Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
67 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
Oh my goodness, not again. How on earth do you keep ending chapters with bombshells like that? I swear reading each one of these is like a rollercoaster of emotions and I never know how I'm going to feel at the end of it, but at least I can read on - how bad must it have been for the people reading this as you posted? :P

I really liked the return of Laura as an agony aunt of sorts because it's been a while since people seemed to come for her for advice as much as they used to, but I suspect part of that's because Elvira was one of the main people who used to come and ask for advice with Sirius. It was good to get an insight into both Charlotte and Remus's feelings in this chapter and I felt quite sorry for them both - the only thing that helped was that I know Remus will end up with Tonks and have some happiness finally! And then Sirius as well - I can't believe his parents could be so horrible as to send letters like that which would, obviously, still get to him even though he's left home.

And then the ending! I can't believe that they've struck in such a horrible way to break Sirius and Laura up! It's so awful and unnecessary and it breaks my heart a little bit that Sirius actually believed what they said. I hope they manage to sort it out and that this isn't the end of them!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Ah, yes, sorry, another cliffy. I do love them, as you've surmised. It's a horrible way to break them up but again, it sets up the next chapter which I really wanted to be in there. Obtuse? Yeah, sorry.

And I too like Laura as an agony aunt. Actually in the new version there is a chapter ccalled The Agony Aunt because, as you may recall, it started back in fifth year. I too feel for Charlotte, but Remus is responsible for his own suffering. He just can't let it go. And I know that it woudl be hard to, but he's not prepared to give anyone a chance. He wasn't even going to give Tonks a chance when he was in his 30s. (Though thankfully that one did work out.) As for Sirius, well, can't you imagine his mother feeling really vindictive occasionally and sending a letter like that? Kind of, I feel like rubbish about you so you should feel like rubbish as well.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

14th January 2013:
Nooo! Freaking Elvira!

Author's Response: Yes, freaking Elvira. She has her moments, that one.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
Wow. I wouldn't have thought sirius would believe that without more proof 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Ah, but he's horribly insecure about her. I'd been trying to show that for ages. Seems I didn't do a good enough job.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
Man! This Elvira is really pissing me off!
Why couldn't she have died instead of MARY!

Author's Response: Because Elvira being killed wouldn't have had the same impact on the story, would it? Besides, Mary had to die. She knew about Snuffles. ;p

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
Why must Sirius be so annoyingly oblivious to the fact that Laura is mad about him? It's ridiculous! Oh and Elvira is bugging me sooo much right now.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Ah, poor Sirius. He's not very good at reading the signs, actually, and Laura's not helping by being so paranoid about it that she's sending massively mixed messages. But then again, it if was all smooth sailing then it wouldn't be nearly so interesting a read, would it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by LivingLife42 

27th July 2011:
ELVIRA! She is making me so mad! Does she not have better things to do! I really hope Sirius and Laura don't break up over this.

I love how you wrote the conversation between Laura and Sirius after Sirius got the letter from his mom. It was really sweet and showed that she really cares and loves him. I hope they get through their problems!

Well done :)

Author's Response: Ah, Elvira. She's been working up to this one for a while,I'm afraid, and she IS a Ravenclaw so you can be sure that she's dotted the i's and crossed the t's to make sure it's as believable as possible. How that pans out, however, is yet to come so I won't comment on it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
They have serious trust issues.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: In a sense, yes. The idea was that as Laura was getting more and more confident in the relationship, Sirius was getting less and less in that the harder he fell for her, the more convinced he was that he didn't deserve her. In other words, his turn to look for it to fail. And this was what pushed him off the deep end there, I'm afraid. Put another way, he wants to trust her but he certainly doesn't trust Bernie so this just fed into that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by theelderwand 

24th August 2010:
Oh I so called Laura intervening with Remus/Charlotte! I do hope it pans out. Y'know, I'm starting to hope that this is an AU - that you won't follow canon and maybe we can get a happy ending here. I might be asking for too much.

A polyjuiced Sirius and James and Charlotte? Hm. I don't think J and S would've believed that L was two timing Sirius.

