Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by grednforge217 

1st June 2014:
I'm so sorry I didn't review sooner, but I was just so caught up in this story! This was so amazing. Though it was much quicker paced then "Unsinkable", I felt far sadder by the end. Probably because it felt like the end of an era, and also because there's never been any stories about seventh year in canon. Anyhow, it was amazing and I felt very sad to be leaving all of these lovely characters behind.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, any time! :D It's a shorter story than Unsinkable, and hopefully a bit better laid out plotwise - I put more effort into that with this one lol. It made me sad to finish writing these characters, which is why there are a few short stories of them. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it, and thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan 

7th June 2013:
Ok all finished. I loved this story. Am I getting repetitive saying this, because I really seem to be saying that about every chapter I review! I like the way you did the end, the way everything's so up in the air.

Also, this line from the last chapter:
"Dorothy's a terrible gossip," said Molly sternly. She leaned forward. "What did she say?"

Lol that sort of sums up Molly in a nutshell :p It seemed sooo in character for her.

Well, now that I've finished I think I'm going to miss the characters a lot, by the end of these two fics they were like old friends to me. (Does this make me sound like I live in a bubble, because I'm so attached to fictional characters?. actually don't answer that)

I guess you'll see me again reviewing some of your other fics! :) You are a wonderful writer!!!

Author's Response: Yay I'm so glad you liked it!

Ahahaha... Yeah that's totally Molly. I'm glad you noticed that, no one else has mentioned it and it was one of my favorite parts - it seemed so Molly-ish. XD Don't worry about being attached to fictional characters, cause I'm even worse - I feel like they live in my head and I write cause they won't stop giving me their stories. We can be crazy together haha

Thank you so much for the kind words, it means a lot to me!


 Report Review

Review #3, by pumpkinpasties 

29th December 2012:
Just as good as the previous, I must say. I'm really starting to fall in love with this group :) I would leave a longer review but I'm far too excited to keep reading! 10/10, as always :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked this one. It's a bit darker than the first, but I think it's better planned out as a novel. Anyway thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by George Whitman 

28th July 2012:
Hey momotwins! I've finally read this whole thing! It was way too short but good all the same.

I liked the dueling club, the uncertainty everyone feels with the rise of Voldemort and of course the characters we came to love in Unsinkable are still strong. Their development here was a masterstroke. Gideon and Fabian were entertaining as ever as they came away with a reverence for their older sister. Molly struggled with jealousy, hormones, and the idea of being a blood traitor while she let her strength at confrontation shine as she channeled it into dueling. We saw Cecilia and Reid seamlessly become an enjoyable couple after the uncomfortable relationship they had in Unsinkable. Hattie was as annoying as ever. Arthur and Siobhan didn't change much but they didn't have to as we've come to appreciate Arthur's unbending resolve and empathize with Siobhan's emotional insecurity. Petula matured and the whole group came along very well. Indeed we saw the men and women make connections among themselves and each other that were realistic and relatable as they faced a huge transition in their lives.

I loved that the Gryffindors won the Quidditch Cup undefeated for once and I like how Arthur was on the team for each . I've always thought that Rowling got lazy with the whole quidditch thing in the later books. She used the same gimmick to see Gryffindor win the Cup three times in a row. They lose a game and then "miraculously" win their other two by the correct margin to claim the cup. Meanwhile she finds some way for Harry to get injured or in detention to either miss the last game or the snitch during some game. Sure these events were exciting once but became a cheap thrill as we eventually saw Rowling discredit the competition to the point that there was no actual tension involved. This straightforward approach was much appreciated because you didn't insult us by pretending it could go any other way. Sorry about that rant. You can tell I'm a bit of a sports fan and was disappointed by Rowling's treatment of Quidditch.

I liked the idea of conflict between muggleborns and purebloods but I thought that it would be better represented by a pureblood closer to the main characters turning out in support of Voldemort's ideas if not Voldemort himself. The only time we see something remotely close is when Reid (I think) tries rather lamely to defend some of death eaters actions as nothing more than muggle baiting. Hattie has natural misgivings as she worries about the safety of her mother and encounters thoughts about prejudice for the first time but I suppose it makes sense that none of the major characters would lean towards Voldemort as they have friends that are muggleborn or closely related to muggleborns but still I was expecting some sort of moral betrayal that never came.

