Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Noblevyne 

2nd July 2011:
Oh Mary, just...sigh. She's so silly, and she's likely going to get herself killed, or at least - be part of a very nasty part of the government. She's ripe for getting caught up in propaganda too - very worrying.

Anna, as I said before, I love. She's blunt and brutal but not above doing the right thing. I can't remember if you used her last name yet...I'm wondering about that. She's just wonderful though, I want to see more of her!

I love Lily in this chapter too - because it must be a terrifying thing for a Muggleborn to leave Hogwarts, there must be more uncertainty for her than others because she doesn't have the same connections to the magical world as say, James. She goes home to a completely different world where she has to hide herself away - it's only natural to feel anxious upon leaving what has been your home for the last seven years.

And I think this may be my final review on this chapter. Knowing me I'll probably come up with a thousand more musings after I'm done. Oh well, I'll PM you I'm sure.

Author's Response: Mary is pretty ridiculous--and I absolutely agree with you that she's the sort who would get very caught up in propaganda. She would have been one of the ones who believed Dumbledore was senile and Harry was a liar in OotP, had she been at school with them. I think the fact that she went to the Ministry and basically signed up on the spot for a dangerous job shows her tendency towards that.

I'm glad you love Anna--I do too, as I mentioned before! :D Her last name, which I think I must have used at some point (probably in the first chapter; if not, that was a bit of an oversight), is Richards.

I would definitely be anxious if I were Lily, for all the reasons you mentioned. It never got explored too much in the books, even though Harry spent his summers in a Muggle home, but I think being a Muggle-born would be a very strange existence--in one world, your birth puts you a step lower than other people, and in the other, you can't be who you really are! I'm glad that came across with Lily in this chapter.

Absolutely feel free to PM me if you ever have other thoughts, or anything like that! I know I sound like a broken record by now, but I can't thank you enough. I've been so pleased and encouraged by your reviews--I'm now thinking more actively than I have in a while about how to continue on with the sequel!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Leigh Kelley 

18th June 2011:
Lily sneaking into Hogsmeade? I'm in shock, ha. Could Dearborn have bee hinting to the OoTP, perhaps?

I like all these little additions you add that I never considered before. It seems likely that they'd have a feast for themselves, and I like the thought of them leaving the castle in boats. I can't believe their school years, at Hogwarts anyway, is finally over. I don't want to imagine them in the real world, especially since we know what happens to them eventually. I wish Lily could just cling to the school and stay there until the end of time, haha.

I'm still upset over the end of Mary and Lily's relationship. I had hope for them to fix it, but judging by their final interaction, the friendship is done for good. Really horrible to be losing friends considering what's out there. You'd think they'd want to remain close, but... Eh, I guess I just can't fully shove my feet into Mary's shoes. Sometimes I get where she's coming from, and other times I want to smack her on the back of her head for being a right idiot.

I hope Anna and Lily stay in contact. I'd hate to think Lily has no female friends left.

~Leigh

Author's Response: I can't take credit for the idea about the boats--JKR actually said in an interview that she thought graduating students would leave via the boats, just as they came in. ;) I'm glad you liked those inclusions, though...I know graduation isn't a big deal over in the UK, but I feel like Hogwarts is really steeped in tradition, and they must have SOME things that mark the occasion.

I think friendship in this story is one area where the whole idea of "write what you know" really came out for me. I've never had a big argument with a friend, but I've moved a few times in my life, and so I've definitely had a lot of friends that I've lost touch with. I'm much less familiar with the kind of friendship that the Marauders had than the kind that Lily has with Mary and Anna.

I'll give you a bit of insider info--this won't be the last time you see Anna. I think it is interesting that Harry never heard about or met any friends of his mother's, though. ;)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by doglover 

9th January 2011:
that was really depressing with Mary.

Author's Response: Yes, it is sad that things turned out that way. I personally think it was a long time coming--ever since Lily continued being friends with Snape after Mulciber attacked Mary, and then Lily and Mary never really talked over the issue. On the plus side, though, I think it's brought Anna and Lily closer together than they were before. That's something, right?

