Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
41 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
I really liked the way that you wrote this chapter and the change in attitude of Laura and Lily after Mary's death. To me it would be only natural that after knowing their friend died, they'd not only want to be able to defend themselves as James and Sirius are teaching them to do, but also to fight against the people who killed Mary and her family if they ever encounter them. I know that Lily ended up in the Order and I suspect that Laura will as well because of the way that she's so desperate to fight in memory of Mary.

It's horrible to think that even though Laura's just lost her best friend and one of the students at the school has died, there are still people like Elvira who will ignore all the other serious problems and become obsessed with the fact that Laura's with Sirius, who she fancies. It's so ridiculous really but also a true reflection of life because there will always be people who fixate on things like that. The Bubotuber pus was awful after tampering with her broom, too, and I'm glad Bernie and Seb were there to back Laura up. But I suspect that won't be the worst of what they have planned...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes Mary's death certainly gave them a new focus, which I thought was fitting for the story. We know from JKR that they all ended up in the Order (well, not Laura, but that's because I made her up) and having something like this happen in their last months of school would certainly galvanise them, don't you think?

And yeah, Elvira is still crazy. But Laura's now had enough, which too I think is fitting.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
I love how she dealed with elvira. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Past time, don't you think? I would never have put up with it for so long.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
What Laura did back there was TOTALLY SPECTACULAR!!
About time that cow realises that Sirius's taken.
How can she even be stuck up on such things when there's a war going on?

She's just beyond my understanding.
She's got nothing like self respect left anymore.

Author's Response: Yes, Elvira doesn't know how to take no for an answer, does she? If only that single-mindedness could be applied to something productive. And yeah, her priorities are a little skewed, you've got no arguments from me there.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
FINALLY Laura stands up to the fan club. Haha cow jokes :) Anyways, I still miss Mary. Only 6 chapters left.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Yes, cow jokes. It was too good an opportunity to pass up, don't you think? And so appropriate, too, hahaha. I thought it was about time Elvira had her comeuppance, dont' you?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by LivingLife42 

27th July 2011:
Finally showing Elvira who's boss :) Well done there. I'm glad Bernie and Seb had her back. Sirius' jealousy is pretty cute :P He's the male heartthrob of the school and he is getting jealous. He must really love Laura.

Well done :)

Author's Response: Yes, I think Elvira needed to be shown a thing or two and this was when I chose for that to happen. As for Bernie and Seb, well they're good guys with a strong sense of fairness, so that was why they reacted in that way.

As for Sirius, well the idea was that the longer they were together, the more unworthy he felt. I think that his self-esteem was pretty weak in some ways (being told you're worthless by your family would sink in after a while) so the harder he fell for her, the more he would feel that he wasn't good enough for her. So this is my way of trying to demonstrate that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
You can take her, Laura!

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yep! Go Laura! Have your revenge!

Seriously, it was time that Elvira got her comeuppance so I threw those scenes in. She's got away with far too much for far too long, methinks.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by theelderwand 

24th August 2010:
Bobotuber pus was a low blow. But I Actually cheered when she gave what-for to Elvira. Enough was definitely enough. Nice that Bernie and Sebastian backed her up, too. Excellent flourish.

Off for more

Eldy

Author's Response: Yes, it was definitely time that Elvira got a bit of a come-uppance, and that particular hex seemed rather appropriate, hahaha. And yeah, even her fellow Ravenclaws have had enough of her, which is probably saying something now I think about it. In any case I enjoyed writing that scene immensely. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
Another great chapter - I love the way you've interspersed life as normal with reminders about their loss and the effect it would necessarily have had. Really nicely done - it gives the story the flow it needs, neither bumping too quickly back to normality, nor getting bogged down indefinitely in mourning (which by tear ducts really couldn't have coped with).

And finally! Elvira has been getting away with things for far too long, and that was always one of my favourites of Bea's, so I was thrilled to see the combo. Really good chapter, and exactly what us readers needed after the tear-jerker of ch 53.

Off to read more...

Author's Response: Hi again!

It was kinda tricky getting the right balance for this chapter - it couldn't be all about Mary (the last chapter was for that) and they had to be getting along with life, but there still needed to be something of the loss in there. I'm very pleased that you think I got that vaguely right because it's a very difficult balance to achieve.

And yes, Elvira has got away with far too much for too long, and the cow thing just seemed to fit her, don't you think? I was kinda pleased with that combination myself. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by doglover 

13th August 2010:
elvira is way too petty.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, she is. And she has a LOT of maturing to do, which unfortunately doesn't happen in this tale. But she had to come into play again so this was how I decided to show that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ellie 

31st May 2010:
I know you've finished this story, but I had stoped reading back in Octobor for school and I'm now finishing up this story, which has been one of my favorites!

