Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
Wow. Okay, I definitely wasn't expecting that confession to come at the end of this chapter - you like writing cliffhangers a little bit too much, I think :P Once again it makes me glad I've got the rest of the story to read straight away, rather than having to wait for whatever happens next!

It was really interesting to get to meet Mary's brother as well as her mother who we've seen before, and they seem like a really nice family. I have no idea how you've been patient enough to keep up writing all the Scottish accents, though - it's so impressive! But it was nice of Mary's mother to let her use them as a cover so she could see Sirius. And then for Laura and Sirius to have those days in London, it's so nice for them because they rarely get time when they can just be a young couple who are in love, rather than worrying about what everyone else thinks and is doing and the stresses of the war as well. The part about Snuffles was really funny, and I loved how you worked that bit in! And then ending the chapter with the confession that Sirius loves Laura - what is she going to do now? I have to read on and find out!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. Another cliffy. I am rather fond of them, as you've noticed, but hey, don't you think that's just the perfect place to end a chapter? *evil grin*

I'm rather fond of the Macdonald family all told, which is probably surprising to some people. And I honestly can't remember if I got sick of writing the accent or not! I have toned it down in the new version but it's still there, as I'm rather fond of it myself. Mary's mother is ace, and her brother makes a nice cameo - I liked the double take because he hadn't seen Laura for a while. :)

And yes, Snuffles. I confess that while I came up with the idea of Laura making up the name myself, in between thinking of it and posting the story I did see it in other fics, so I can't claim exclusivity with that one. But yeah, don't you think there would have to be a reason someone like Sirius Black came up with a cutesy name like that to refer to him as?

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

12th January 2013:
Aaahhh he loves her he loves her!

Author's Response: Lol. Yes, he does. It just took him a while to realise what it was. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lillylover22 

3rd March 2012:
Naww. He said it!! 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Yeah, he said it. And not before time, I think!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
OH. MY. GOD. !!!.
Love??? Seriously???
WOW!!
I'm so happy!!!
And Laura loves him too!!
So they should just get married already!! =)

Author's Response: LOL. They're both eighteen. Don't you think that's a bit young to get married? But they're happy, so that's a start, right? :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
DUN DUN DUNNN!! Sirius said the three magic words! *gasps dramatically and pretends to faint with anticipation*. Can't wait to see what happens next!
Oh and I liked that Laura called Sirius Snuffles when he was in dog for; canon connection anyone? :)

Author's Response: Yes, poor Sirius. He was desperate for her to stay so he tries everythign he can think of, including those words. Which, incidentally, are true, but that doesn't mean he's not prepared to use them as a bargaining tool.

And you liked Snuffles? Thank you! I thought it was important to include that, as it seemed to me an odd name for him to choose of his own volition. So I gave it a backstory. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by LivingLife42 

26th July 2011:
Awww! This chapter was really cute :) I really enjoyed it. And Sirius said i love you! So cute :)

Well done :)

Author's Response: It's important, I think ,in a story like this which is set so much in the confines of Hogwarts, to show a bit of real life outside the castle walls. Therefore, this chapter was supposed to achieve that, though of course we needed a bit of conflict to keep things interesting. Glad you liked it! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
He pulls it out when he's begging?! For shame, Sirius, for shame!

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yep! Well, he wants her to stay and it's the most powerful thing he can think of to change her mind, so he uses it. Emotional blackmail? Yes, kind of. Meant from the heart? Absolutely. And he's making no apologies.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by theelderwand 

24th August 2010:
Ok. Major league "awww" moments all the way through this.

She's the one that came up with Snuffles? Classic! And I loved Sirius' reaction. The little flourishes were perfect: the motorcycle ride, Sirius breaking any rules that get in his way, the crossword puzzle (yeah, I really liked that - great moment - really captured their comfort level with each other) but most of all, he hit her with "I love you."

Can't beat that.

Although, her parents are really starting to cheese me off! Mary's mum on the other hand is aces!

Eldy

P.S. Did I mention I like the way this is written?

