Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

7th August 2011:
Hi there!

This was quite a nice take in Narcissa's mind the moment she lied to Voldemort that Harry was dead. I liked the fact that you kept it outside of the too emotional side. One could imagine her pain when she saw Bellatrix dying, or her desperation at finding Draco but you kept everything detached. It's not a bad touch I must admit. It feels like a different, original style. I don't know if you intended it this way, but that's how I felt it like.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hi!
I think you really tapped into the feelings expressed by JK when she was writing Narcissia in the final book. When she saved Harry, I mean. She was being a Mother, not a crazed killer but a Mother and in my opinion that is exactly what you have written perfectly.

I totally believe this, it shows another side the carnage of the war. Which I like because I am running our of tears. :)

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
good one!! I liked reading narcissa. wonderful.

~AD

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
I adore stories from Narcissa's point of view. Im not sure what it is about her, but there is something there that just makes me admire who she is and what she did. This really captured the fact that Narcissa was the gray area of this was. She was on neither side and it really made me smile. She is one of the most misunderstood characters out there! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
I liked seeing a non-violent war scene. I mean there were mentions of it such as Bella being killed but it was nice to see a mothers worry during this and I liked where you started this from rather then the beginning of the war until the very end. I love how Narcissa really did help the good side and how you had the exchange between her and Lucius for him to find out that Harry is actually alive. It was an interesting piece. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
Who would have thought that the Black/Malofy line would have compassion and genuine concern for one of their own :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Northumbrian 

22nd August 2010:
This is a wonderful insight into the motivation of Narcissa. Well written, canon compliant and in character.
However, because I'm me:
"Mum? Dad?"
Does Draaco actually call his parents this. they strike me as being posh and formal, in which case he'd call them "Mother? Father?" that (I think) is what he calls them in the books, though I'm prepared to be proved wrong.
N

 Report Review

Review #8, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

20th August 2010:
An interesting choice of narrator, Narcissa proved to be a very interesting character on the day of the battle. I really love how you've used her perspective to great advantage to cover many of the crucial event during the battle with such clarity and emotion. Her ruinion with Draco was also a very emotional Moment, her son is clearly the most important thing to her and you've really highlighted this well.

Her actions were really interesting and I love how you tied it all back to simply being the love she felt for her son. Which in the end proved to be one of her greatest strengths. This was a very well written piece and was a pleasure to read, keep up the great work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #9, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#18.the love of a mother is a powerful thing. I like you included Narcissa's reaction to Bella's death and her reaction to it was in character. I liked how you have her point out what will happen to her depending on the outcome of the war. Good emotion.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
Erica, your stories are heartmoving and genuine as ever. Narcissa Black finally appears as the character that did the RIGHT thing, even if it was for her own good (finding her son, in this case). If Harry told her Draco was dead, she would have easily killed him, but in this case... She saved his life. She helped in defeating Voldemort. She COULD have killed him, but chose not to. You told us about this hour of her life with great precision, keeping everyone in character and acting accordingly to what they would have done in the books. Congrats!

 Report Review

Review #11, by slytherangoddess 

14th August 2010:
I really liked how you chose to write from Narcissa's point of view. You really expanded on her feelings of nervousness, and did it very well.

Having said that, I do have a bit of constructive criticism:
Because you're writing from Narcissa's POV, the line "To his surprise, I stayed where I was and..." would not make sense. Narcissa wouldn't know if he was surprised or not since he's supposed to be dead and not moving. Had you said it with information on how he responded from Narcissa's eyes, then it would have worked a bit better.

Other than that, very well done!

 Report Review

Review #12, by melian 

15th July 2010:
Lovely job, Erica! I've been waiting to read Narcissa's story as she heads into the middle of the battle, wandless (as is Lucius) as she searches for Draco, and you did it really well. The strength of mind and of character as she lies to Voldemort was also done brilliantly, as we all know how difficult that is to pull off. I felt that this was an inspired bit of writing - well done!

 Report Review

Review #13, by blinkfan182 

12th July 2010:
wow, this was awesome. I just love the malfoys, and you got narcissa spot on! well done, definitely my favourite chapter in this collaboration

 Report Review

Review #14, by music_is_inside_of_me 

2nd July 2010:
Great story vice-captain! :)

I love how on canon it was, which I am a stickler for. The quotes from the book made it so real and you seemed to keep it alive. I feel like Jo could have written this herself.

I think this is the first story I have read so far that ends with a happy ending :)

Good job!

 Report Review

Review #15, by TallestTower 

25th June 2010:
EJ! Sorry it took me so long to review this.
This is the first of your writing I've ever read- so that's exciting- and it's really, really good.

I think you really captured what is must have been like living as part of the Malfoy family, torn between their connections with Voldemort and their sense of survival. The writing had a sense of straight forwardness about it, actions was simple and purposeful. You got the feeling that Narcissa didn't care whose side she was on anymore, she only cared for her son and her family.

I thought this one-shot gave a great perspective to Narcissa. She plays a very important role in the finally battle, and I'm really glad you wrote this one-shot. It's a brilliant insight into her character, her thoughts and her emotions. I thought you characterized her brilliantly. Whilst she is arrogant and a pureblood, she is first and most importantly a mother.

This also offered a deeper understanding into why they switched sides. I loved the sense of family between Lucius and Narcissa and Draco. It seems here as if they only care about the family.

And I know this review is just me rambling and contradicting myself, but despite that robotic need for survival tone, there was also great emotion and sensitivity. Narcissa broke down when her sister died, but I think it was when she was re-united with her son that she seemed the most human and fragile. It was a very powerful piece that I really enjoyed! :)

This was beautifully written Erica, well done m'dear!

 Report Review

Review #16, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
Would you believe that it actually took me a few sentences of reading this before going, "Hmmm. This sounds awfully familiar. Oh, wait, it's by Erica. *headpalm* I beta-d this!"

This was no less powerful reading through it this time! The way you get into Narcissa's head and the emotions she feels - absolutely love it. So well done!

I adore how this shows us that family and that love you can have for your loved ones can overpower any sense of loyalty you have for any person, being or cause. It's just one of the truths of the universe and this portrayed that beautifully.

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #17, by theelderwand 

19th June 2010:
EJ,
I don't know how you managed to get in Narcissa's head like this but it was amazingly believable. Stellar work here. Right down to her realization that, if Potter lost the duel, she'd be done for. I never really realized that, but of course the thought had to cross Narcissa's mind.

Your writing is tight, concise, descriptive, grammatically correct. Just superb stuff here.

I'm proud you're a Gryff (and Joop too!)

sinc

Eldy

 Report Review

Review #18, by JLHufflepuff 

17th June 2010:
I am just addicted to all things Malfoy, and I LOVE the way you portray Narcissa's emotions in this. Her moment of bravery comes in protecting her child. Also, that she recognized Potter as a hero is something I definitely agree with... I like getting to see all the events through her eyes and see the emotions of the family, together even though not in the most perfect circumstances. This is awesome!

 Report Review

Review #19, by CessZ 

17th June 2010:
Narcissa and Lucius wid a heart?? wow I NEVER thought of it that way!!! Wel done vice-captain...u inspired me for another one-shot!!! (not the same thing though!)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review