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by girly1393 

9th September 2010:
Man, that made me think about how close I am to going off into the world (well, university, but that's scary enough). And it made me a combination of more afraid and less worried.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Well, if it's any comfort, I can assure you that you won't be attacked by Death Eaters soon after your graduation. :P Just kidding! University can seem scary at first, but once you get there, you'll find it's not so bad! I mean, I haven't even partaken in much of the fun side of university, and I still really enjoy it. But maybe that's because I'm a weirdo who really likes school.

Anyway, what I'm trying to say is, definitely be less worried. :) It's not so bad as it seems!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Flower n Prongs 

13th July 2010:
This chapter was so bittersweet. I remember that feeling when I left high school and when I moved away to go to university for the year. It's sad to think about them not going back, but it obviously had to happen. I loved the idea of them crossing back across the lake in boats, I hadn't read that before. I also loved the fact that James's shoes kept being messed with by the other Marauders. =)

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for another review, and I'm glad you liked the chapter. :)

I was worried about having to write them leaving school--I've gone through graduating from high school, of course, but it's surprising how quickly I've forgotten what it really felt like! :P And, of course, for everyone, the experience is different. I'm glad you found something in this that rang true for you!

The idea of crossing the lake in the boats again was something that JKR actually mentioned in an interview when someone asked her how she felt about never getting to write a graduation scene. It was really helpful to have that detail given to me, because I'm not British and I couldn't form a really great idea of what a graduation would be like at a British school. From what I understand, it's nowhere near as fussy and grand as American graduations, but I'd never experienced one personally (and some things are very difficult to research)!

I'm glad you liked that little bit between James and his friends. :) They're a set of characters that are always able to lighten the mood just perfectly.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Prongs05JP 

28th May 2010:
Penny! I'm alive! :D
And apologising humbly for the lack of reviews T_T (Even now, I'm reviewing 5 days later than I said I would XD) But hey, I'm here to make a decent review and hopefully the other chapters to make up for it ;)

So this chapter... it's a real heart wrencher. A lot of drama - well not major drama, but plenty of little drama to really make you feel a bit for the characters :( I felt really sad whilst reading this, just to let you know *sniff*

Kay, first off... (I think I say that every time) James is so whipped! That conversation certainly made me snicker a little. Especially with the sentance when they did loads of impressions *laughs* and then he went and proved their point! Ah, James. I hope I don't ever get like that :P

Ahaha, I thought Lily would be past the stage of underestimating James by now xD But haha, she sure seemed shocked by the way into Hogsmeade. And James almost being right about Dearborn. I wish all teachers wouldn't tell you off like that and instead have a conversation xD Hmm... I wonder why James is always eager to impress him? Maybe because he knows his parents - or he just wants someone to know that he's good at DADA. Who knows? (Well, I'm sure you do, :), so feel free to correct me if I'm wrong).

Poor Lily :( I feel the same about leaving and things like that - I can't imagine leaving where I am now and being thrust out to do something different. It would be so weird :'(

I really like the original ideas you thought of about graduation. Did it take long to come up with all the little details? Like the boats (skipping on a bit), I thought they were a beautiful touch. With them staying the same size an' all to signify all the changes they've been through. Made me want to cry! And leaving the same way they came in - that was also a nice added extra :)

Back to where I was... the feast. Very individual. I've read about balls, parties, fireworks and all sorts but its nice to have a little send off - but one that means a lot in the heart. Fab ;) And Sirius and Remus' little jibes make me laugh.

Ugh... Mary's such a... a... she gets a whole paragraph to herself because of what she's become! Her whole natures changed from the little "sweet" girl that she used to be, now all obsessed with being a stupid hit wizard. It's rubbish! And not something you should change for. Although I can kinda relate - my friends change a lot - some for reasons I think are stupid but they are obviously quite important to said girl. Yeah. Still, she could be a bit nicer to Lily :/

The Marauders HAD to be the ones to fall out, didnt they ;P This whole ending is so sweet - next thing, GO ANNA!! You rule, girl, and Lily should never haver doubted you :) This whole ending is sweet, and I really feel like it's all gonna turn out for the best.

