Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sushmita 

8th November 2016:
This was magnificent and gave me chills! What a great piece of writing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Debra20 

4th August 2011:
What a magnificent idea to write a story about Tonks' death witnessed through the eyes of another character!

I loved the fact that you paired Fleur with Tonks and you pictured them fighting back to back. Now that I think about it, it seems so natural. How else would they survive being attacked from all sides?

I don't know why, but I had the impression that the Death Eaters as you depicted them were pretty weak. I know Fleur is a good witch, but I never imagined she could defeat so many and so easily. But I think even that can be explained. We only know that the Death Eaters close to Voldemort are talented and powerful, but surely he must have had an army of others that were not very much so.

I also enjoyed reading Bellatrix. Even though I had imagined her looking disgusted and with contempt at Tonks while she killed her, I admit that having her niece stand up while cackling, was very in character. A final humiliation she was bound to put her niece through.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

27th March 2011:
OMG!! That was so sudden and heartbreaking and shattering!!! :(

These chapters will make me go into depression :(

I loved tonks!

~AD

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyMalfoy23 

27th March 2011:
Fluer, wow. Seeing her in action is great. Even in GOF you never really get a taste of that. I like how you do have her as a good witch because that she is, but i never pictured her to be the best of them which is how you handled it. Tonks death was indeed a tragity, but you accent here just how terrible it was. It was due to her aunt, she lost her family, and countless others lost their friend. This captured the war incredibly well.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 

23rd March 2011:
Like all of the other's I've read VERY WELL WRITTEN! I wish i had this kind of talent but my words are better suited for poetry.

 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherinchica08 

22nd March 2011:
O wow this was really interesting! I loved seeing this from Fleur's point of view and how she and Tonks had worked together to get rid of their enemies. It was something different from the norm and how she was there when Bellatrix had gotten to Tonks and how she was trying so hard to help her out but first had to get rid of the other death eaters who had come before she could help Tonks. I really enjoyed this piece! Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ginny45 

22nd March 2011:
Hi.
I think this is wonderfully unique as it takes a popular to write about death ( I couldn't think of the word, mind blank) and adds a spin without changing the actual story.

What I love though is how you are able to catch the essence of Bellatrix without actually shoving her in front of you and making her this all powerful evil. It shows a skill in her characterisation.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
OPERATION:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #8, by scooterbug8515 

22nd August 2010:
Aww, this was sad. I wouldn't have thought to do the death of Tonks from the perspective of Fleur. Most would focus on Tonks or Remus rather than Fleur in this situation, so over all well done!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Northumbrian 

22nd August 2010:
Fleur, lovely Fleur
So often protrayed as a blonde bombo but in reality the Beauxbatons champion, an accomplished witch and noble and clever enough to attract Bill Weasley. This highly effective Fleur is wonderful and the fight scenes are some of the best I've read in this Challenge. Well done.
N

 Report Review

Review #10, by Galawen 

20th August 2010:
Wow, that was fantastic inspiration in character choice. Two women who seem to have absolutely nothing in common fighting for survival highlights the desperation of war. But of course they do have something in common; they have loved ones they want to return to. I like how you potrayed Fleur as passionate and skilled. Just because she was beautiful didn't mean she was useless.
What I also found particularly sad is that had Tonk's survived these women would have had a deep connection in watching their children fall in love. I wonder what Fleur would have thought as she observed alone. :(

 Report Review

Review #11, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

20th August 2010:
Before reading this I had never imagined Tonks and Fleur as friends yet upon reading it I can see how probable and likely it was that they perhaps did have some form of connection. It was very battle orientated yet at the same time, the ending was very moving and emotional, Fleur catching Tonks seemed to show that their friendship was a little stronger than perhaps I first assumed. However whether or not this was the case is beside the point, the fact is you've made it real, you've made their friendship convincing and the ending tears at your heart as a reader making you feel a very real sense of the tragedy that has occured.

This was a brilliantly written piece which really explored what the battle was like for those fully involved in the fighting. Keep up the good work.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jolly 

18th August 2010:
Oh god, another Tonks dying fic. I get so sad of them. :(

I really liked the action described in this and I liked the pairing of Tonks and Fleur, fighting together. Tonks death and her defeat was so sad and terrifying, leaning against the wall in pain as Bellatrix taunted her. I think this was very believable as Bellatrix isn't one to be known for killing quickly and mercifully.

I thought that it felt a little too casual as Fleur saw her husband being seperated from her by Fenrir. It feels like Fleur would have been more scared and anxious for him. Then again, this story feels like it's more about the action and the scene then the actual emotions, if you know what I mean.

Anyway, great story! :)
-Johanna

 Report Review

Review #13, by Amberfire 

15th August 2010:
I liked seeing both Fleur and Tonks together. I could imagine them as friends on day after they had known each other for a long while.

