Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
101 Reviews Found

Review #1, by twitchy_pigeons 

9th February 2015:
Well, I'm over here bawling my eyes out (my husband laughing at me, of course), so clearly you didn't fudge this chapter up. Well written - or else you wouldn't have me crying like this.

Author's Response: Thank you. It's a huge relief to read that response to this chapter, because even after so many years I'm still not really happy with it. But if I could make you cry - and sorry about that, by the way - then clearly I'm not as bad at this as I thought.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Nic 

2nd October 2014:
Wow... I actually cried real tears. This may just be a fanfiction story, but you have a wonderful gift for writing. The whole story has been excellent so far, and I've spent a whole day reading it up to this point, neglecting my homework in the process (oops), but although I highly doubt you still check these reviews, I think you should know you've done very well. I've never got into fanction, and completely out of the blue ended up on this site, in 2014, despite my own potter-obsession being greatly diminished now all the books and films are finished, but truly, this story is excellent. I read a few shorter ones which were okay, but not to this standard. You've worked in so many subtle details from the series, recently the 'snuffles' nickname, which has been very clever. Once again, I highly doubt you ever reading this, but thank you for the excellent story that has actually made me laugh and cry! You have a gift.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond - I was checking the reviews but not logging on to respond, which I'm trying to make up for now. But is it horrible of me to say I"m glad you cried? Because that means I hit the right notes,a nd in a chapter like this they're awfully easy to miss.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
This was such a sad and upsetting chapter to read. I can't believe that Mary is actually gone, and I think you wrote this wonderfully to echo Laura's grief and make the reader feel the disbelief and sadness that she's feeling as well. Mary definitely deserved a whole chapter to herself in this story, especially with her life cut short so tragically. This was a really touching chapter to show that.

I think that the beginning of the chapter captured the panic and fear of her parents really well. They must have been absolutely stricken and terrified when they learned what had happened to the Macdonald family, knowing that Laura was supposed to be with them, and in a way, as horrible as it is, you have to be grateful she wasn't. Their deaths were so sad and futile - they didn't achieve anything. The funeral was making me tear up as I read it and I thought you wrote Dumbledore's speech very well once they'd returned to school. Of course the Slytherins wouldn't pay much attention - some of them are probably related to the perpetrators. But the last section, when Lily began Mary's wall in the dormitory, was beautiful, and so moving. It feels like a fitting tribute and it's a constant reminder of the war which has been on the edges for so long, but which has now touched their lives directly as well.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, sorry about that. I do seem to have hit some of the right notes with this one, though it too has had an edit in the revised version. There was panic and fear on all sides, I think, so I'm glad you think I captured that because again, it can be so easy to get that sort of thing wrong. OR, not quite right, just off, you know what I mean.

Oh and I'm glad you liked Mary's Wall. It wasn't actually planned but came up when I was writing the chapter, and it fit so well I kept it.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

6th May 2014:
Mel
I just wanted you yo know that I loved this story so much every once in a while I go back I retread my favorite chapters!
MHBTW

Author's Response: Oh aren't you lovely!! Thank you. I have recently rejoined the fandom and have given this story a major edit (posting on another site) so I'm trying to catch up with all my reviews in the meantime. I hope to finish writing/posting the Neville story too. Lovely to see your name again!!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by kayleefrank 

15th April 2014:
Man I cried so bad. It makes sense to put the personal loss in there. Wonderful story so far by the way.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It sounds horrible but I'm actually really glad you cried - does that make me an awful person? It does mean however that I got something right with this chapter, which is very gratifying.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Dragonbogies45 

13th August 2013:
The last time i cried like this at a piece of writing was Dobby's death. but one of the occupational hazards of developing favourite characters is the author sometimes kills them off but i suppose you have a point about her revealing Sirius' Animagus powers because if she'd thought he'd betrayed James and lily she would have told the ministry what to look for.
Love the story though,
Bogie x

Author's Response: That is exactly it, and I think you're the first person to pick that up. Anyone who knew about Snuffles had to go (die, move abroad) because otherwise in PoA they would have told the Ministry. Harsh, but necessary. Mary's death also gave Laura a real focus for the war and a need for revenge that fit quite well in the later chapters. Thanks for the review!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by AriPotter 

22nd January 2013:
This is probably the 8th time I've read this story, and this chapter still makes me cry.