Well, I liked the prank on Snivellus - very creative. I suppose this is how the map came into Filch's posession before the twins nicked it?

Must see what happens next.

Eldy

Author's Response: Nope, no Polyjuice here. Sorry! I actually thought I'd laid enough groundwork for this but it appears (not only from your reaction) that I didn't. Basically what I was thinking was that the closer my main pair got, the more secure and confident she got, but the more insecure he got. I always saw Sirius as someone without much sense of self worth ... great confidence in his abilities but not much self worth. Put another way, he'd be the one saying, "Duel with Voldemort? Count me in! If anyone can do it I can, and if he gets in a lucky shot I'd be no great loss." So, as she means more to him he keeps thinking that he's not good enough for her and it's only a matter of time before she realises that. The little interludes with Bernie just convinced him even more of that because hey, the guy fancied his girlfriend and kept pulling her into abandoned classrooms. So he hears this and thinks that it's his worst fear coming true and she's finally worked out that she's too good for him. I know that I explain this more in the next chapter but yeah, that was where I was coming from with this one.

In other news, yes our heroine does some intervention with the Remus/Charlotte situation. Someone had to, after all. :) But what is this AU of which you speak? *grins*

And yes, that's definitely how Filch got the Marauders Map - and it stayed in that filing cabinet until the twins got their hands on it. It was never fully explained in canon so it was the best I could come up with. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
Aw, come on Sirius!? I can't believe he'd believe something like that... and yet, given all the little glimpses you've given us of his penchant for jealousy, I kinda can. Well, he better get his head away from other parts of his anatomy sharpish, cause he should definitely know better than to think Laura would be a cheater, given how broken up she was over Bertram.

As ever, a great chapter. Loving the way you've continued the Mary grieving wind-down - a little less than the chapter before, but still enough mentions that it doesn't feel disjointed. And some good adding to canon - the question of how Filch ended up with the Marauder's Map was never truly answered, so I'm glad you filled that one in!

Off to see how long it takes Sirius to realise he's being ridiculous!

Author's Response: I did try to give hints of Sirius' growing insecurities in the leadup to this chapter - basically the idea was the closer they got, the more insecure he got because he was convinced she'd work out she was too good for him and leave him. And Bernie, poor soul, was the perfect fodder for this scenario. I quite like Bernie and it was nasty to do this to him, but it was necessary for the story.

Very pleased you liked the interlude with Filch getting hold of the Map - as you said, it was never explained in canon how he came across it and this seemed as good a reason as any. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by doglover 

13th August 2010:
why would he believe that?

Author's Response: Why would he believe that? Because he's growing increasingly insecure in this relationship - they closer they get, the more he gets convinced that he's not good enough for her and that sooner or later she's going to work that out and leave him. Now, he just figures that's happened. Stupid of him, perhaps, but it's how I've characterised him in this instance.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by ericajen 

28th July 2010:
Mel, if you could write another insert about that crazy American girl named Erica who slaps stupid people, that'd be great! Just one for Sirius, you know. And Elvira. A few for her.

Author's Response: Oh how I would love to slap Elvira! That girl certainly needed it, I think. She could have done with a reality check. However, she had to score a few hits occasionally so this was one of them. Not pleasant, but the story worked so much better with it in there. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by desert_oasis 

30th April 2010:
oh no what a whore, thats just beyond low!!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, beyond low. She's not a nice person. This was partly what I meant when I said that Elvira was such a great character from an author's POV. And it was clever because it was the sort of petty gossip that the staff wouldn't pay much attention to, but that could really do some damage to Laura. She's a Ravenclaw for a reason, you know :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by saffy 

8th April 2010:
Here i am again turning up like a bad penny :)

I almost forgot about the remus and charlotte saga which has been going poor remus at least he has a happy ending but i really want to find out what happens with charlotte.

Poor sirius his parents are so vile and horrid how can you treat a son that way? its nice that laura can be the one to get him out of his funk

Please tell me sirius seriously doesnt belive this bernie nonsense was bernie in on this !?! i must read !!

thanks again :)

Author's Response: Hi again! :D

Yes, poor Remus & Charlotte. Doomed from the start, I think, unfortunately. (And no, that's not a spoiler because we all know he's single later on.) And poor Sirius, but I really can see his parents doing something like that - we saw what his mum was like at Grimmauld Place and I don't imagine that he would always have been able to just brush it off like he does in OotP.

