Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
41 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roisin 

15th March 2015:
Oh gosh, I took a photography class in High School (I was terrible) and it's ALL COMING BACK TO ME. A dark room is an excellent setting to have on hand, and I'm going to call it now: someone will make out with someone there before the story is over! Also, I'm wondering if you'll include the whole 'feeling really weird and loopy after spending hours printing' thing.

I love that this is kind of 'post ScoRose,' I've never seen that done before! And also, Lucy's clandestine venture at Hogwarts is excellent. It seems strange to me how many school-age stories leave out underage drinking and so on. Like, if I've thought of thirty ways to smuggle booze into Hogwarts, or that the name "Hufflepuff" can be stonily punned, then at least SOME students would have too! (Plus, the dubious recreational potential of Cheering Charms inspired my first ever fic)

I also like that Scorpius still has a kind of superior Malfoyish air, tempered with some more charming attributes. I'm really interested to see more from him!

 Report Review

Review #2, by my_voice_rising 

30th May 2013:
Hello again!

One of your best skills with writing, in my opinion, is dialogue. The flow between every single one of your characters--even between Raven and Mr. Holstone--is so natural. The conversation between Lucy and Scorpius was so realistic, too; I never felt like he was getting unrealistic with opening up to her. It was nice that she admitted to failing everything (even Muggle Studies!) just to make him feel more comfortable. I am already 100% on board this ship.

The only thing I want to suggest is some Magification. Like, instead of a light switch, why wouldn't they use spells to make the red light or the white? Or using potions instead of chemicals? Or levitating the paper out of the solution instead of using tongs? Maybe even the enlarger could somehow be more HP-esque. I know this story was finished a few years ago, and I'm not sure if you want to go back and edit, but that's my only complaint. Everything is very well-written, to the point of reading like original fic. But some HP-isms would really make it feel more canon :3

I love smarmy-Scorpius, though! Especially how he snaps back and forth between being nice and being all "It's more about being careful than showing off." It's funny; in some ways, he's like a well-written Draco in a Dramione fic. When he gets too nice or personal, he puts that front back up. We definitely see how he's Draco's son. Yet he's totally his own character. Something about him getting rid of the Malfoy blond (if I read that correctly and he did dye it) says a lot about his decision to go to art school. It seems that he and Lucy are both being rebelious!

Nicely done! ♥

Author's Response: Hey there! (This formal mutual greeting belies the fact that a lot of my responses, and reviews themselves, are capslock-filled pits of chaos).

Ah, I'm glad you like it! Dialogue flows quite naturally to me when I'm writing. I find it helps to speak things aloud as I'm typing them, which can result in a lot of funny looks if I've got company.

Eek, I know! My only explanation for that is that my headcanon of the next generation is of a society that's far more 'muggle', and that the building in question here has just been adapted from a muggle one, so the electricity's been replaced by magic and the switches still function - but that's just the lazy explanation. The truth is that I get quite carried away when I'm writing and I forget to include magic! I do have an explanation for how magical photographs are formed using muggle photos, but it may have to wait for another day. And, apologies, but this fic's been through about three edits already, and I think I'd defenestrate myself if I had to edit it once more...I will take your point on board, however, and try to slather all my current fics in magic!

Awh, thank you! I was a bit concerned when I was writing him that, whilst I wanted him to be different, he didn't /seem/ like a Malfoy, so this is reassuring to hear. And I'm glad you like him!~

Thank you so much for the review! :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by iatevoldysnose 

5th April 2013:
This was a very interesting chapter haha its nice to see Scorp as a not-so-confident person, as in most stories he's up himself and very confident:) i like the story so far:)

-iatevoldysnose

Author's Response: Thank you! Hee, I am rather attached to my wee pathetic Scorp. Glad you like it, thank you for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by TenthWeasley 

13th January 2013:
Fun fact: I actually read half of this chapter late on a Friday night, and then in all the hustle of returning to uni and unpacking and doing the obligatory social things that comes with returning after a month away, I actually completely forgot I'd started it at all. Imagine my delight at returning and realizing I was already halfway through!

