Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Noblevyne 

2nd July 2011:
I loved this chapter (I read it at lunch in a food court, very classy surrounds I can assure) because of how you worked Peter's duplicity in so subtly - it's nothing overblown, but still, he does something underhanded and unexpected of him, at least from James' point of view. Just subtle foreshadowing that makes your portrayal of him believable.

I'm glad I could push your story over into 700 reviews - it seems well earned and I will recommend it to anyone who asks (though I suspect anyone I speak to will have likely already read it). I went back over a few of my reviews and realised how hurriedly I'd left them. Whoops! Ah well, take your time responding to them.

Author's Response: I wanted to set some kind of precedent for Peter's later behaviour--it seems unlikely to me that he would have been a Death Eater while in school, but I definitely believe that the potential was there. I also feel like there must have been more to it than just the fear of being tortured and/or killed--I don't like that excuse when people use it for Snape's choice to join Voldemort, and I don't really like it for Peter. On the other hand, I also don't like to go to the other extreme and just cast Peter as wholly evil and self-serving. There's some middle ground there, I think, and I hope that I can hit it.

Speaking of you recommending the story, thank you so much for recommending it to forsakenphoenix! It makes me feel wonderful to have such amazing authors of Marauders Era stories reading and enjoying my own. :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Leigh Kelley 

18th June 2011:
Peter cheating and the last line of this chapter are so significant. Pete isn't opposed to toeing the wrong side of the line if it gets him ahead somehow, and James dismisses it because Peter is a friend and its not like he oh... sold him out to Voldemort or something equally as terrible. James's trust in his friends is so strong, and it's regrettable that he couldn't see past the friendship. None of them did, though. Gah. It's what makes him such a good person. Then again, he probably isn't the only person to trust someone like that, that wouldn't hear the warning bells. Pete's been so close to them for so long that none of them would even dream up the scenario of him possibly going so far. Sad.

~Leigh

Author's Response: I think you're right that there are lots of people who wouldn't notice the warning signs of someone lying to them--or maybe they would see them, but they would talk themselves out of feeling suspicious. People value loyalty so much that it's almost as shameful to abandon someone because you think they might be betraying you as it is to actually be the one doing the betraying.

It does seem very bizarre to me, though, that James and Lily didn't ever suspect their friends of lying to them--only a select few people would have known what they were doing in the year that information was being passed to Voldemort about them, so you'd think they'd have cottoned on after a few months. It's one of the things I find interesting about their story...and hopefully, if I can manage to get more written someday, I can actually write about it! :)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by doglover 

9th January 2011:
so much foreshadowing!!!

Author's Response: Yes, there was quite a bit of foreshadowing in this chapter, and I'm glad you picked up on it! (Guess it would have been hard not to, but still...)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by AlPadfootPotter96 

25th December 2010:
WOOT! Exams are over! I love this chapter - it kind of introduces the true Pettigrew...Merry Christmas! :)

Author's Response: Yay! Congratulations (albeit very, very late congratulations) on finishing your exams! I'm glad you liked the part about Peter in this chapter. I didn't want to overdo it by making Peter really evil this early on, but I wanted to establish some kind of precedent for him betraying James and Lily--and also for James' blind faith in all of his friends when it was clear that someone was spying on them.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lizzy 

29th November 2010:
Wow...I loved how you did that...the way you introduced Peter as being someone who would just take the easy way out...I'm being so honest here--if J. K. Rowling were to write a story about how James and Lily got together (which I'm totally hoping she does) I would bet that there would be a scene like this one. Absolutely genius! I didn't even see it coming!

Author's Response: Hi Lizzy! Thanks for reviewing.