Really a fab chap, and looking at the time (down here in ol' britannia in case you're not here already XD) it's unlikely I'll get another one in tonight. But one will get in!! :D

Thanks for your patience and another Fab Chap! (I've missed reading this great story :'D)
1000/10 :)
--Nick

Author's Response: Hi Nick! Sorry I took a few days to reply to this. :/ I saw your review very soon after you'd posted it, but I've just been so consumed with trying to get the first chapter of the sequel ready that I put off responding...very terrible of me, since I would never want you to get the impression that I didn't appreciate the review IMMENSELY! :D

I honestly didn't expect anyone to be really moved by what I'd written in this chapter--I certainly wasn't intending to get a really emotional response. But I'm so pleased that others, and now you, have said that it really affected them! It's nice to unexpectedly get something right. :P

Bahaha, well, I suppose James is mildly whipped. I guess you can't blame him too much, considering that he's like Lily for so long. I imagine he'd be pretty eager not to mess it up! :P And it's early days in their relationship, so perhaps he'll get more of a spine as things go along... ;)

I think Lily is past underestimating James, but not quite to the point where she can live with everything he does. I think he still kind of boggles her with his disregard for authority or rules. But I do think she has a bit of a rebellious streak to her--even though she might not be as comfortable expressing it as James is, I expect she gets at least a bit of a thrill out of that kind of thing. :P

I wish I'd done a better job of including Dearborn in this story, now that I'm looking back on it. I think I didn't really cement his role as well as I could have, which is probably what leads to the confusion over why James is so interested in impressing him. What I intended to get across (and I don't think I did) was just that Dearborn is the type of person who engenders respect--he's got that ineffable coolness to him (in an old guy way, haha) that makes people want him to like them. Part of James' curiosity is the link with his parents, certainly, and his suspicions about the Order (though of course he doesn't know that's what it is yet), and part of it is also James' anti-Dark Arts passion, which Dearborn shares. So, I guess you pulled several of those things out--maybe I didn't do TOO badly! :P

I actually got the boats idea from JKR herself! :) In an interview, she was asked about writing a Hogwarts graduation, and really the only concrete thing she mentioned was having the boats take the seventh-years back, for the symbolism. I didn't want to go over the top with the graduation, as I know in Britain it's not a huge deal. I thought a private feast, where the teachers weren't as separate from the new graduates, was just enough without being too "American" or whatever. :P I'm really glad you liked it!

Ahh, yes, Mary. I really, really enjoyed bringing her to this point, because I imagined it for a long time before getting to finally write it. :) I'm very glad that you feel that she's changed a lot--no, it's not for the better (and for the record, someone like her would drive me INSANE in real life), but I do like knowing that I've developed the characters in some way. And it is pretty amusing to me to see people now cheering on Anna, since she didn't start out as a very appealing character. :P

I liked that you managed to work the chapter title into your review there. ;) And oh, yay, it was a Fab Chap!!! It's been too long since I've heard those words. :)

But really, take your time with the reviews, as I always say. I feel like a broken record. :P The story's going to be here for a very long time, and there's certainly no rush on reviewing.

Thank you so so so much!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Megara 

3rd May 2010:
I actually really liked this chapter. I loved how you did not write a graduation ceremony, and I loved how you wrote them traveling by boat. I've never read that in a Marauder story before. Brilliant!

Author's Response: Hi Megara! Thanks so much for the review.

I'm really glad you liked this chapter. The reason I didn't write a graduation scene is because I heard from some British people on the forums for this site that typical graduation ceremonies are more of an American thing--of course, I didn't want to have Lily and the Marauders leave school without any type of send-off, so I tried to give them something small. As for the boats, that was actually something mentioned in an interview by JKR--so, like many other things in this story, I can't take credit for thinking it up! :)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pixileanin 

25th April 2010:
Okay. I know this is from the previous chapter, but I had to ask: "Do you know what a cross-counter Transmorgrification is?"

It was difficult watching (reading) Lily's interactions with Mary. I felt for her. I don't like that Mary much.

James' squelching shoes were fun!

