Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Singularity 

28th August 2011:
Sorry it's taken me so long to come back and review. I read all of this story at once. After reading this chapter, I was too excited to keep reading to stop and review :P I kept meaning to come back, but kept putting it off (I'm a fabulous procrastinator) but better late than never, I suppose.

I really love that this chapter starts so sadly and ends in such a rush of happiness. It's really great.

It's sad to think that Arthur was shifted over to that department this early in his career and wound up stuck there for so long. He seems to kind of enjoy it I suppose, but he could have done so much good elsewhere.

And poor Reid. He's really not coping very well. Talking about Cecilia's O.W.L.s arriving reminded me so much of when my step-grandpa passed away, but we kept getting his mail for years. Mostly junk mail, but no matter how many times we had his name removed from mailing lists, it kept arriving. It was like a blindsided reminder. I had nearly forgotten that Cecilia had written down his address for her O.W.L.s.

But the Arthur/Molly proposal bit is just perfect. Even though it happens so fast, it doesn't seem like it's too fast because of everything that has led up to it. Molly's thoughts and her vacillation back and forth was so in character for her. Of course she wants to marry him, but her more practical side fights against eloping.

I love Arthur's "It's just money, I can make more" bit at the end. That just seems so canon. Money has never been important to the Weasleys. I mean, they have seven children. They can't be very concerned about making money :P And going to a Muggle place to elope. Very Arthur. :)

Author's Response: No problem :) I'm glad you came back, though! I really enjoy reading your reviews.

It takes a while for the post to catch up with current events sometimes. I figure the N.E.W.T.s would still be sent out, even if they knew she was dead by then, but I doubt they knew.

I'm glad the pacing was all right - I was trying not to rush it, but the whole point of the elopement sort of *is* the rush, you know? And Arthur doesn't care about money - Molly's more practical but she still gives in.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by TheWorldISee 

31st March 2011:
Where to begin...

Wonderful job with the details, yet again. Such a clever way to work Arthur into the Misuse of Muggle Artifacts Department. And the nod to their impending money troubled future with the Gringotts bit was very well done. It does make me wonder why Molly never worked, I know they had the kids to raise, but seems she could have done something to help bring in the galleons.

Poor Reid. It's heartbreaking to see him like this. Despite all the crazy events in the Potter series there wasn't the same impending doom over everyone and everything all the time as I imagine (and you do too it seems) there would have been at Voldemort's peak. Quite a more depressing story that way actually... But your story is far more than just depressing, it's filled with all the ups and downs of the real world. I'm loving it as usual. Remarkable job, on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: It was much more socially acceptable to be a stay at home mom than to work, in those days. And wizarding society often seems rather old-fashioned. Some women really honestly do prefer to be home, too - I have a master's degree, but I'm a stay-at-home mom and very happy at it. Of course, I have several hobbies, including writing ;)

Anyway, Reid's a sad soul - poor guy, he was really destroyed by Cecilia's death. I do think that everyone would have felt the impending doom during this period, yeah - Voldemort would have been terrifying. They drop hints of it in canon - Arthur describing the Dark Mark, Molly talking about people eloping left right and center... But even in times like that, life has to go on. Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by RonsGirlFriday 

9th July 2010:
-squees giddily at marriage proposals-

Arthur gave her a wicked smile then, and added, "And you're older than me, so you should know all that too."

Um, does he EVER stop getting more and more adorable??

-thinks-

Pfft, no. Stupid question. Obviously not. XD

So anyway, something I really like is that you've shown how the building war and Cecilia's death have tangibly impacted Molly and Arthur, even aside from their decision to get married. Now we all know what happened with Arthur's career - I was wondering about that, too, at the end of WIW, because he got such a promising job under Cecilia's dad. And just like that, his career is now pretty much decided for him, as we know that's where he'll stay for at least the next few decades.

I definitely went and googled Gretna Green after it was mentioned in this chapter, because I'm a nerd like that. It's a cute idea for them. :-D

Author's Response: lol. Arthur is pretty adorable. I think it's no secret that he's one of my all-time favorite characters.

Yep, his promising career is now shot in the foot, and will never *really* recover. He does get a better job in HBP, but by DH he's trapped at Aunt Muriel's and not able to work, since he'd been under surveillance for his contact with Harry. Poor Arthur, he's had a tough time of it trying to make his name. But he did still manage to pass the Muggle Protection Act, which was a huge accomplishment for him in such a lowly back-end office.

Gretna Green, if you read Regency-era romance novels, is like the ultimate in eloping. Running for the border can be the height of romance.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Margravine 

16th May 2010:
Oh Lord, I didn't realise this had even come out yet! *is slow*

before anything else GRETNA GREEN! I absolutely adore you forever for the Austen/Regency reference and love more than I can quite express that Arthur not only knew about it but wanted to get married there.

