Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
Normally I'm not a big fan of graduation scenes that happen at the end of Hogwarts because, with it being modelled on the British school system, graduation isn't something that usually happens. However this one felt more natural than some of the others I've read, and more believable and authentic. I think that my favourite part of it was the fact that all of the awards for being best in each subject were handed out, because that does happen over here. And I was so pleased for Laura when she got a prize as well! Technically a special commendation, I suppose, but like her parents said, it's still impressive, and better than Bea - maybe now she'll realise that she's not as mediocre as she's always thought. And of course Sirius and James would be competing for the other subjects against each other!

I wasn't surprised by Sirius's offer asking Laura to move in with him but I can understand why she said what she did as well, because it would be awkward not paying her way. And now her mum (ever perceptive) has worked out that Laura's got a boyfriend - I can't wait to see how her parents react to meeting him!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, the graduation rankles me too, but I didn't have much to go on when I wrote it. Hence, the need to change it around a bit in the revised version. I was very proud of Laura for getting a special commendation, because she has always felt second best to Bea, and this proves she's not. (Besides, Sirius would never stay with someone significantly dumber than him. It'd drive him batty, don't you think?)

And yes, Mums always know. I like that line. :D

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by WoodenFences 

12th March 2013:
Oh. My. God. Laura's mom is like Remus! WAY too observant... She's my favorite character though.

Author's Response: Yes, she is observant, but that's what mums do, isn't it? I was quite proud of that little scene, actually. :)

thanks, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Olga 

17th January 2013:
Marys seat. Goosebumps. And aaah her mom knows!

Author's Response: Mothers always k now, don't they? It's their job, hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
Of course her mum would relise 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Yes, of course. Mums are good like that, aren't they?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
I think Laura's mom saw her kissing Sirius..

Wow Laura got a prize for Herbology! YAY!

Author's Response: Yes, quite possibly. Mothers always know, though, anyway, don't they? :)

And yeah, Laura got the honourable mention for Herbology. She's smarter than she realises, that girl.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack 

24th October 2011:
Nah, the graduation speech wasn't that bad, but I can understand why you would hate writing it. Anways, nice job this chapter! Can't wait to see how Laura's parents take the news.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: That graduation speech always felt about a paragraph too short to me - I don't hate what's there, but it feels unfinished. I managed to make it less noticeable by having Laura think that it was short and sweet, but it still doesn't quite sit right with me. Thank you for saying it's not a train wreck because that's very reassuring. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by LivingLife42 

28th July 2011:
I really like this chapter :) It reminded me of my graduation (which happened this year). I'm glad Sirius and James both got some awards :) Obviously Snape gets the potions one.

Aren't mom's just the smartest ;)

Well done :)

Author's Response: Very pleased you liked this one! I have since learned that it's not very accurate in terms of finishing school in the UK so it does need a rewrite, but I haven't got around to that yet. As it stands, though, I quite like a lot of what it covers.

And yes, mums always know. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
Mums always notice!

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yeah, they do, don't they? That's what mums do. And they weren't exactly as subtle as they could have been, either, which helped. It had to come out, though,and Laura didn't want to bring it up so her mum had to.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Mintleaf 

4th March 2011:
Hey, the speech is great! I think Dumbledore often gets written too elaborately but this was just right. Nice work! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think that what bothered me about the Dumbledore speech the most was that it felt too short, but then when I put Laura's internal musings after it about it being short and sweet it didn't feel so bad. But I sitll think it needed one more paragraph. However, thanks for the words of encouragement because maybe that means I'm not as far off as I thought. *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by theelderwand 

24th August 2010:
"answer this for me. How long have you been going out with Sirius Black?"

Gulp!

Your too self depricating, Mel. I thought the graduation speech was just fine, and the flourishes for Mary were excellent. Actually, the whole scene got the old butterflies roaming about in my stomach, as it dredged up the memories of my own graduations. Such a complicated time with a plethora of emotions warring with each other. You caught that quite well here with Laura's concern over not seeing her friends quite so regularly, and the relative joy of not seeing her enemies or having to worry about anymore exams.

I really liked how you meted out the awards, that Laura got somthing and James and Sirius split DADA and Trans and, of course, Lily got potions, second to Snivellus. It works.

Now, I must find out what happens next!

Eldy

Author's Response: I'm always too self-deprecating. Haven't you worked that out yet? Hahaha. I still happen to think the Dumbledore speech is about a paragraph too short, though Laura's reaction at the end of it makes that seem less of an issue so it doesn't grate quite so much. Overall it didn't turn out too badly though. :)

As for her mum, well mothers always know, don't they? And they weren't being quite as subtle as she'd thought. It was the only way it was going to come up, though, because Laura really didn't want to be initiating that conversation. "Oh,yes, Mum and Dad, I've been lying to you for the past six months, hope you don't mind." That always goes down well, don't you think?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
Well, as before, my whole psyche really grates at the idea of a graduation ceremony in 1970's Britain. We just don't do them. As said before though, we do do Prize Giving Ceremonies, which would be my suggestion if you did want to edit this without too much of a rewrite. Any questions, and I'd be more than happy to answer them (I went to public boarding school, so that's the kind of thing I'm good with). Of course, you are more than welcome to ignore this - not everything has to be completely British.

