Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

8th June 2013:
This was such a well written chapter. I actually didn't cry when I read At the Hour but it was reading Siobhan's grief in this that made me cry, seeing her fall to pieces like that. My heart breaks for her. And for Reid. I can tell it's going to be a long healing process for both of them.

I think this is a good set up for Molly and Arthur eloping though - something that made them realise how short life is.

Author's Response: That breaking-up-of-the-group that you mentioned in a review for "What It's Worth" - this is when they're brought back together. After Cecilia is killed, the ones who remain in the UK are kept together through that shared tragedy. And it definitely was the catalyst for Molly and Arthur's elopement. In the books she says how no one knew if they'd be around tomorrow so they were eloping left right and center, so I think they needed something to really bring it home to them.

Poor Siobhan, she really doesn't know how to deal with this - it completely breaks her, and the only time she lets it out is at the graveside. It takes a long time for her to heal, and Reid as well, you're right.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Singularity 

14th August 2011:
“And I know, life isn't fair. I know that. But it should have been fair for Cecilia.”

Yes, that's exactly how you feel when something happens to someone you love. Even if the world isn't fair for you, it should be happy for them.

This was a really sad chapter, but I was really glad to see Siobhan finally break down and finally allow her friends to really be there for her. I think that will be good for her, though I still worry excessively for her...and for Reid.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I know the review-fest is over, but I hope you got a chance to read the rest of this story, and the next two that finish out the Unsinkable-verse (for now) :)

Poor Siobhan, this could have started a healthier healing process for her, but of course she shuts down even further after revealing so much emotion to her friends. She isn't that type, really. There's Reid in the next chapter, and both of them again at the end, so hit me with a review and tell me what you think? :D

Thank you so much for this and all the other reviews you left me during the Cup! Go Ravenclaw :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheWorldISee 

31st March 2011:
Oh god. Cecilia? Really? Goodness, it made me so sad to read that... I'm getting attached to your OC's, which isn't good when reading a story that takes place during a dangerous war. This was a wonderfully written chapter as usual, but so devastatingly sad. I'm very worried for Siobhan now. And Reid, what will become of him? With heavy heart I move on to the next chapter...

Author's Response: Did you read At The Hour? That came between What It's Worth and this one. It really was like a bomb went off between those stories. Poor Cecilia. And poor Siobhan and Reid, they're the most damaged by the loss of Cecilia, though it affects everyone. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by RonsGirlFriday 

9th July 2010:
I really like the choice to start off this story with the aftermath of Cecilia's death. It illustrates what exactly might have put a fire under Molly and Arthur's feet to go get married immediately. To be honest, I think their elopement might not have been complete without something like this hitting close to home. There were already people dying, and the tragedy that happened to Twyla at the end of WIW, but Cecilia's death has made the situation much more urgent.

As always, your characterizations jump off the page even when angst and grief are involved, as opposed to good fun and humor and banter. Poor Siobhan. And poor Reid as well - I know he really loved her.

Well done! Moving on now to get to the squeeful parts... :-D

Author's Response: Exactly! They needed a catalyst, something to put the urgency of death right in their faces, and I didn't feel like the elopement worked without one of their close friends dying. The rest of the deaths in WIW were like bombs hitting closer and closer to them, and then they finally got a shell right in the face when the Fletchers are murdered, especially because they can see the devastation it wrought in Reid.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #5, by GinnyCullen 

15th June 2010:
I think this was more heartbreaking than reading Cecilia's death.

Wow I am speechless, fantastic.

Poor Reid I can just see him drinking till he dies over Cecilia's death.

*hugs you* you are brave to write this I would have cried the whole thing

Author's Response: He won't drink himself to death, but he is definitely drinking far too much at this point. Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by theelderwand 

8th May 2010:
No punches pulled. You've outdone yourself. Palpable grief and anguish, believable shocked reactions, its all here and its all done exceedingly well.

Reid's reaction was predictable - in a good way. Its very in character for him to sink into a deep alcohol laiden depression. So to is Arthur's, watching over Reid.

But sooner or later, both Reid and Siobahn, I fear, will realize the same course of action is called for: Revenge. Given that the war is only starting, I can't imagine that can end well, but I hold out hope.

A brilliant chapter, again (no surprise there). I do hope we haven't long to wait for the next post.

TEW

Author's Response: I wrote this quite a long time ago, actually. The first chapter of "Over The Anvil" was done long before I started "What It's Worth", so it's almost odd to finally have it posted. Och, I hated killing Cecilia.

Oddly, Reid will probably eventually come to the course of action you mention - I picture him being part of the Order, actually, but that won't be until after he's finished this cycle of the grieving process, so outside the bounds of this story. But Siobhan, she's a runner. She applauded revenge in Cecilia, but she never really did it herself.

