Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
62 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Zsaz 

8th July 2015:
I really enjoyed this, had great humor but also the seriousness of the war about to start :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by BHRivers 

19th August 2013:
Fantastic story - you definitely deserved the Dobby! My only niggle was with the Americanisms, but that's cus I'm a boring English person... You actually nailed the feel of the books and England. Looking forward to reading the sequel.

Author's Response: Thank you! Gah, hard as we North Americaners try (I'm Canadian), we can never sound as British as we like. I'm so happy to hear you think that I nailed the feel of the books--I don't think there's any bigger compliment. Oh, wait, maybe that I deserved the Dobby Award. :P

 Report Review

Review #3, by Torrey 

16th July 2013:
I LOVE this story! It is officially my favorite. It really stood apart for me because your writing style pulled me in as if this were just a prequel by J.K. I also loved the attention to detail and how spot on the facts were; this truly made it believable!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so honoured that you think my writing sounds like JK Rowling's! That's an amazing compliment. Thanks again for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Amicus 

2nd July 2013:
Loved it! One of the best Marauder era fics I've ever read and I'm a shameful/less marauder addict.

This is definitely my favorite portrayal of Lilly as I've always been perplexed by stories where she has legions of bezzies that JK has never got round to mentioning in canon. Your interpretation makes much more sense and demonstrates you can be a perfectly nice person without requiring an adoring horde.

I also enjoyed your Sirius I imagine him as taking a very, very, very long time to get used to the idea of James having someone he considers more important than the marauders and feeling quite betrayed by the idea, when he takes to Lilly it would be as an extension of James. James loves Lilly = Sirius loves Lilly even as far as James love Harry = Sirius loves Harry. Sirius as I picture him never loves anyone romantically but instead loves his friends with utter devotion.

It was also nice to see a story where Peter is just as much a character as the rest of the marauders (accepting the focus being Lilly and James) and being allowed to have a bit of fun with Sirius and show compassion, as demonstrated in your scene with the inferi and Remus.

Lilly and Snape's relationship was in my mind spot on as was her's and Petunia both sad but very real.

The only things I'd have liked to see more of is


The only issues I felt could have done with more exploring is I suspect James had probably bullied Snape since they both started school, although I have no real evidence for this, so maybe a non issue.
I'd have also liked to have seen a bit more interaction between Lilly and Remus as I can't remember Lilly ever commenting on finding out he was a werewolf to him or giving any reassurance that it was a non-issue it seemed to be all through James which to me felt slightly odd.

Overall though brilliant writing addictive characters and faultlessly in canon with just enough banter to prevent the romance becoming overpowering, planning to start reading the sequel ASAP.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Rainpixie 

12th April 2013:
Holy wow. This is the BEST marauder/lily/James story I have read to date. Thank you.

Author's Response: That's awesome to hear! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it so much. :) Thank you again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Paige 

23rd November 2012:
Loved it! You have really done Lily and James justice and you should feel proud of all your hard work. It's just so sad...thinking about the tragedy that ends the lives of these two wonderful people...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It is very sad, but that is (unfortunately) what makes it so compelling.

I realize this response is pathetically late, but hopefully better late than never!


 Report Review

Review #7, by harrypottergurl11 

26th July 2012:
I really like this story. This is the 2nd time I've read it. Keep up the great work and I'm looking forword to reading the next one.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad to hear you like the story. :) I do hope you feel the same when you read the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #8, by readinghummingbird 

12th July 2012:
I can't tell you how much I loved this story! Especially the fact that you've kept it close to the books and to any information Rowling has given about the Marauder's time at Hogwarts. I've read so many fanfictions about this and many of the writers tried to do the same but every time it appeard kind of posed ... if you understand what I mean :D it was like "oh, J. K. said this I'll just put it in". but here it fits perfectly in the plot. don't ask me why ;)
Another thing that I liked was the fact that Lily didn't really have female friends. For me, her friends were James, Sirius, Remus and Peter and again all the attempts to create a female friend for her in other fanfictions felt wrong, somehow. But I still have the feeling that there's some tension between Lily and Sirius ... I'm waiting for that big "we're best friends and love each other" moment but maybe in the sequel ... :D
well I have to admit I've never written a review before but after finishing your story I just felt like telling you how thankful I am. I finally found a fanfiction that satisfied me ;) my standards are just to high I guess ...
I'm really looking forward to the sequel, I will start reading right away!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm thrilled to hear you loved the story, and very flattered that this was the first time you reviewed. :)

That's really great to hear that you think I've incorporated the canon facts well. Staying close to JKR's information is important to me--and you know, I've never really thought about how it can seem "posed" in some other stories, but you're right. I'm happy I've avoided that!