Other than that though, this chapter was extreme awesomeness. The speech about Mary was both touching and sufficiently understated. The idea of having Laura win a second place prize was perfect too - it would have been too much to have her come first, but second fitted nicely with everything mentioned thus far, and with her tomboyish character in general. Nice touch.

Obviously, the best line was her mums, and as such I will now have to stop writing and read what happens next immediately...

Author's Response: As I have mentioned in a previous review response, I am perfectly willing and happy to re-write this to whatever fits the British schooling system. I didn't have anything to go on so I just based it on my own graduation, which is clearly different from what you guys do. Thanks for the offer to help out, because I will more than likely take you up on that.

And yes, mums always know, don't they? I just had to do it that way. Too good a line not to use, don't you think?'

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by doglover 

15th August 2010:
well duh her mom knew! she's smart and they were kinda obvious in the ceremony!

Author's Response: Hi again!

You have to remember that they're all sitting down on a flat surface which means that her mum, who was a lot further back, wasn't guaranteed to see what they were doing. However yes, she is smart, and since it had to come out eventually why not now?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by dramione_ftw_4ever 

9th August 2010:
"How long have you been gong out with Sirius Black?" LOVED IT! Such a shock to Laura! ahaha! Loved it! so much! ^^

Author's Response: Ah, mothers always know, don't you think? That, and they weren't being nearly as subtle as they'd thought. I thought it was good way of bringing it up, though, since Laura didn't want to do it.

Glad you're still enjoying it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by ericajen 

28th July 2010:
Ah, so her mother did notice. I guess they weren't as subtle at they thought, haha. A very nice and sweet graduation ceremony. I liked the recogniton of Mary.

In other news, this is my 300th review! (:

Author's Response: Yes, mothers always know. And this one is particularly observant, given her line of work. Laura should have known better, but then again it gets the topic out in the open without Laura having to start it herself, which as you appreciate she wasn't keen on doing. Thanks!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by vengeance 

12th May 2010:
Aw. I can't believe they've all graduated D:
I feel as if i've been there through everything with them!

It was a nice chapter :)
I'm glad Laura got an award for Herbology, also that James got one =P

I love that last sentance - Laura's mum is smart :D haha

x Jaid

Author's Response: Hi Jaid! Thanks for the review!

Yes, they've graduated. It's been a long journey, but they're finally at the end of it. I'm glad you liked Laura getting the Herbology prize (or runner up, more to the point) but I just thought, why not? She likes it and there wouldn't be THAT many people doing it at NEWT level, would there?

As for that last line .. well, mums always know, don't they? I quite like that line, and not just because it's my last cliffy of the story. It just fit so well. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by JennyMc 

6th May 2010:
Hi,

Uh oh! Her mom knows. Hopefully, she'll be okay with it, since Laura's of age. I liked this chapter a bit more than the rest (Don't get me wrong, I love 'em all!) because I too will be graduating in a few weeks, and this was a lot of fun to read. Thanks. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, her mum's worked it out. Mums have a habit of doing that, I find. :) I'm glad you could relate to this chapter, though - I seem to have a few readers who are about to graduate and your reaction makes me think that I don't mis-remember that time too badly. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by madperson42 

3rd May 2010:
Hey again
sorry my review is a bit late but i've been rather busy. I really enjoyed this chapter and was so happy when Laura won a prize. Also well done to james and Sirius, of course they won a gazillion prizes, how could they not?

I was also pleasantly suprised by Laura's mum's question; probably easier for laura to ansewer the question than have to bring the topic up herself. I can't wait to see how she handles it. Also, it should be less of a blow on the 'no distractions' front seeing as she won a prize.

i shall go read the next (AND LAST!!) chapter now.
MP42

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reviewing again! :D

Hey, don't worry, your review isn't that late! In any case, my response is also late - I've been a bit busy of late as well. Let's face it, we all have real lives. :)

Anyway, I'm glad you liked this chapter. I thought it was fitting for Laura to get a prize, and of course James and Sirius needed to get some considering they were supposed to be brilliant. And yes, Laura's mum. Mums always know, don't they? I too thought it was a good way of broaching the subject considering Laura didn't want to do that herself. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by LillyTiger 

2nd May 2010:
Great story

does it haft to end?

