Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

6th August 2011:
WOW! Just wow. What a genius, genius, genius idea you had! This was such a great treat! I absolutely adored it.

Using Sir Cadogan as the one that witnessed Bellatrix and Tonks's duel must have been a stroke of genius. And not only that, but you captured his essence to perfection. His horror at discovering that the two were related and fighting. How he joined the Battle and jumped from portrait to portrait encouraging here, warning there were just the actions I imagined him taking. His speech was also very well managed.

There were a few confusing moments when a sentence was a bit too long to follow, but other than that I only have words of praise for your story.

My favourite part must be when Sir Cadogan tells Professor McGonagall about Tonks and she cries. That was a very touching scene to imagine. Very very well done indeed! :D

House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hi,
I think this is such an amazing idea. Seriously I read the first line and decided this was genius! Then I read the rest and it just got better and better, you put an amazing spin on this.

You stayed true to the character of Sir Cadogen as well which I am quite amazed at as we don't see much of him and this story isn't even about him really. Very well done!

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

28th March 2011:
wow. this amazed me. Sir cardogan!! cool..!!

~AD

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Oh that poor painting. Hee really did go through a rough time for being a painting didnt he? Refering to everyone by what they looked like was such him, i love this because it took a character mentioned from maybe 1/4th of one book and you got him spot on to what he was all along.

 Report Review

Review #5, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
I really liked this idea to have the battle play out as Sir Cadogan was watching it. It was something really different and not many people would think to do something like this. I liked the description and how he was horrified that family could be against family during this war. I liked the last little paragraph about how he thought battles were glorious but in this one he found that to not always be true. I really liked this. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
Now this was something unexpected A chapter on the Death of Tonks through the eyes of a painting more specifically the painting of Sir Cadogan who we haven't really heard much about (if anything all all) since the third book when he took over for the Fat Lady

 Report Review

Review #7, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#16... I love the voice of this piece, it is so right on for Sir Cadogan. I love the word choice too! I love how he refers to Tonks as the Pink Lady and how he hair turns brown after she is killed. Very refreshing piece, nice job!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Adrielne 

14th August 2010:
Sir Cadogan is possibly one of my favorite paintings in all of Hogwarts. You got his character quite well in this story, but he could use some more humor. I also noticed a few minor errors: the sentence "Was that what he had become some worthless buffoon?", for example, needs a , or : or - between become and some. It's nothing that would keep me from reading on, but I'm just picky about little things like that :-)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
I wrote a Sir Cadogan fic as well, and yours blows mine out of the water. I adore it. I think you captured his chivalrous and so-called noble essence flawlessly and with the added bits of the battle and the 'Pink' lady, it was truly an enjoyable read(: Very well written. And certainly interesting.

 Report Review

Review #10, by melian 

15th July 2010:
Wow, Scooterbug, this was brilliant. Just the concept of seeing the battle through the eyes of Sir Cadogan was a fantastic idea, and I did love his description of the Tonks/Bellatrix battle. What if he had realised that they were BOTH related to the dastardly fiend, Gray? Or Black, or Pink? LOL. You captured him so well, an anachronism from the days of heraldry and chivalry seeing modern warfare and not knowing how to react to it. I love it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by blueirony 

19th June 2010:
You absolutely nailed Sir Cadogan's character which is a pretty impressive feat since we know so little of his character!

I loved your use of exclamation points in this. It just added so much to his character and the era that he lives in and they fitted it so well. Very clever and appropriate use of punctutation.

It was interesting seeing the battle between Bellatrix and Tonks from a painting's point of view. And how concerned he is with chivalry and how kin is fighting against kin. I love how he is so loyal to Hogwarts. His character was just absolutely superb.

 Report Review

Review #12, by JLHufflepuff 

17th June 2010:
I like the way you portray Sir Cadogan - based on what we know of him, but also with some more human characteristics to round him out. I also like the way he is so upset that chivalry is dead. It's interesting that he watches the battle between Bellatrix and Tonks, as Crazy Bella would definitely not adhere to an set of code that Cadogan would appreciate. This is awesome!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review