I feel you should know that Scorpius is, in this story, a perfect carbon copy of Andrew Garfield, which is probably in thanks to the banner. ♥ He makes for lovely reading. Call me crazy, but I actually kind of ate up the whole dark room scene, because doing film-to-development photography is something I totally want to do at least one time in my life. (Digital. Gross.) When I sail to England I'll make you teach me. But I also really liked that you are the first person I've ever come across to actually explain how wizarding photos move, and the way you did it is so canon that I'm pretty sure that's exactly what Rowling had in mind, anyway. Please surrender all skills now.

I don't know what it is about this story -- or maybe just your writing -- but I feel like you could write anything, and I'd still just be sitting here soaking it up with my eyes.

I liked all the backstory here, too! All about Scorpius's reasons (or not-so-reasons) for going to art school, and now all of his little quirks are coming to light, and Lucy's blue hair, and I am just having a lot of fun with this. There is a very distinct reason that this won Best Next Generation in two awards, I'm seeing now, and I wish very much that I had read it sooner.

Looking forward to forging on and meeting more art students and progressing with Lucy in her journeys through wizarding photography! And with Scorpius, of course. :3 Another great chapter!!

Author's Response: fun fact: I actually read this review at midday on Sunday when I was unpacking, and then in the hustle of unpacking and going to my friend's flat for a HP marathon, I only got around to responding to it now. COINCIDENCE, I THINK...YES.

heee. funnily enough, when I cast him for the banner, I'd only seen him in a (relatively minor) role in The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus. but approximately a week after the casting I went and saw Never Let Me Go and I was like. what. he /is/ Scorpius. then he proved that even further with his interpretation of Peter Parker in spiderman. FATE.

*holds skills tightly to chest* I don't have many, please don't take them from me!

thank you so much for reviewing! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by noname 

26th December 2012:
Scorpius needs glasses for distance, too... I HAVE SOMETHING IN COMMON WITH A MALFOY! :O

Also, this is really interesting!

(Disregard my number/number rating, I'm bad at that, and it's all relative to what I have read recently.)

Author's Response: I also have this thing in common, both with Scorpius and with you! :O

thank you for reviewing! (and don't worry, I don't get to see the number ratings anyway) ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by spreaddapoo 

26th October 2012:
Hello! Wow - you develop photos yourself? I've been trying really hard to get my hands on some film and chemicals but, living in South Africa, it's become particularly difficult to find any... That's wonderful!

I'm loving Scorpius, and the whole idea of the dilapidating art school; and I find the lingo just perfect. It's not overtly complex, and it's sort of a mix between explaining what can be explained by a fellow classmate, and throwing Lucy headfirst into the deep end so she can start finding it out for herself - which is, to be honest, how everyone does (or at least should) learn anything anyway.

Thanks for the good read! Onto the next chapter...

Author's Response: yes I do! :D it's good fun, I do it the idiot's way though :L

glad you like it! it was hard to figure out; when I started it I was still at school, and actual art school has a few similarities but isn't really like this D: if I had the energy I would rewrite but...no.

thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by marissa lily potter 

29th July 2012:
I love how awkward Scorpius is. He's just precious :) And the way he's afraid of Rose... Well it's actually pretty adorable. Hopefully, he mans up though haha. I was confused with the artsy lingo for a while but then it got cleared up. Loved this chapter! :)

-Marissa

Author's Response: he's by far been my favourite of all my pathetic hipster scorpiuses to write (and I feel like I've written millions of them). what is this 'man up' of which you speak? it is an unfamiliar concept to scorpius malfoy, he does not speak man. don't worry - it was confusing when I learned it for the first time and it took me a lot of blundering with chemicals and expensive photo paper to get the hang of it. thanks for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by soliloquy 

18th March 2012:
JULIA. I'VE DECIDED TO PROCRASTINATE WRITING MY ESSAY AND STUDYING FOR FINALS SO HERE I AM, FINALLY READING AND REVIEWING SA!

okay. that photo-developing lingo was pretty amazing and written in a way that was easy to understand and and humorous. your art teacher must be hilarious. "this is an enlarger...it enlarges..." thank you, sherlock! hehe :)

and these chapter images are fancy, smanshy! i like them!! i really want to find out more about rose/scorpius and why his hair is brown and LOL lucy's blue hair.

