Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
A third chapter which is basically about the exams that they have to sit and I still managed to find it interesting, yet again. I think it must have been hard to write this chapter and come up with all of the different things for them to do in their exams, especially when I think about the fact that the NEWT exams never actually took place to our knowledge in the books so there's not really much to go off when it comes to writing about them yourself. But it's impressive that you managed to write all about the different exams and still make it interesting.

I loved the little tale about Maggie Flint managed to get attacked by Devil's Snare, even though they dealt with that in first year - it was such a funny image and kind of retribution for what she's done to others. The normality of this chapter was quite refreshing because there's been a lot of drama in recent chapters, so it was nice to read something that wasn't quite so eventful! And I liked the way that Martha turned to Laura and Charlotte to get a normal reaction after the exams, plus seeing how caring and affectionate Sirius is continuing to be. It's so cute!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Exam chapters are really hard to write, but as they are a huge part of school life I couldn't really ignore them, could I? WEll, I guess I could, but that would make this quite a different story I Think.

And yes, Martha asking Laura and Charlotte about their exams because they are actually human and not the almost-unbelievably-intelligent Potter and Black. Glad you liked the Devi's Snare thing, too - I quite enjoyed throwing that one in. :D

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by DancingMooncalf 

5th January 2013:
It is really unnerving, I'm constantly thinking something terrible is about to happer to Laura, but then she made it through her finals okay... I can only immagine how Sirius must be feeling :)

I like this storie so much it is actually interfering with my sleep and eating proces. But that okay, because I'm almost there now. I can't wait to reaf the end!

Author's Response: Yes, she made it through her finals okay. It's almost like a sense of foreboding, isn't it? Something has to happen ... but when? *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
Good chapter. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you!
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
So just going back to the beginning of the chapter, I never understood why Peeves didn't listen to the Marauders; after all, they listened to Fred and George. I mean, they're all fellow pranksters so why not?
And I do feel sorry for Sirius and his self-confidence issues.
Nice job overall.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Why didn't Peeves listen to the Marauders? Um - good question! Maybe they never got him onside, or maybe the dynamics were just that little bit different. Or maybe he just never listened to anyone who tried to get him to behave - he may well have listened to them when they were planning mischief, but not when they were toeing the line. Food for thought, so thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
NEWTs sound horrendous. It's like taking placement exams for a tough college, but scarier.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: It's hard to guess what NEWTs consist of, considering we never see them (and I've never taken the Muggle equivalent, not being British) but, based on the OWL exams, this was my best guess. And yeah, they probably are horrendous. I think all final year exams probably are. Glad you appreciated it though :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by theelderwand 

24th August 2010:
Uneventful, but entertaining, that's the key with a chapter like this and you came through with flying colors.

I especially liked the Defense Practical; that flourish with Greta was great.

But I am worried about the aftereffects of the Sectumsempra. Now, you're not gonna do somthing evil like have Laura die due to complications of that are you?

And still there's the war looming...I understand you've said there will be no sequel, but I can't help but wonder as to the possibilities the future holds, at least up until October 81. Ugh!

Then again, I can still hold out hope for an AU ending.

Eldy

Author's Response: No, I'm not going to kill Laura from the effects of Sectumsempra. Having Snape attack her helps explain their animosity in later years; if he killed her then I really don't see how that might not have been mentioned in the canon. It's too big an event to miss, if that makes any sense. So yeah, she's tired and weak from it, but she recovers. :)

This chapter was actually really funny to write because it's the only one out of the whole 62 that was written almost entirely in the week leading up to it being posted. I was even putting word count updates on the forums in my status so people who were interested could see how I was going. (Pix in particular was very good in cheering me on, hahaha.) I'd been putting off writing it for two years because exam chapters are just such a drag to do, but yeah, when the time came I just made myself write. In that context I think it turned out pretty well, even if I do say so myself. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
Hmm, as ever, I'm amazed at how you can take any topic, even EXAMS, and make them interesting. My favourite bit was definitely after the potions exam - it's been a while since this story has highlighted the ridiculousness that is Potter and Black, so this little interlude was a nice reminder that your original characters add some realism to an otherwise far too talented year group.