I'm glad you liked that part with Peter. I think people often try to "foreshadow" Peter's betrayal, and sometimes it comes off as a bit unrealistic--so for that reason, I didn't know whether this scene that I included would work or not. To me, though, the thing here that's even more important than showing that Peter is somewhat untrustworthy is showing James' blind loyalty to his friends, his absolute unwillingness to believe that they would do anything with evil intention. That was definitely a contributing factor to his and Lily's deaths. :/

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by girly1393 

9th September 2010:
Wow, Peter cheating. I didn't see that coming.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: I wanted to offer SOMETHING as a precursor for Peter's switch later on. While I think Peter has generally been a bit maligned (both in fan fiction and the books, sadly), I did want to show some sort of precedent in his behaviour for betraying his friends so horribly. The key, of course, is that him cheating on an exam is excusable in the eyes of his friends--otherwise, they would be much more suspicious of him.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Flower n Prongs 

13th July 2010:
Gah! I want to smack some sense into James's head at the moment. True, I do have the benefit of knowing that Peter joins the Death Eaters when he doesn't but still. All this talk of Peter slipping around unnoticed, staying under the radar, and whatnot is making me think very strongly of what is to come in about three years. Now, I think its a safe assumption that you intended for it to end up this way so in that case excellent job. I just wish that my yelling could get through to James somehow! (hahaha)

Author's Response: Isn't it so frustrating to think of how things would have been different if Peter hadn't switched sides? Or just hadn't existed at all? :P

In all seriousness, though, I think that Peter must have had SOME qualities that made him a valuable friend to James, Sirius, and Remus, and that made him a valuable Marauder. Given his Animagus form, I thought that maybe he was a very sneaky and stealthy type--which of course would help him successfully turn spy for the Death Eaters. So, you're absolutely right in guessing that I did want to make that connection, and also show James' blind faith in his friends. Peter cheating of course sends off alarm bells for us, but James doesn't hold it against him. He really is trusting to a fault, I think!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by _hedwig_ 

24th April 2010:
Er- am I missing something, becuase you did mention antidotes to Veritaserum, and you completley disregarded it! unless something happens in the next chapter.

Author's Response: Nope, nothing happens with it. To tell you the truth, my intention is to edit some (if not all) of this story once I finish, and the Veritaserum scene is one of the first on the chopping block. I never intended it to come off the way it did, sounding like I was going to make it into this major plot point--all I wanted was a first-day-of-class scene, but it was definitely a mistake to set it up the way I did. I never really intended to write any big scene to follow it up (though I probably should have at least mentioned it, you're right), and I don't think it would have fit in very well anywhere...so I'm probably just going to revamp that scene to make sure other people don't end up disappointed like you! You're not the only one that's pointed out that I pretty much dropped that. :/

Anyway, though, thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by saffy 

9th April 2010:
Hey there :) Remeber me ?? six weeks is so long!

Well i can definatly relate to this chapter your description of the panic before going into a exam room and that feeling that you have forgotten even the simplist things was spot on.

Yet despite all the stress of exams there were some really funny parts to this stroy que favourite quotes ->

"Why don't we just use them for Transfiguration practice?" Anna asked.

"The peas?"

"No, the fifth-years"

***

"I thought since you're pretending to be a dark cloud this morning, I might as well join in on the game."

***

"At least if someone gets cornered by a Death Eater, they can tell them all about Grogan Stump and the giants before they drop dead,"

I hope mary and lily can sort it out i mean they only have a couple of weeks left :(

The part with peter cheating was excellent really stuck tot he
cannon of james thinking the best of his friends and forgiving them. The ending was just perfect i loved the closong sentence it just seemed so James

Thanks for a great read :)

Author's Response: SAFFY! Hi! :D Six weeks seemed to fly by...and sadly my ha-ha-prediction about not finishing the story by now came true. :P

I'm so glad to hear you liked some of the lines in this chapter, and especially that you found it a good mix of funny and serious! I think that's what exams usually are about. They're stressful, but at the same time, you can laugh about them with your friends. I still think I probably could improve this chapter quite a bit, but it's reassuring to know that you still liked it as-is.

Well, you've read the next chapter, so you see where it goes with Lily and Mary. It's not the last time we'll hear from Mary, though, so there might be more of a story there than there is right now...

You've completely hit on what I wanted most out of that scene with Peter. The fact that he cheated of course says something about his character, but it was more important to me for James' characterization. And he's right, in a way, isn't he? I mean, cheating is horrible and bad, but the four of them broke a lot of rules and even laws in their time at school, so...where do you draw the line? And I think James was loyal and trusting to an absolutely fault, which I tried to at least set up here so I could elaborate on it more in future.

