Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

7th August 2011:
These Battle stories really move me. And this one is no exception!

I loved the fact that you chose Hannah for this story. we know so little about her and that's not fair. She ends up with one of our favourite character and this story allowed us to imagine a possible reason for their subsequent relationship. It was sweet to see Neville come to her aid. More so because we know that he had always been so shy and fearful. In many ways he did connect with Hannah.

I loved your description by the way. It really gripped me into the story and wouldn't let go until I had read the last word. Your scenes are evoking and a true delight to read. The character's thoughts are well rounded and natural. The action moments are suspenseful. In short, a great story!


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hello,

There are quite a few smaller characters in this collab but this is first one, I think, I have read about Hannah.

The threads you have tied in about her Mother are truly touching especially at the end. I love you ending, I have said that like twenty times in this collab but I have this thing about endings. Your ending was just beautiful and simple, there was no big action ending but it had more effect.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Minor characters are love. Without a doubt they are love love lvoe and hannah would have to be one of my favorites! :) She really represents the puffs here in this story! The Neville hannah part was so cute i loved it! :) This was a great read.

 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
Oh this was so cute or at least as cute as some interaction during the war can be. I liked how you have Neville as the one helping her out which kinda sets it up for romance to bud between the two. I also like how she finally stepped up at the end and was doing this for her mom. It was really fun to see this from a different pov and how she recognized that she never did anything before and that now was the time for her to step up and help out. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
YAY Hannah (and her mom for giving her strength) It takes a lot of courage to keep going on and keep fighting what seems to be an endless battle (or a losing one) Finding that strength to carry on is importand weither you are fighting a literal war or just an inner battle...

 Report Review

Review #6, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#19...nice little piece. I like how Hannah thinks about her mother during the battle. I also liked that Neville saved her from death, how could she not fall in love with him then?
Good job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
Another very emotional piece from the point of view of someone I never thought twice about. Only once I read your chapter did I realize that Hannah really DID have something to fight for. Your story is written with such certainty that I'm inclined to believe it's all true. The deep emotions and the life-and-death moments made me be more pulled into this short chapter than into many longer stories. And no one can say that a Hufflepuff is the one that didn't fit anywhere else. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
Aww. How heartwarming. Truly. This is the first Hannah piece I've read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was excellent. And I adored the way you integrated Neville into it and we got to see the beginnings of the Neville/Hannah relationship, which started with common grounds and understandings on the battle field. And the way she was doing it all for her mother. How sweet. This was fantastic, good job.

 Report Review

Review #9, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
Hannah Abbot... good choice! I always love reading about the lesser known characters and I think you did a great job at portraying her.
I especially liked the bit between her and Neville... it was a good set up. (they did get married right? i didn't just dream that? haha)
Anyway, her courage was definately present in this story and you did a great job at showing it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by melian 

15th July 2010:
Gilly! I loved this. What a fantastic one-shot - I really have tears in my eyes right now. I loved how you started it with the wand in the face and ended with her thinking about her mother, because so often it's the other way around but this worked really wall. I also liked your descriptions of the devastation around the castle and how she didn't stop to look to see if she recognised anyone, becauset that's a really human reaction - "I'll deal with that later." A lovely touch with Neville saving her, too, considering we know that they ended up married, and part of me wonders if this incident was what sparked that off in the first place. Excellent work - you can be justly proud of this one. :D

cheers, Mel

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ronsgirl29 

9th July 2010:
Aw, this was very sad but at the same time sweet. I always thought of Hannah as such a nice character, so it seems fitting she would want to fight in her mum's memory. Lovely writing (:

 Report Review

Review #12, by Beene 

1st July 2010:
I've always thought that Hannah was a character that JKR could have explored in more detail, and you'll filled in the gaps very well. Nicely done!

 Report Review

Review #13, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
What I loved is that, even though we know so little about Hannah's character, I am still tempted to say that her characterisation was spot-on. That loyalty to everyone in the war. That determination to fight. That fear and the acknowledgement that she is terrified out of her mind. It was all just spot-on.

Hannah is shown to be a strong character here, willing to fight and avenge her mother's merciless death and that is a side of her that I love. It makes her character more real and someone I really enjoyed reading about.

 Report Review

Review #14, by theelderwand 

19th June 2010:
Wow.

BB, this is really good stuff. I want more - this needs to be at least a short story. I really like tales with Neville, allowing him his due, but having him save Hannah was just a brilliant flourish.

Her drive to overcome her fear, to avenge her mum, to stand up and be counted, you've caught it all here so well. Great piece of writing.

TEW

 Report Review

Review #15, by JLHufflepuff 

17th June 2010:
This is awesome for many reasons. First, I love the transformation of Hannah from a stereotypical, weakling Puff to an actual Puff - someone ready to fight, keeping their loyalties to others in mind. The idea that her memories of her mother strengthened her to do what she had to do is just great. Also, I love the little bit that Neville interacts with her. I know they are a canon little couple. I don't always think of them that way, but I loved it here. It just added something special. Your characterization is very well-done.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review