The development of a rivalry between Arthur, Molly, and Lucius was good to see, as was the quick cameo by Rita, but what happened to the burgeoning rivalry between Molly and Bellatrix that we so enjoyed in Unsinkable? It would have been good to see that come out more in the dueling club. My basic criticism of this piece is that as a sequel to Unsinkable it falls short. It lacks the filler that Unsinkable had to increase depth and it doesn't recover themes introduced in Unsinkable sufficiently. It felt like a rushed and uninspired chore to feed the desire of the masses for a sequel. While we were expecting a novel of similar length and depth that we got in Unsinkable, we got a mushy story of our beloved heroes going through the main plot points like a bullet list. I think you are the best fanfiction writer there is at capturing Rowling's style and matching her intent. In this case I was left slightly disappointed because I had extremely high expectations for this story as a sequel. However I still enjoyed what was there and crave ever more. Begging for more surely isn't the worst thing to see from a fan like me! Well done.

Author's Response: Nice to see you back, I haven't seen you reviewing in quite a while. I'm glad you enjoyed the story! I really loved writing this one, showing the gang maturing as they go through their final year at Hogwarts. The Quidditch in canon does follow the same path, yeah. I am not a sports person so I just made myself write it, you know?

Sorry that you didn't think it was as good as the original though. Most other reviewers have felt this was a better written and plotted piece than Unsinkable (which I mostly made up as I went along), so I'm sorry that you disagree with that. I'm pretty proud of this story.

Thank you for the review! I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on the story. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Singularity 

14th August 2011:
I have to start by saying how much I admire how you've written this scene. I am ridiculously sentimental with a soft spot for overly dramatic, completely unrealistic, tearful good byes (*cough* see chapter 3 of Purpose and Priorities :P). So I love the way you've written this. The sentimental characters are a little bit sentimental, but not over the top, and the other characters roll their eyes at the sentimental ones. Completely realistic and very well done.

It reminded me a lot of high school and college graduation. When you all just kind of stand around and wonder what'll become of you all, and if you'll still be friends in five years. The uncertainty is even higher in their situation, but it's such a common theme, and you've written it beautifully.

I am so tempted to stop reading stories in this universe :P This is such a nice, happy place to end. I can skip merrily off and pretend that everyone lives happily ever after, become the godparents of each others kids, and stay friends forever. I know if I keep reading, something terrible is going to happen. Possibly several terrible things.

But you write so well, that I feel invested in the characters and want to know what happens. I want to see Molly and Arthur get married and start their family, so I know I'll continue.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Hehehe... I like a dramatic good-bye sometimes, but it doesn't feel right here. Everyone says goodbye in their own way, and Siobhan isn't at all sentimental so she's always the one in the back rolling her eyes.

Graduation/leaving ceremonies are funny things, because as a social construct they really are meant to give official status to a transition from one part of life to another, but often they wind up giving the effect you describe, of leaving everyone feeling like they don't entirely know what to do next.

Ah don't stop reading here! There's more in this story universe still, and I'd love to hear what you think :) Thank you so much for all the lovely reviews you've left for this story! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Steph 

7th June 2011:
Whilst reading this chapter the picture at the top of the site was of Molly and Arthur, all grown up :) It has been such an incredible journey with them. You have a brilliant writing style, which really emulates JKR's and makes your stories so easy to read. Thank you for caring so much about all of these characters, and for being committed enough to continue their story right through. Can't wait to move on to the next chapter of this amazing journey.
Thank you once again, you've got a fan here :)

Author's Response: This review really made my day :) Thank you so much for your kind words. I try to do them justice, they're my favorite couple in the books (I do love Ron/Hermione too). I just love them, so I really love hearing other people do as well, or that I've converted readers to the ship ;) Thank you, thank you for the beautiful review! You left me feeling quite speechless with delight :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheWorldISee 

31st March 2011:
Oh goodness I almost cried while reading this chapter! What a wonderful job, yet again. The leaving of Hogwarts, how sad that must be! It reminded me of my old schools and old friends, geez you've gone and gotten me all emotional. :)

Well congratulations on yet another amazing story. I really enjoyed this one and can't wait to go on and read the elopement!! I'll be very sad when I finally reach the end of the Unsinkable verse, do you think you could just keep writing forever? Hehe. Wonderful job. 10/10!

