Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Celtic_Dreamer7 

9th August 2011:
This was great. I loved this. This is one of those moments that you know happened but we never had the opportunity to read because no one can fit everything into a book. Great job showing emotion with the students and how he felt after helping them. I love the part with Peeves. I never could imagine Filch looking for him. But desperate times calls for desperate measures. Your descriptions were great and I loved how you started the piece, right in the middle of the action.

~Celtic~
Celtic_Dreamer7
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #2, by Debra20 

8th August 2011:
Another Filch story! I am really going to end up liking this character if I read more about him hehe :)

An interesting one shot you wrote alicia. It's always hard to capture his essence in words, but I think you did a very good job. Maybe he was a bit too soft for how I imagined him, but his desire to help the school he had worked in for so many years, the promptitude with which he always obeyed orders were very true to his character. But as I said, I have a bit of trouble imagining him being this kind to students. A man who has spent so many years yearning for the moment when he could punish the students the way he liked, couldn't have changed heart that much even in war. Or his attitude toward Peeves. He had hated that ghost for as long as he could remember.

However it's always nice to read stories about the thoughts and feelings of minor characters. And overall, I think you tapped into his personality pretty well. They truly don't get enough love :)


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hi!
Second Filch one I have read in this Collab and I was surprised. I didn't think I woud read one never mind two. They are extremely different as well which is really good.

This one had him more involved in the battle and it really added to his character for me and made this story different. I truly think Flich just needs to be loved and you showed that. I adored when he felt proud after someone thanked him.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
good one. though i feel that filch is a bit too OOC but maybe "war changes people"!!

~AD

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Aw filch really pulled through in the end. I can see him doing this, yet at the same time i cant. I can see it because a war like this, and a comment like that can really change someone, but it seemed a little to ambitious for Filch. None the less it was a GREAT read! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
Wow I really liked that you had Filtch actually helping out and doing something in the war. It was interesting to see and how kids were finally listening to him to follow him to safety and that they actually thanked him and how he really appreciated that they thanked him. I also found it interesting that you how him figure out a way that he could actually help out by getting all the confiscated items from his office. Also when you say that he ran I pictured that part in PS or SS when he ran into the great hall. It just makes me laugh. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #7, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
YAY for Filtch I always knew he was on the good side despite hating kids and working for Umbridge during Harry's 5th year

 Report Review

Review #8, by strawberrydarhling 

22nd March 2011:
To my surprise I actually really loved this. I've never actually liked Flich in particular but this fic really portrays the good things about him and I like that as we get to see a side of him that we have never seen before.

I think you've converted me into a Flich lover, lol :) I'm going to have to look for some more fics about him

Megan
xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle 

19th August 2010:
So, I really liked how you used Filch here! He's often portrayed as a grumpy caretaker, so I loved how you made him "swell with pride" that someone thanked him. You made me really sympathise with him when you said, "in all the years I had been at this school, no student had ever thanked me, or said one nice thing to me".

The characterisation of Filch was great, but a bit out of character at the beginning. "Calm down!" I yelled loudly - if you simply changed it to, "Calm down!" I wheezed, it sounds much more like Filch.

Its sad that Filch is a squib, but I loved the ending because he's still going to try and do everything he could to help defeat evil. It was great seeing a different side to him! Good job with the story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#20. I love Mr. Flinch having feelings for the students. Very brilliant of him to think of all of his 'items' from the students over the years. I love Peeves reaction to being able to help! Funny and touching in parts, nice job.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
Filch. The character we all poke fingers at and laugh. The squib in Hogwarts. The mean one that gets angry whenever someone says or does something that contradicts him.
But here - here we see a completely different man. A man who loves the school he works at. A man who, despite being jealous of the students' magical talents and being furious whenever they carry mud through the freshly cleaned halls, did not want anyone's death.
Strongly written, courageous, brilliant.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
I thought Filch and Peeves were slightly OOC, but that's okay because they're difficult to write and it wasn't so far off that it seemed like completely different characters or anything. And I LOVED the idea at the end about Filch throwing all his confiscated magical objects at the Death Eaters! How hilarious! Now THAT is something I would love to see, heheh.

 Report Review

Review #13, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
I gotta say, you took a very different approach to Filch than I've ever read before. You made him all touched and caring and normally you'd read him as spiteful and hate-filled.

I like your take. You made his opinion present but I would have liked to maybe have read more about what he would do to help in the fight.

 Report Review

Review #14, by melian 

15th July 2010:
Well. This is the second Filch piece I've read in this collab and you've certainly done him justice. I particularly liked the idea that the battle was the first time any student had thanked him for anything - in twenty-five years that would be trying on anyone and I can well imagine him just standing there in shock for a moment after it happened. I also loved him setting Peeves out to do some damage - after all those years it must have felt good to have Peeves actually do something he was told for once. Overall a really nice take on it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
It's so nice to know that Filch could give up his grouchy self when Hogwarts was under seige. And believable, too. It makes sense that he would want to do absolutely everything he can, despite the fact that he is a Squib.

That moment where the girl thanked him - that was sweet. It was sweet to know that Filch really appreciates being thanked. It just added another layer to his character and made him all the more real.

Lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #16, by theelderwand 

19th June 2010:
You know what I loved about this tale?

Peeves saluting Filch.

Everyone deserves to be appreciated for what they do, even the much hated Filch - this was insightful and exceedingly well written.

A great read.

TEW

 Report Review

Review #17, by JLHufflepuff 

18th June 2010:
I really like seeing Filch doing what he can. He's doing the natural job that he always does, and it's cool he felt himself liking the students just a little bit. It also really hit me that it's no wonder Filch is the way he is if such simple nice words carry a big impact with him. I guess you never know the impact of your words, good or bad. And Filch and Peeves teaming up together! Love it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

17th June 2010:
This was a really cute chapter; yes, I said cute, because I could never picture Filch as cute but this just about did it. The way he cared about the students was really sweet, and yet I was also relieved to see that he still mentioned hating them. Filch wouldn't be Filch without hating his students, after all.

What you did well here was showing us two sides of Filch; the one we knew and the one we didn't. We're very well acquainted with the cynical, grumbling Filch with an office full of punishment weapons, but we're not used to the one who enjoys feeling needed, who wants to save student's lives. And of course, Mrs. Norris fit into both sides of Filch. Nice work here!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review