So to the actual story - it's perfect. You've somehow struck a wonderful balance between aching sadness and glimmers of hope. All the previous stories haven't just been stories, you've established your characters so firmly I feel like I know them by now. And if anyone's death was going to upset me, it was Cecilia's.

What else? Oh, I loved the little details. Arthur's career and the ministry bill plummeting were those classy little touches that set your stories apart. Loved - could you tell?

Author's Response: Gretna Green is classic for eloping! I think Arthur would love to elope the way Muggles do XD

Cecilia's death really sets all of this in motion, so although I hated to kill her, the story didn't work as well without her death.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by theelderwand 

12th May 2010:
Amazing Chapter.

Cecilia's Owls sent to Reid, I'd forgotten about that. What a cruel twist. You've made the forboding and fear here very palpable and only more so with this flourish.

You've also written Arthur's "exile" in the Ministry exceptionaly convincing. Although I knew it was coming, it didn't dissapoint.

And his vault and the conversation about money was well done.

Finally, the proposal itself was brilliant. Given what they were facing and how they felt, it worked wonderfully.

I desperately hope there's another chapter in the cue.

Excellent work!

TEW

Author's Response: It is a cruel twist, the way things just crumpled and fell apart all around Reid. Poor guy. He's a jerk, but he's not a bad person, and he really did love her.

Ah I'm glad Arthur's loss of career prospects worked out. I wanted the deaths of the Fletchers to be devastating to everyone, more than just personally too. It started to change the way they see the world, and the way they interact with it. Really the murder of the Fletchers sets up everything else.

There will be another chapter soon. I have a bit of tweaking to do before it's posted. Don't worry, I'm a TA, no need to wait for the queue ;) Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Kristin 

12th May 2010:
Superb chapter as usual! Finally a bit of hope in all the darkness. Poor Reid, though, I feared this would happen to him ... And please write more about Siobhan, too, she's one of my favourite characters!

Now for something completely different: The forthcoming war is truly overshadowing everything in this fic (and What It's Worth), and this chapter is very canon-compliant - I'm thinking about how Molly once describes (in canon) that she and Arthur got married when they were quite young, because of the dark times and all that. Considering this, I find it strange that the Marauders' time at Hogwarts - which passed a couple of years after Molly & Arthur's - is almost always described as happy and worryless, especially in fan fiction. Maybe that's why I rarely find a Marauder fic worth reading ... It's just something that's not quite right. Your version of these times seems so much more natural to me :)

(p.s. sorry for any wrong spelling/weird language, I can write perfectly well in Norwegian :P)

Author's Response: I think you're doing fine in English :)

Molly's line in canon is what inspired this story. I actually started writing it before I even finished "Unsinkable", particularly the wedding scenes. And I think you're right, the Marauder time was at the height of the Voldywar and was probably not at all happy and carefree for them. I don't generally care for Marauders stories either, so I'm with ya on that one.

Thank you so much for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by laughhard91 

12th May 2010:
AH! I squealed more times in this chapter than I thought I would ever squeal in my life. They are SO cute. The whole, "I couldn't bear it if it was you." and then the "Let's get married." and the whole yeah, let's go right now. It was utterly fantastic! And my sister (reading over my shoulder) loved how Arthur was just like, "okay, let's go." I think it's awesome. And Molly thinking about how adult and grown up they are was awesome. And how very Weasleyish to start with clearing out the Gringotts vault. Foreshadowing of their life, I suppose. I'm so excited for them to get married!
On a different note, I nearly cried when I saw that Reid had gotten Cecilia's OWL results. That's a love story very different from that of Arthur's and Molly's. It makes me very much want to hold everyone I know and love about very close to me, which was the point I suppose, but it was well written, and broke my heart. The NEWT results that were supposed to be received once they had been married and were living together...it's just awful.

Author's Response: Poor Reid, he's not holding up well. He needs someone to give him a metaphorical kick in the pants, and unfortunately that would usually have been Cecilia's role.

I think Arthur would have always had the same attitude about money. It's just not the most important thing to him. I think he'd be much more ready to just leap into action than Molly, she's a worrier and a planner.

Thank you so much for the review! It really made my day :) I was particularly feeling the romance when I wrote this hehe.


 Report Review

Review #8, by thewatergirl 

11th May 2010:
Thank you for updating! I love that they're going to Gretna Green to elope!
Please hurry with the next one...you are the only author for whom I wait for updates.

Author's Response: Of course! Gretna Green is classic. Wow thank you, yes, the next chapter will be up soon.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review