As for your question, well you've read the next chapter now so I'll say nothing.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by FredAndGeorgeForever 

1st April 2010:
D: OH NO !
ARTJGNKJXBJKSABDAJDBJASKBDSBSMBklndkls
actually I'm more concerned about the website change, what will happen to this story? D:

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, so you liked the cliffy? Good. I wanted to give people a bit of a shock hahaha.

And fear not about the website, though I think you've worked that out now anyway. April fools!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Chocolicious_sweetheart 

31st March 2010:
Hi!
yes it was worthwhile, i know what u mean by how fast things are in some fics . but u know how when u want to see smone together u just want them to be together as soon as possible . so i was very disappointed by the fact at times when those two were just inches apart frm each other but backed off again n again . but yes its smhow the way it shud be . otherwise it wudn't be so real. its nice that i started reading after they were together or i wud have faded just by the fact that i have to wait n wait. Its great.

cheers , C_S

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Wow, you caught up quickly, didn't you? I'm impressed because there's a lot to read, I'm the first to admit that I went a little overboard when writing this story. And yes, it does take forever for them to get together, but I had a very strict story plan that I was determined to keep to. The first kiss had to happen at the ball. But like you I think that makes it more realistic, because it's SO common, having people dancing around each other for months, each not realising the other is interested. Highly entertaining when it's not happening to you, I might add.

Anyway I'm really pleased that you are enjoying the story. There's not much left to come now so I hope that you'll keep on reading, even if you do have to wait for each update now. (They come about every 5-7 days generally so it's not a huge wait anyway.)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Helena 

31st March 2010:
Yeah, I caught up finally... it was about time :P

About that thing with James and Sirius not wanting the girls to fight. Of course it's their character, I even expected them to react that way (would be weird if they didn't wouldn't it?)... But it's driving me insane all the same :)

Thanks for the long explanation (no matter if copied it). You know I really appreciate that you take the time to read all your reviews and actually answer them... that's not sth I take for granted just so you know :)

No it's not Eugenia :) I'll give you a hint: I loved that line with "Topfer! Schwarz!" I had to read it twice before I realised they were tha literary translations to Potter and Black... hilarious for a German speaker, really :)

Author's Response: Aha! Your cousin is Quill. To be honest I could only think of four reviewers who I knew were not from English-speaking countries - Quill (Austrian), Esther (Dutch), Eugenia (Argentinian) and Tom (Dutch), and I only learned Quill was Austrian after I posted this last chapter with the German words in it. I'm afraid that my knowledge of German only really extends to counting to 20 and a handful of other words, so I had to use a translator for "Potter" (already knew "Schwartz" for "Black"). And, to be honest, your cousin's review was very reassuring because it's always a bit risky using languages you don't speak in things like this, and that review told me I'd got Topfer right. I breathed a sigh of relief with that one, I can tell you. :D

Not really sure why I guessed Eugenia, though. It just felt right. *grins*

And thanks for not minding that I copied that answer - sometimes I run out of ways to explain things. But yes, I do answer every review. I made the decision to do that very early on ... though I must admit I never thought I'd get over 2000 of them when I did make that decision, and it can be rather time consuming. I just think that if you've taken the trouble to leave a review then the least I can do is answer it. It's only polite, really. :)

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by padfoot_rox 

31st March 2010:
WOW!..the drama is back...seriously, this is just so intense...i just read both the chapters now because i had xams for the last 2 weeks and well, my dad had changed my comp's password so i just read them now and well i have a few things to say...

well, firstly the previous chapter was nice, what with laura giving a warning to elvira(which she didn't heed, but that's a different issue), ans i liked the cow horns it was light and the mood change from mary's death was really good. in fact that was the reason i didn't think this chapter itself would be drama fiiled...u can be really evil at times...

as for remus and charlotte i really wish he would just go and ask her already but yeah, i can understand that he really never gets over his...er..,furry little problem...

and i liked the way u handled the map...it was very much fun to say the least...its amazing how well u stick to canon...you try to explain each and every event which is really very good...

to say i was shocked at the ending is really an understatement, i already read all the other reviews and your responses because i missed two chapters...so i do understand that sirius has his own insecurities, i can understand him being irrational while believing elvira but i seriously cant believe james would believe it, but as for charlotte's reaction, i can understand that was because of the way james and sirius were talking

but offcourse, as usual the way you wrote it was superb...and on that note let me end this ridiculously long review.