Author's Response: I admit that, while I did come up with the origin of Snuffles myself, between thinking of it and this fanfiction being posted (especially this far) I've seen plenty of other writers use the idea, so I can't claim exclusive credit. It did seem a strange name for Sirius to come up with on his own though so some historical sentimental reason seemed appropriate. :)

The crossword puzzle thing was actually put in as a reference to PoA when Sirius asked Fudge for the paper so he could do the crossword - again, it had sentimental value. It is kinda cute, though, I admit that much.

As for her parents, well try to put yourself in their shoes. Their daughter has disappeared in one of the world's largest cities, in the middle of a war where she could well be targeted because of her background. She's not talking and they have no idea if the person/people she's with are trustworthy or not, or whether they'll see her alive again. They're being a bit over the top, perhaps, but it's understandable. Mary's mum, on the other hand, is more prepared to trust the judgement of her daughter and daughter's friend, perhaps because Mary's older brother has generally made more sound decisions than Bea has, and that counts for a lot.

From a teenagers's POV, though, absolutely. Laura's folks are unreasonable and Mary's mum is brilliant. Couldn't agree more. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
OK, firstly: Snuffles!!! I LOVE IT! What a cool idea - having the name be one that his girlfriend originally came up with. I'd always thought the name was a bit of an odd one for Sirius to have chosen for himself, and I just squealed at the idea of it being a nickname that a girl gave him. Too cute for words!

Minor missing word issue again (yes, I am the queen of pedantry): "and I had the distinct impression that it WAS often in pieces in the middle of the room". Could be wrong, but the sentence doesn't flow right as it is.

Hmm, not sure how I feel about him using the L word in order to get her to stay. Somehow I feel this is all going to end in tears. OK, yes, I know it can't eventually end in sunshine and rainbows, but I just don't want bad things to happen to this duo. Darn that canon!

Author's Response: I have to admit, while I came up with the origin of "Snuffles" myself, I have seen it in other fanfics so I won't claim ownership. I too thought it was a strange name for him to choose so to give it a bit of background seemed to make it fit better. :)

Thanks for picking up that missing word - I have now gone back and done that edit. You were right in which word was missing and I have no idea where it went, but it's there now. :)

As for ending in tears ... well, we know it can't end well if it stays canon. And that's all I'm saying. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by doglover 

13th August 2010:
omg he said the three words!!! =]]]

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, he said them. And he meant them. Took a while, I admit, but he had some soul searching of his own to do before he could say it. Glad you liked it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by desert_oasis 

30th April 2010:
love it! good job, i hope her father doesnt find out lol

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, yes, Laura's dad. Always the threatening presence in the background, isn't he? But she felt like she should be able to do what she was doing so she wasn't feeling very guilty. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by saffy 

8th April 2010:
Hi there :)

"And there's no such thing as a better offer than you." i just about died at this line so sweet :)

Once again your incorporation of existing cannon is remarkable. i feel sometimes it put in in this clumsy way as if to say "look at what i know" but you make it flow beautifuly with the plot a real extention of Jks world its just wonderful!

HA YES !!! HE SAID IT :):):):):) *happy dances*

Thanks for another great chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, he said it. I thought the timing was right (this will be explained more in the one-shots) and it was a great way to end the chapter, don't you think?

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by always_dreaming 

26th March 2010:
well now he's sounding a little like bertram. shouldn't he be respecting her decision? we all know where this is heading- discovery!! silly kids.

Author's Response: Ah, Sirius is far from perfect and this is a case of him behaving selfishly. He wants her to stay so he's trying whatever he can to try to change her mind. Not that he doesn't mean it, of course, but it is a little manipulative. So yes, he probably should be respecting her decision, but he's an 18 year old boy and he has his faults. As for where it's heading, well my lips are (of course) sealed.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by JeanSyrotS 

7th March 2010:
aw. Sirius the first to admit!

aw...