Thank YOU for a great review, and I'm just about the respond to the next one!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Prongs05JP 

5th April 2010:
Okay so as I said on the forums, I'm going to review one >:D But... just at the moment I finished reading the chapter the conclusion of an intrigueing (sp?) episode of a Touch of Frost started and I got side tracked. But don't hate me, for Prongs05JP is here now! :D And ready to rev :P

So first off, Anna and Lily didn't know what the transmorfa-hoo-ha thing was - and I bet James wouldn't know either, poor guys. I'm glad I don't have to take Transfiguration :P I love Lily's attitude with the Mary thing, how she couldn't let it take over her life as she needed to focus on exams. Well thought about, that. However, I don't know what it is but I never really took to Anna :/ I think it's her short tempered personality (a great character, by all means) but to me she's always seemed like the one I disliked. But that's just how I get on/don't get on with people/characters xP

Moving on, I can completely relate to Lily and her no-studying-before-the-end-is-nigh thing. I feel like everything will just get muddled and I'll end up confusing myself :S And sods law! With the switching spell being the one she wasn't sure of and it being the first one xP I feel for you Lils, really.

One point to make here, I got a lil confused :/ Or I think it may have been a typo. When the guys returned for their written part of the Transfiguration exam they went in and it said ""You may begin," Professor Dearborn said, and there was a fluttering etc" so I thought it was the DADA one, but then it said the DADA was the next day so I got all muddled. I've come to the conclusion that you probably meant Professor McGonagall, but I felt I should point it out ^^

Nextly, I made up a new word :P

So... aww, James just gets the hang of being HB at the end of the year - much to his dismay xD And indeed Lily HAS gained one of the best friends :) Ouch, I really feel for James and his potions exam :P It was really well described - I mean, obviously it wouldn't be silent with people chopping up newts guts or whatever so it was good to get the point across :D

Actually overall the way you've done exams is fab, you've managed to create all the tension that would be there and written it all down - awesome :) Agh, Peter cheated!! Well... there's bound to be one, with all those people working so close together. And it does certainly show off a lot more of Peter's cowardly side. :( And James handled that pretty well ;)

o.m.g this is really quite a long review :O should make up for the time I missed out on not reviewing XP I do apologise for that :) And the final line kinda struck me too - it all falls apart and we know at least one of them fell from that line. Far below that line.

Congrats on another fab chap - it certainly WAS a masterpiece, so there :P

1000/10 :D
Prongs05JP

Author's Response: Hey! Yay, review! Haha. They've been kind of slow in coming for the most recent chapter (totally my fault for taking so long to update lately), so it's nice to have one to respond to. :)

I'm also glad I don't have to take Transfiguration. It always seemed like the hardest subject, kind of like physics or something. :P And it doesn't bother me at all if you dislike Anna. I always knew I was giving her qualities that people would find unpleasant. I've personally always liked Anna more than Mary, but I think that's because I can sort of see into the future and have a better idea of the people they're going to become. ;)

How funny that you do the same thing as Lily with studying before exams, because I actually took that quality from myself and gave it to her! :) I never study right before a test! Most of the time when I have exams, I just don't even bring my notes or books when I go, even though most other people are cramming until the very last second! It just feels like a bad idea to me. :P

Oh, as for the teachers--sorry, I did kind of set that up in a confusing way, but during written exams, it's never the professor of that subject who presides over it. So I probably could have done it in a less confusing way than having the Defence teacher do the Transfiguration exam, and Transfiguration teacher do the Defence exam, but it was intentional, and I do believe that it's accurate to the books. :) Good eye, though!

Whew, I'm very, very glad that you thought I did the exams okay. :) I think this is one chapter that definitely needs some deft editing at a later point, but it's reassuring to know that you didn't dislike it.

