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle 

28th July 2010:
I really enjoyed reading this!
The whole story was very good, the concept of the skies and Oliver was absolutely great and original!
I do wonder why they only attacked death eaters alone though... and also why the death eaters didn't do "accio broomsticks" and fly up as well...
Since I'm a stickler for canon, the ending was a bit of a disappointment for me, but i still think its very original!

 Report Review

Review #13, by melian 

25th July 2010:
What a wonderful idea! The concept of Oliver Wood leading the Quidditch charge from the skies (and then Summoning the DE's cloaks, hahaha) is brilliant, and you pulled it off wonderfully. I could really see all of this happening and as a place for Oliver in the battle itself it can't really be topped. Excellent work!

 Report Review

Review #14, by propertyoftheHBP 

22nd July 2010:
Oh, I absolutely love this idea. Apart from the (awesomely) AU ending, I could absolutely see this having happened at the actual battle.

I loved how this started at Oliver's flat rather than straight into the battle--it set the scene and mood differently than, say, having them right up in the air would, and I like it.

And I love how the old Quidditch team banded together one more time to fight, the way you wrote it created such a strong sense of unity.

I have to say, this line was by far my favorite:

"Finally they were fighting for a worthy cause. And even better, they were doing it his way."

Of course, it would be just like him to say that! It made me laugh in the midst of the dramatic scene, and while it was funny, it was also really serious.

At the risk of sounding repetitive, I'm going to again say that I loved everything! You did a wonderful job with this.

 Report Review

Review #15, by RonsGirlFriday 

26th June 2010:
I always like this idea of the whole Quidditch team sticking together during the battle. And the idea to fight from brooms reminds me of Harry's flying during the first challenge in the Triwizard Tournament - playing to his strengths. So yes, Oliver is always equated with Quidditch, but it makes sense he'd be playing to his strengths. And I loved the end. Well done!

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review

Review #16, by Malvado 

19th June 2010:
That was so good! Leave it to Oliver to bring Quidditch into the battle :)

I really like that they were all shooting to kill, even if Oliver had to hesitate to do it, which is just a human thing to do. It was so frustrating in the books to see Harry refuse to do that... I guess JK wanted to keep him pure and everything, but still.

Anyway, you did a great job!

 Report Review

Review #17, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
Leave it Oliver Wood to employ Quidditch strategies in a fight against the greatest evil he will ever encounter in his lifetime.

But, you know what? Beyond that manic Quidditch athlete, beyond that fierce, determined team captain, you show that he has another side - when he questions whether it is right to kill the Death Eaters or not, that shows that he has another side to him, a human side. And I adored that.

This was just enjoyable to read. I absolutely adore that you had the old Quidditch team fighting together, as a team. The interactions between them and everything in this was just a joy to read.

 Report Review

Review #18, by queen_luna 

18th June 2010:
Wow! I love this one-shot! (You are really churning them out, aren't you? :D) First of all, I love Oliver Wood and I really like how he incorporated Quidditch into his fighting tactics. I wonder...if they had actually done that in the books, they would've had a serious advantage, especially with all four of them being brave enough to aim to kill. I also like how you managed to include a bit of humor at the beginning. Nicely done! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by JLHufflepuff 

18th June 2010:
Okay, I was already a fan girl of your work, but now I am a squeeing fan girl! This is an absolute work of genius. I love your characterization of Wood - the fact that his maniacal Quidditch strategies helped him participate in the final battle. Attacking from above is such an ingenious idea. It was actually kind of darkly humorous to me, imagining most of the team up there knocking off Death Eaters. It's so ... Quidditch. I also LOVE that they were shooting to kill because that's one thing that really drove me crazy in the books - that Harry never did that! Oh, and I thought it was sweet that Alicia taking his hand gave him courage to get the killing on...

And the AU ending! SQUE! I love it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review