Author's Response: Hi Jean!

yes, Sirius was the first to say it. I thought it was time, and it made for a great chapter break. *evil grin* Glad you appreciated it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Nynfadora 

6th March 2010:
love the last line- good cut off point :) really enjoying it all so far :D

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, it was the perfect end point for a chapter, wasn't it? If it was in the middle it wouldn't have been nearly so dramatic. Glad you appreciated it!

Next chapter will be uploaded very soon so I hope you like that one.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Clarebear *random chick* 

5th March 2010:
okay i just started reading this and i read it all in like a week it is awesome!!! !!! Though u better up date soon or u will have to profect ur sheild charm to james and sirius's standers i have a good aim!!!

Author's Response: Hi Clarebear! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean . :D

Anyway, I update every 5-7 days generally so the next chapter will be uploaded ... today! In fact, very shortly. I just need to add a couple of things to it and it will be ready to go.

Oh, and my Shield Charm is nowhere near that good so I really hope you like what's coming up. (I have a feeling that a few people may not, so I'm a little concerned ... some practice may be in order I think!)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by StudentGardener 

5th March 2010:
Bahaha!!! Elvendork!!! Nice touch!!!

And Snuffles! And doing the crossword!!! All these little things that pop up now have a lot greater significance. :-)

Love it!

Author's Response: Hi there!

You know, you're the first person who's mentioned the crossword to me in a review. Like you noticed I did it quite deliberately (as I did with Elvendork and Snuffles) but I did wonder how many people would notice. So well done!

Anyway I'm glad you enjoyed it, I thought it was a bit of a stronger chapter than the last couple so I was hoping it would re-ignite people's interest. And there's a lot to come so maybe that will grab people too. Thanks for the feedback :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by redhead1287 

5th March 2010:
Hello again!! Sorry I'm a little late to review! I feel like my reviews are becoming redundant and aren't really a help to you anyway... but I want to leave them because I really enjoy your story! I loved how you wove in the name snuffles into the story line... very cute :) probably my favorite part until the cliffhanger "I love you" !!! I did think that it was kind of weird that Sirius was begging Laura to stay with him, but I guess it kind of makes sense with how hard he has fallen for her in the previous chapters. Regardless, I hope she does stay... maybe her parents will find out and then everything will be out in the open and lots more drama will happen :)

Great chapter!! Keep em' comin'!!

p.s. in case you were wondering, my exam went well despite the procrastination spent on HPFF!!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Ah, don't apologise for being late to review. Just the fact that you're reviewing at all is like a favour to me and makes me happy. Thank you :D

I'm very pleased that you liked the Snuffles bit and the end point - I'm sure you'll agree it was the perfect place to stop the chapter. As for Sirius begging, well I did put a lot of thought into that and I really think that is how he would behave in that situation. I think he had his own insecurities and vulnerabilities and she would be one of the only people allowed to see that side of him, and besides, he'd been looking forward to her visit all holidays and he didn't like the idea of it being cut short. We know from OotP that he doesn't always react well when things don't go his way, and while it was selfish and manipulative in its way, he didn't necessarily see it as being that. He just wanted her to stay, so he tried everything he could think of to convince her.

As for how it all pans out with her parents and everything, well that of course remains to be seen. All will be revealed next chapter (which is only a day or so away now).

Congrats on the exam, I'm glad you did well despite the procrastination!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by madperson42 

5th March 2010:
Hey again
another great chapter, I love the ending! Is this the first time Sirius has said 'I love you' to Laura? Or the first serious (pun not intended) proper time? Whatever, it was a good place to end.

I must admit I was almost as suprised as Sirius that Laura hadn't had some disaster to stop her going to see him but no... you saved it for the end with her dad making trouble.

I liked the meeting with aunty Gina, and the creation of snuffles; i had always thought that James might have made it up to tease Sirius but I think i prefere yur idea.

Can't wait for chapter no. 52!
MP42

Author's Response: Hi again!

