Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
107 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sushmita 

4th November 2016:
That ending was spine chilling! The omnipresent Voldemort, in case we forgot.

Author's Response: Yes that was kind of chilling, wasn't it? But that was very much the idea. Sudden, horrific, no warning. Because that's what (I believe) the first war was like. Glad you appreciated that!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jack Johnson 

24th May 2015:
WHY?!?!?!?!?! :'( :'(

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. But it was always going to happen, I'm afraid. I was fond of Mary, but yeah, she was always going to die. It was important for the story.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
Oh no! How can you do this to me, take my emotions from happy to devastated in one chapter? I don't know how you can keep writing chapters like this which make me so hopeful for Sirius and Laura in the future and then right at the end you not only leave it on a bit of a cliffhanger but you bring in a piece of news that's going to shock anyone who reads it! I can't believe that Mary and her family are all dead! And just after Sirius and Laura were talking about the fact that the Death Eaters were targetting intermarriages between purebloods and Muggle-born families, and the fact that Mary's mother was worried about it! It's just so awful!

I honestly thought that the worst thing that could happen in this chapter would be that Laura would be found out by her parents and told off by them for lying and deceiving them, but then you go and drop this bombshell! It was just so happy with Sirius and Laura confessing that they love each other and then him giving her wand access to his flat, and then this... it's so upsetting, I just hope that Laura will be alright or that it's some sort of mistake!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, a lot of people thought that was going to be the worst thing that happened in this chapter. But yeah, Mary. I'm very fond of her as a character but she was always going to die, and now Laura has all that survivor guilt and dealing with teh war and all that - and her parents too. Yeah, I'm cruel. But that's war.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dragonbogies45 

13th August 2013:
I think my heart may have actually just shattered, it's a brilliant story Mary was one of my favourite characters and i cried for a good five minutes just now.

Author's Response: Sorry!! I was fond of Mary too, but I'm afraid she was always going to die. HArsh, but necessary for the story. Sorry.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Anonymous 

19th June 2013:
Thank you for finally mentioning Frank and Alice! I kept wishing they had a more prominent role since I figured they'd be around the same age.

Author's Response: Yes, I think they'd be a bit older than this crowd, but I wanted to mention them somewhere, and this seemed like the perfect spot. Glad you appreciated it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Meghan 

15th June 2013:
This is probably the third or fourth time I've read this story and this part gets me everytime even though I see it coming :( RIP Mary :(

Author's Response: Why thank you! It means a lot that you've re-read my story and also that you still react emotionally to it. That means I must have done something right along the way, which is very heartening. :) But yes, RIP Mary. I was very fond of her, but it had to happen.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Scarlet Marauder 

9th April 2013:
Make it more suspenseful! Mary's death was sadder than I thought...

Author's Response: Thanks. It was supposed to be a shock so I guess you felt that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by jess 

11th March 2013:
a fanfic has never made me so emotional like this before.and I've read a lot of fan fics

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's so lovely to hear that you've hit an emotional chord with people. I'm really flattered. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Olga 

13th January 2013:
Wow. I did not see that comming. There is literally pain in my chest.

Author's Response: And I'm sorry about that, but it had to happen. Poor Mary. I was very fond of her myself.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by BellatrixisFred 

30th December 2012:
I notice there is no author's note here. This was the worst chapter in the whole thing, although I'll admit I've been throughly enjoying such a detailed and long (and well-written!) fanfiction but this chapter - NO. I was totally unprepared for that catalyst, Mary had become to central to the story for me. But then again if it were Martha or Charlotte I wouldn't have balled my eyes out. Still, was it necessary to kill anyone? I'm going to miss Mary :(

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. It had to happen, though, in order for this fic to fit with the canon (though my reasoning may be a little convoluted, hahaha). But yeah, I'm sorry. I was very fond of Mary as well. And at least she didn't suffer.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
No!! Poor mary. 10/10 : (

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. Had to happen though, I'm afraid.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
MARY???
DEAD???
God I'm almost crying!
The war has now started affecting them directly..
It's truly finally begun.

Author's Response: Yes, the war had to have an impact eventually. Mary, bless her, was always going to die, even though I didn't like doing it. But yeah, I'm sorry.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
No!! Mary cannot be dead! No way. Na-uh. Not happening. I refuse to agree with this! How could she be dead?! Was it only because her brother was marrying a muggleborn?! Why'd you have to kill her!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. It had to happen, though. And yes, it was because of the wedding - the Death Eaters decided that an example had to be made, and unfortunately the Macdonalds were that example. As for why, well not only did there have to be a huge impact of the war for Laura to go the way I wanted her to, but also Mary knew about Padfoot and if she'd lived it might have made the PoA storyline less convincing. Sorry!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by LivingLife42 

27th July 2011:
No! Why Mary? Why not Martha? I mean I like Martha but Mary was Laura's best friend! Which is probably why you killed her, someone's death had to affect Laura. Still, so sad :( It's a good thing she wasn't staying with them. Though I'm assuming something bad is going to happen to Laura soon cause she and Sirius aren't together in canon. *sigh*

Author's Response: Sorry about that! But it was always going to be Mary who died - it had to really impact on Laura, and besides she knew about Snuffles, which compromised the plot of PoA a little. So yeah, it had to be Mary. Tragic, horrifying, yet I think necessary for the story to have turned out the way I wanted it to.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
It's so sad Mary's dead. Although, wasn't she in the Order photo? Not complaining, just wondering. It's hard to remember who is in that photo.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: No, Mary wasn't in the Order photo. The only time she came up in canon was in the Snape/Lily flashbacks in The Prince's Tale in Deathly Hallows, and that was about what Mulciber did to her. There was also a Mary mentioned by Lily after the Mudblood incident in that Mary told her Snape was waiting outside the common room for her. But no, she wasn't in the photo. You may be thinking of Marlene McKinnon.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by HartOfARebel 

18th May 2011:
='(

poor Mary..everyone's gonna be devastated!

