Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
67 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
I can't believe I'm almost at the end of reviewing this story! It's been so brilliant to read and I'm really apprehensive for the final chapter now because I have a feeling that something's going to go wrong to keep this story in line with canon as the rest of it has been, so I kind of don't want to read that!

I loved the part when Sirius met Laura's parents. I thought that you wrote her dad's reaction to the news that she had a boyfriend really well, especially when he heard that it was a Black, because I think that the prejudice works both ways and when you know a family to be supporters of the Death Eaters, then you're not going to appreciate your daughter dating one of them! But I liked the third degree that her dad gave Sirius - no matter how intimidating others think he might be, there's no stopping a dad when it comes to protecting his daughter!

I thought that you wrote the ending really well - it brought back memories for me of leaving school and it does feel like a very big moment in your life at the time, especially for these characters since they're leaving a school they've lived in for seven years and then going out into a world where they've got to face war and all sorts of prejudice. It was a cute idea for Martha and Bernie to get together! But at the same time I'm kind of glad Remus and Charlotte don't get together in this, since it wouldn't have been realistic if all of the girls and boys had paired off together, and we know that he loved Tonks in the end. Now, I'm going to apprehensively continue to the final chapter...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, I couldn't have Remus and Charlotte getting together becuase, like you said, it doesn't fit the canon Remus. And don't you think it's even more touching to have it NOT work out? :)

Pleased too you liked the reaction to the name Black, because as you said the prejudice would certainly work both ways. It's often hard to write those sorts of scenes so I'm glad you thought I managed it okay.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Emily 

5th February 2014:
I finished this a few days ago and have been looking for a new fanfic to get obsessed with, but every time I see "Sirius/ OC" in the pairings section of the description I get really angry and refuse to read it because I know Laura won't be in it and I now feel that they are meant to be together in a way that James and Lily aren't even made for each other.

Thank you so much for writing this! AMAZING

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I love it when people say they can't see Sirius with anyone else now, because that means I've done something very right. Really really appreciate your telling me because that is always guaranteed to make a girl's day.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by kenpo 

4th November 2013:
I really really enjoyed reading this. The characters seem so real and true to how they are portrayed as adults. You really made me care about them even more than I already did. You've done a great job.

Author's Response: Thank you! I did a lot of work on my characterisation, including studying the canon characters as we know them in the books and looking at turns of phrase, mannerisms etc, so it's really gratifying to have someone tell me I got it right. Thanks so much!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by ginnyHPfan 

9th October 2013:
Your story has got to be the only fan fiction I can stand over again as it is just so perfect for the HP story

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's a really lovely thing to say and has made my day. I love it when people say it fits canon because that was really important to me - to write a Marauder story that WAS compatible with what we knew. :)
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by AutumnDay 

10th February 2013:
I remember the first time i read this chapter, i was in love with it, but I forgot to leave a review. Sorry about that, by the way. I didn't want to leave this in the next chapter because it truly killed me, but I'm just going to say that it was a pleasure reading this story for so long, and the way you finished it was beautiful. Personally, I'm a sucker for happy endings, so I was ecstatic when I read the last chapter of The Process of Becoming Tamed, and I thank you for writing that. By this point, I'm quite fond of Laura and she's one of those characters that you never forget :) So I will probably continue to come back and reread some of my favorite chapters. Thank you for writing this story, I absolutely adored it. :D

Author's Response: Hey, no problem! We all have real lives and if you didn't get around to leaving a review the first time, that's totally okay. :) Thank you for leaving one now, though. Like you I'm a sucker for happy endings, and if this story wasn't fanfiction then it would have ended with this chapter, but I really felt I needed to explain why Laura's not in any of the books,hence the epilogue. However, that final chapter of PBT was a salve for people like us who just wanted the happily-ever-after. I'm so pleased you liked that. :)

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Olga 

19th January 2013:
Aaahhh so many emotions! Fabulous!
Ps- i love Martha and Bernie!