To answer your question, yes it was the first time. Why that was is actually gone into more detail in the one-shots (it's covered a little in the rest of this narrative, but it's really explained in the one-shots) but yeah, the timing was right. I'm glad you liked it as an ending point because I thought it was hard to go past.

You know, I like the idea of James coming up with Snuffles! But I like my idea too, which is (oddly enough) why I used it. Thank you :D

Next chapter will be up in the next day or so I think. Just needs another proof read.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by dominicancat 

4th March 2010:
Awe it got so sad at the end, great chapter loved it =D

Author's Response: Hi again!

Wow, that was sad at the end? It wasn't supposed to be. Frustrating, yes, selfish of Sirius, yes, but not sad. However, if you think of it that way then I'm not complaining. *grins* But yeah, he said it. I thought ti was about time.

Next chapter is due up sometime over the weekend.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by mizzxpearl 

4th March 2010:
HE SAID ITTT!!

About time!!

I loved the way you had him say it too! I feel like the way he wanted her to stay, even though the fact that she might get in trouble, is such a guy thing - such a Sirius thing! Your charactersation of him was spot on!

Hehe, Elvendork :P Glad you added he/she/it in there! And Snuffles was a great add in too!

Oh my, the preasure is really building up now. I just can't work out how you're going to break up Sirius and Laura. :/ And with so little chapters left of your story, the breakup (or something totally bad happening to Laura) must be coming soon. :/

So, I've brainstormed what would happen in the next chapter. Either Laura will say "I love you, too" and stay with Sirius, causing her parents to find out and her getting in trouble, OR she'll leave, causing Sirius to feel really hurt that she left right after he told her he loves her.

Update soon please! Like I said before, sorry for the lack of reviews. *hangs head in shame.* I've just been so busy lately!

Author's Response: Hi again! And thanks for the review!

Yes, he said it. I thought people might like that. And can I say that I'm really pleased that you think I got the characterisatoin right because I've had a few people questioning that, but I put a lot of thought into it and I really think that's how he'd behave in that situation. I'm also pleased that you liked the Elvendork/Snuffles references :D

As for what's going to happen, well I will say that the next chapter is a dramatic one (I hope tha'ts not too much of a spoiler) but that's all I'll reveal. You'll have to read on. *evil laugh*

And like I said, no worries aobut the lack of reviews. Like I said, we all have real lives.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by fire witch 

3rd March 2010:
UPDATE SOON!!! i have to know what happens!!!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean.

Anyway, I take it you liked that chapter? I guess it was probably the end bit, that seems to be what people are responding to this time. I thought it was about time he said it, it worked for the story and it felt right. Glad you appreciated it!

Next chapter is due to be uploaded on the weekend sometime.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Twilight_Princess 

3rd March 2010:
*Jaw drops* I...I... wow. I bet once Laura's aunt called her mom, who probably told her husband, he started to check up on Laura. I hate when that happens! LOL I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

So, I take it you weren't expecting that statement to come out just yet? It felt like it was the right time, though, so I did it - that, and it was the perfect place to end a chapter. (Yes, I do love to tease you all. Or do I mean torture?) And yeah, I think that Gina did put the call through which made Laura's parents just that little bit more anxious.

Next chapter will be up on the weekend. Hope you like it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by inky 

3rd March 2010:
Aw!! *sniffle* And this is why I love this story. Sirius is such a sweetie!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Aw, thanks. *beams* I thought the timing was about right for that last statement -and it was the perfect place to end a chapter - so it went in there. Glad you liked it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by himalyanharry 

3rd March 2010:
melian
could you please update a little earlier than you usually do we here in bhutan get it at monday morings.
plus your stories are great hit here
great chapter as always though

Author's Response: Hi there! thanks for reviewing again!

I'm on track to update sometime over the weekend I think - not sure when, it depends on when my kids give me enough time online, but it will be before Monday. GMT, that is. So, going by what I would think the time difference would be, you will get it before Monday.

Glad you liked the chapter, though, I thought it was one of my stronger ones. Not fantastic, but better than the last couple at least. Thanks!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>