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! And it wasn't ridiculously long - I love the long ones anyway, it gives me more to think about. :)

Yes, the drama is back. I did warn you that I had a few things still up my sleeves, and this was one of them. (Mary's death was another ... those sleeves can be pretty big.) And yes, I can be evil, but if everything was peachy for my main pair then it wouldn't be much of a story, would it?

I'm glad you liked the last chapter, I thought it was important to try to get back into the swing of school without downplaying what had happened to Mary, and the feedback I had suggested I achieved that. It can be a hard balance to get right. I liked the confrontation with Elvira though, a lot of people seemed to appreciate the cow horns and bell. Seemed appropriate somehow :D

With Remus and Charlotte, well like you said he never really got over the werewolf thing. It was still eating away at him when he was in his 30s and married to Tonks, so I can only imagine how it would have tormented him as a teenager when he hadn't matured as much. Whether anything will happen remains, of course, a closely guarded secret but you'll find out if you read on.

And, the ending. You have validated my resolve to answer every review as quickly as possible because, if I had a stack of unanswereds still, you wouldn't have been able to read my responses as to why people reacted like they did. *wipes brow* I have spent a lot of time explaining that so it's a bit of a relief to not have to do that with you. I accept that you still don't buy James' reaction and I'm not really sure what I can say to convince you so I might just leave it for the time being. It might become clearer as you read on. It might not. I'm pleased though that you accept Sirius' and Charlotte's reactions so I've obviously done something right there. :)

Next chapter will be posted very shortly (ie within a few hours) so you'll find out soon enough what happens next.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Boo101 

31st March 2010:
OMG how nasty! Elvira's such a cow! (HAHA) But i actually think she was quite clever- do something that teachers will see as mean but mindless gossip but something that will really affect Laura. Oh please get Remus and Charlotte together im going to go mad!!! Great chapter as usual.. Sorry i haven't been reviewing as much recently.. :S

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, Elvira is nasty, isn't she? I'm very pleased though that you recognised the thought she put into this - like you said, something the teachers would see as mindless gossip but which could do a lot of damage to Laura - because I've had a few people think it's a bit feeble. I think though that it would only have been feeble if it didn't work, and initially, at least, it did. (Not saying if that lasts or not - that would be a spoiler and I'm only a few hours away from posting the next chapter.)

As for Remus and Charlotte, well we all know that he never really gets over his lycanthropy so that's obviously going to be a huge hurdle for him to overcome. But that's all I'm saying there. You'll find out if you read on.

And no worries for not reviewing for a while, we all have real lives and I appreciate that it can be hard to keep up with a story that updates weekly.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Helena 

31st March 2010:
What?! Omg that's a good cliffie... You know, first, I thought Elvira and some other girl of the gigglers might have taken a polyjuice potion or something...
But I never would have thought that Sirius would actually believe that sort of thing... Wasn't he supposed to trust her?? Well, we'll see...

And I really really hope that Lupin will get the guts up and tell Charlotte... I mean, we all know that he's got this strange attitude, even later with Tonks but still... Charlotte's been after him for so long now she deserves to be happy... and he even said he loved her so what's his point in not telling her?? Okay don't answer that I know his point, but still... I never managed to wrap my head around that one...

And with the broom... I'm not so sure anymore that it was really Elvira who casted those jinxes... But I'll see... :)

Just out of curiosity, can you guess who my cousin is? She's also reviewed quiet often, I just want to know if you recognise the connection :)

Great chapter, as usual :)

Author's Response: Hi Helena! You've caught up!