Author's Response: So pleased you liked it! I thought that was a nice touch as well. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
Im glad martha and bernie are together 9/10 : )

Author's Response: It was a nice touch, wasn't it? I thought so too.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
Laura's parents are The Coolest Parents in the whole wide world!!
I loved her Dad's reaction. :D

What the hell is it with Remus!!
Charlotte knows about him and still wants to go out with him..
But he, having such a thick skull, cannot see that!!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! The meet-the-parents thing was always going to be tricky, but I'm glad you like how it turned out. And I was pretty proud of her dad too, just between you and me.

As for Remus, well like I said he just doesn't want to let anyone get too close. He's too scared about hurting them. It's unfortunate, but true. :/

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by classicblack 

24th October 2011:
I really don't want this story to end, but another part of me wants to find out how it ends (although I already know about Laura). Maybe I'll go read 'The Process of Being Tamed' just so I don't have to leave Laura behind...
Anways, great chapter, and I'm glad Laura's parents took it well.
Until next chapter (it's the last!)
classicblack

Author's Response: All stories must come to an end, I fear, and those authors who don't realise that are probably doing themselves and their fans more a disservice than anything else. This one ends at the final scene of PBT, really, but this particular narrative had to end here because otherwise it would have been dragged out needlessly. I'm really flattered that you want it to go on,though, because that means I'm doing something right. THank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by LivingLife42 

28th July 2011:
Oh meet-the-parents, always a good time. It was very well done :) Glad her parents weren't too hard on her.

Remus Remus Remus. I feel for him tho. Can't be easy being a werewolf.

It was an excellent finish to an EXCELLENT story :) Can't wait to read the epilogue, although I admit I'm a little nervous.

Very well done :)

Author's Response: I put off writing the meet-the-parents scene for the longest time, as they're always excruciating, aren't they? But I'm glad you think this one went okay. Then again, with all those school awards it would be hard for her folks not to be at least somewhat impressed, right?

I'm so pleased that you liked this story so much. It was very much a labour of love on my part so to have it received so well is just overwhelming. Thanks again for all your reviews.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
It seems so hopeful, so possible. It's beautiful.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That was kind of the idea. And I really wanted to leave it like this so there could be a happy ending, but canon just didn't allow that, unfortunately. But I'm so pleased you enjoyed it. *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by ronnkinschik4ever 

22nd April 2011:
So, I have been frantically reading this when I should have been writing papers and studying for finals... Time well spent! It was great! Can't wait to finish this and read the other stories that go along with it!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I think I've said before that you shouldn't use this story for procrastination, but then again it's very flattering to me so I won't complain. I'm very pleased that you read all the way through and enjoyed it, so thanks for that, it really does make my day. :D

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aliathne 

4th January 2011:
After stumbling upon this fan fiction and reading it thoroughly (many times I might add) I have realized just why it won Most Addicting Story. I stayed up until 2 in the morning one day because I couldn't stop reading and after I finally dragged myself away, my mind wouldn't stop going over the creative way you worded it and how your characters seemed to come alive. Although it is somewhat flat in parts, I loved it completely and is definately one of the best, if not THE best, fan fictions I have read on this site. Thank you so much for writing it and sharing your talent! Keep me posted as to when (not if) your next fan fic will be started :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review! And so sorry it's taken me a while to write a response - things have been pretty busy lately.

Anyway I'm so pleased that you enjoyed my story so much: I know it's very long so even the fact that you read it all the way through makes me happy. And I'm sorry I kept you up late at night but that is a huge compliment to me so thank you for letting me know. :)

I've started work on a Neville fic but as I don't start posting till I'm almost done, I can't really say when that will start to appear on the archives.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by thecblohm 

23rd November 2010:
I couldn't leave a review on the last chapter, because it said that I've already done that. Haha, guess I did...
Anyway, I just wanted to say that I've read this novel 2-3 times and it's seriously the best fan fiction I've ever read (and believe me, I've read a lot.). I love you for writing this!
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
x Clara

Author's Response: Hi again!

Wow, what a lovely review. Thanks so much! It's really gratifying to hear of people reading this story more than once, because it shows that I must have done something right. That is, I wrote the story that I wanted to read, but what if no one else agreed? So thanks so much, it really does make my day to read this.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by theelderwand 

24th August 2010:
Stellar. Wonderful. Amazing. Heartfelt. Wrenching. Warm.