also, the dean reminds me of the dean from community. idk if you watch that show, but idk why, he reminds me of that dean. ;) kekeke

so far, the development of your cast of characters is amazing. i want to know moar. no wonder there are so many spin-offs ;) IF THIS WAS MY UNIVERSE, I WOULD NEVER STOP WRITING SPIN-OFFS!! it would be too fun :D

AMAZING job, julia! going forward to read moar ♥

Author's Response: TANYA. HI.

yeah, legit how I learned photography. it wasn't very serious. once he told us this really gross but very very funny story when we were in there, and I was laughing so hard I had to pretend to tie my shoelaces so I could hide behind the developing bath and cry with laughter because I didn't want him to think I was immature. he thinks i'm immature anyway.

his hair is brown because he's allergic to life. trufax.

COMMUNITY~ I wish I'd watched it before I wrote this but, alas, this story was well and truly finished before I befriended the study group.

lolol I'm like shoving my universe onto hpff like EVERYONE. MUST. READ. IT. I feel bad. I'm going to stop after sequel and prequel. but then no doubt I'll spin off on all my other fics~

thank you lovely! ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by SunSation Gal 07 

24th December 2011:
Wow, that dean is rather pathetic. :P and good lord was that awkward. 'more awkward than when my Uncle Ron got drunk at Christmas and started can-can dancing in front of the whole family.' that line sent me into stitches. Brilliant. :D

Author's Response: Heh, I do like my awkward! Thank you very much for reviewing ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

22nd December 2011:
I died my hair blue once.

It turned green and then the color of pee.

No joke. Not an attractive look.

Anywho. I didn't understand any of the artsy stuff but I'm not artists. I draw stick figures...and I draw them pretty badly. Hahaha. But I liked Scorpius, he seems very mellow.

Author's Response: OMG THAT HAPPENED TO MY HAIR. It was orange and blue, then it was orange and green, then it was orange and grey and then I dyed it red out of shame.

Scorpius...they call him mellow yellow, quite rightly.

Thanks! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by LittleMissPrincess 

16th November 2011:
who is the person in the photo?

and i love the banner btw :)

Author's Response: It's Andrew Garfield, and it's a still from the film Never Let Me Go :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Manga_girl 

8th November 2011:
Awesome chapter! Made me laugh a bit x

Author's Response: Thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by classicblack 

28th October 2011:
Cute chapter! Can't wait to see more of Lucy and art school :)
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by hdawg 

16th October 2011:
JULIA. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT ANY OF THAT DARK ROOM LINGO MEANT APART FROM THE BIT ABOUT THE ENLARGER. No joke. I feel like a failure having taken art for the last six years :(

But me like Scorpius. Me like him and his pushover ways. I also like the sound of his glasses. They sound col.

SO BLUE. Reminds me of an experiment in the summer holidays, does it not you? ;) he he he. Y U SO COOL?

We should so take a paint gun to art and create modernistic pieces to express our deepest desires and criticisms on the world we live in. Like all deep artists do, because they're so deep.

ANYWAY, I'm going to go on and read the next chapter now and REVIEW LIKE A MADMAN.

xxx

Author's Response: HANNAH, DO NOT FRET. ONLY THE MOST HIPSTER OF US DARK ROOM'D. Plus you were etching before me. I'm a late bloomer in the field of etching. Woes.

They sound col? Col you say? HOW...COL.

Oh my god don't even remind me of the blue that swiftly went green and then swiftly grey...I looked like a pensioner.

Paintballing. Yes. Next week? Absolutely.

REVIEW AWAY MY DARLING. ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by MOI 

9th October 2011:
i sat artsy fartsy, it sounds more 2 yr oldish and fun, oh, and scor seems like a jerk, can he lighten up a bit?

Author's Response: I...I have no idea what you mean by that. And, yup, Scor lightens up a bit ;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by erised19 

3rd October 2011:
The tension between Lucy and Scorpius makes for really good reading, and I love the true artist personalities!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! You'll be pleased to hear that I based the true artist personalities on a few true RL artists :) thanks for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by Illuminate 

16th September 2011:
Hi!

Still, another good chapter! You're still setting stuff up in this one, and I like how there's a lot of backstory to your characters that is yet to be discovered! I really can't wait to see the deeper side to Lucy, and to meet Tarquin and Raven properly!