Peter, Peter, Peter...not his smartest move, wouldn't you say? Or I guess, depending on how you look at it, maybe it was kind of smart. That's the thing I find fascinating about Peter. Except in the most extreme circumstances (i.e. his betrayal), I imagine him as someone who would walk this line between right and wrong. He exists in this gray area, in my mind--and that was why I wanted to write this scene. Of course, it's dishonest to cheat on an exam, but then you have the point that James brings up, that they've all done dishonest things at school. So was what Peter did much worse? Were his intentions wholly bad? Or should we, like James, give him the benefit of the doubt? The last line, though, is very foreshadow-y, and it's unfortunate that James in his infinite trust ended up being so wrong.

No worries at all about taking some time to review. It's nice to get them whenever they come. :) Glad you thought it was a "fab chap" again. You're so nice!

Thank you so, so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lise 

29th March 2010:
Really good story - one of the best Marauder ones I've read, I think. You do actually manage to avoid a lot of the clichés which is a relief, and you're a good writer, and everything flows well. Can't wait for the next chapter. :) There are also few grammar and spelling mistakes. Really annoying when a story is ruined by continuous easily fixed mistakes.

Author's Response: Well, thank you, Lise! :) I really appreciate the review, and I'm beyond flattered that you think it's one of the best Marauder stories you've read! What a nice thing to hear. :)

You know, I was reading some earlier chapters the other day, and I definitely noticed some mistakes, too. I plan on editing the story when it finishes (hopefully not too long from now), so I'll catch and fix as many of them as I can during that. I definitely know how mistakes can kind of mess up the reading experience, but hopefully it didn't take away too much from the story!

I will try and update as soon as I can...school is really quite horrible at the moment. I do hope you'll come back and read when the new chapter is up, though! And thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #12, by UnForGettable323 

27th March 2010:
I just finished reading everything you've written so far and I have to say that i love this story :) Hopefully you don't take as long to update this time because I can't wait to see what you have planned next.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm so thrilled that you love the story, and that you were willing to take a moment to review. :) I very much appreciate it!

I hope I won't take so long either! The chapter is about 80%-ish done (mostly written, just needs editing), so hopefully no more than a week from now. As long as I update before a month (which I think is April 10th), at least it'll be improved from last time! :P

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #13, by hilbilly 

20th March 2010:
well, i really like this story and have only just started reading it :)
but the characters seem so much more REAL than other fanfics ive read so well done!
i hope you update soon

Author's Response: Hello there, and thanks for stopping to leave me a review! It's wonderful to hear feedback, and such a nice surprise to gain new readers!

Being realistic is highly important to me, so the fact that you think the story seems very real is a fantastic compliment.

I hope that I can update within the next couple of days, but I do have a mountain of schoolwork, so we shall see. I really hope that you continue enjoying the story when I get the new chapter up, though! And thanks again. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Harry and Ginny 

19th March 2010:
i'm not sure i understood but which side did Anna chose? Lily's or Mary's? anyway, James was right in talking with Peter about not cheating. now i can't wait to see ur next update!!!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Hi again! I feel like it's been such a long time since I got a review from you! My fault, entirely, of course, for taking a month to update. :S Anyway, it's nice to hear your thoughts again!

It may sound strange, but confused is the perfect way to be in regards to Anna right now. :P The explanation of that will come in the next chapter, though, so you won't have to wait very long to figure it out.

I'm glad to hear you thought the part with Peter and James was good, too. I was a little on-the-fence about whether to include it for a while. :)

Hopefully I'll be able to update before the end of the weekend! Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #15, by JackG 

15th March 2010:
bo updating skills. yay story!! wow, i sound like a five year old. the "evil peter" introduction is nicely played, and also shows well the changes james has been going through, so good job on that. and i love the story in general as always, so keep it up!

Author's Response: Hi again! I'll gladly join you in giving a strong round of booing to my updating skills; it really was quite terrible this time around. I really hope it doesn't happen again! :S There are only a few chapters left, though, so my chances to flub it up again are at least lessened.

Anyway, I'm glad you were happy to see it was updated (finally)! I'm also happy that you thought there was some good in it, because I was having some trouble finding it. :P You're right, I think this is a nice slide into Peter's future choices--the kind of thing that, if everyone didn't already know the end, you would all look back and go, "Foreshadowing!" Haha. I guess you can still do that now, though the effect is somewhat lost. And I am really happy that you picked up on the importance of James' reaction there, too. In my mind, that scene was just as important for his characterization as for Peter's.