I usually don't leave comments but I must say you did an excellent job portraying Laura's feelings about Mary's death. I lost my best friend in 2007 and it still stings. You hit the nail on the head in this story. Although, the whole "Mary should have done this, or should be here for this" thing is truthful but overplayed a lot. I just have a tiny suggestion, next time your writing a scene where someone looses someone that close to them, the question isn't always "they should have done this" a lot of the time its "How can I do this without them?"

Honestly though, it brought me to tears.

Author's Response: Thanks Ellie!

And thanks for the feedback on how I should be wording this. I may well go back and give the Mary chapter an edit (it needs one anyway), as well as this one, and implement some of that.

Having said that, I'm kinda glad it brought you to tears because I did hope it would have that effect on people. I'm so pleased you appreciated it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by desert_oasis 

30th April 2010:
HAHAHA, she was a cow anyways, i hope she gets put in her place permantly soon.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, she was a bit of a cow, wasn't she? I do like Elvira, she just offers so many opportunities to the author! *evil grin* I know what you mean about wanting her in her place but I wont' say anything in case it gives something away.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by saffy 

8th April 2010:
Hey there

I still cant decide if berine is trying it on with laura or if sirius is just overacting.

James and sirius are protective and its sweet but they laura and lily have a point too cant we just wrap them all up in the cotton wool of a AU ending? No? What if i say pretty please ? But seriously i wouldnt want this story any other way.

Just when i got control of my emotions you hit me with this line "This friendship. No matter what happens, we'll always be friends, won't we?"

Good lord Elviria !! what is wrong with that girl !?!

And yet you still manage to put in a few funnies along the way
"I would hope so. You were eleven then"

I also loved the charming words of comfort from james
"She'll either back off entirely, or up the ante even more"

Thanks again!

Author's Response: Hi again!

I think you've worked out now that Sirius is definitely overreacting. I kinda like the role reversal, though, with him getting less confident about the relationship the more serious it gets.

And yeah, good old James. He can always be relied upon to put his foot in it in some way or other, can't he? I love him. :)

Oh, and no, no AU. Sorry. My mind doesn't work on AU I don't think.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Helena 

31st March 2010:
I'm so glad, they finally got back to normal... or at least a little more normal...
Mary would have liked how determined Lily and Laura are to learn how to fight properly... James and Sirius are drvining me insane with their don't-fight-unless-you-have-to-talk...

I know I'm repeating myself but great chapter again :)

Author's Response: Hi Helena!

Yes, a little bit more normal this chapter. Again, it was tricky to get the balance right because we had to get back into the swing of school without playing down what had happened to Mary. But you're right, Mary would have liked the girls to learn to fight properly, even if the boys don't want them to learn. (And they might be driving you insane, but don't you think it's totally in character for them? I really can't see either of them being comfortable with their girlfriends fighting.)

Glad you liked it! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by dominicancat 

30th March 2010:
i liked this chapter alot =0) the cow horns was hilarious great job

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, this chapter was an attempt to get back into the swing of things with school without downplaying what happened to Mary too much, and from the feedback I've received I think I might have achieved that reasonably well, so thank you! And yeah, the cow horns were needed I think. Very indicative of Elvira, don't you think?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Nynfadora 

26th March 2010:
:D Really liked the way you described everything in this chapter, small things such as how the candle was going to e tarten but didn't work make it so much better :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thanks for this, I was pretty proud of the failed tartan on the candle, so it's great that you picked up on it. I do try to put little details like that in because I tend to find it makes it feel more realistic, if you konw what I mean. I'm really glad you appreciate that! *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by always_dreaming 

26th March 2010:
i'm so glad elvira got her comeuppance! what happened to the other girls? are they still obsessed, or have any of them just sort of backed off? how many are there supposed to be? good chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, a few people were pleased that Elvira got her come-uppance inthis chapter, it was a long time coming I think. The other girls are still around, I'm just using Elvira as the figurehead - I think there are probably about 15 all up, with varying degrees of obsession, but she's by far the worst, and she's lost all perspective on the situation too which makes her especially dangerous. Oh well. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by fire witch 

25th March 2010:
loved it, updte soon

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, I will be updating very soon - I just want to respond to my reviews before I do it! Now all I have to do is hope you like it ... *crosses fingers*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by James2009 

25th March 2010:
Hey, i found your story the other story and i have not been able to stop reading it, it is just amazing! I was almost crying when you wrote about mary`s death, it was that sad!
Again congrats and looking forward to the next chapter,
James2009

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... well, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean.