Great job!

Author's Response: hello again! Yeah, this is the big ol' exposition chapter, haha. Tarkers and Gwendibird pop up soon...next chapter, i think? anyway, thank you very much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by honoraryweasley 

1st September 2011:
Review the second. (Update on Julia's - me Julia's - sanity and livelihood: has discovered cookie. Yum.)

Can I just say that I was much amused by the Rose/Scorpius dynamics described in the first chapter and elaborated on in this one. It seems like a real relationship. Like, one that one of my crazy friends would have with one of my crazy acquaintances. And all my friends and acquaintances really are quite crazy, so it's really exceptional that you've accurately depicted such craziness.

Also, Scorpius is great. Also, he's Andrew Garfield so it really doesn't matter if he's great or not as long as you keep including him in chapter images. YAY!

I really appreciate that you know your stuff with all this photography lingo and art school bizniz. It's like how everyone always says "Write what you know" - but that's ridiculous, because who actually knows someone called SCORPIUS, so instead you can provide a realistic backdrop for the story, at least.

Author's Response: Cookie? Nomnomnom. Update on me Julia's daily goings-on - I have just acquired a packet of custard creams and life is fabbo. Really top-notch.

I think we all know a few crazy people. Although I think I have more than my quota of crazy people. Rose is sort of based on a real person, just as Lucy sort of is and Mr Holstone sort of is and Tarquin and Raven sort of are and Scorpius is sort of based on me because I'm a blundering awkward buffoon. Except I didn't base the Andrew Garfield resemblance on me, although I sort of wish I knew an Andrew Garfield I could base a character on. And...I don't think that made sense. But he's yummy scrumboes, so making chapter images of him is pretty fabbo too.

Art school bizniz teehee. Writing what I know indeed - I basically live in the art department, hoarding snacks and occasionally surfacing into the daylight, blinking, hunched over. Also WHAT ON EARTH DO YOU MEAN, MY BEST FRIEND IS CALLED SCORPIUS HOW RUDE lol jk I know it's the worst name ever, Draco and Astoria obviously had a bit of a sadistic streak.

And...the long and short of that rambling is thank you very much for another lovely review ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by TheDoctor 

22nd August 2011:
Gah! I love this so much! I'm a complete photography nerd and Harry Potter + an old school dark room = my personal heaven! Anyway, you're a really gifted writer and I'm completely hooked. (p.s. I loved your description of the enlarger, it sounds just like my old one... dear old clunky...) But as I said I love this story so much!

Author's Response: Yay! Another photography nerd! (Although I haven't been in a dark room for ages and I'm a bit rusty...). Thank you very much! ♥ And, yes, those enlargers - I swear I hit my head off them every time.
thank you very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by HarrietHopkirk 

8th August 2011:
OH MY GOD, ARE YOU A PHOTOGRAPHER? A hipster photographer with one of those big-ass cameras?

I love Scorpius. Andy G. ♥

Author's Response: YUP. I possess six cameras. Five are gigantic. Four take film. Two are digital. One is small. Does that qualify me as hipster? SOMETIMES I'M NAUGHTY AND HAVE A CHEEKY BIT OF LENS FLARE.



 Report Review

Review #21, by Hyenni 

22nd July 2011:
I DON'T KNOW WHERE TO START OH MY GOD OH MY GOD.

"he watched me flailing my arms around for a bit before he said, quite calmly, '...right behind you.' "

the mental images that conjured up just about killed me. it's pretty much exactly what i do except i don't have some gorgeous Scorpius Malfoy (love the chapter image, by the way) watching me make an idiot of myself. and he's so smooth and suave (hahaha) that it kills me.

" 'Does this face look normal to you?'
I gazed down at what seemed to be a very sulky looking portrait of Gwendolyn/Raven outside the front door of the Art School.
'Yeah, it's fine.' "

OH MY GOD. i don't know if you did this intentionally, but i physically could not breathe for laughter. the idea of him accidentally asking if Gwen's face is normal was just so funny. and his little statements of "this is an Enlarger. It enlarges" and "this is a film in a spool" just made him so incredibly adorable.

heh. it just occurred to me that i just quoted quite a bit of your chapter back at you. well, that's not exactly a punishment (;

i'm so in love with this story right not that you would not believe it. and Scorpius is completely amazing. and so is Lucy. ARGH IT'S ALL AMAZING.

thank you for writing this. just...thank you. ^^

Author's Response: START WITH THE BEGINNING. DEEP BREATHS.