I think Reid's and Siobhan's initial responses (especially Siobhan's being so delayed) were in character for them. Very happy to hear you agree - sometimes I don't think about characterization of the OCs I've invented, because I made them up, so it's good to keep in mind.

The next chapter will be posted in a few days. Most of this story is already written, so I'm just spacing it out while I finish up the last chapters (and try to continue JAMR, while I'm at it).

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by LidaRose 

8th May 2010:
Your writing never ceases to move me. I wait with bated breath for each and every update to all of your stories. Please keep the chapters coming!

Author's Response: Thank you! I have never left a story unfinished, I'm proud to say, so never fear, more chapters will come.

 Report Review

Review #8, by darthcorde 

6th May 2010:
I have just started reading your work, and had to catch up with the first two stories in the series. I've really been enjoying them! You write quite well, and it's only gotten better as the story has progressed. I love your depictions of both Arthur's and Molly's characters -- you keep them both very canon, but they're still somewhat your own since we don't see much of them in the books. Your OC's are wonderful as well, and you've done a really brilliant job of building all of their characters. I was devastated when Cecilia died -- definitely the mark of good writing; I had become very attached to her and was so looking forward to her and Reid marrying. It makes me wonder how Jo felt when she had Fred die. I never understood how authors can bear to kill off such lovable characters. But then I suppose the stories would be rather boring and sappy if everyone lived happily ever after. Please don't think I'm upset with you of course, it was just a bit heart-wrenching.

I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical when I first started reading 'Unsinkable'. Everything was so happy and normal for the first few chapters; I thought nothing was ever going to happen, and I was wondering how on earth you'd filled up 39 chapters. But then I realized that that was simply your style, to start with everything all lovely and hunky-dory, and spring conflict on your unsuspecting readers after we had all gotten accustomed to everyone being relatively happy all the time =) After continuing to read, I've come to really appreciate your style for two reasons. The first, as I mentioned earlier, is that it keeps the story captivating, because you never know when something's going to go wrong. The second reason is that it keeps it very realistic; while this may seem a bit backwards, I've come to realize that most of the time, life is not particularly interesting or exciting or dramatic or surprising or devastating or - you get the picture. My point is that you write about normal things, everyday sorts of things, like going to the library to study, and of course when one is in love, everyday life tends to be relatively happy, so it keeps your story very down-to-earth and believable. Though I was doubtful at first, this quality to your writing has really drawn me in to the story, and I'm loving reading it!

I'll be waiting on tenterhooks for the next chapter, so please keep up the good work, and thank you for such a wonderful ride so far, as it really has been quite fun!

Author's Response: It is heart-wrenching, especially because it sometimes feels like the characters live in my head, are totally alive, so killing any of them off is kind of painful to do. Even minor characters like Ampara. I've had poor Cecilia slated to die almost from the beginning - definitely from the point at which I decided to turn Unsinkable into a full story (it was supposed to be a short story, thus its sloppy plotting - I couldn't stop writing it once I got a few chapters in, and it just sort of expanded from there). I tried to put it off - actually wrote "What It's Worth" entirely because I didn't yet want to post the story of her death - but it was inevitable by then. I feel bad for doing that to Reid and Siobhan too.

Anyway. You know, I suppose I do start happy and slam my characters with stuff later. I never thought of it that way, but you're right. I do focus on the character-based plots rather than external forces. It's usually all about the people, and not so much spies and action and battles. I sort of gravitate to that in my reading, too. Thank you so very much for the beautiful review! It really made my day. I'm so glad you're enjoying my writing. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #9, by TheForestAgain 

4th May 2010:
I really love your work! It seems almost exactly like the actual books. I've suddenly got an obsession with all your stories! The Unsinkable series is my absolute favorite at the moment :)

PLEASE update soon. I'm eagerly awaiting!

TheForestAgain

Author's Response: Wow thank you very much! I'm going to post the next chapter in a few days, keep an eye out :) I love when people say the Unsinkable series is their favorite, it makes me squeal with joy :D Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Rachel 

3rd May 2010:
:-(

I feel like you're doing a very very good job of shifting them full front into the war with Voldemort. I'm very proud of you, because it can't be easy... lots of sadness.

Author's Response: It's hard to write the war period. I keep killing people off! But that's life in wartime, I suppose. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by earthquake 

2nd May 2010:
Absolutely fantastic. Your writing is always on the spot, I very much enjoy reading all of your stories. I even teared a bit towards the middle of this chapter, you nailed the sad bits very well.

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! This review really made me smile. I'm glad you like my writing :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Hermione528 

2nd May 2010:
Poor Cecilia. I'm glad we were able to see Reid's reaction, as well as Siobhan's. Looking forward to this story's happier turning point! ;)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! Next chapter will be the happier point :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review