Anyway I'm so pleased that you like my story. I'm aware that it's a little long-winded but I can go over the top sometimes and I think this is an example of that. And I"m very glad you almost cried with Mary's death because, of course, that was what I was going for.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by serenity_1 

25th March 2010:
haha, that was classic what Laura did to Elvira! It was certainly well deserved. Awesome chapter as always. Please keep writing and update soon. 10/10

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for reviewing!

Yes, it was about time Laura stood up to Elvira, don't you think? She was just getting a bit sick of it, and yes, it was certainly well deserved.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Slytherin_Ravenclaw_chick 

24th March 2010:
I'm really glad that cow got what was coming to her. Still sad over Mary, but glad that every one is getting serious about the War. Love the story! 10/10

Bask in your awsomeness!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for reviewing again! :D

Yes, she got what was coming to her. I thought a confrontation with her was well overdue, though it took a significant shift in Laura's priorities for it to happen. So pleased you liked it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by FredAndGeorgeForever 

24th March 2010:
OOoooOOOoOOooOoo
You are utter brilliance.
that is all i have to say
:D

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Wow. So I take it you liked this chapter? I'm very pleased about that, it was a tricky one to get right because we had to get back into the swing of school without downplaying what had happened to Mary. So thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by madperson42 

22nd March 2010:
hello again,
brilliant chapter as always. I like how you have managed the sad and the humlourous parts and managed to meld them together. I still feel very sad about mary but... RIDE ON LAURA!! That cow bell thing was a classic. That'll teach old droopy draws elvira a thing or two! Personally i kinda want a bit more action but i guess you're probably going to focus on more serious things now.

As i was reading i had an awful thought about how your tory might end. I shan't tell you until it does actually finish but lets just say i have a feeling of forbodeing, especially after what happened to mary.

Great chapter as always, keep writing!
MP42

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Oh, can I guess what your thought was? You think I'm going to kill off Laura. It's possible, of course, though it is difficult to do well when you're writing in the first person and past tense. Not that this means I won't do it, or that I will. You can draw your own conclusions! *evil grin*

But back to this chapter. I'm glad you liked it. I thought it was important to get back into the swing of school, though it was tricky to do that while still reflecting on what had happened to Mary, so I'm very pleased that you think I got the balance okay. Thank you! :D And yes, it was a nice confrontation with Elvira, wasn't it? I thought it was time that happened, she needed to be taught a thing or two.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by JennyMc 

22nd March 2010:
Hello!

I'm actually in kind of a rush, but wanted to leave a review! I don't think I've reviewed this one, so I'll do that now.
I-as usual!- loved it! Laura telling Elvira off, YAY! And I think everyone will agree with me when I say, Thank Goodness! But I also kind of feel bad for her in a way. Oh, well.
I can't wait to read about Laura and Lily and whether or not they will be fighting in the war after Hogwarts. It's like James and Sirius said, it's different out there. But I also agree with Lily and Laura. James and Sirius are out there and they will be worrying about them. Oh, so much! :)

-Jen.

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for another great review! :D

Yes, I think a lot of people were pleased that Elvira got a talking-to, it's been way too long in coming. Laura just lost patience with that sort of thing, she figures that there are other things worth worrying about way more.

And yes, both the boys and the girls have a point in their argument about who should be fighting in the war. We know that Lily joined the Order from JKR, but my lips are sealed about Laura. You'll find out eventually.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by padfootloverr 

21st March 2010:
dont hate me.. but i am kinda happy mary is dead.
idk she just irked me. but i feel bad for the sadness of her death. haha

sorry i havent been reviewing but i have been reading!

Author's Response: HI there! Thanks for reviewing again!

Ah, I don't hate you. There's nothing that says you had to like Mary. i was rather fond of her, myself, but hey, everyone's different, aren't they? I'm at least glad that I still made you feel sad about her death, because that's really the test of an author I think. So thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by ParkerGirl 

21st March 2010:
Liked this chapter, thought the way you described how Laura was feeling was really good and i loved the Ravenclaw common room part :) 10/10 PG

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for reviewing again!

I'm very pleased that you thought Laura's thoughts and reactions were believable for someone in her situation because that's very important to me, to have those sorts of things accurate. As for the Ravenclaw common room scene, well I thought that confrontation was long overdue, Laura just needed the impetus to do it. Glad you liked it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>