Also loved the bit about potions theory - am assuming that this is more of your creative genius? Well, I do love it - really adds depth to the HP world. And with that, I'm off to read some more!

Author's Response: Hahaha. This chapter was AWFUL to write, to the extent that I put it off for almost 2 years and then had to throw it together in the week before it was posted. From that perspective, I'm so relieved it turned out all right because it means I can write okay on the fly. And yes, my OCs are much more normal than Potter and Black and this was a good place to show that. :)

As for the potions theory, yes that was my invention. I think it got mentioned earlier in the narrative as well but, as we know so little about Potions (because Harry hated the subject), I had to come up with something that Lily could just tell people to help them. Thanks again.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by doglover 

15th August 2010:
i don't want the story to end :(

Author's Response: I'm sorry but all stories must end. In fact, everything must end, and this of course is no exception. Having said that I am extremely flattered that you feel this way because it means that I've done something right in the writing of this story, so thank you! *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by JennyMc 

6th May 2010:
Hey!

I think that even though it didn't have all the drama from past chapters, I really liked it. Laura seems different. More grown-up, matured, sophisticated. But that's something I appreciate; characters growing and changing throughout the story. Makes it a bit more interesting.

-Jen :)

Author's Response: Hi Jenny! Thanks for reviewing again! :)

You're absolutely right, not nearly so dramatic, but then again it was a closing chapter so that's probably not completely unusual or unexpected. And yes, Laura has grown up. After all, she was 15 at the start of this story and she's 18 now, so you'd hope there would be some development on that front, wouldn't you? :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by desert_oasis 

30th April 2010:
Naughty little boogers arent they??

Just put my son to bed, and he's still restless and crying, sigh

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, nastily exhausting, those wizarding tests! And a bugger of a chapter to write, to be honest, but I think it turned out okay. Glad you liked it :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Boo101 

26th April 2010:
Aww, Remus and Charlotte! Please get them together!! I love them! It's actually, physically, killing me! You're going to be a murderer if you don't get them together soon ;)

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

You know, a lot of people who previously didn't really care about Remus and Charlotte are really getting antsy about them at the moment so I must be doing something right there. Whether anything happens, though, is a closely guarded secret so I wont' be saying anything now. In any case we're so close to the end now that you'll find out soon enough.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Fairytale12 

25th April 2010:
I actually like exam chapters, they give you a reminder that even these characters with these exciting lives have to normal things like take exams. However, with exams here, that must mean that things will be wrapping up soon. I am very interested to see how that goes. Great work as usual!!!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

And thanks for backing me up on the exam chapter thing. Yes, a little dull in some ways, but then again these are school students who have to do exams in order to pass, so from that perspective it has to happen. But yes,things are wrapping up very soon. In fact, there are only 2 chapters and then the epilogue to come. Now all I have to do is hope you like them!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by naflower05 

24th April 2010:
good chapter! looking forward to the next one, update soon! =]

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked this chapter - despite the battle against the clock it was actually rather fun to write, and a lot of it was unplanned but seemed to work out anyway. *sighs with relief* Next one will be up by mid week.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by himalyanharry 

24th April 2010:
oops looks like i wrote melian as my name in my last review so sorry

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thanks for owning up about that, as you saw in my blog it did unsettle me a little. I'm happy to laugh it off now that I know it was an honest mistake though. :)

Anyway, my memory says you thought this was one of my worst chapters. That's probably fair enough - not much happened aside from the exams, but then again it was a NEWTs chapter and it's very hard to make those sorts of chapters interesting. And maybe the fact that it was written in the week leading up to it being posted had an effect, too - I didn't have as much time to perfect it. Not to worry.

