Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne 

9th August 2011:
It's nice to read about Neville during the battle, he was so brave and took to leading a group like a professional. And I'm so glad that you wrote about how he feels and whether or not he is brave enough to face the fight.
I love how you included how the mandrake idea came about and I loved at the end when his grandmother turned up!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #2, by Celtic_Dreamer7 

8th August 2011:
Awesome! I love this! Neville and his grandma! The good side will win for sure! Its so great to see the battle from so many different points of view. This was a new one. I wondered about the mandrakes and how they got ahold of them. Great job explaining it. The sense of urgency is so present in this one-shot. Its almost nerve racking (sp?). I enjoyed reading from beginning to end!

~Celtic~
Celtic_Dreamer7
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #3, by Debra20 

4th August 2011:
Aww - what a marvellous piece!

There were so many moments I enjoyed I don't know where to start. You fitted in everything so perfectly, with Neville being roused by Professor Sprout, Harry's approval of their plan, and you even gave us a tiny hint of his love for Hannah.

The characters were so well kept in character that I honestly think I must have read a piece of Jk's writing. Especially Professor Sprout. You know the sensation when you feel that there are some kind of words that some characters would use? Specific words that fit best only with them? That's how I felt your Professor Sprout. Perfect perfect!

And Neville. I loved reading that he still had doubts but they were not preventing him from doing what must be done. I especially enjoyed the sentence when you say that he felt his confidence boost when Harry gave him the thumbs up. It IS Neville. I always thought that he looked at Harry with admiration, like a role model and that it was because he witnessed Harry always fighting and opposing Voldemort so many times, that he found the courage to crack his shell and show his true self.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp 

27th March 2011:
This is the first time i'm reading a fic (or chapter in this case) from Neville's POV. Good work.

CHeers!
~AD

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
NEVILLE! He is such a sweet heart its not even funny. I love how strong he became in the books, and here you have him seem normal, like a human being he knew what he had to do, yet he was still scared. His grandma *sigh* they were sure to win with her on their side! ;) A great story, very very very great! :) I loved the Abbott girl part! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
YAY for Neville's Grandmother giving him the confidence he needed and YAY for Neville coming into his own :) Great work and Amazing chapter

 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 

22nd March 2011:
This was a really interesting take on Nevilles thoughts about the war right before it happend. I liked seeing how he had stepped up during his 7th year and how it was tough to be the leader but yet even when he wanted to stop being the leader he continued to do so and its nice to see that side of him. I also like how you eluded to Hannah and Neville and also how you mentioned his Grandmother and how he really does love her. I thought it was interesting that you added that bit about herbology and how it had a part and was actually something that could be used during a war. Great Job and interesting ideas!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ginny45 

22nd March 2011:
Hey.

I really like this and it is because it is dead sweet. I would never have thought to put Neville's Grandmother in the battle in a million years but it works. You have nailed Neville's charcterisation with his believing his Grandmother will help them win the war. Like she is the decided factor, it is such a Neville thing. To put his hope in someone else and not realise his potential.

I really love the detail of Sprout useing plants, it seems like something she would do but still has the brilliance to work.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #9, by strawberrydarhling 

22nd March 2011:
I really loved this as it shows Neville transition into a strong, mature man from the shy boy who we used to see. And I also really loved the love in he and his Grandmothers relationship.

You have done a great job with this ;)

Megan
xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by scooterbug8515 

22nd August 2010:
I liked this, the title had set me to wondering until the end. It made me smile that of all things it was his grandmother that made Neville feel confident. That was really sweet and spoke a lot of his opinion of his grandmother. I really like that concept that one loved person is what makes the difference for another.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Galawen 

20th August 2010:
I absolutely love the fact that what many people would have seen as proof of Neville's simple personality; his love for herbology, is in actual fact turned into a very effective method of warfare. It proves that intelligence and bravery take countless different forms and I like to think that what his grandmother mouthed at him was
"I'm proud of you"
:)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jolly 

19th August 2010:
This was so sweet! Okay, sorry for using the word sweet, it was probably not the adjective you were aiming for, but I just loved the last line. ^^

Neville's emotions feel very real and I love how you said that it's hard being a leader.