Absolutely briliant story telling, Mel. Everything nicely tied up here. Thank the gods she finally gave her parents what-for about her relationship with Sirius. I thought it was warranted.

And, logical that her father would balk at the name Black -try saying that five times fast - but I thought you handled the scene well, how her father came around.

I promise a VERY long review for the last chapter.

Eldy

Author's Response: Hahaha. Yes, all neatly tied up with no loose ends - or no significant ones, at least. If this wasn't a fanfic I would have ended it here, because it's only the canon link that meant I had to explain what happened to Laura. Though, thinking about it, I guess I DIDN'T have to explain it ... but then again being the canon nerd that I am, it's not really in my character not to.

I did think it was important though to have the parents - or the magical one, at least - react to the name Black. I've not seen that enough in fanfiction when really, you'd think that it would be a huge deal in its own way. Glad you like how I handled it, though - its' one of those things that can be hard to get right.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Pixileanin 

21st August 2010:
You know, you could have drawn this thing out for ages with Laura's parents and Sirius, and the conflict and the betrayal, and the nonacceptance, etc. etc. etc.

Boy howdy, was I glad you didn't! I was so happy that Laura's parents were the way they were. And I was also happy that Laura's mom was keen enough to confront her, yes, that was last chapter. I know. It shows her intelligence.

Thanks for giving Charlotte and Remus their moment. That was kind of you! (even if it was short)

Author's Response: Ah, meet the parents. Always a tricky thing to write and there were added complications with this one so that made it even worse. I did contemplate leaving it out entirely as a way out, but that wouldn't have worked with the narrative so I kinda had to do it. But yeah, I guess I could have dragged it out ... but who wants to read that? The story was 300,000 words long as it was, why should I drag it out further? I do admit though that that particular scene was originally much longer and I cut about half of it out to make it read better. Kinda glad I did now!

And yeah, Charlotte and Remus got their moment, brief though it was. I'm not quite that mean as to deny them that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by doglover 

15th August 2010:
i'm gonna miss this story :(

Author's Response: Thank you! That's very flattering and it's lovely that you've got so attached to it and to my characters. That means a lot to me. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
Hurrah! They actually managed to leave school as a couple! Given what we all know canon to be, I was a little worried, but this was awesomely awesome.

I really liked the way you handled the "meet the parents" bit - he needed to get at least a bit of a hard time from her dad, but at the same time, it was unlikely that anyone with as many school prizes as he got wouldn't be able to win them over, particularly with his pro-muggle politics. Really glad her dad saw sense on that one.

And SOB? Don't think I'd ever noticed that before, but wow, is that ironically accurate! Am highly amused, as is par for the course with this story.

Final chapter... :-(

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, they left school as a couple. I'm a hopeless romantic at heart and it had to come out somewhere, didn't it? We all know it has to end badly - I just wanted to drag that out a bit. :)

As for the meet-the-parents thing, well like you said there had to be some backlash due to the name but his achievements would have to outweigh that, at least to any reasonable parent. A hurdle, yes, but only a minor one.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by vengeance 

12th May 2010:
Ha, I just love how Laura's mum tells her dad everything straight away. I'm glad that her dad is seeing that he's a good guy - even though at first he wasn't, cause he was a Black.

Laura and Sirius are such a lovely couple.
I'm glad Remus is, at least, kind of getting over his fear of hurting Charlotte. He should slowly stop worrying, I don't see Charlotte giving up anytime. I'm happy Martha and Bernie are together, they do both deserve someone nice and lastly, James and Lily - still amazingly cute :D

x Jaid

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked the bit about Laura's dad not reacting well to Sirius' surname, because that's one thing I never saw in any of the fanfics I read - people's parents reacting to the surname, and I thought it was a realistic reaction. So thank you! But yes, he came around eventually.