Author's Response: Really? Thank you! I mean, it's not nice that it makes you that sad, but it's a great compliment to me as an author that I can still elicit this response from you. Thank you so much for letting me know. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Olga 

13th January 2013:
So sad, but so sweet what the girls are doing with the wall.

Author's Response: Yes, that was nice wasn't it? I admit I didn't plan that, but it just came to me as i was writing and it was just too perfect to cut out. Glad you liked it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by JustanotherHarryPotterfan3816 

29th November 2012:
Ughhh.Gr. I hate you. Not literlly but you should know what I mean. I'm deppresed and just...ughh. At least Disney didn't make this.

Author's Response: No, and they're not likely to either. Is that a good thing or a bad thing? But yes, sorry (again). It had to happen, though, so it's in here. Unfortunate but true.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by EllaShanti 

7th November 2012:
The end of that chapter made me cry :'( poor mary. you should be thrilled with the chapter it's amazing!! Really touching. 10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I still think there are things in it that need tidying up, but then again it's not high on my list of priorities so it might stay like it is for a while. Thank you for the feedback, though, because it can be hard for me to judge.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Kate 

18th April 2012:
Argh! Don't you dare apologise! This was the best thing I've read in a long time. I was crying the whole time - still am. While I'm despairing Mary's death, you have written this well enough to make me sob like there's no tomorrow. If possible, I would rate this 100/10.

Note: also LOVING rest of story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It was a tricky chapter to get right (and I still think I need to improve on it in places) but to have you react like this is a huge compliment and means I've been doing something right. Thanks again :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
Oh i had tears in my eyes. Mary was one of my favourite characters. 9/10 : (

Author's Response: And one of mine too. Unfortunately she was never going to survive this story, though.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sophie 

2nd January 2012:
I cried and cried and cried and cried all through this chapter! why did mary haev to die??? ! im still crying now whilst writing this! i already miss her scottish words! hopefully things will look up!

Author's Response: Oh, I'm sorry. It did have to happen, though. First of all, it really brought the war home to our characters - before, it was more of an abstract thing that certainly didn't affect them while they were at school. And secondly, she knew about Padfoot, which meant that when Sirius escaped from Azkaban she would have been able to tell the Ministry about his animagus abilities. Therefore, unfortunately, she had to go. Sad but necessary.

cheers, Mel

PS If it's any consolation, I miss her too.


 Report Review

Review #14, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
This time I literally cried.
Dumbledore's speech..
"What was her crime?
She agreed to do a favour for her brother."
How could she die.

Author's Response: Again, I'm sorry. It's sad, it's horrible, but it's what war is, and it had to affect them directly at some point. This was how I chose to do that. But yeah, it's not fair. War's not fair.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by MissHufflepuff<3 

13th December 2011:
You should be very pleased with this chapter. I don't see why you wouldn't be. You have a natural talent. You should be pleased to know that this chapter made me cry. Real tears falling down my cheeks for Mary. The only other author that's made me cry is JK Rowling. Well done.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! There are still parts of this chapter that I would like to fix if I ever get around to it, but overall I think it turned out okay. It was a very hard balance to get right, but if I made you cry then I must have done something right so thanks for that. It's very reassuring.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by MoonyistheBestMarauder 