Author's Response: Hello again! :)

Well, a cross-counter Transmogrification is nothing that was made up by JKR, so I certainly can't answer for what SHE would think it was. I got the idea for the name when thinking about cross-species Transfiguration (which was mentioned in the books), so I think the "cross" part would refer to it being cross-species, while the "counter" part would be, of course, countering it--basically reversing the transformation. But since "transmogrification" has connotations of more of an extreme or grotesque change, I would imagine that a cross-counter Transmogrification would be used to reverse situations where a cross-species transformation went wrong. (For some really funny reason I got this mental image of a platypus being the product of a cross-species transformation that went badly and wasn't reversed. Haha.) Anyway, I really only half know what I'm talking about, but that's how I see it. :P

Mary has become a difficult character to like over time, for sure. She certainly wasn't very gracious in that exchange with Lily, was she? I think the thing is in her mind, she's been a pushover for so long that now she's taking "standing firm" a little too far.

Glad you liked the soaked shoes! ;) Thanks so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Somebody 

20th April 2010:
Wow! This chapter was so great! I could have cried when they left Hogwarts, sniff sniff! But I thought it was hilarious when James, Sirius, Lupin, and Peter fell out of the boat! Lily and James' trip to Hogsmeade was so sweet and you never cease to have humor in there somewhere! I'm always laughing even in the mist of such a horrible time! One of my favorite parts was their conversation after their trip to Hogsmeade, it was sweet but you still made it funny. I also thought the graduation dinner was neat! It's one of those things that never happened for Harry, Ron, and Hermione in Harry Potter b/c of Voldemort, so I imagine it was hard for you to decide on what Hogwarts does for the 7th years (and it was Awesome!). I loved the part about saying exactly what you want to eat and it appearing! So cool! And the boys seemed to enjoy themselves to. Ha the ha to the hahaha! I of course felt very depressed once they left, but now I just read the new chapter! Talk about a cliffhanger! Wow! That's all for this chapter! Wonderful as usual!

Author's Response: Hello again! Thanks for coming back to review, and I'm so glad you thought this chapter was good! It was another that I wasn't overly thrilled with, myself, so I'm surprised in the very best way that you enjoyed it. :)

I'm especially surprised that you think I manage to add in humour well. I've probably moaned about this before, but humour really isn't my strength. I think I'm beginning to see that perhaps it's more that I can't necessarily write a story that's constant humour, and not so much that I can't be funny at all. :) Writing this story has taught me many things about my own abilities like that!

Yes, the graduation was something I had to navigate pretty much on my own. I was helped by a couple things: first, that JKR mentioned in an interview that she envisioned seventh-years leaving by the boats (so I stole that from her), and second, that over on the forums, someone made a topic a while ago asking about Hogwarts graduation (which helped me get an idea of what would be too Americanized, and such). Apparently real graduation "ceremonies" are more American than British (which, if you're British, I'm sure you know), so I steered away from that. But I did think there would be something a little special for the graduating students, and I'm glad you enjoyed what I came up with.

Yep, cliffhanger up next...and I'm off to respond to that review! Thanks for this one! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by allie_0608 

18th April 2010:
Aww that sucks about Anna and Mary.

Author's Response: Hello again! Well, you've made fast work of the story, which I'll take as a definite sign you're still enjoying it. ;)

Yes, it's not a very nice situation going there between these three girls, but sometimes life just goes like that. Not everyone is meant to be bffs forever, you know? But at least Anna and Lily are still getting along(ish)! :)

Thank you again, and I hope you like the last few chapters--including the ones I have yet to post!


 Report Review

Review #11, by C A L M 

14th April 2010:
Hi there sorry haven't reviewed in a while I've been really sick with my morning sickness :(.

It made my day to log in and see you had updated though, love the chapter and I see things between Lily and James are getting more serious now. Love it! And i'll be back when you update again for sure :)

10/10

Author's Response: Hi Ashleigh! No problem, don't worry about not reviewing. I completely understand how life can take over...the fact that I've updated this story twice since the beginning of March is definitely evidence of that! :P

I think at this point, Lily and James are really beginning to settle into their relationship--they've been dating for long enough that it's not strange to think beyond the next week together, you know? I'm glad that aspect of it came through in the chapter. :) And I'm so happy that you just enjoyed it generally!

I'll try my very best to update soon, and thank you so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by technicolor 

12th April 2010:
Hey Penny!