The next chapter is about 50-ish percent done right now, and I should be able to get a good amount of writing done this weekend, if not before, so you can check to see if there's an update then!

Thanks so much for reviewing, and *YAY* for being the 350th review! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by Mizz.T 

13th March 2010:
I adore your story!

Author's Response: Hi Mizz. T! Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave me a review. Nice ones like yours always brighten my day up. I'm so happy to hear that you like the story, and I hope that continues for the rest of the chapters, as well! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Tonks101 

13th March 2010:
Petter cheating??? Sounds like him! I really like this story and honestly ever time it comes to reveiwing i honestly don't know what to suggest!! So I will say again this is better than j.k. Rowling!!

Author's Response: Hello again! Sorry it took me so long to update right after you got an account and were all ready to start reviewing! Hopefully I'll be more consistent from here on out. :)

Yes, it does seem like the sort of thing Peter would do, doesn't it? I was a little apprehensive about it for that reason, though! I try to avoid projecting Peter's post-Hogwarts decisions onto him at this age, but I think it makes sense with how I see his character. And I thought that part was actually even more important for showing how James reacted.

Well, if you ever do have anything to suggest, let me know! :) I do want to improve as I go along, so I'm open to any suggestions. And I definitely don't think this story is better than the real thing, although it's very, very nice of you to say that.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by SeVeRuS LoVeR 

12th March 2010:
it was good :)) i got a tad bored with all the exams but thats probably because of the fact i just took a bunch of exams myself haha :PP

Author's Response: Hello there! I'm really glad you thought it was an okay chapter, because I had convinced myself that it was the worst thing ever written. (All right, not quite--but I didn't think it was good at all!)

I can understand completely why you would be bored with the exams. They're not the most fun things, when you really think about it, so it makes it pretty hard to write about them and make them interesting! That was my main problem in writing this. Maybe one day I'll get some more exciting ideas and come back and edit it. :P

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you did really well on your exams.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Pixileanin 

12th March 2010:
It's here! The next chapter!

I like how you did Peter's questionable behavior during the exam and James' reaction to it. James really wants to be the honorable one. I also liked how James and Lily supported each other in between exams too. I bet they're all relieved that they lived through it.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to come by and review. :) I hope your story planning is going well.

I'm glad you liked Peter's part in this chapter. It really struck me as something he would do, and I think it makes his later decisions in life follow from a progression. Plus, I think James' reaction is very telling about him as a character, too. His loyalty really becomes a fault at a certain point.

And, yes, I think all of them are probably pretty thrilled to have things over and done with. That was a bit obscured since the final scene was the conversation between Peter and James, but I'm sure it would be really exciting and a huge relief to have school completely over with!

Thanks very much (again), and I hope you like the next chapter, too! Whenever I post it, that is. :P


 Report Review

Review #20, by NATAliEisBAx14 

11th March 2010:
Hey quick Q&A do you have a time turner on you? I really need one to go back in time to stop Jack Dawson from winning the ticket on the Titanic so instead of falling in love with Rose and dying I can have him:). I mean, I've had dibs on him since I was three years old even if she didn't hear about it while she was on board. Soo yeah, thanks for letting me borrow one. The only problem is once in the past I will not be able to read this amazing story, and I may already be engaged to it. Well I think your story understands right? I mean it's JACK DAWSON we're talking about, he's about a nine on that scale we talked about. You know the one where ten is an optimus prime? Yeah, that one.

Thanks for the update madam, I surely enjoyed it even if you did not think it was very good. It was a fun little way to take my mind off the fact that no matter how many times I watch that movie (which by the way has been my favorite for the past twelve years of my fifteen year existence) Jack dies in the end, I mean seriously? What a bummer. At least Rose dies in the last bit and we see them together again right? I hope.
Well now I have to go study for two tests tomorrow. One is on Volcanoes and Earth Quakes, did you know there may not be a more boring subject in the world than Earth Science? I'm sure it would give History of Magic and Professor Binns a run for his money. But then there's history with my douche teacher and the fact that I have to study every single innovation in WW1 is much too hard for me. I mean, we get it, stuff got developed to kill more people. AWESOME. Let's just stick all my teachers on the Titanic and wait for it to sink, actually I propose a trade for Jack and Rose in exchange for my history and science and spanish teachers.