I totally agree with you about Lily's friends. People always wonder why we never heard about Lily's friends in the books, but I personally think it's because she never really had close friends outside of James, Sirius, Remus, and Peter. And will it ruin your hopes a little too much if I say that I don't go for Lily/Sirius? Haha. Well, I should qualify and say that IF James never existed, I might go for it. But in a universe where James exists (i.e., my stories), I don't see it ever happening. I actually think there IS tension between Lily and Sirius in my story, but I see it more as being borne of the fact that Sirius is jealous (not in a slashy way, just a best friend way) of James paying attention and spending time with Lily.

I hope you enjoy the sequel. I'm being very slow at updating it, but it's not abandoned, contrary to its appearance! Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LunaLovegood7 

21st June 2012:
That was one of the best Lily/James fanfics I have ever read! I was absolutely amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so flattered to hear that. :) I'm moving very slowly on the sequel, but I hope you get a chance to continue reading my version of James & Lily.

 Report Review

Review #10, by TigerLilian 

28th January 2012:
I have to say this is one of the best Marauder/ L-J -fics I have read. I really love this and how accurate and realistic this is. :) Especially Lily in here is awesome, because she is actually real here, not "perfect" or without any depth like in many other fics. The scene in the last chapter with Avery and Malfoy made her even more realistic and even though I was kind off disappointed in her actions, I was really pleased to see that you had made her that way. xD Does that make sense?

Anyway, I have just one thing I did not like in this story, just one, and that is that very same scene, with Avery and Malfoy. Not that the scene itself was bad or anything, I loved it, but I have come to an understanding that it was supposed to be the "once defied" thing. You see, that's very common thing in L/J fics that bother me as I been imagining James and Lily to come _face-to-face_ with Voldemort himself in those three times. I mean, it would be hardly possible that the Trice defied should mean Lily and James encountering with only Death Eaters three times, right? I imagine they did do that a little more times, don't you? xD So I really need the clarification, was this scene just that, the first encounter, or have I just jumped to conclusions? xD

Still, whatever the case is, I will be reading the sequels, 'cause this definitely is one of the best Marauder/ L-J -fics I've read. So well done, keep up the good work. :D

Author's Response: Hi, and thanks for such a thoughtful review! I'm so glad to hear that you like Lily's imperfections. :) She is often portrayed, as you said, as being a bit flawless or perfect. I was going to write her in a more courageous, typical light in that scene, but mid-writing, I realized that it was all wrong.

So, about the "defiances" thing. Well, you see, I also thought that it meant coming face-to-face with Voldemort, until I did some research on the subject. What I found was not what I expected, but being a canon stickler, I wanted to try to adhere to it as best as I could. Also, since reading it, I've come to the conclusion that JKR's view of the events is more realistic.

What she said is this: "It depends how you take defying, doesn't it. I mean, if you're counting, which I do, anytime you arrested one of his henchmen, anytime you escaped him, anytime you thwarted him, that's what he's looking for. And both couples qualified because they were both fighting. Also, James and Lily turned him down, that was established in 'Philosopher's Stone'. He wanted them, and they wouldn't come over, so that's one strike against them before they were even out of their teens."

I agree with your point about this meaning that they must have defied him more than three times, but here's the thing: the prophecy was very specific. Born at the end of the seventh month, to people who had defied Voldemort three times. There probably weren't that many people who fit with that description. And, anyway, Dumbledore kind of suggested that the prophecy was a bit moot, because Voldemort himself was the one who actually made it true by choosing to go after Harry. The other thing that makes me think JKR's view of the defiances as more realistic is it seems a bit hard to believe that two young people would come face-to-face with Voldemort three times and make it out alive.

So, this was indeed their first "defiance" of Voldemort. I would assume that the reason it's so common in L/J stories is because other people have found that information, too.

Anyway, I'm glad you really liked the story, despite all that! :) Hopefully I've shed some light on it, and no worries if you still don't agree with that view. (Although I should give you fair warning that there may be more non-face-to-face defiances ahead...haha.)