12th November 2011:
I've never cried more at a fanfiction before. All I could think of through this whole chapter was my best friend, and how it would be to lose her. This was a beautiful chapter. Thank you.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Well, it sounds like I've hit the right note with you for this chapter then. That's very relieving, because I'm still not convinced that I did it justice. There are bits of this chapter that probably need reworking, but overall I seem to have got it vaguely right. So thank you! I mean, I'm not happy that I made you cry, but I'm happy that I got the appropriate emotional reaction to this particular event, if that makes any sense.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
I'm not thrilled at all that Mary's gone. I don't care if it makes it more realistic that someone within Laura's own inner circle died, I'd rather it was totally unbelievable and Mary was still here.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Again, I'm sorry. She was a great character. But as I said, it had to happen, much as I miss her as well. But yeah, I'm unrepentant. Mary was always going to die. :(

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by candn 

29th September 2011:
I've been reading your story for the past two days, I haven't commented once and I feel horrible! But because my face is pretty much streaked in tears, I felt that it was right finally leave a review and say: GODDAMN WOMAN, WHAT A HEARTBREAKER!! Lovelovelove this story.
P.S. WHY MARY?!!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

And don't worry about not reviewing earlier - I'm just happy that you're reading at all and this review is more than enough. And I'm sorry that I made you cry, but it was unfrortunately a necessary death. I loved Mary too, but I had to bring the war home to Laura properly and besides, she knew about Padfoot so I had to get rid of her before the PoA timeline, didn't I? Otherwise the Ministry might have found Sirius earlier. :) But yeah, it was horrible of me, I get that. Sorry.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by mrs_remus_john_lupin 

6th September 2011:
oh gosh, i dont even want to tell you how hard I'm trying not to cry... I'm failing anyway. Great chapter

Author's Response: Thank you! I mean it. It's horrible of me to like making people cry but really it means that I did something right, as this was supposed to be an emotional chapter. Clearly I didn't do as badly with this chapter as I'd feared, though I stil think it could do with a bit of an edit - when I finally get around to doing that. Thanks again.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Klsmd 

5th September 2011:
Kay it's official. You made me cry. Great story you're a really good writer. I mean it.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! And really? I made you cry? That must mean I didn't make as much of a hash of this chapter as I feared, so thank you! :) I mean, I'm sorry to have done that, but this was supposed to be an emotional chapter so if you cried then I must have done something right.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by LittleMissPrincess 

21st August 2011:
congratulations, that was a well-written passage. truth be told, i did cry a bit.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I still think that it needs a bit of an edit (and one of these days I will get around to doing that), but if I made you cry even a little bit then I must have done something right. So thanks again, that's really reassuring. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by padfoot<3 

9th August 2011:
this is so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so sad:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yeah, sorry about that. It had to be done, though, and if you found it so sad then I must have done a decent job in getting the emotions right. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by LivingLife42 

27th July 2011:
This chapter made me cry. I thought it was very well written, and well done, despite what you said in the author's note. It was very emotional and I'm going to miss Mary.

Author's Response: Thank you! I still think that it needs tweaking in places, but then my muse is now focused on two other novels so the edits I wanted to do in this one are well on the backburner. I'm very pleased though that you found it emotional as a chapter like this really has to be if the story is going to seem vaguely realistic. So thanks again. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
I can honestly say I'm not close enough to anyone to feel so strongly this as Laura is. And while maybe I should be grateful, I feel like something is missing now, watching the four of them continue on.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: It's a shame that you're not close enough to anyone to feel their loss this keenly, but I'm sure it will come. But yes, there is something missing now - if nothing else, Mary's accent! Hahaha. It's hard for the others to carry on with that reminder in the dorm that she's not there, but hey, life goes on. People die, especially in wartime. I had to get that message out there.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by HartOfARebel 

18th May 2011:
I thought it was a well written chapter, it was heartfelt and emotional.
If I wasn't in the sitting room, sitting next to my parents I'd be in floods! As it is I'm quite teary and sniffley!!

Author's Response: Why, thank you! For saying I didn't do too much of a hatchet job on this chapter, that is. I still think that there are things in it that need to be re-written, but to have you reacting like this is evidence that I didn't do too badly. It was a tricky chapter to get right and of course we are all our own worst critics so to have feedback like this is very reassuring.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>