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. Poor Mary. However, she was alwasy going to die (heartless, aren't I?) and this felt like the right time for that to happen. But yeah, not nice at all. I feel properly ashamed of myself. ;)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by JustOneOfTheWeasleys 

22nd March 2011:
NO! No, no, no!!! oh my gosh no this is horrible

Author's Response: Again, sorry about that. (I seem to write that a lot for this chapter.) Unfortunately it was necessary for the story and really made Laura grow up, but it wasn't a nice thing to happen. And I was fond of Mary, truly I was. She was great to write. But I knew from the start that she wasn't going to make it so maybe that made it easier for me.

Thanks for the reviews, I really appreciate them :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by theelderwand 

24th August 2010:
Holy...I DID NOT see that coming. I thought there might be an attack on the wedding, but not that Mary would die "off screen."

Good thing she stayed with Sirius. Her parent's control level here is off the charts. Her mother trying to pull her thru the fireplace? Way over the top.

He gave her the key to his apartment...too cool...but then everything's gone pearshaped.

Must read on.

Eldy

Author's Response: LOL. Did you know, in my original story plan the attack DID happen at the wedding? But then I thought that it seemed a bit stupid to have all the drama happening AFTER the story had finished, so I brought it forward. Cruel, shocking, definitely. Necessary for the story? Of course. Not only did Laura have to lose someone close in order for the gravity of the war to hit home, but Mary also knew about Snuffles, and if she was around during PoA that might have made things a little different.

Having said that, I was kinda pleased to shock everyone like that by doing it so suddenly and randomly. Because that was what that war was like - nothing was logical, everything was sudden and brutal and irreversable. My biggest headache, in fact, was naming the chapter - something like "catastrophe" would have made it too obvious.

Glad you're still enjoying it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
OK, I did not see that coming. That's just horrible. Am now torn in two - one half doesn't even want to keep reading, as I know this story is true to canon, and thus things can only go downhill, but then the other half has to see it out to the end, because it's just so good. Mary though? Really?

Still, just as when JKR killed off Fred, I can see why this was necessary - there have been too many deaths that haven't affected the main character so far, and eventually one of them had to, or she'd just seem too lucky. Still, MARY? OK, I'll get over it eventually, though you've written it so well that it'll take even longer than usual.

Still, only one way to deal with this loss...

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, sorry about that. I felt pretty awful myself in killing her off like that. But it had to happen in order to make the story work. But yeah, Mary. I really liked her too. :(

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by doglover 

13th August 2010:
OH MY GOD NO!!! why???

Author's Response: Why? Because, to make my story work the way I wanted it to, Mary had to die. Horrible, tragic, awful, yes, but necessary. Sorry about that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by dramione_ftw_4ever 

9th August 2010:
m-m-m-m-MARY is m-m-m-m-murdered??? B-b-but why? She's p-p-pureblood! *begins to cry* you're terrible to your charcters, you kow that. (mind you, so am I)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, I'm horrible to my characters. I know that. But that's one of the joys of being an author - you can do that and no one actually gets hurt. Besides, if it was all peaches and cream it wouldn't be a very interesting story, would it?

But yes, poor Mary. I wish I didn't have to do it but the story just worked so much better that way.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by ericajen 

28th July 2010:
Oh my. That's awful. Completely horrible. Mary's family. Gosh. I did not see that one coming, I'm afraid.

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. I hated killing her off but it had to be done. But yes, horrible. And it was supposed to be unexpected ... I'd been hinting at it but nothing big, because the war was like that. Unexpected. Awful. And this captures that pretty well, I thought.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by HermioneTwin44 

10th July 2010:
OH. MY. GOD. WHAT JUST HAPPENED.
ps: as usual this was great!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, this chapter did shock a few people, but then again that was the intent - I wanted it to be shocking because that's what that sort of news would have been. Sorry for the abruptness, though, I can understand how it might have been a little disturbing. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by desert_oasis 

30th April 2010:
WHAT!! NOO!! They killed Mary!!! That friggin sucks!!

*gasps* No no no no no, im VERY depressed now!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, sorry about that. I know it was a shock (though I had been dropping hints that something like that might be coming up) but yeah, it had to happen. I am sorry, though, she was a great character and I was very fond of her.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by saffy 

8th April 2010:
Het there again :)

I loved the begining laura of course sirius loves you, you numpty couldnt miss hear twice indeed lol

" It's like - you fill in the gaps where I'm missing things. I'm a better person because of you...I think about things more, about consequences and things. You complete me. And I donít ever want to lose that."

AWH see when you write things like that i get a lump in my that and this bittersweet feeling of how lovely they are as a couple and absolutle dread.

No not mary .seriously? not mary !! i cant , im just stunned

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yeah, sorry about that. I know it's tricky with all the "forever" stuff because we all know it can't end well, but it's also in character I think so I put it in there. Plus it's sweet, isn't it? *grins*

And yes, Mary. Sorry about that. :(

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>