As for the others, well this is as happy an ending as I'm giving them so I'm glad you liked it. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Singer Of All Songs 

10th May 2010:
So depending on how courageous i get this may be the last review i ever send you, well, at least until you begin a new story. I only just read it because i saw the epilogue. I don't want this story to end!!! it is just too good. So anyway don't be sad if you see no Singer Review that tells you how outstanding the story was on whole because believe me, you could end this story like JKR and kill everyone off and it would still be the single most addicting fan fiction i have ever read. Which is why i am not 100% sure i can bring my self to read the epilogue, because i might cry.

So I will be regularity checking your author page in hopes that a new fanfic will appear but till then unless i have a morbidly depressing day were i need to sit and read fanficion, i am going to leave your epilogue. This i think is the most twisted review i have ever given, However, you have also earned my highest praise.

Your devoted follower

-Singer

Author's Response: Hi Singer!

First of all, SO sorry for taking so long to respond to this - I've been a bit snowed under lately. But I'm here now.

I do think it will be a shame if you don't read the epilogue, because I'll be loading up the one-shots based on HTM in the next month or so (well, starting in the next month or so) and if you don't know how the story ends then that cuts out about half of them for you. So, if you want to read those, then I'm afraid you may have to read the epilogue. Having said that, though, I do understand why you've been hesitant. The thing is, of course, that all stories must end sometime and this one is no exception ... even if the fact that you don't want it to end has to be the biggest compliment. *beams*

Anyway I'm so pleased that you liked the rest of this story, that really does mean a lot to me. It's been great sharing it with so many people around the world and I have learned a lot from the experience. So thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Nynfadora 

9th May 2010:
:O aw. Remus and Charlotte had an argument :S Slightly sad buut that sounds like Remus a bit. Shame it's the end, going to miss it so much! This was the best Sirius/OC out there! Looking foreward to the epilogue though XD

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :)

Yes, Remus and Charlotte had an argument - the way I've characterised Remus, he was never going to let her get too close to him, was he? Glad you appreciate that.

And yes, it's the end - all stories must end sometime, mustn't they? Even HP had to end eventually. So yes, this is it for this one. I'm really pleased you enjoyed it so much, though. *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by KBlack 

8th May 2010:
oh no! I dont want it to end =/ this is one of my favorite sirius storys! but at least you do a epilogue... you better make it good ;) thanks for writing this great story!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, this story must end, as all stories must eventually. I'm very flattered that you like it so much though. *blushes* As for the epilogue - well, it's been written for over a year and a half now so I really hope you like it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheOriginalMarySue 

8th May 2010:
Jesus women!
I am currently working through the ways this relationship will end,cause either Laura dies or she dumps Sirius. I though it would end back with the Bernie thing.
Love always!
TOMS

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

Yes, there are a few ways it could end, aren't there? And you know, I've written both the major ones - them breaking up or her dying - so it could still go either way. (No, not really. I know which one I'll be posting. I may post the other one as well, though, as a separate one-shot, so you can see how it might have gone.) But no, it wasn't going to end with Bernie, not at school anyway. I can see why you might have thought that, though.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Moon Woman 

8th May 2010:
AAaAAaAHHHhHHhHh I didn't realise it was at the end!!! I'm now a very sad person =[

not really it's an amazing story and i'm really glad to have read it, i can't wait to read the epilogue.

Thanks for writing, it's truely a great read.

Liz.

Author's Response: Hi Liz! Thanks for reviewing again!

Yes, this is the end. I've been very open about this fic finishing at graduation so it was always going to end here. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it so much though! :)

The epilogue is only a couple of hours off being posted so I hope you enjoy that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by desert_oasis 

7th May 2010:
YAY!! I loved it!! I hope u do the epiloge thingy!! It would suck to end things like this!! I wanna know if they get married have kids and about the other peeps!!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, fear not, the epilogue is only a couple of hours from being posted, at the most. However, I think I can dispel some of your musings - I am keeping this canon, so they can't get married or have kids, much as I would like to give them that. Sirius will still go to Azkaban, and Peter will still betray James & Lily. Unfortunate, but true.

Having said that, I hope you like the epilogue when it's posted, even if the happy ending isn't possible.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>