I'll see what I can do about that...but in the mean time I shall await monday which happens to be my birthday and watch Titanic over and over again while crying. Sounds like a plan to me:D



:)
have a stellar day madam.

natalie

Author's Response: Hello Natalie! How I've missed your hilarious reviews. :)

Anyway, getting down to business: unfortunately, I left my Timeturner at the Three Broomsticks last week, and Mundungus Fletcher took it and sold it to someone. It cost me a hundred Galleons, too! I don't know how many more shifts I'm going to have to work at Flourish and Blotts before I save up to get another one.

Heehee. :P

Titanic is such a good movie! I actually bought it on DVD recently. When it first came out, it was on VHS, and it was so long that it came with two tapes! How hilarious is that? I still have the two-tape version, too. I remember I was like seven when it came out, and my mom tried to stop me from watching the second tape by saying, "Oh, it's a sad ending, you don't want to see it,"...but really, she was just trying to stop me from watching the carriage scene. :P

My story certainly understands your dilemma though, because it's all over tragic love. Like scales-on-a-dragon ON.

No need to say thank you for the update. It's me who should be thanking you and everyone else who's reviewed so far for being so unbelievably nice! I mean, I think you all would have been well within your rights to jinx me, or something. I'm really glad that you enjoyed the chapter.

Good luck on your tests! It's been many years since I took any type of science, but I always found biology to be the most interesting. Chemistry was just blech, Earth Science kind of boring, like you said. And I sympathize with the WWI thing. I'm a history major and I just can't get interested in much of anything past the 1600s, and military history is awful (in my opinion, at least). I can't get interested in wars in ANY time period.

Oh, and if I don't post a chapter before Monday (okay, let's be realistic, I won't), HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Watch Titanic all you want, and if anyone tries to get you to do something else, just say, "It's my party, and I can cry if I want to." :P

A very nebular day to you as well! (Haha, get it...? Stellar...stars...nebular...nebula? Never mind, I'm just using jokes from decade-old Disney channel movies.)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Kerry Cho 

11th March 2010:
I just read the last five updated chapters and WOW
James said he loved Lily! :) awww
And Wormtail was a bit naughty wasn't he?
AND I'M GETTING ANNOYED WITH MARY AND ANNA BECAUSE THEY JUST KEEP... Calm down! They are just nervous with the exams and stuff, everythign will be back to normal! right?
Keep the good work! :D

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for the review!

I'm so glad you liked the most recent chapters. I was hoping that "I love you" moment would be somewhat aww-worthy, despite the fact that it wasn't overly romantic or anything.

Yep, Peter was a little dishonest in this chapter. :S But you do kind of have to look at it in the way James does--they've ALL done a lot of dishonest things, so where do you draw the line? Of course, I don't think James would have cheated on an exam (but then, he wouldn't really need to, either), but it probably wouldn't feel like too much of a leap of conscience for Peter.

I can understand why you would be annoyed with Mary and Anna. Everything will be explained better in the next chapter, and some things will change from what they are now. That's all I'll say, though!

I'll try to keep up the good work, and thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Margravine 

11th March 2010:
Penny, I haven't time to leave a proper review, but I wanted to tell you that I think the split POV worked marvellously and this continues to be one of the very few Marauder fics I can stand to read (overdosed when I first entered fanfic, still in recovery).

Don't worry about the delay, you need to be happy with your chapters before all else, we can't expect you to churn out quality quickly - good stories like these take time! and finally, there is such an influx of new stories/chapters out right now I'm nowhere near keeping up with all the authors I like to keep an eye on!
Well done!

Author's Response: Hi Margravine! You are the NICEST. :) And don't worry about not having time to review...it happens to me all the time! I completely know what you mean about there being so many new stories and chapters...I keep falling behind on my favourites!