You know, I've spent a lot of time explaining Sirius this chapter, so I hope you'll forgive me if I cut and paste from another review response.

I've always seen Sirius as being someone who thinks a lot of his own abilities but not of his own worth. Put another way, he'd be the one saying, "Let me fight Voldemort, if anyone can take him out I can, and if I get killed trying it's no big deal". His treatment at the hands of his parents (which we get a taste of in OotP) would exacerbate any sense that he's not a worthy person, and that he doesn't deserve to have good things happen to him. So, in the context of romantic relationships, I took that to mean that if he really fell for someone then he would start thinking that he didn't deserve them and they'd be bound to work that out sooner or later and leave him, and the harder he fell then the more that would become ingrained in his subconscious. He'd be convinced they were too good for him and, on one level at least, be waiting for them to realise that.

In the context of this story, Elvira's note was written in such a way as to almost eliminate any doubts that there might have been, and as such he took it as confirmation of what he dreaded most, which was that Laura had figured out that she deserved better than him and had moved on. (It didn't help that he also felt like the rest of the school knew and were laughing at him.) He'd felt like it was too good to be true, so he thought this meant that it WAS in fact too good to be true, and therefore wasn't true.

Anyway, you'll find out soon enough what his thought processes have been so I won't say any more.

With Remus & Charlotte, well as you pointed out he never does get over his lycanthropy so he's being deliberately difficult about the whole thing. But yeah, I too think he should tell Charlotte. Whether he actually does, of course, is another matter entirely.

Oh, and if I have to, can I guess that your cousin is Eugenia? I could be wrong, but that's my guess.

Next chapter will be up tomorrow so you'll find out then what happens next.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jen Black 

30th March 2010:
i love love love love LOVE your story!
truely, it has become a bit of an obsession for me. one which i openly and shamelessly admit to.
however, this chapter got me a little bit upset. sirius and laura have had too many trust issue fights and i thought that they would finally be resolved.
okay my theory...
*hint* the only thing i will be satisfied with after Sirius and James' behavior.
the gigglers made a polyjuice potion to put on that little show and the real james and sirius are stuffed in a broom closet somewhere gagged, bound, and wandless, but because they are so strong, masculine, powerful, all around good at everything, not to mention completely brilliant, they manage to bust out and get to laura before any major damage is done?
please?
oh! then sirius james and laura storm the castle taking the gigglers out one by one? =]
would that be okay?
is that asking entirely too much?

whatever way you decide to turn this cliffie, i will still read and love your story. i love it that much

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ...OK, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean. :D

Anyway, I laughed out loud when I read your review, which was probably a mistake because I was in public at the time and people were looking at me strangely. But I do love your scenario. I wish I had enough imagination to come up with that sort of thing myself! *grins*

Having said that, I do take your point about trust issues, and I'll be honest in that I didn't really think of this as falling into that category when I wrote it. I was thinking more about role reversals and Sirius finally letting himself show his insecurities to Laura (this has been coming on gradually since the last term) and how those insecurities might play out. I've always seen Sirius as being someone who thinks a lot of his own abilities but not of his own worth. Put another way, he'd be the one saying, "Let me fight Voldemort, if anyone can take him out I can, and if I get killed trying it's no big deal". His treatment at the hands of his parents (which we get a taste of in OotP) would exacerbate any sense that he's not a worthy person, and that he doesn't deserve to have good things happen to him. So, in the context of romantic relationships, I took that to mean that if he really fell for someone then he would start thinking that he didn't deserve them and they'd be bound to work that out sooner or later and leave him, and the harder he fell then the more that would become ingrained in his subconscious. He'd be convinced they were too good for him and, on one level at least, be waiting for them to realise that.

In the context of this story, Elvira's note was written in such a way as to almost eliminate any doubts that there might have been, and as such he took it as confirmation of what he dreaded most, which was that Laura had figured out that she deserved better than him and had moved on. (It didn't help that he also felt like the rest of the school knew and were laughing at him.) He'd felt like it was too good to be true, so he thought this meant that it WAS in fact too good to be true, and therefore wasn't true.

