Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

4th August 2011:
What an enthralling story you have here!

I enjoyed reading it as much as I believe you enjoyed writing it, because I felt it. I felt the excitement with which you wrote. Can't explain how.

This is the first Lavender story I have ever read, and I am happy to have read yours. I never really took that much notice in her, but you changed that. Through your writing we could see a different side of Lavender from the books. One could say she was a just silly, clingy, over emotional girl who was only interested in Divination, but your story proved how wrong that is. She is loyal and brave, a Gryffindor who never turns her back on battle or her friends.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

27th March 2011:
hey there! nice chap! the first light chap (lighter compared to the others) of this story. good one!!

cheers!
AD

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
tehehe this was a fluffy like story! It made me giggle! Yeah i know that the war was going on, but i can see this really happening because that is how i handle horrid situation! Lavander seems really in character and i enjoyed seeing it was Terry with her instead of someone else. It was just nice to see the story from a couple of students that you dont hear much about!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ginny45 

26th March 2011:
Hello!
This is a very interesting choice of characters. I could never seen Lavender as a Werewolf. However, what makes you story is the little details. Like the small piece of romance in the story and the fact the Hufflepuff hourglass had very few jems in it.

The best part though has to be the conversation between Lavender and Terry just after she has been bitten. It is funny but serious at the same time.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #5, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
This was a really interesting piece. I liked how you had a bit of romance (at least i assume its flirting between lavender and terry) in the middle of a war. It just added a little more to it then the sad and depressing that comes from a war. It was a good idea and i really loved the ending of this when the only hourglass left in piece is the ravenclaw's and terry says that ravenclaw wins the cup. I felt that it also added a little something to the story and it was really fun.. it also opened my eyes to Terry I have never really thought about him so I liked that you added him in this. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
aww so sad Lavender becomes a werewolf :( great story though

 Report Review

Review #7, by Galawen 

22nd August 2010:
I really liked your choice of characters in this. Neither of the two are especially well-known/ well thought of and you completely ignored that fact and wrote them without bias.
I also enjoyed the house points part; almost symbolism for how each member of the houses were fighting their hardest, in every way. Except for Ravenclaw of course ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne 

20th August 2010:
Poor Lavender having to watch Colin die when she said she'll protect him. Terry Boot being there and helping her was a nice touch. I really enjoyed his joke at the end about Ravenclaw winning the house cup.
I enjoyed this being from Lavenders point of view and enjoyed reading it.
10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by momotwins 

18th August 2010:
Heck yeah, Ravenclaw wins. This is a great chapter. I like Lavender's fatalism, as if she doesn't really expect to survive so she may as well be as brave as she can be, you know?

You did a good job integrating the scene into canon, and portraying the pain and fear of war without it being too graphic. And I liked that you featured Terry, who's something of an obscure character in fan fiction.

It was a nice read. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Amberfire 

15th August 2010:
oooh, I love this. It was sort of light hearted amongst the harsh fighting and feelings. I liked the joke at the end, and the fun characters like Trelawny popping up. I was so hoping someone would do her or even mention her!

I liked how between Terry and Lavender there seemed like there was a small oasis of calm in the middle of the battle, even though they were still attacked from time to time. It just seemed to easy between them, that they knew they would be alright with the other watching their back.

I loved the mention of Trelawny. Really. Crystal balls! Cracks me up every time. And the Ravenclaw winning the house cup. I didn't miss that one. I'm on to you Moonbaby11. Gryffs all the way ;)

All in all a brilliant piece and I'm so glad you wrote it, we saw a different view of the battle with the joke at the end. (I love it) So well done for breaking the mould and changing the doom and gloom view of the battle which is so powerful and meaningful, to a piece that ended on a feel good note. It made a nice change :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
Oooh. I really liked this. Lavender's characterization was fabulous. I loved it. I thought it was essentially perfect how she tried to just ignore the tragic events occurring around her in order to focus on the task at hand. And then the mid-battle giggle. Inapropriate, but amusing. I think you did this spot on. I've never been a LavLav-hater and this just proves how awesome she can be(:

 Report Review

Review #12, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#10.Claws win the cup! I think this story is predicting the future, how appropriate Lavender is in it! :) Lavender is one of those charters I still haven't figured out yet so I like FF about her because she's pliable. I love all the hour glasses breaking! nice job!