Thanks again for the review; much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #11, by heir of gryffindor casey 

18th January 2012:
beautiful.

absolutely beautiful.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. That means a lot. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jess the Enthusiast 

8th January 2012:
I loved reading this story; so well written and very canon! Now I'm off to go read the sequel! 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm thrilled you loved the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by hoggyhoggyhogwarts 

24th August 2011:
OMG i've never read a james/lily story that was so accurate! i mean, uve added EVERYTHING even the prologue that Rowling wrote! Most stories I read kinda could be real, but mostly misses some little detail. you took care of everything! good job!! Is there a sequel to this story?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy to hear that you found the story enjoyable. :) I tried my best to pay attention to the little details...I don't consider myself any genius when it comes to plot, but it's very encouraging to hear that you thought I wrote a good story.

There is a sequel, called Twice Defied, which I started and have gotten really stalled on. However, it's not abandoned, and recently, I seem to be having a bit more luck in writing new chapters. Check it out if you like! :)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by forsakenphoenix 

22nd July 2011:
I kept reading it and wishing it never ended. Noblevyne hasn't let me down yet with a recommendation. This was fantastic - a brilliant characterization of my favorite characters. I love how Lily and James went back and forth between being sort-of friends to friends to not talking to each other. Lily's indecision and sometimes lack of maturity really frustrated me. I just wanted to shake some sense into her. I love how you explained some of the mysteries of the Marauders like how Filch ended up with the Marauders Map. Hm, what else? I probably should have written reviews for every chapter but I just wanted to keep reading and not have to pause to collect my thoughts. So I'm apologizing now that this review will be all over the place. The Inferi village gave me the creeps! I love how you characterized Peter. I get so so frustrated when people write him off because of his eventual betrayal and don't realize how good of a friend he must have been to even be considered the Secret Keeper. I like how you kept bringing up that he was good at sneaking around, which makes his Animagi as a rat perfect, and later on reveals how easy it would be for him to become a spy for Voldemort. When James first told Lily 'I love you', I squee'd. So precious. I love how they got distracted going to Slughorn's dinner because they were making out in some classroom. The ending killed me. How Lily feels because she's not as ready to die for this cause as James is and gah, their first defiance of Voldemort. I don't want to read the sequel because it hasn't been updated since December and I know if I start I'll be disappointed it's not done ( really hate reading WIPs because then you're at the mercy of whenever the author's update...might be why I've never completed a chaptered story before). But I want to read it so badly because I don't want to let go of your characters. Just...ugh, sorry this review sucks so much. I loved this story and thank you for writing their journey - even if it's been told a million times before you bring something new and refreshing to the table. :)

Author's Response: I am SO glad to hear that you liked the story! I told Noblevyne something similar when she reviewed--it's just beyond flattering to have such respected Marauders authors who not only take the time to read and review my story, but also enjoy it! It's huge encouragement, so thank you. There's no need to worry about not reviewing every chapter, and I'm sorry it's taken me a bit to reply!

I'm so glad you liked the dynamic between James and Lily throughout the story. They are endlessly entertaining to write, especially in their progression from dislike to love. I love that you noticed Lily's flaws--I wanted to try and show that it was not just James who needed to change and grow up. I'm also so happy you liked their "I love you" moment! It was a little unconventional, so I just hoped readers would respond well to it.

I feel the same way about Peter! It just doesn't make sense for him to be some pathetic, useless worm, and have Lily, James, and Sirius all decide he should be the one to be Secret Keeper. I actually really disagree with the way that JKR portrayed him in OotP as a teenager, because it just makes no sense. I'm happy to hear you think I'm portraying him well, and setting up his future behaviour in a good way!

So glad that you liked the ending--or maybe not liked it, but were strongly affected by it. :P This is the first novel-length story I've ever completed, so I found that I didn't really know how to approach writing an ending!

I totally understand that you don't want to continue on to the sequel. The fact that you don't want to just gives me even more motivation to keep writing, because I want you to be able to read it some day (well, assuming you haven't still) and not worry about it going unfinished. I think I need to try some new approaches to continuing with it, like writing scenes out of order. Doing it chronologically hasn't been panning out well thus far, and so maybe doing it differently will help!

Your review did not suck by any means--it was wonderful and extremely encouraging! I'm so happy that you found something interesting and unique about my story, and that you loved it so much. I promise I am going to try my very hardest to keep working on the sequel--and you can always feel free to PM me to bug me about it if you want! :P

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Noblevyne 

1st July 2011:
A truly lovely story, from start to finish. You've created a world and filled it with fantastic characters - some likable, some not, but all of them relate-able. You never overlooked details and made sure that the world you created was as filled with magic and whimsy as Harry's was.