I always loved the fact that Neville actually was really good at a school subject and I really like the way Neville looks up to Sprout, though it wasn't mentioned very much in this, I sort of still felt it.

I don't really have a lot to say, because I really thought this story was great and there's really not a lot for me to comment on that I can think of right now.

Oh, yeah! I remembered: I love your title! It's really beautiful. When I first read it I thought of Neville, so I thought it fit him. I also love the connection between Neville's grandmother's hat and the title. ^^

All in all, a great story!
-Johanna

 Report Review

Review #13, by Amberfire 

15th August 2010:
aww Neville. I love him. His confidence in his Grandmother, and his childlike trust in her really endears him to me. Even though his grandmother is known to be be a stern old lady towards him, he still believes that she can do anything. I'm literally 'awing' here.

I liked how this fitted into canon. The pieces that do fit in really well seem all the more real because they could actually have been what happened. I liked the line about how Neville 'had been a beacon for so long that he felt his light was growing dim.' I really liked that line.

And I loved Professor Sprout's ready and gung ho attitude towards the fighting. Well done, I liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#6... Auh Neville, gotta love him. I like his internal dialog (is that the correct term) with that return on the trio and how now he's not 'top dog' at Hogwarts. Love that his grandmother shows up at the end or the beginning depending on how you look at at. He has a lot of admiration for her and I think your piece shows that well, nice job.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Perfect_Anarchy 

24th July 2010:
Wow.
Just because his grandmother was there, Neville was sure he'd win.
An unexpected laugh for me, when all I was sure on was doubt.
I've been enjoying your story until now, and I must say, if we muggles ever have a battle this devastating, it'd be best to go incognito. . . like, into the hills.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Julia Perry. 

15th July 2010:
Very well writen. Loved reading it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by melian 

1st July 2010:
This was lovely. The nervousness Neville feels is perfectly natural, as is the realisation that this is the real thing and the panic that accompanies it. "Can I really do this" is something we've all felt at some point or other and it speaks volumes of Neville that he was able to swallow that and return to being the leader that he had become.

The confidence that his grandmother gave him was very touching, too, and very real. Just that little bit of reassurance from a loved one can make all the difference.

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #18, by theelderwand 

18th June 2010:
I'm glad Neville got his moment of glory in killing Nagini, but DH really could have used somthing like this. Good stuff.

And having his gran show up? priceless!

 Report Review

Review #19, by blueirony 

16th June 2010:
There is a quote in DH, about how Neville's face makes him look like he is well beyond his years, right after where we learn of Colin's death. I couldn't help but think of that while reading this.

I loved this side of Neville. It's that brave, courageous, loving side of Neville, the side that will face death right in the face and fall with its head held high. And you wrote it so well. He almost seems like a soldier in this, as though he is pushing his grief and terror to the back of his mind and simply doing what he needs to. And that is such a beautiful depiction of someone like Neville in the middle of the battle.

I loved the end about Augusta. Loved that. And it ties in so well with the title. That was really clever and almost reassuring to know that the ever-unwavering Augusta is there, fighting to the end.

Lovely to read!

 Report Review

Review #20, by SereneChaos 

15th June 2010:
I was a Neville fangirl since the beginning of the series and this story is just brilliant. I love how he's still insecure...but then he sees Gran and everything is a little better afterwards.

Yay Neville, and in my completely biased opinion, this has been my favorite one-shot of the collab so far.

 Report Review

Review #21, by JLHufflepuff 

15th June 2010:
I like your characterization of Neville. Even though he appears really bold and brave in the final battle, you know he has to have insecurity still buried deep inside him. I like how you showed that as well as what he found to restore his confidence again - something he knew for sure he was good at. Love it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review