Oof, wonderful chapter! You said it seemed disjointed, although I didn't really get that feeling. Maybe when they were sitting in the Great Hall together with the teachers, although that might have just been me not paying enough attention... Overall, even without much happening it was a very gripping chapter and it made me more sympathetic towards Lily than I have been throughout the rest of the story. The Lily/James romance already feels mature and natural at this stage - though I'd like to see what ups and downs of any serious relationship they experience in your sequel. (Already making demands, haha). Mainly I loved the passage in which Lily is forced to choose between Snape and Mary; "whether her attachment to a long-broken friendship would supersede that of an only-just-broken one." It was a tense moment and combined with your earlier references to Lily thinking about Snape (in a less negative way than usual), I was left wondering who she'd choose. It's interesting that she'd put her loyalty to Mary first, only to be rewarded with that snide comment and possibly missing an important warning from Snape, which could have consequences. I don't know if you meant to imply that Lily's long-broken friendship should have carried more weight, but that's how it came across to me : ). Anyway, enough Lily/Snape ranting. Finally I liked the humorous bit at the end when James has to keep re-drying his foot; just the perfect small dose of Marauderness before they leave the castle to create a feeling of nostalgia. Long story short, I loved it and can't wait to see what kind of ending you have planned for this!

Sophie

Author's Response: SOPHIE!!!

Sorry, uncontrolled outburst of enthusiasm there. :P I get so thrilled when regular reviewers return after some time away, because I start to think that they've left the site and then...they come back! Anyway, though, thank you thank you for reviewing, it made my day. :)

I'm glad you didn't find it too disjointed. I'm going to have to go back and edit this one, but it's reassuring to hear that you found it interesting! And that's fantastic that it made you feel more for Lily.

"I don't know if you meant to imply that Lily's long-broken friendship should have carried more weight, but that's how it came across to me." I definitely did mean to imply that. ;) I think that even though they stopped being friends, Snape would have always been important to Lily--she always would have held out this hope that he could change for the better. I don't think it was out of romantic feelings--more that Snape was an important person in her life. He was the one who first introduced her to her real self, when you think about it. And as for Mary (and to a lesser extent, Anna), they were more of Lily's secondary friends for years. Add that to the fact that, in recent chapters, Lily found out that Mary wasn't the person she used to be...well, you can see how she might feel like her friendship with Mary had lost its value.

And in this particular scene, choosing Mary over Snape was sort of Lily's way of trying to make amends. She wasn't trying to fix the friendship, but just show that she was sorry for sort of choosing Snape over Mary even after she had been attacked by Mulciber. Mary just wasn't ready to let it go, and I'll leave it up to you whether she was in the wrong or not there. You're right, though, in that Lily may end up regretting not reading what he had written.

I'm so happy you loved it, and I hope that you enjoy the ending. There should be 2 - 3 more chapters, and I hope to have them all up by the end of this month. Then I'll probably take a bit of a break to regroup before the sequel, and I definitely have something along the lines of your suggestion in mind. :)

Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by saffy 

9th April 2010:
hey again :)

I got emotional at graduation thinking about poor remus and lily and mary not making up.

Really intrigued as to what this job with dearborbn will entail.

I really want to know what the note said would severus be warning her about whats going to be waiting for her out there in the real world ?

I liked the dynamic between betweent he boys still playign jokes on eachother and it seems fair that they worry about james sharing so many secrets. I loved the boat journey a nice why of linking the first and last day of school..see now im tearing up again lol

This chapter had the perfect balance of sadness and humour which you do so well

"He'll probably congratulate us for breaking the rules and then buy us some Firewhiskey."

one of the many hiolarious quotes.


Thanks for a cracking read :) well worth the wait

Author's Response: This was another chapter I wasn't too pleased with when I posted it, but I'm so happy to hear that it had such an emotional effect on you! I never expected to be able to achieve that, so I'm thrilled...although I am sorry for making you sad. :P

Anyway, you have a couple speculations here that I can't answer now, but will very soon. ;) Well, at least one of them will be very soon; the other might take some more time for me to explain...but by the end of the story you should be able to at least infer everything.