Phew! I hope that was comprehensive enough. If not, you may rest assured that all will be explained in a future chapter. Once you've read that, then you can let me know if it rings true or not.

In any case thank you so much for saying such lovely things about my story, that really does make my day. *beams* It's so gratifying to have people appreciate all the work I put into it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by dominicancat 

30th March 2010:
i liked this chapter, but i thought the elvira trick was ridiculous because i though sirius would first talk to laura before believing anything elvira said since she is a compulsive liar and stalker.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, I've had to do a bit of explaining this chapter so you're not alone. First up, I'll say that Elvira is not a compulsive liar by any stretch. We know that she's spread a few rumours but she doesn't lie very often, and you might have noticed that even when Laura confronted her about the broom jinxing she didn't deny it, only said that Laura had no proof. Generally, her instinct is to tell the truth. As for her being a stalker, well I won't deny that, but then again, if she's been stalking Sirius (and Laura), then maybe her information would be more believable, not less? After all, if she's seen more of Laura's interactions with Bernie than Sirius has, who's to say that she hasn't seen them getting, um, cosy?

Having said that, I agree that Sirius should have talked to Laura about it before he convinced himself it was true. However, he doesn't have a very highly developed sense of self worth, and he's convinced that he's not good enough for Laura, so hearing the allegations made him think that his worst fears have been confirmed, that she's worked out that he's unworthy of her and has moved on. He is quite insecure about the relationship (this is delved into more in a later chapter) and Elvira just hit all the right notes in playing to that.

I realise you may not be convinced by this argument, but it's what I had in mind when I wrote it and it may make more sense when you read what's to come. At least, I hope it will!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by DangerousDai 

30th March 2010:
Hi! I've been reading your story for a while now, but I haven't really gotten around to reviewing. I'm sorry about that.
First, I'd just like to say that I love your story. I think it's really refreshing to have such a well thought out fic. It really shows that you put a lot of effort and planning into it, and I think that's part of why I love it so much. I really like your characterization and how realistic every character is. Even when I read characters that have a very small part, I feel like I could actually meet them in real life. Which is pretty much awesome.
Second, this chapter kind of made really want to leave a review because of Sirius. I don't know what it is, but I feel like he's acting kind of OOC here. I'm sure you thought about it a lot, so I respect your decision for him to react to the note how he did, but it just seems off to me. I feel like he would be smart enough not to believe something coming from a girl who more or less tried to kill his girlfriend. It seemed really weird that James and Charlotte wouldn't see through it either.
I don't know, that's just how I feel about it, but I know that it probably makes a lot more sense when viewing it in terms of what happens next.
Anyway, I do really love your story, and I can't wait to see what happens next :D

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... well, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean.

Right. Sirius. I've had to explain this to a few people but you're right, I put a lot of thought into this and I'm standing by my characterisation of him. The way I see him is this: He's someone who has a very high opinion of his own abilities, but not of his own worth. Put another way, he'd be the one saying, "Send me to take out Voldemort, if anyone can do it I can, and if he kills me it's no great loss". This was certainly the impression I got of him from the books, and I suspect that the reason for the low self-worth would be his relationship with his parents. As James said in the narrative, it's not nice having the people who gave you life saying repeatedly that they wish they didn't.

Putting this into the context of relationships, I don't think it's too much of a stretch to have him feeling unworthy of the object of his affections, and the more he fell for that person the more unworthy he would feel. This was what I was trying to get at with the conversation after he got the letter from his mum. So, he's feeling like he's not good enough and wondering when she'll work that out, and she's been spending a lot of time with a boy whose motives he is suspicious of and who won't talk to her when he's in the room, so to have it all laid out like that in the note feels like confirmation of what he's been dreading. He doesn't even think about where the information is coming from, he's just upset by the information itself. And you have to remember that Elvira's a Ravenclaw and she's been planning this for a while, so it was very carefully worded so as to seem to leave no room for doubt. When it was read out he felt like the whole school knew about this but he didn't, so he was not only embarrassed to have a note about his love life read out like that, but also humiliated because he felt like the school was laughing at him and he should have seen it. He's angry at himself, in some ways more so than he is at Laura.