You also managed to juggle the sense of impending horror that overcame all of them, building up what was to come artfully, using not only physical threats but those subtle tensions between people, and also politics to convey how much turmoil the Wizarding World was under.

You showed how action leads to consequences, even small things have far reaching effects, and using what little we have from books and interviews to bridge things.

I can't tell you how much I loved reading this, you have a wonderful style of writing. Thank you for getting this down and out for every one to read, it's been a true pleasure.

Author's Response: It is so great to hear that you enjoyed the story so much! I'm thrilled that my characters were varied, but that you also felt you could get invested in them. You probably give me too much credit about not overlooking details, but I'm glad I at least gave the impression that I didn't! :D

I'm really, really happy that everything related to the war ended up sounding interesting and authentic--it's a good sign for me, because when I do (see, now I'm saying, WHEN I do) keep writing the sequel, I'm going to have to deal with a lot of that!

There is honestly no need to thank me--I enjoyed writing this story so much, and so the only people who need thanking are the ones who take the time to read, and especially to review, the story. So...as I've said a few times already, thank you! I know I haven't finished with all of your reviews for this story, but since you've made it to the end with this one, I just really wanted to express that. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Leigh Kelley 

18th June 2011:
So... At the end, are we? As sad as it makes me, I'm glad the sequel's out there to occupy me.

I think if JK were to write a story about this era, I imagine it would be something quite like this. You held my attention from beginning to the very end. I don't usually sit down and read stories like this, but here I am still. There were many things to keep the reader interested, and wondering what was coming next. Your characters grew from the first time we met them, and I don't think I've read a better representation of James and Lily, how they finally came together, and how they first defied him. Actually, I don't recall coming across a fic that handled the last issue, and you my friend, did it very well.

I can gush about your writing, your characters, and how much everything jumps off of the pages, how clearly I picture them, for ages. But I think I've done that a lot. You're probably tired of hearing it, haha. I will say that I hope there never comes a time where you're discouraged from writing. I've never enjoyed a story, fanfiction-wise, more. No lie.

Great job on this, penny.

~Leigh

Author's Response: It's always lovely for me to have a reviewer reach the end of my story, especially if they're satisfied with the end product. This is the first and the only novel-length story I have ever completed, and so it feels really special to know that someone has read the entire thing and truly enjoyed it.

Similarly, I could gush about how much I have loved your reviews, and how every time I read one, I would at some point feel a rush of relief that you had zeroed in on exactly what my intentions were, but I've done that a lot. :P I do want to say that I am grateful beyond belief for all the time you have spent reading and reviewing this story, and so glad that I stopped by your review thread all that time ago to ask for your feedback.

I'm also thrilled that you came back, even after all that time, to finish reading and reviewing. It feels more complete now that you have. :)

Thank you again, and again--I know you said you read Twice Defied, and I hope that you've enjoyed it as well. Hearing all your thoughts makes me want to try continuing on with it even more than I already did!


 Report Review

Review #17, by LauraLongbottom 

4th May 2011:
Wait what?! Are YOU telling ME this story is over??? NO! :'(

Very well written, congrats. I really enjoyed readingnit and the characters felt very real... There's a second part, right? 10/10

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so sorry, but it did have to end sometime! At least there is the sequel, although I'm in a bit of a slump and have been terribly slow about updating. :/

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad to hear that you liked the story so much!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Pittsy 

29th April 2011:
I love this story. Its simply amazing. I saved it all and put it on my ereader and have been reading it non-stop for the past few days. What an amazing feat you've pulled off, to manoeuvre around the "fanon" Lily and James and stick to canon, while still giving us Lily and James as we want them. Its serious, realistic, exciting, interesting, engaging, and I cannot wait to delve into the sequel. Thank you so much for writing this, its the perfect retelling of Lily and James's tragic story!

Pittsy x

Author's Response: Holy smokes...I'm so flattered by everything you've said! I really did want to make James and Lily as realistic as possible, and it's always the biggest compliment when someone tells me that I did that. Creating characters is my favourite thing about writing, so I do tend to fixate on it quite a bit.

I'm just so thrilled to hear that you thought so highly of the story. I always hoped that I would be able to offer someone out there a version of James and Lily's story that they really enjoyed and maybe hadn't read somewhere else, so your review is really wonderful!

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by HartOfARebel 

12th March 2011:
nice ending, James being all optimistic and stuff..not too sure i like what happened with Lily backing down when faced with death, i know she's only 18 (17?) but still, this is James and he was willing to do it for her!