This chapter is basically just how my first dark room session went. tripping over and smacking my head off things and all. Yupp.

And that dialogue? Paraphrased from my art teacher. Yes, 'this is an enlarger, it enlarges' is precisely how I learnt to develop photos. I don't know whether I should tell you to be jealous or to pity me.

no. thank YOU. for such a gorgeous review ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme 

10th July 2011:
And there it is. Blue hair, the true sign of an artsy type. Lucy probably has the same perceptions of art students as the rest of the world does and I think that's a lovely side to her character ^_^ AND SCORPIUS IS DARK-HAIRED. It's funny how chapter images affect the way you see characters sometimes: I absolutely saw Scorpius as (the scrummy) Andrew Garfield throughout it, and Hannah Murray has been ingrained in my mind as your Lucy even before I started reading this.

Anyway, rambling.

I reallyyy like Scorpius. I find myself saying this a disgusting number of times these days but I dooo. All you wonderful people putting together these brilliant characters that I can't hate. It's appalling and I should have you all imprisoned for it. If I had that power, anyway. But he's so...fail. And he wants to be all successful and important but there's just absolutely no conviction and I love it. He and Lucy are going to be a whole lot of fun. It's fab.

The paint gun was a brilliant touch and I love the nonsensical speel that Tarquin gave Mr Holstone, and how he just wanders off. Very artsy, very funny and absolutely puts Tarquin up another couple of notches on the awesomeness of OCs scale.

Er, kind of rambling again so I'll stop. I absolutely love this and for some reason, I hadn't even twigged until the end of this chapter that it was in first person. You've done a brilliant job with the consistency of Lucy and the flow and all that technical business.


xx

Author's Response: Blue Hair. Always. (Even after all this time?) Yeah, there is a sort of...well, general perception of art students worldwide. We don't get a good reputation. But often, that's justified. And, haha, yes, I casted Lucy about five thousand times before I even started writing this, but once I'd settled on Hannah Murray I've never had any second thoughts - unlike the others, who have all been casted and re-casted and double-recasted.

Also rambling.

Haha, yes, he is so fail. That's the best way to describe him. He's the spawn of Draco Malfoy...he's going to have some issues.

And, ooh, thank you! ♥ I always find it very difficult to write in first person - I always feel like I'm giving too much away or something. But once I'd got three or four chapters into writing this, I kind of got into the flow more. So I'm pleased you say that ♥

Thank you for another lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by gingersnape 

2nd July 2011:
I think I kept up with all the dark room lingo just fine, and i'm starting to like this story more and more! :D Lucy and Scorpius are great together and I like blue as a hair color. It seems to fit her well and I loved reading about the paint ball. That was just awesome! :D
Annie

Author's Response: Good to hear that - I tried to keep it pretty simple, and that wasn't too hard seeing as I learnt dark room photography the idiot's way, haha. Blue is a good colour to have your hair, yes - after writing this I'm sort-of dying my own hair blue this summer (it was way too tempting!).
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Maxine 

8th June 2011:
Read two chapters so far, and I love it :) You've got a really unique way of writing. I'm definitely looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thanks! Well, chapter 14 should be up - hopefully - by the start of next week. If you're really planning on reading that much more, haha. I'm on a bit of a roll with the updates right now. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by memorylikeatrain 

9th May 2011:
This version of Scorpius is genius! And so different from mine, but wonderful.
I love the awkwardness between them, and how clumsy Scorpius is.
Hahahaa the enlarger enlarges. That's great.

Author's Response: yeah, usually Scorpius is all hot and mysterious or just plain shirtless. I do buy into that a lot in my reading, but then I remember but the poor child was spawned from draco malfoy and I think, well...he must have had an interesting childhood.
the enlarger does enlarge. no. seriously. dummies' guide to dark room photography. enlarger enlarges, developer develops. it's that simple. sometimes.
thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>