Thanks again, and no worries about that last review. It's all been cleared up now so I'm happy. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Hilbilly 

23rd April 2010:
i havent reviewed in a long time but its not because i havent been reading your story, i just havent been in the country to do it.
i still love it! :)
will remus EVER tell charlotte?

Author's Response: Hi again! THanks for the review! :D

Ah, don't apologise for not reviewing for a while - we all have real lives and it's not like you can't take a break from it and catch up later. The story's not going anywhere so take your time. :)

Glad you're still enjoying it, though, I do appreciate that. And Remus and Charlotte? Sorry. Not telling.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by padfoot_rox 

23rd April 2010:
This was an uneventful chapter, yes, but then again how on earth can exams ever be interesting? I say you've done a good job in showing just how NEWTs are. I am really glad that she did well 'cause thats exactly what her father always wanted.
I liked how you showed Laura talking to Mary, showing that she still misses her friend a lot and Charlotte telling her that all of them did it when no one else was in the dorm was also nice.
Then there was this line sirius says, "Because if something happens to me, it doesn't matter", I think it says a ton of things about Sirius' character. Its exactly how i think he would think about himself and his self-worth.
And Sirius or James or Peter not being much of a help even when they are Transfiguration geniuses is kind of funny too...and i liked that sirius was always fussing over her...
It was nice to have slow chapter after all the drama they've been facing...

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, uneventful like I said, but thank you for realising that exam chapters are VERY hard to make interesting. I'm glad you think it was an accurate portrayal of NEWTs because, unlike OWLs, we don't have any canon to base the experience on. (In fact, all of seventh year has been hard in that respect.) I'm glad you like the Mary thing, too - it was unplanned but it seems to have gone down well so I'm glad I did it. :)

As for Sirius, well that line is I think one of the keys to his character. He never DID seem to be very concerned about his own welfare, more about other people's. I'm glad you agree because it's one of the main building blocks of his characterisation in this story.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by fire witch 

22nd April 2010:
UPDATE SOON! I LOVE IT!!!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked this chapter - it was quite fun to write despite the race against the clock to get it finished on time to be posted. I thought an exam chapter was necessary, though - they are still at school after all.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by SeVeRuS LoVeR 

22nd April 2010:
i liked it even though nothing juicy happened it was still nice and it progresses the story not every chapter can be action packed and drama-filled haha but it sounds like the gang did swimmingly on thier NEWTs and now i have just one question.

IS REMUS GOING TO TELL CHARLOTTE SOMETIME THIS YEAR?!?! haha :PP naturally i know you wont actually give an answer but i mean come on man your a marauder for goodness sakes hehe :PP

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Well. Remus and Charlotte. I'm glad you realise I'm not going to answer your question, but I will admit that part of me is thrilled that you're so frustrated by them. To be frank, I am too, but I really do think this is how Remus would have been at school. But yes, he's a Marauder, and a Gryffindor as well. You'd think the courage would come out in some way. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by madperson42 

22nd April 2010:
Hello again,
another great chapter, perhaps a little fluffy but then i like fluff. Some really great bits in here and i liked how you'vfe done little exam references.

I loved the bit after the defense exam with Laura's line; 'never think you don't matter.' It just seemed such a Laura thing to say; a bit off-hand but just the right and tender thing to say.

So a deffinate 10/10 for this chapter
MP42

Author's Response: Hi again!

You know, it's strange that you said this chapter was a little fluffy because I didn't see it that way at all. Oh well, it just goes to show that we all have different definitions for these things, doesn't it? In any case you liked it so that's the important thing. :)

Next one will be up by mid-week so I hope you like that one too.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Nynfadora 

22nd April 2010:
:D Loved it as ever! I love it that Laura isn't like one of those charecters that can sing and dance and write music and playinstruments- she's just a genually nice person XD Can't belive that it's nearly done! Loving it all XD

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, it was important to me that Laura wasn't some brilliant, talented witch but instead someone that people could actually relate to. I thought that would make the story that much more believable. :) And yes, the story's nearly done. Well, it HAS been close to 60 chapters so some would say it's been overdone already :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by jesstierney 

21st April 2010:
I think I would die if I was at Hogwarts. The way the NEWTS work is horrible, having to remember everything from seven years ago!? RIDICULOUS.