As for James and Charlotte, well James of course tried to talk Sirius out of it and instead Sirius talked James into seeing it his way, and Charlotte was upset because the boys believed it. She doesn't want them to break up but then she thought that if the boys believed it then there was a vague possibility there was something in it,which was why she asked Laura about it. But she believed Laura. But yeah, she had two of her friends badmouthing another of her friends and she was stuck in the middle, which was why she was so upset.

Okay. Enough of that. I know I get very wordy when I try to explain things, and you're right in that I go into more detail in the narrative in a later chapter, but I hope this makes sense. If not, then feel free to poke me in the forums or something for more info. :D

Aside from all that, I'm really pleased that you like my story, and especially that you like my characterisations because as you worked out I put a lot of effort into those. I was a bit sick of reading fanfics with cardboard characters and unbelievable reactions and that was one reason I decided to write this fic in the first place, so it's just lovely to have people appreciate that. *beams*

Next chapter will be up in the next day or so, so you'll find out then what happens.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Allison 

30th March 2010:
hiii
sorry long time no review... got caught with life.
excellent chapters... mary ll be missed.
u cant hav laura and sirius together for long can u.?
but tat was totally unexpected..bringing up a misunderstanding between those 2 after all they went through... good job.. finally elvira makes up a sensible trick but damn sirius fell for that, n james too unbelivable.
poor laura...
rite now i cant stand another minute without reading the next chapter i seriously wish they get together again...

update soon please

10/10

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! And no worries about not reviewing for a while, we all have real lives and I know that keeping up with a story that updates weekly can be tricky.

Now, to answer your question, it's not that I can't have Laura and Sirius together for long, more that I can't keep the drama from them for long. After all, if I did that then it wouldnt' be a very interesting story to read, would it? But yes, a misunderstanding after all they've been through, but I thought it was important to have a misunderstanding that was initiated by HIM rather than by HER. Let's face it, they're both flawed characters and I thought we needed to recognise that.

The good news is that I'll be loading up the next chapter tomorrow so it won't be too much of a wait for you to read it. Now all I have to do is hope you like it! :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by wanna 

29th March 2010:
Hey! Nice chapter :) Haven reviewed for a long time.. But it was fun reading 5 chapters in a row than waiting a week fr each one! Now back to waiting :) Update soon!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked this chapter, I thought it got some of the balance back after what happened to Mary and all the angst that surrounded it. The good news though is that the next chapter is only about a day away so you won't have to wait too long. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by MyPseudonym 

29th March 2010:
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!
I've just got back from uni so have caught up over the last week and (I can't even believe I'm saying this, you know how much I love your story!) I didn't really enjoy the last few chapters all that much - I can't even explain why! I think they were quite heavy going to read, but obviously necessary considering what happened to Mary. This one, however, was actually one of my favourites so far! It was back to the really amazing balance of light-hearted moments with drama, lots of character interaction and I really liked the ending (mad, I know!!) Although it seems Sirius' insecurities came slightly out of the blue, I thought that was interesting because he clearly keeps them really well hidden, and only lets those very close to him see them. I think it'll be interesting to see how he reacts, having let Laura in completely to then, in his eyes, have her 'betray' him. I could have interpreted that completely wrong, however :P. And I hope she gives him a rollicking for believing it. Silly boy...
xxx

Author's Response: Hi! Welcome back! :D

Yes, there was a lot of heavy stuff in the last few chapters, which as you pointed out is bound to happen when you've got the death of a major character. Particularly because I'm writing this in the first person, it had to be intense because it would be an intense time for Laura. But yeah, it was probably a bit angsty to read, especially considering that most of this fic has been light and fluffy.

I'm glad you liked this one though. I was trying to get the balance back while still using the drama I had planned (because we can't have life too easy for our characters, can we? It would make for a very boring story) and, while I do seem to be spending a lot of time explaining my characterisation of Sirius to people because they're having trouble seeing him as insecure. However, your interpretation of what happened is pretty much spot on, so well done :D I applaud you.

Next chapter will be up in about a day, so you'll find out then what happens next.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>