Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
341 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Annelf 

10th October 2017:
I only rated this chapter a 9 cause I hate that she died in the end. but I'd be lying if I said I hadn't thought it would happen ever since I started the story...it was the only ending that seemed right, like you said, the best way to end it. Still hate it though :')
Other than that, great story, the parts about Mary, in the end, never failed to make me cry and I loved the character development you had going on with the mains, so kudos for that! A lovely read, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Beth 

11th September 2017:
I've read this whole thing in under 24 hours and you are a fantastic writer. I really wish it hadn't ended this way as I was so invested in Sirius and Laura's relationship, but I can understand that in order to remain true to canon she had to die. You've created such a complete and incredible character that, despite only 'knowing' her for a day, her death really upset me, so congratulations on being such a wonderful author. Have you written or considered writing any original novels? I think you could.

 Report Review

Review #3, by flufflepuff5 

11th June 2017:
I have loved this story and finished it in a few days. But SERIOUSLY why couldn't of Laura have lived and be happy with serius why did you have to end it like that, never been so disappointed in an ending in my life

 Report Review

Review #4, by FadingAntigone 

18th May 2017:
When I originally finished this series, I was a little disappointed. I had envisioned a completely different ending for Laura and Sirius. But I recently read Chapter 30 per your author's note, and I realized that this was exactly how it had to end. It fits so well into canon--and you can tell that you really did the research and worked alongside the story instead of against. Beautifully done! xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fuagcity 

31st March 2017:
I happened upon your alternate ending to this story - which they break up and she moves on - and had to come back to look at the original ending again. I left a review back in April last year praising your story. Since then I've gone through the death of someone very close to me - someone I loved, and still do. I was emotionally invested in the loss at the end of your story and find that the emotions ring true even now that I've had my own first hand experience with the death of a loved one. Yours is still one of the best stories on this site.

... BTW - even though it still is a devastating end to the story, the original ending is still light-years better than the one-shot alternate ending you wrote. Breaking up just isn't true to the characters you brought to life. If I may be so bold as to com pare you to The Bard - your tragedy is every bit as tragic as the ending of Romeo and Juliet even if it isn't written in iambic pentameter... (he has you beat there of course_

 Report Review

Review #6, by Stef 

20th March 2017:
This is a well written story and I adore it. I've read it four times now. Have you written anything since?

Author's Response: Thanks! It's so nice to have people re-reading this. Since I finished it I've written 2 OF novels in varying stages of completion, and I recently re-joined the world of fanfiction but on another site. I've re-done this story and posted a few new one-shots if you want to have a look, but you'll have to google the story name to find it I'm afraid as I'm not allowed to link here. Thanks for the review!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by jambon357 

24th January 2017:
Hi! I just wanted to thank you for writing this story! I have read it so many times yet I always find something new every time I read it! I would say that it is as fabulous as the Harry Potter Books! Please write more stories this length (maybe a James Potter II/OC ;) ). Keep up the AMAZING work! x

Author's Response: Aw thank you! That really has made my day ... though I don't think it's quite at JKR's level, I'm happy to take the compliment! :D

I have no plans to write next-gen at this stage, and I admit that anything new is unlikely to be posted on this site as I have moved archives. (As an aside, a revised version of this story is on both of my new preferred ones.) My current project is to finish Year of the Snake, so that's next on the list. If I feel a pressing need towrite a next-gen story, though, it may possibly happen. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by P 

21st January 2017:
You write really well, I couldn't stop reading. And it's great that you've almost always kept up with canon from JKR. Cheers

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I put a lot of work into this story so it's lovely to have that recognised. :)
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by emma28 

13th December 2016:
This is an amazing story! It's incredibly well written and the character development is done really well.

It's so nice and refreshing to actually read a Sirius/OC story that's really good and COMPLETE! So many are just abandoned or just not updated in years.

This is hands down the best sirius/oc story I've ever read. And I actually read it word for word. Normally I find stories just lose their touch and become boring so I end up just scanning the rest or just jump straight to the end. But this one had me hooked the entire way through!
I'm so sleep deprived right now, it's not funny! lol

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's a ridiculously long story so the fact I kept your attention is amazing, so thanks for that. It's been up for a while so I sometimes forget to check this site (a newer version is being posted elsewhere) so sorry if its' taken me a while to respond. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it so much. Thanks for the review!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Sushmita 