The Mary bit made me sad :( I just hate that she had to die. I really want Remus to tell Charlotte, she likes him so much. Sirius and Laura were cute as ever and I can't wait to see what her parents say. God that's going to be good. I mean bad, but good.

:)

Author's Response: Hi Jess!

Now, don't go off too much about the NEWT exams - this is only my interpretation of them, of course, so we don't know what they were actually like. In JKR's head, that is. But I think that all final school exams are horrendous in their own way, so this was how I saw it. :)

As for the rest, well I kinda feel like if I say much then it might spoil what's coming up, so I'll just stay quiet for now. Next chapter is only a couple of days off anyway so you'll find out soon enough.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by lunalovegood23 

21st April 2010:
nice! yes, uneventful, but nice!

not going to lie to you, i got kind of sad when laura was talking to mary's wall. i had always liked mary.

the charlotte/remus relationship is so cute! even though it's not really a relationship at all. it's still cute!

i'm sad that this story is coming to a close soon. it's been so much fun to read!

anyway, good chapter, as always. update soon! (:

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

You know, a lot of people have singled out that scene with Mary's wall in this chapter. It's funny because I didn't do it purposely - I had this nagging feeling that Mary had to be mentioned again, but that was it - but it seems to have gone down well, so thank you. I'm glad it turned out well, or, at least you think so. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by KateRhodes 

21st April 2010:
It was nice. As you said, uneventful but still it was good. I like your writing so it wasn't hard to follow. I liked how you told us exactly how she performed in each of her exams and that's quite nice =)
I liked the bit with Sirius trying to explain and not being able to, it was kinda funny!
Besides that, I am just wondering what is coming next!
Update soon,
Lots of love,
Kate

Author's Response: Hi Kate! Thanks for reviewing again :D

I'm glad you lliked this one. It was fun writing it, despite the race against the clock to get it done on time, though the subject matter - NEWTs - was always going to be tough going in one way or another.

As for what's coming next, well we're very nearly at the end now, so if I say anything it would be a spoiler. If you read on you'll find out soon enough. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Slytherin_Ravenclaw_chick 

21st April 2010:
Well, I thought it was good none-the-less the eventfulness.

10/10 as always,

-Lyn

Author's Response: Hi Lyn! Thanks for reviewing again!

I'm glad you liked this chapter, despite the fact that not a lot happened - it was NEWTs, after all, and I thought that having too much upheaval during exams would be unnecessarily cruel. Good to see you agreed with me. :) Next chapter will be up by midweek.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by saffy 

21st April 2010:
Hey there :)

So iv been hanging out in edinburgh today to visit the uni it was gorgeous weather and then i come home to this, what more could a gal want ?

I loved the last sentence of the first paragraph i think it really gave a good impression of how momentous your last school exams feel.

Sirius is just too darn adorable when hes protective of laura i really want to know how this whole auror thing will pan out. Poor Sirius will he ever realise he's worth something?

Thanks ! Cant wait for the next update :)

Author's Response: Hi Saffy!

Wow, Edinburgh University? Nice spot. I remember wandering around the grounds quite drunk when I was last in Scotland. But that's another story. :)

Anyway, I'm glad you liked this chapter. Like I said it was written against the clock but I think it turned out reasonably well so I'm quite pleased with it all told. As for Sirius, well when we saw him in canon he didn't seem too concerned for his own welfare at any point so I will say, in answer to your question, probably never. Sorry.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>