Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 

4th August 2011:
Oh, finally I have found a great Filch story! And what's more, it's written during the Final Battle. I always wondered what Filch had done with the castle under attack.

You captured his love for the castle so faithful! You could feel his hurt that the castle was crumbling around him, and he could do next to nothing to prevent it. It seemed so natural that we could not abandon it.

I also enjoyed how you vaguely left us to guess whether the Weasley boy meant to send the spell his way, or was just a stray curse. We know that Filch wasn't the most loved staff member at Hogwarts so either can be perfectly possible.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

27th March 2011:
filch's POV. woah that was something. i think his thoughts were reflected quite nicely in the story!!

good job!

cheers!
AD

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Filch really did love that castle. I am amazed at how you could even come up with an idea like this, really i am! :) But im glad you did because it was a very good read, and so on character i was amazed at someone handleing filch so well! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 

24th March 2011:
I really liked the description you had throughout the chapter. It was all written really beautiful. The only thing i found wrong was in this sentence."Had been, and for the life of me I couldn't figure out where or when it had all going off course." instead of going it should be gone. Other then that though it was all really well done and found nothing else wrong. It was an interesting idea to use Filtch and I was always wondering if he was there during the war or if he lived or died. I really liked the last sentence as well it really summed it all up and it was just him and the castle that he worked so hard in during his years.

It was a great piece and I really enjoyed it. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
YAY Filtch was on the light side after all the books made me wonder.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ginny45 

22nd March 2011:
Hey.

I think you nailed this. The fact the Filch doesn't care about anything but his beloved Hogwarts it spot on. It is somewhat funny and sort of sweet at the same time. Everyone seems him as such a horrid man but he just loves the castle. I think you have conveyed it very well and given him a voice other than the biast one of the twins.

You have really put into light how much Filch and Harry have in common. Both realy call Hogwarts their home. :)

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #7, by Galawen 

20th August 2010:
Well at least he didn't die in vain! Your characterisation as Filch of still the same grumpy, irritated old man that he has always been was excellent. I don't think a war would be enought to cure a lifetime of bitterness and I think it perfect that his reason behind returning wasn't to protect lives, but to attempt to alleviate some of the destruction of his precious home. I got a sudden image halfway through reading this of Filch shouting "no magic in the corridors!" in the middle of the battle!
I like that in the end you left him to die with his closest and probably only friend and home and my only question would have been where was Mrs Norris? ;)
Well done :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by AndrinaBlack 

16th August 2010:
I can really hear Filch's voice here. You write him very much in character. I can imagine him being most concerned about the castle (and his cat, maybe a mention of Mrs Norris would have been good somewhere) and then a little less about the students. You wrote this very well and I was excited to know what was happening next all the time. I liked the end where he was happy to just be with the castle. Though it was sad that he was hidden so it was unsure if anyone could find him to help him if he still stayed alive for a while.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Amberfire 

15th August 2010:
Oh Filch, Filchy, Filchy, Filch.
I'm so glad someone wrote about him. I could see him staying at the battle even though he couldn't fight like a wizard. I could so see him and trying to defend his castle to the last.

I liked his thoughts in the beginning about liking Snape as a headmaster, it made me smile. I could see Filch liking Snape and being 'in league' with him against the students.

I also liked that way in the end Filch was only really loyal to Hogwarts, he didn't like the students, he didn't like the order, he didn't like the death eaters. Just Hogwarts. I liked his realisation that the death eaters were only hurting his beloved castle when he thought they might be the side he wanted.

I liked the very end when Filch was there just with the castle in the end. That was a nice ending for Filch I think. Though I didn't want him to die :(

Well done though. A very nice piece. As I said, I'm so glad someone did Filch :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#9.How great for for Mr. Flinch to return and defend his home. I am a little sad you killed him off, because he is an institution himself. I wish he could have done something great before he was taken, but I think him not really doing anything is somewhat in character. I enjoyed this.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Julia Perry. 

15th July 2010:
Interesting perspective. I like it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by melian 

1st July 2010:
I think you've captured Filch really well here. The notion of wanting to ban the students from the school was lovely, and while I'd never thought of him allying himself with Snape and the DEs because they allowed him to dust off the manacles (much like Umbridge there) it makes perfect sense. Based on that, I liked his confusion at his own decision to fight against those people he had followed, and allying himself with the students he so abhorred, on the basis that his castle needed him. Because doubtless he DID see it as his castle that the others there just used, and it's entirley within his character as we know it that he would be willing to die in the defence of the castle, not in defence of ideals. Well thought out and well written.

 Report Review

Review #13, by theelderwand 

18th June 2010:
Filch. I never would have thought of focusing on Filch. This had to be difficult to plot, to brainstorm, but you've done such an amazing job with it.

By far the most original of the one shots I've read.

Well done.

TEW

 Report Review

Review #14, by JLHufflepuff 

17th June 2010:
So Filch dies??? Why am I saddened by this? I guess because I was allowed to glimpse some of the things most important to the man. He is passionate about his job as caretaker, and in this last battle that becomes a noble job that benefits everyone. The last line really brings home some things about his personality. Love this!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Drecklin 

17th June 2010:
Ahh Filch. He is such an interesting character, stuck around a bunch of people who reminded him of what he could never be. I love how you wrote that it was simply the castle. Which is entirely believable, he was there for a long time. And the way you killed him, it was sad, yes, but it was fulfilling in a way. I can't see Filch dying any other way than with his castle. Fantastic little story here :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by blueirony 

17th June 2010:
Oh, Filch. We all knew that, underneath it all, you really did love Hogwarts. We knew it!

This was such an interesting read. I never really thought about what Filch must have been thinking during the final battle. But I love that you conveyed his sense of loyalty to Hogwarts, despite how much he might hate the majority of its inhabitants.

It was horrible that he died. But it was quite a poetic death, especially the way you worded it. Just him and the castle. That really showed so much about his character that I think goes largely ignored in fanfiction. He really did love Hogwarts. And he must have felt a bond to it to have stayed there that long.

Very interesting read. Loved it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review