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, sorry, but it does have to end. And there will be no sequel. However, it's 300,000 words long already - don't you think I've already gone overboard? :)

Anyway next chapter will be up shortly so you'll find out then what happens.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Little_My 

2nd May 2010:
Well, I liked the speach:) It was short and to the point. Of corse Dumbledoor's dialog will always be hard to write I think you did a godd job, like always.
And that end, eh:P
Now I really want you to update soon :D
But, then again, I always do:)
Keep up excelent work will you?
:)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

You know, it's funny but I've never felt it was difficult getting Dumbledore right (sounds really big-headed, I realise, but it's just how I see it), but what I struggled with was getting the balance right. I still feel like the speech is a paragraph too short, but then again that's balanced by Laura's comment about it being short and sharp, so maybe I didn't do that badly on it.

I'll be updating in the next few hours so you'll find out soon enough what happens next.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Clarebear *random chick* 

1st May 2010:
THAT WAS AWESOME GO LAURA'S MUM!!!
that you so so so much for not making her pregnant i dont like stories that do that it anoys the hek outa me gr!
anyway awesome and its sad that next chapter is the last are u going to right a sequel or any other stories let me know and ill read them!!!

Author's Response: Hi Clare! Thanks for reviewing again!

Yep, go Laura's mum. That was pretty smart of her, wasn't it? I'm glad you liked it.

Oh, and I too am a bit sick of pregnancy fics. It's in the canon that Sirius didn't have any children so I thought it would be stretching things just a bit far.

As for the sequel, well sorry, but no. There won't be one. There will however be a series of one-shots based on HTM which I'll be posting once this story is all up (give me a month in between so I can have a rest) so there will be some more to come. And I wrote a chapter for the Gryffindor collaboration (it's called "Gryffindor Moments") so if you want to have a read of that then by all means go ahead. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Hottamaleh 

1st May 2010:
Hey, I love LOVE this story! But I can't enjoy reading it because of Mary. Please bring her back somehow!

Author's Response: HI! Thanks for the review! I think that this is your first time reviewing this story so welcome :D

Yes, sorry about Mary. She was a great character and I was very fond of her, despite how it may appear. Unfortunately, though, she did die and the dead can't come back to life, so I won't be bringing her back in any way. My apologies. :(

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Eugenia 

1st May 2010:
I have had so many things to read and to do and to translate that I could not read your story. It was torture, let me tell you. Amazing chapters, all of them; well all of your story is fantastic. I enjoyed Dumbledore's speech: short but meaningful; Sirius and Laura's conversation before her parents' arrival was absolutely cute; their words are filled with romance, but also with a down-to-earth concern, and that makes their interactions very interesting, because although they are a pair of teenagers, they are in the middle of a war, of which they are soon to become part.
This time, I can wait for next chapter; I do not want it to end. The fact that we will not have a new chapter every week is somewhat depressing. I know we have those one shots, but, well, you know what I mean.

Author's Response: Hi Eugenia! Great to hear from you again! :D

I'm very pleased that you liked Dumbledore's speech - I still think it was a paragraph too short but it seems to have come off okay based on the feedback I've received, so thank you for that. :) And I'm glad you like the Sirius/Laura conversations ... it's a tricky balance, to get the teenager-but-going-off-to-war thing right. so again thank you. *beams*

And the next chapter isn't the FINAL one, because there's an epilogue to come afterwards, but I know what you mean. And yes, the one shots are coming (there are about 20 of those I think) but I appreciate it's not quite the same. However, all things must come to an end and this story is no exception.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Twilight_Princess 

1st May 2010:
LOL, of course, should have seen that one coming! A mother ALWAYS knows (I just need to look at mine LOL!)! I wonder if Laura's mom is going to want to tell her dad right away or let her daughter take her time like Laura plans?

I can't wait for the next chapter!! Although sad as it is to be the last, all good things need to come to an end, I suppose. :(

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, mums always know, don't they? I thought it was an appropriate way of bringing the subject up, especially considering Laura didn't want to do it. *evil grin* As for how it pans out, well you'll find out fairly soon so I won't say anything.

And yes, all stories must come to an end. One more chapter and then the epilogue. Time really does fly, doesn't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by desert_oasis 

30th April 2010:
AAH!! YOU CAN'T LEAVE THE CHAPTER LIKE THAT!!!

OMG!! That was evil!! Garg, now imma be impatient for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, sorry about that. I do love my cliffies though. And don't you think that Laura's mum would be the type to work it out? Especially since Laura was wanting to put the conversation off ... this pushes it right to the fore, doesn't it?

Next chapter should be up within 24 hours so you'll find out then what happens.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Mrs sirius black wannabe 

30th April 2010:
OH MY GOD! GET YOUR BUTT TO THIS COMPUTER NOW, MISSIE, I WNAT ANOTHER CHAPPIE ASAP!LOVE YOU, BUT WRITE!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Hmmm ... actually, the next chapter is already written, so all I need to do is give it a proof read and then load it up. Which I should be doing within the next 24 hours, I think. *crosses fingers* Now all I have to do is hope you like it ...

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>