 Report Review

Review #13, by propertyoftheHBP 

22nd July 2010:
I really liked your take on this situation. The dialogue is written simply and almost conversational-like, not drastic and dramatic like some war/battle pieces are. It's much more human and believable with the way you've written the dialogue, so good job there.

Even though the story begins with the Killing Curse, it feels as though it cuts randomly into time, which I like. The same goes for the end--"And I sincerely mean it" has a tone of finality in it, which I'm sure you were going for, but it also seems to cut out of time. I like it that way--just a moment in time from here to there, and showing what happens in between.

So, great story! It was definitely an interesting take on what (rather, one of the things) could have happened to Lavender when Greyback attacked her.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Julia Perry. 

15th July 2010:
Brilliant! Loved it! Wonderfuly writen.

 Report Review

Review #15, by melian 

1st July 2010:
Nice coverage of Greyback's attack on Lavender here. It's not something I've given a lot of thought to but I do love the idea that Terry's trying to get her to the Hospital wing when they're in the middle of a battle. Yes, he does have a point - werewolf bites are nasty things - but as Lavender said, there was so much else going on and you really captured the blur of activity really well. (I love Trelawney's cameo, by the way - that part in the book always made me smile.) I also loved the reference to the House Cup - topical considering what this was written in aid of - and the fact that the Ravenclaw hourglass was the last one to shatter. Lots of little touches like that prove that you put a lot of research into this and it's paid off. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #16, by mione P45342 

20th June 2010:
Nice adjectives. Your Chapter flows very well and has no spelling errors. I enjoy the part of the part where lavender is bitten. It was very unexpected

 Report Review

Review #17, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

17th June 2010:
Nice job here! This was a really great idea, not just taking a character and describing the battle normally. This was an actual, original, out of the blue, why didn't I think of that idea. Great job! A werewolf bite was something I never expected, although after Bill's fate was probably realistic.

I, of course, loved the hourglass mention. You worked it in there nicely. I also caught the Trelawney quote; not only do I crack up at that every time I read the book, I just reread that chapter and almost wrote about her simply because of the quote.

What you really captured in this chapter was the fast paced action of the whole battle. I had this vision while reading of Terry and Lavender standing, talking, with bursts of light whizzing past them and dust filling the air and yelling in the background. Great job!!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by JLHufflepuff 

17th June 2010:
I really enjoyed this because Lavender isn't at the top of people's list to write about, and you had a good idea for her. We get to see a lot of important stuff going on - Collin's death, Greyback attacking her. I'm taking from what you have here that she will become a werewolf, but she doesn't seem to be very bothered by it. It opens some intriguing questions. :) And, of course, in this story Ravenclaw wins... Well, I didn't hear anything about the Hufflepuff hourglass breaking yet... ;P Good one!

 Report Review

Review #19, by maskedmuggle 

17th June 2010:
Loved this :)
Well written!
Loved how you incorporated the Ravenclaw winning hourglass thing ;)

Good dialogue between Lavender and Terry!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Drecklin 

17th June 2010:
I love how you show the inner workings of the battle here. And the story of Lavender being bitten to go along with it. I really liked this piece, it was short, sweet, and showed the connectedness that everyone felt during the battle. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #21, by RonsGirlFriday 

17th June 2010:
-giggles-

Very subtle message at the end there, about Ravenclaw winning. ;-) Nice use of humor after breaking the other three hourglasses!

I like how you used three minor characters here. I guess Lavender isn't quite so minor after HBP, but she still is, relatively speaking - and instead of surrounding her with major characters, you used a couple of often-forgotten ones.

Good job. :-)

Melanie

 Report Review

Review #22, by PrincessPadfoot 

17th June 2010:
aww I liked it I really did!! Poor Lav Lav being bitten...sad.I like that Terry helps her out though. It's really sweet of him :)

Okay then dear!!

Good work!!!

Love the clawsomeness of it all!!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by blueirony 

17th June 2010:
What I loved about this is that it really showed that sense of unity among the students, you know?

It was never explicitly said that Terry and Lavender were particularly good friends. It never said that Lavender had promised to look after Colin. But the fact that you brought it into this was just lovely. It's just such a nice idea, to think that all the Hogwarts students cared so much about each other, putting aside their differences and ages. I really liked that. This point is further emphasised by Hermione's appearance in this.

I love that you took two characters that we don't really expect to be in battle together and put them together. It's just nice to know that, even amidst all the terror, there is still unity. I also loved that last line about the House Cup.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review