Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

4th August 2011:
Such a sweet and sad story this has been.

Poor Colin. He was always so eager to be in the middle of things, that it's quite understandable for him not be stay safe but go out and fight. A true Gryffindor!

I loved how you ended the piece, with the boy imagining that the flash of light from the spell that hit him was another picture. It was the sort of thought he would have before dying, having always been everywhere with his camera, you know?

It hurt me to remember that he had looked up to Harry at all times. The poor kid must have almost worshipped him. It felt bitter sweet yo witness Colin remembering tips and lessons taught by Harry in the DA meetings.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny45 

29th March 2011:
Hello!
Reading throught this collab there are some really good characterisation pieces and this is one of them. You embodied you character perfectly and the ending was superb. I have a real thing about endings, bad ones make me hate a whole story.

You also brought out the Gryffindor in him, so many people write a story about a character where they don't fit in the house they were sorted. Although the house doesn't define them, there is still a reason they were put there.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

27th March 2011:
OMG. The end was, abrupt and yet overwhelmig. Poor colin :(

Good work though!

~AD

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
This is colin. Not even a doubt in my mind. The pictures the talk with dennis the way he took on the battle. Just all of it screamed out Colin without a doubt. I really did like that kid and it is a shame that he died. I loved your last sentence it was very powerful and can leave the reader to think of it in a metephorical way. Great job on this story it was a very very very good one! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
I liked this. It was fun seeing something from Collin's pov and how he thought of the flashing lights of spells as people taking pictures. I liked the bit you had between him and his brother as well. It really brought out the brotherly side of him that we dont really see that often so it was nice to see it as he is heading off to war. I thought it was nice that you had him win against one of the death eaters but then turn around and there was already a spell headed his way to kill him. It was just a different idea and i liked that you didnt have him totally incapable and die while going against the first death eater he came across. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
Poor Collin :( and again i'm loving reading about the battle from different POVs

 Report Review

Review #7, by Northumbrian 

22nd August 2010:
The idea of flashes, of someone taking pictures of the battle is inspired.
From the moment the name Dennis is mentioned we know that it is Dennis, but until then there are merely hints.
This is a good first person pov tale.
N

 Report Review

Review #8, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

20th August 2010:
WOW! That is all I can say, the tie in with Colin and his earlier obsession with taking pictures is astounding and really adds a whole new level to the story. I particularly loved the little flashback with Dennis, as the pair always seemed so close and their goodbye was very touching. I always admired Colin's determination however I never imagined it as something that would lead him to his death such as this. I imagined Colin with a happy ending however that as we know was not the case and this piece really captured some of Colin's more admirable qualities in such a short space of time that it was rather moving.

I like how without telling us we were able to tell exactly whose perspective the piece was from, I do enjoy fics that are able to do this as they really add to the overall interest in the piece, well that's my opinion anyway. The depth in this piece really is astounding and it was a pleasure to read. Keep up the excellent work!

- Ashlee

 Report Review

Review #9, by Amberfire 

17th August 2010:
aww taking pictures. Like Colin. Aw. That's so sweet! Its such a cool concept of having the spell fire like flashes from a camera! I love it!

I love Colin's (I think it was Colin, right...) unreadyness at the very beginning and his hesitation, sort of like 'What the heck am I doing here, I'm so young!' I thought that captured part of the reality of the battle for the younger fighters. They were most likely freaked out of their minds and scared poop-less and I think by even placing that small waver in Colin's thoughts you reminded readers that not every kid in the battle would have been ready for it to come.

The resolve Colin then showed, to do all he could for the DA and fight, I thought was to his credit, showing what a true Gryffindor he was, ready to defend his family and beliefs even under such dire circumstances.

Also the relief Colin felt after defeating the death eater was such a realistic and palpable emotion, I could really feel his tense pose relaxing :)
Well done!

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne 

14th August 2010:
oh no poor Colin, this was so sad. I liked how you used the flashes in this and how Colin associated them with camera flashes. I liked how he tried to remember what Harry had taught him in the DA and the flashback with him and Dennis. This was so heartwrenching good.

 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle 

14th August 2010:
Awhh, this was truly a bittersweet story. It's well written, and Colin sounds so mature. The characterisation of Colin is great. And the reference to pictures, and to his camera is great too, because that's part of Colin's personality. I love how he manages to hit the Death Eater, and how he's trying to think about the DA and what Harry taught him. The ending is sad though. Poor Dennis. Poor Colin. But you did a fantastic job writing such a wonderful story!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#12...o! This was pretty cool. I like the spells being seen as flash bulbs to Collin, very very clever! Nice job!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Julia Perry. 

15th July 2010:
Wonderfly writen, I loved it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by melian 

8th July 2010:
Wow, Dennis Creevey. I don't think it even occurred to me that he would have been part of the battle but this was really well done - the concern from Colin and the determination to do the right thing by Harry in particular were things that grabbed me in this one.

It's so tragic, the pointless loss of life in this war, isn't it? And Dennis would have been so young. I mean, good for him that he managed to hit those Death Eaters with whatever spells he sent their way, but so inevitable that it would end badly. Anyone that young would have been in way over their heads, and you captured that really well.

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #15, by theelderwand 

18th June 2010:
Excellent!

Its not easy to pack that much in so short a space of words, but you did it quite well. You've captured the fear of fighting so well here, right down to the butterflies in the stomach.

But, I think my favorite part has to be the flashback with Dennis. well done, well done indeed.

TEW

P.S. Go Gryffindor!

 Report Review

Review #16, by JLHufflepuff 

18th June 2010:
My favorite part of this is how Colin likens all the curses to pictures being taken, and I love how it is the last line. It adds something to reading about his death. It's great that he wants to stay and fight, like it's his destiny.

 Report Review

Review #17, by blueirony 

17th June 2010:
This really brought together that sense of duty and blind loyalty Colin had and the tragedy of his death. All the deaths were tragic, of course, but Colin's really gutted me because he died purely because he snuck back in and his loyatly to the DA.

That unwavering, unfallable faith to Harry, Dumbledore and the DA was portrayed so well in this. You could also see his devotion to his brother. And it is just so horrible the way he died.

I loved that last part, how you linked it back to his camera. Another picture. That was clever and rounded this piece off really well.

 Report Review

Review #18, by TallestTower 

16th June 2010:
This was very touching. I thought Collin was very in character in this story. His innocence shone through his words and his determination to fight.

I thought it was very realistic how he was trying to remember what he had learnt but his mind went blank, then when he was about to give up I was screaming "NO COLLIN!", the strength he found from his love of his family and brother was really touching and I'm glad you included that.

I loved this because I thought it captured Collin's personality very well, his youth and his loyalty.

I'm glad he managed to hit a death eater! But the ending saddens me. I knew he was going to die- but I didn't want him too. I thought Collin's death was one of the harshest, simply because he only got one line of attention and I thought "No! That didn't need to be there! Please not Collin!" So the relief he felt and then the sudden death really tied in with the shock of his death in the books, and the way it was only covered briefly.

Ahh this one-shot played havoc with my emotions. I liked the contrast of the relief and happiness then the death at the end, even if it makes me feel horribly sad :(

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #19, by lilausty 

16th June 2010:
very clever! I definitely enjoyed this chapter, particularly regarding how you kept relating things back t photography since that truly was where his interests lay. I'll admit I felt my heart strings get tugged at when he was saying goodbye to Dennis.

 Report Review

Review #20, by ericajen 

16th June 2010:
I love your take on Colin; I think I mentioned that in a PM to you. A really lovely one-shot you have here. The photography aspect makes it uniquely Colin. Great job(:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review