10th November 2016:
This story was exceptionally good and I was surprised U hadn't won a dobby award in the Marauder era category. Your attention to detail, way of bringing the characters to life was unbelievably good. I wish u would write more stories as after this story I read everything you had written from your author's page. You are just that amazing! You have gotten me hooked to Harry potter fan fiction now and I cant get any other work done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What a lovely thing to say. I admit I did want that Marauder era Dobby (as well as the canon one) but it never happened. However, one Dobby is better than none and I'm definitely not complaining. I've been working on some original fiction in my time away from this site so that may make an appearance eventually, otherwise it's just been tidying up what I already had and working on YotS. I hope you do manage to get some work done though - it's bad enough me wanting to write through my work day without you wanting to read as well!!

thanks for the reviews, they really did make my day.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by AbraxanUnicorn 

11th September 2016:
This is pure brilliance! Read it in just over 24hrs and got virtually nothing else done during that time as I was too desperate to get on with the story to be distracted by real life. I wish Laura hadn't met the end she had, but I see why in order to fit in with JKR's original story.
Have to say, Laura and Padfoot's dallying in the middle of this was excruciating. It took a lot of inward strength not to screech "oh for goodness sake!!" at my computer as they almost got together then didn't quite. 10/10

Author's Response: Really? Why thank you! It's not often people sit and read something this long in a binge like that so it's really lovely when people say they've done it with your story. *beams* And thank you for understanding why she had to die, as not eveyrone did. :)

As for that extremely frustrating bit in the middle, well it was enormously fun to write, though I do understand how people were throwing things at their computers. But I had a very strict story plan and The Snog couldn't happen until the end of the calendar year. So I just tortured them both for a while, hahaha. *evil grin*

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Steff 

5th July 2016:
All the people wondering if still read the reviews and that in 2015. Well as often i just binge read the entire thing in a day and a night. The entire story is really well written no plot holes what so ever altough the ending was quite tragic. I realised that you didn't seem quite sure about your chapters or not really satisfied with them but i guess that is just something writers do always thinking their art isn't good and could use improvements, not realising that just their story as it was from a neutral perspective is a magnificent piece of art. Had me tear up at quite a few parts. All the best wishes and hopefully too many ideas to ever stop writing.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes I do still read reviews, and now I'm even responding to them! Amazing! But yeah, I had some time off from the site and have only recently come back. I"m really thrilled to hear that you come back to binge read this story as that's very flattering, but yes, there are still a nubmer of points I'm not happy with and I'm actually inthe process of reposting it on another site with those edits done. But thanks so much for the feedback, as it means I'm not wasting my time with this writing malarkey. :)

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Wishing I Was Sirius 

25th April 2016:
To be honest, I had hoped that the end of Laura and Sirius would be when he went after Peter and she had moved on after the 12 years in Azkaban. This was much more heartbreaking but it makes sense as she is never mentioned in the canon. Thanks for the story as a whole

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, she had to die. AFter all, if Sirius had someone to live for he wouldn't have let the Hit Wizards take him to Azkaban without a fight, would he? So thank you for recognising that.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Fugacity 

8th April 2016:
This has been up for so long that I don't know if you ever read your reviews any more - but I'll leave this review anyway...

It's clear why this story is in the top 10 on the home page. It is exceptionally well written. You did a good job sticking to cannon and making it all seem real. When Mary was murdered, I was in shock. You had done such an excellent job of characterization - giving her an authentic brogue that she became a living, breathing person to me without me quite realizing it until - she died. I kept reading all the way to the end with some dread - knowing that since Sirius was alone in the cannon that Laura was too good to last, but that with the depth of their feelings that there was no way anything but death could part them; that meant that she had to die at the end.
Laura's death made it even more authentic because life is really like that. Life is messy, life is complicated, life can be wonderful, life can be tragic, life can be mundane - but a life with love is most certainly worth living.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes, I read them, but I haven't been responding to them for a while and am only now catching up. Sorry for the delay! :)

I'm so pleased you enjoyed my story so much. I put a lot of work into it and tried to sitck as closely as I could to canon (yule ball notwithstanding) so it's really lovely when people recognise that. And that's a wonderful thing to say about Mary's characterisation, that she became a real person to you, because again that was what I was hoping for. I tried with all of them to give them good and bad points, quirks, and most of all depth as they matured, and it seems like I did okay there so thank you.