Anyway, as for this chapter, I didn't end up being particularly happy with it, but I just couldn't stand having it sit on my computer completed but not posted anymore. I'll probably come back and edit it heavily one day in the future, but for now, it's onward and upward to chapter 30! Which feels very freeing after a month of editing and rewriting.

Anyway, I'm so happy to hear that you still enjoy the story! And thank you again! :)



 Report Review

Review #23, by redhead1287 

10th March 2010:
OMG!!! yesss! finally!! I have been waiting so long for another chapter! I check everyday! (even though I understand you have a life... as do I- sometimes) -- ok going back to actually read the chapter--

I didn't think it was a bad chapter!! You have to have some of this stuff going on so you can get to the good stuff.
I am worried about the relationship between Lily and her girlfriends. I love James to death, but a girl has to have girl friends!! Why is Anna upset with her all of sudden? Because of the Snape thing?

And Peter... I actually really liked that you put this in, athough I can't believe he cheated and got away with it!!- I think it provides really good insight into his character beyond the superficial character that most stories give him. Especially with the James and Peter confrontation.

I hope my review is coherent! I feel that it is kind of all over the place, but I'll end with saying that I still love the story, and you for writing it!! And I will always keep checking for updates! However, selfishly, I hope you update really soon and have more James and Lily!! They are so cute together :)

Author's Response: Hi again! And I really am SO sorry for how long it took to update. I felt so guilty about it every day, and today I just decided to post what I had and get it over with. I'm glad you were so thrilled to see an update, though--I was a bit worried that some people would give up entirely!

Well, I know this chapter wasn't that great, but it is nice to know that you thought some parts were good. :)

Things with Anna and Mary will be explained in the next chapter, but I will say that it's not what it seems on the surface. ;)

I thought if someone was going to get away with cheating in an exam, it would probably be Peter. He really does blend into the background and evade most people's notice, and he has, after all, had seven years of learning how to be as sneaky as possible. I'm really glad you liked that part, because, as I said to another reviewer, I wasn't sure if it was pushing his character beyond what was realistic. I think Peter is a really interesting character, and I do like including him--though, of course, he gets a bit pushed to the sidelines in most circumstances.

Your review is completely coherent, don't worry! And I really appreciate you taking the time to write it. I'll try to update within the next 10 - 14 days, depending on how much time I have, and I promise there will be some cute Lily and James stuff. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Mirrored 

10th March 2010:
I was so glad to see this update! I had been looking forward to it. Poor Peter. I'm very glad that you included something about him in the progression of this story. It seems highly unlikely that Peter's loyalties would have done a 180 in the future if there had not been some transgressions on his part while they were all still at school. Quite believable characterization. Excellent!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so sorry to have kept you waiting for so long on the update. It was a nightmare, quite frankly. But I knew I'd feel better if I just posted it up and got it over with, and I'm really pleased to hear that there was something in it that you liked!

I debated for a while over including that part about Peter, because I don't want to go overboard and make it seem like he was completely evil from the start. But you're right, I think it fits to have some moments like this, especially because you can see both sides of it: on the one hand, Peter breaking the rules, and on the other, the way James reacts to it. I really think James would have always believed the best of his friends, often to a fault, and that theme will crop up again. I'm really happy to hear you thought it was believable, because I was a bit worried that people wouldn't!

Thank you so much for reviewing, and for being so nice! I'll hopefully have the next chapter up in 10 - 14 days. :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by apriltruex 

10th March 2010:
I was sad my name was not in your newly favorite list, but I really like the story...plus I wouldn't stop after reading 29 chapters. :) until next time (because there better be a next time) cheers!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it, especially after how long it's been since I updated.

As for the favourites list, didn't you add it a while back? I thanked you back at the end of chapter 25, at any rate! I'm really sorry if I made you feel left out, though. :( I'm so appreciative of anyone favourite-ing, reviewing, or reading my story, so I hate thinking that I might have made you feel less-than-appreciated.

Oh, and don't worry, there will be a next time. :) I feel much better having gotten this one out of the way, and I think (hope) it will be easier to get the next one written!

Thank you again (so much)!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review