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear you liked the ending. It didn't occur to me until I was writing those last few paragraphs that I had to figure out a good way of ending the story! :P

You know what? Until I actually went to write that scene with Lily, I would have agreed with you 100%. I thought for sure that she would be courageous and fight for him, but then it came to that moment, and it didn't ring true. I know it probably seems the opposite for most people, but I just realized how terrifying it would be, and with all of her circumstances, I couldn't see her being the big hero in that moment. (That will certainly come later, though!)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley 

4th February 2011:
Oh, I just finished, and it was really lovely. Obviously there is nothing lovely about being threatened by Death Eaters, though, and on that note, I think this fic had an excellent balance of the light and the dark. There was lots of Lily and James's relationship to keep us going in the earlier chapters, and then as they grew up and left school, so did this story. It became darker and showed that all was not right in the world. And I'm glad James and Lily really decided to stand up for what they believed in, finally. I didn't know when they'd ever make the decision! And you've definitely left me hanging enough that I'm going to want to read the sequel. And you ended well too, not too many loose ends, but enough that we all want to read what comes next. Thanks for this story, I enjoyed it! :)

Author's Response: Wow, this is such a fantastic review--I love it so much when people review and what they have to say makes me feel like I actually achieved what I wanted to do with the story! It's really wonderful to hear that there was a good balance of light and dark, and also a clear shift from beginning to end.

I'm also really glad to hear that I managed to tie things up but still keep you interested enough to potentially read a sequel! This is the only novel-length story I've ever finished, and it was a challenge to find the right way to end it.

Thanks so much for your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #21, by doglover 

9th January 2011:
that was a really good story. the characters, especisally james, developed very well.

Author's Response: I'm so thrilled that you liked the story!!! It was great to read all your reviews, and again, I'm so sorry it took so long to reply to some of them.

And--character development? That makes my day! :D

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Caity 

29th December 2010:
Hi there! So the other night I was endlessly searching this site for hours, just because I wanted to read ONE decent James & Lily story that wasn't poorly written or overdone, like so many I had found before. I was completely happy and satisfied when I found this one! It was just what I was looking for, quite honestly. I loved every moment of it; it was just so great. I was sad at the end, as I am at the end of every James & Lily story, because after all, we know the real ending after the one we created. It's really not healthy how depressed I get, lmao. But anyway, yours was really, really great and I loved every minute of it. :)

Author's Response: Hi Caity! I apologize for taking so, so long to reply to your review, and I want to thank you so much for reading and reviewing! It just makes me so happy to hear that you found in my story what you were looking for--I've been in your place many times, trying to find a good story but being disappointed by the results, and then FINALLY finding that one that I love. That feeling is wonderful, and to know I granted it to someone else makes me feel so great!

And, yes, that's the trouble with stories about James & Lily, isn't it? You get caught up in all the good stuff and forget momentarily how it's all going to end up, but then the reality of it eventually comes crashing down on you. One of the reasons I find their story so compelling, though, is their demise. I try to comfort myself with the good effects that their sacrifices brought to the world around them!

Thanks so much for the review! I'm so happy you loved the story. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by AlPadfootPotter96 

28th December 2010:
This is an amazing story, and I think you made the end just fine :). I'm looking forward to the sequel and I hope I can be as good a writer as you!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! That just makes me feel amazing to have someone say that they aspire to write like me. *blushes* Honestly, I think everyone who writes has those moments of feeling like, "Aggghh, I can't write anything--I suck at this!", and I'm no exception to that--getting comments like yours really helps boost my confidence at those times. :) Thank you, thank you.

I'm really happy to hear that you liked the ending, too! It was weird to try to end a story, because I'd never finished one before! Haha. Anyway, I've been so glad to hear all of your thoughts as you read, so thanks a million for all the reviews on this story!


 Report Review

Review #24, by sushipop 

27th December 2010:
great story, i'd have liked a little more of a romantic ending, but that's just coming from a hopeless romantic, great writing tho!

Author's Response: Hi sushipop! I'm so glad you liked the story! I will admit, the ending definitely could have been more romantic. I like romance and happy endings a lot, too--except it seems that for some reason when I write, I like to make things messy and not-so-happily ever after. There's no logical explanation for it. :P

Anyway, I'm thrilled you enjoyed the story, and thank you so much for leaving me a review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Ellie 

17th December 2010:
WOW great book. I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Ellie! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>