I actually can't take much credit for the boats--I got that idea from JKR herself! In an interview after DH, she was actually asked about Hogwarts graduation. She said she was sad to have not gotten to write that for Harry, and then they asked her for some details about what it would have been like, and she mentioned that seventh-years would travel away from the castle by boat, bringing the whole thing full circle. I suppose it's not necessarily canon because it came out in an interview, but I try to incorporate these little details wherever I can. :)

I hope I won't keep you waiting too long with the next chapter...I have a fair amount of it written, but it's reading oddly and so I need to add some scenes and stuff. Plus, I'm actually in exams (ironic considering the last chapter) right now, so my time is kind of stretched...but I'm hoping not more than a week from now.

I shouldn't say that, because I jinx myself every time. But I just knocked on wood, so hopefully that'll save me. :P

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #14, by inama_a77 

9th April 2010:
wow the 30th chapter! im so proud.
i started reading this fic when it was a mere 10 or so chapters long. it feels like a journey. its so sad that the story is ending. i hate that they die. i love lily and james!

Author's Response: Hi there! Yep, chapter THIRTY. I can't believe it, myself! I'm feeling very conflicted, though, because I'm proud that I've carried it so close to completion on the one hand, and on the other, I don't really want it to end.

But...luck has it that a sequel will pick up more or less where this ends. So hopefully that makes up for at least some of the sadness. :)

I hate that they die, too. Seriously. I know it's necessary for Harry to live, and all, but somehow I wish they could have survived it. :/

Anyway, thank you so much for reviewing. Even more than that, thank you for sticking with the story for this long. I can't begin to tell you how much that means to me.


 Report Review

Review #15, by redhead1287 

8th April 2010:
Wonderful chapter! And lots of James and Lily being cute as promised! Thank you!

I am seriously in love with James in your story. I mean, he is almost completely perfect... :) I especially liked that he took up for Lily to Sirius, and when he called her 'darling'-- I laughed out loud... (maybe it was not meant to be funny, but then Lily reacted just the way I thought she should). Every scene is very believable and the characters seem real.

I hope that you are going to have time to continue writing stories. I really love this one and I can't bear to think of it coming to an end! Although, I know that real life awaits... one of the reasons I don't currently have any stories of my own. :/

Please update soon! And good luck with your exams!

Author's Response: Hello again! :) So glad that you got a chance to review, and that you enjoyed the chapter.

James is kind of the MOST adorable character just generally. I'm of course biased because I write him so often, but he's my favourite of the Marauders by far. I'm happy to hear you like him too! :) The "darling" was most definitely meant to be humourous, so I'm glad it made you laugh.

I think I shall have time to continue writing, don't worry. :) My summer term is actually close to starting, which means I'll have loads of time to write. And write I will! There will be a sequel. My ultimate goal is to go all the way to their death (sad), and I do really hope that everything in real life allows me to get that far. This is something I've always wanted to complete (I wrote fanfiction years ago as well), and I think I'll feel much more peace of mind if I do.

Thank you for the good luck and for reviewing! The next chapter is going much better than previous ones, so it won't take nearly as long. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Tonks101 

7th April 2010:
I don't know what to say it is do sweet!!! It is not over yet right? Mary... How can she not forgive her bff and Lilly omg! I love it like always but out of all the many chapters this one is the best! I just had a wam fuzzy feeling the whole time!!!

Off topic but I have a first chapter to my first story called why me?

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for stopping by to review, and again, sorry for how long this chapter took. I'm crossing my fingers that the progress I've made so far on the next is a sign that it'll be a shorter wait. So, no, it's not over! I think there will be three more chapters, but that may change slightly as I write. There will definitely be at least two; I'll put it that way.

And, wow...you thought this was the best?! I'm surprised! I didn't really think it was all that great, but I'm thrilled if you did. :)

Yes, Mary has become rather stubborn lately...she probably won't get mentioned much if at all in the last few chapters, but with a sequel on the way, it's not the last you'll hear about her. So maybe there's hope things will be worked out...or maybe not. You'll have to wait and see!

Congratulations on posting your first chapter! I assume it's still in the queue, since it's not showing up on your page yet? Anyway, that's great that you started writing. :)

Thank you so much (again)!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by LoveTomRiddle 

7th April 2010:
Awesome, I can't wait for the next chapter!

I love, love, love this story!

There's nothing else to say!

Author's Response: Hi there! What a wonderfully nice review. :) Thanks so much for taking the time to leave it!