Author's Response: It's sad to leave school - very emotional time. I figure it must be the same at Hogwarts. I did find it fun to write Siobhan telling them how mental they all are for being so nostalgic. lol

Thank you so much! I've had several requests to keep writing the Unsinkableverse forever haha. I don't think I could manage it though. I wrote quite a lot! Not sure if I'll do another one. Might be my next project.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aidenk77 

2nd September 2010:
Another brilliant, brilliant story. Your writing is just sublime, I enjoyed the story so much. I'm off now to find the next part. :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm very pleased that you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by RonsGirlFriday 

9th July 2010:
I love this so much. Seriously, you have done such a wonderful job building the story of Molly and Arthur (and all of their friends) that I pretty much consider your Unsinkable-verse completely canon (all of the events, OC's, etc.). As in, if I were to stumble across another Arthur/Molly (and I haven't seen any, have you?), I would read it and it would seem weird to me because I already have this perfect and solid concept in my head from reading your stuff. :-D

And now I am definitely looking forward to moving on to "At the Hour" and "Over the Anvil."

-fangirl fangirl fangirl-

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! There aren't many Molly/Arthur stories set in their school years, really. Nothing as long as what I've written. I don't think anyone else has put as much thought into them as all this (clearly I need a life haha). I hope you like the next stories too!

 Report Review

Review #10, by katebabelovesharrypotter 

18th June 2010:
I can never tell you how very much I adore your writing! I honestly love every single thing you've written! I even love your one-shots (and I do NOT like one-shots). You are such an excellent writier. I love your dedication to your stories and the way you write just fits into the whole Harry Potter world so well, but with its own uniqueness. I'll definitely continue reading anything you write! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *blushes* You really made my day - my week! - with this review. Thank you very much for your kind words. I hope you continue reading and enjoying!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Harry and Ginny 

21st May 2010:
i'm very sad that this story has ended but i'm going to read the sequel right now!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thank you! Let me know what you think of it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Kristin 

21st April 2010:
A short chapter but that suited me well since I didn't really have time to read it (did it anyway, though)! Great end of a great fic and I can't wait to move on to the next part!

Author's Response: heh. Yes, it is pretty short, and thank you for reviewing! I hope to see you in reviews on the next part of the story :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jen 

20th April 2010:
I've loved this story. Your version of Molly and Arthur is quite delightful really. I do find myself wondering about how they end up eloping and a few other things, but that's half the fun, right?

Author's Response: I'll get there ;) The eloping story is mostly written already and will be posted as soon as I've got the second half of "At The Hour" up. The elopement is titled "Over The Anvil", so keep an eye out ;) Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hermione528 

20th April 2010:
Thank you so much for this beautiful conclusion (to this portion of the Unsinkable-verse, anyway :P). I love how you've crafted these characters-- I just can't get enough! looking forward to the next part of the story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rachel 

20th April 2010:
So, wait, was this the last chapter of this one? Are you moving on now?

Lovely, by the way, although I could have done with it being a little longer... :-)

Author's Response: Yep, this was just an epilogue, thus its shortness. I'm moving on, but still in this same story universe. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by theelderwand 

20th April 2010:
Satisfying to finish off a tale, isn't it? And you should be very proud as this was a good one.

So much foreboding in this chapter. Arthur's future looking so bright, yet, from canon we know his career gets side-lined in the Ministry. Everyone still apprehensive about the looming war, marriage, leaving school. Must say, I felt that old familiar lurch in the stomach that I always used to get during graduations as I read this. Hats off to you for writing this so well as to evoke that response.

Still, I couldn't help but smirk at this:

"Chop chop, you lot," she said, shooing them toward the carriages. "We don't want to miss the train."

Echoes of September 1 at the Burrow! That was great.

I'm very pleased to hear the next installment will soon be up. Rest assured I'll be keeping my eye out for it. Curious tho, I tend not to post anything until my entire story is finished. Do you take the same approach, as it appears from your AN?

Been a real pleasure reading the Unsinkable 'verse. Thanks so much for giving me sucha great read.

TEW

Author's Response: It is satisfying. Sort of a relief when you've been working on it a long time. I'm very glad to hear the last chapter went over well with you. It's always a pleasure to read your reviews. :) Thank you so much!

I like shorter pieces to already be finished before I post them, but the novel-lengths I've written or am writing (in the case of JAMR) are pretty much posted as the chapter is completed. I have "At The Hour" all written, and actually has been for a long time now, and parts of "Over The Anvil" have been written even before I started "What It's Worth". OTA isn't quite finished yet, but the first two chapters are. I've already posted the first half of "At The Hour", and will post the second in a few days.

Thank you for the review, and for following the story all this time! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review