And yes, Laura had to die. Thanks for recognising that, as not everyone did.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Rhianne 

25th February 2016:
I HATE YOU SO MUCH!!! I knew you would have to kill Laura to explain why she wasn't there in the Harry Potter series but I hoped that the epilogue was James and lily dieing and we just get to imagine the end.
*wipes away a tear and throws rotting vegetables at you*
An amazing story though. One of my favourites ever up there with delicate. It was so well written and I couldn't put it down. Thank you for being so amazing at writing stories xxx

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. Though to elicit this reaction I have to have done something right with the story, right? So pleased you liked it, even if you didn't like the ending. Thanks for the feedback!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by siriusmarauder 

5th January 2016:
Just read it all the way through. Fairly entertaining even though I've never necessarily shipped Sirius with anyone, so kudos. I'm curious if you ever had a specific joke in mind that James and/or Sirius shared with Dumbledore at the graduation ceremony or if it was just meant to be generic.

Author's Response: Ah, that joke was meant to be generic. I"m sure I could think of something if pressed, but it wasn't supposed to be anything in particular. To be honest I saw that sort of thing at my own university graduation and it stuck, so that was why I threw it in there.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Tildis 

28th December 2015:
Wow, this was so powerful. Cried like a baby, still am. Even though a suspected this was the only way to end the story from the beginning. Best fanfiction I've read so far. Keep up the good work and thanks for this exceptional and outstanding work of fiction.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, it was the only way to end the story, but hey, you guessed that and you still read the whole thing, so that's saying something. So pleased you enjoyed it so much!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by LilyandJamesOTP 

14th December 2015:
I think this ruined my life.

Author's Response: Yeah, sorry about that. WEll, not really, but you know what I mean. I'm actually very flatterd to have affected you like that so thank you!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by misskindra 

2nd November 2015:
Thank you for this- I've accepted this story as canon! It was a bit slow at first, and I'm amazed you included the last three years of their schooling into one story- I always assume it will only be one year, so thank you for that difference. One of my favorites of the Marauders for sure!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It means a lot to me to have people accept this as their head canon, because that was what I was hoping for (and why I put all that hard work into it in the first place).
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Juli 

22nd September 2015:
This was an amazing story to read! I must admit, I wasn't completely interested at first, because the first chapters were a bit lacking of action for me... but as the story progressed, I found myself caught up in your writing! And Laura turned from being a not-so-interesting, kind of wallflower character into this fun and charming person! Thanks for the journey! I'm giving you a 9 because I didn't like her dying, even if it does make sense for the story, and I guess it was needed for Sirius to turn into who he was (I read the process of taming... loved that ending!) Hope you write something new soon!

Author's Response: Yes, I know the first chapters are a bit slow. Even in my tidied up version (currently being posted elsewhere) they're still a bit slow. But then again coming of age stories are often like that, in my defence. I'm glad you liked Laura's character development because that was key to the story - and I"m sorry she died, but as you understand it was kind of necessary. Thanks for the review!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Sidney Ralph 

10th September 2015:
Amazing amazing amazing

Author's Response: Thank you! So pleased you enjoyed it!!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ally 

3rd September 2015:
I am just going to make this short and sweet. I don't know how long ago you posted this story, but I only recently discovered it.

I can honestly say that this is the most beautifully written Sirius Black story I have ever read. Amazing from start to finish.

And for that I must say thank you.

Author's Response: Aw thank you! The story is a few years old now but I"m in the process of posting a tidied up version on another site. I'm glad you think it did justice to Sirius, because that was kind of the idea. And to not make me hate the end of OotP, hahaha. :D

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Miori178 

30th July 2015:
Omg what a horrible way to end this, legit might cry. So I'm just going to envision a happy ending or something. Other than this it was a great story, wish you didn't kill her off.

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. But it was always going to happen, otherwise it wouldn't fit canon, would it? But yeah, sorry.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrHappyDreaming 

26th July 2015:
Hi :) I just found your story a few days ago and it took me four-three days to finish but I finally did.
I must say this was an amazing story. Not only the plot but your style of writing was amazing. Very consistent and you took care of every aspect so there was no plot holes. I think you're very talented and should continue to write because you're extraordinary in it.

I did get attach to all the characters and I am sad that the ending wasn't very happy.
But knowing the work of JK Rowling a did know how the story continues and I did expect Laura to die. I think this ending was more genuine and heartbreaking. If they just broke up it wouldn't give justice to their love I think :)

Anyways amazing story, very touching :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, it wasn't a happy ending, but then again if that was what I was looking for I wouldn't have written this story, because there are a few happy ending stories already out there - and they don't have to fit canon, do they? But for a canon compliant one, I had to have her die, because otherwise the HP stories themselves don't make sense. Having said that, I'm very pleased you got attached to my characters and that you enjoyed the story so much.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Jack Johnson 

25th May 2015:
I wish she didn't have to die but overall I love this fanfiction!! My favorite yet!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yes, she had to die - sorry about that. So pleased you enjoyed the rest of it though.:)

cheers Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>