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. I'm currently zipping through the next chapter fairly fast, but...I won't put an expected date of posting on it, just because I always seem to jinx myself when I do. :P Shouldn't be as long as the wait for the past couple of chapters, though!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lemon Drop 616 

4th April 2010:
I think the awkwardness you felt while writing this transferred beautifully into the awkwardness of graduating. Because graduating really is awkward. You have no clue as to what your life will look like and you don't know if anything you've imagined or dreamed will actually happen. And, to top it off, you have no clue if you'll ever see these people you've lived with for a good part of your life ever again. It's awkward. I thought this chapter was perfect. I loved how unconventional it was. There was no 'end of the year prank' or any out-of-the-blue proposal. Now, I'm not saying those are bad, just overdone (but amazing when done well, I must say). But I digress, yours had none of this cliche, and conveyed their last days in a novel way I'm glad I had the pleasure to read.

It's just such a shame that an author who took the time to go to JKR's web page and read all those extra characters that never made it would forget that the boats fit three. (Correct me if I'm wrong, but I could have sworn it was three!) Of course, I'm only kidding about that . . . (I suppose you could just call me one of those 'canon-nazis' ;) )

Anywho, lovely chapter (the slow ones always surprise me . . . they just kinda make me smile and simply relax. No drama you know) and good luck on your exams!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for coming back to read and review!

Okay, first I'll address your comment about the boats: OOPS. Seriously, that's completely my mistake. I don't know why I had it stuck in my head that it was only two per boat (movie contamination, perhaps? I haven't watched the first movie in years, though), but you are definitely correct; I went back and checked in the books and Hagrid is saying "no more than four to a boat". So, yeah, OOPS. I'm going to go back and fix it ASAP, because I think I can just tweak it slightly and it will then be canon-compliant.

And thank you very much for pointing it out, too. I've been realizing lately how nice people have been in reviewing by not nitpicking things to death, because I went back and read some earlier chapters and noticed several spelling/grammar mistakes in places. I need people to keep me on my toes and not let me carry on with inaccurate things sitting in the story! :)

Okay, on to your other fantastic comments. I'm thrilled that you found the chapter to be such a good reflection of the feelings surrounding graduation. It never really crossed my mind to do anything huge and elaborate for the end of their school year. I think in the case of a prank, I was sort of feeling like the boys actually, truly would have moved on from that. Not that I think they developed some kind of stiff-upper-lip in the space of a week or two, of course--but I think it relates to what I wrote in Lily's POV about having a feeling of exclusivity and importance that kind of detaches you from not only the younger students, but even the triviality of school in general (because, let's face it, a lot of it IS trivial). I think the boys would still be the fun-loving, reckless people they always were, but I think that being on the brink of leaving school would make them feel a bit beyond playing pranks and the like.

And as for a proposal, I've seen that done, but often it occurs in stories where James and Lily have been dating before the Christmas holidays. Here, of course, they've only been dating for a few months--

Wait, sorry, have to interject...I just realized that, funnily enough, their first date was on April 4th, same as today! :P Crazy! Anyway, that gives you a point of reference for how long they've been dating--from now until the end of June. It's not really too long, so I think that a proposal would be premature in the context of this story. Besides, I have other plans for that part of the story. ;)

Overall, I'm so, so glad you found this a pleasant read. There were parts that were less-than-pleasant to try and write, so to know that the end result was something you enjoyed is just great. And thank you so much for the lovely review, and the good luck! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by SeVeRuS LoVeR 

4th April 2010:
It was an alright chapter :)) kinda sad tho and idk haha

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks so much for reviewing. :)

Yes, I think "alright" is definitely a fair evaluation of this chapter. In fact, there are parts of it that I think are pretty awful, especially near the end, but I decided to not bash myself too harshly in the A/N. :P This is another chapter that, like the last, I'm definitely going to need to revisit in editing.

I actually am glad that you found it kind of sad, though, because I was worried that it would turn out as just the opposite. I felt like it was being too blase about the fact that they were graduating, so it's encouraging that it tugged at your emotions a little bit.

I do hope (and think) that the next chapter will be better than just all right...much more excitement, and it even ends with a cliffhanger! :O I won't say more than that here, though. I hope you like it whenever I get it finished and posted.

Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review