I liked how this piece focused on the fighting for the most part, it made a nice change; the feeling orientated fics are so brilliant, but it is nice for a change, and your fic provided a very nicely done change.

I really liked the attacking sequences and the fighting. But Bellatrix at the end made me sad. Well done on your piece :) It was also nice to hear from Fleur, I rather like her character heh.

 Report Review

Review #14, by alicia and anne 

14th August 2010:
WOW! that was just so. That should have been in the book! it was that good. This was brilliant I had chills the whole time I read this. Fleur was so strong, and I felt like I was there with them in the battle, watching it happen. The end bit where Bellatrix and Tonks was fighting seemed so perfect. I loved this.

 Report Review

Review #15, by ericajen 

14th August 2010:
Your writing of the action sequence was amazing! I had a perfect, clear mental image in my mind of exactly what was going on. You really painted the picture. It was fantastic. Well done.

And, of course, this was also a fair bit heartbreaking. Poor Tonks. I liked the integration of Fleur. I think it's interesting to put Fleur in situations like this. Gives her a lot of depth.

Overall, very well done. I really enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Drummergirlred 

14th August 2010:
#5... I like Fleur and Tonks together. I think the two could have bonded with similar aged children if Tonks would have lived. I liked the action in this a lot it was pretty easy to follow. nice job!

 Report Review

Review #17, by music_is_inside_of_me 

2nd July 2010:
This is a great piece! I loved how you paired Tonk and Fleur together to fight. Great action scenes and wonderful imagery. You described the battle perfectly; I could almost see it in my head.

The ending was definatly sad but I think it was beautifully written all around! Beautiful piece :)

musiclover

 Report Review

Review #18, by momotwins 

30th June 2010:
OMG this is so good. I was on the edge of my seat reading it! You're really a natural at writing battle scenes. It was nice to see someone do a flattering take on Fleur. I quite like her character. I think you acquitted her very well!

 Report Review

Review #19, by emily 

25th June 2010:
gosh you captured the fear and pain of the last battle perfectly. you made it feel like I was there.

 Report Review

Review #20, by melian 

24th June 2010:
Wow. It seems like forever since I reviewed for you (and I WILL be getting back to Eclipse of Time, I promise!!!) but this reminds me why I like doing it so much. You've captured this spot on - the imagery is magnificent and I could really see the battle you described, which happens less often than you might think.

I liked the idea of Fleur and Tonks fighting back-to-back in warding off the Death Eaters, their determination to be reunited with their husbands keeping them alive. It's so true - love will make you do all sorts of things. And then the pull of sisterhood (so to speak) that made her do everything she could to assist Tonks in the duel with Bellatrix was just heartwrenching - we all know how that fight ends but we could feel Fleur's anguish as the AK hit its target.

All in all, a great read.
cheers, Mel

 Report Review

Review #21, by theelderwand 

18th June 2010:
Must say its always a pleasure to read your actions sequences. This one definitely didn't dissapoint.

Excellent pairing the newlyweds together like this, even if the outcome was tragic.

Great work

Eldy

 Report Review

Review #22, by Drecklin 

17th June 2010:
I love the characterization of Fleur here. You gave her power, which I had always assumed she would have. Not just everyone was chosen to be a Triwizard champion. And all throughout the seventh book she was strong in her willpower. I just think its awesome what you've done with her here. Also, the action sequences- very well written! And Tonks :( that was terribly sad. Good work on this!

 Report Review

Review #23, by TallestTower 

16th June 2010:
Wow.
This was a brilliant piece of writing. Considering it was quite short, you captured so much emotion and action - I think you've described the battle very well and this one-shot allows us to see what it must have been like for those fighting in the battle. There is a sense of absolute chaos here, but one of the things I was struck by was just how well written it was. Your use of language was brilliant and your description was wonderful.

I can tell that you put a lot of effort into this, and it really pays off. This is an absolutely amazing piece of writing and you should be proud! I really enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #24, by blueirony 

16th June 2010:
For some reason, Fleur's magical abilities are largely ignored in HP stories. She seems to be pushed to the background, serving simply as Bill's wife, nothing more. And it's sad, because the mere fact that she was chosen as a Triwizard champion means that she must have excellent magical skills.

You showed that here. You showed how skilled she is. You showed her bravery and this fierce determination in her. It was really nice to say because, for the first time, I really seen Fleur as a three-dimensional person. And it was lovely to read how you portrayed her.

I also love the idea that Fleur and Tonks fought together and that Fleur was there at the end for Tonks. Horribly sad, but the whole idea of it just makes me smile, that Tonks was not entirely alone.

The action sequences were also really well written.

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #25, by maskedmuggle 

15th June 2010:
This was very well written!
Great writing :)
I think you captured all the emotions well :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>