Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by john 

17th November 2011:
nice story line plot is good i enjoyed it all

Author's Response: Thanks john. Glad you enjoyed it. There's a whole universe of stories connected to it; check out the timeline in the author's note at the end of the Epilogue

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #2, by laine 

11th November 2011:
Hi,
this was another one that I just couldn't stop reading. I have laughed and cried as I read this. Great story, keep up the good work.
Oh I also went and read 1917Farmgirl's story, Healing, like you suggested in the AN of one of the chapters, it was a great read too, and thank you for recommending it. Do you have any others to recommend. :D
Thank you, again,
Laine

Author's Response: Thanks so much Laine. It's been really great hearing from you throughout your reading the Crusadiverse and I'm really flattered you enjoyed it.

Good news! I beta for farmgirl and the next chapter of Healing should post soon. As for other recomendantions, I'd strongly suggest How to Tame a Marauder, by Melian; Snogging Sara Simpson, by ericajen, for starters.

Thanks again!

Eldy

P.S. If you're in the mood for some really funny post Hogwarts stuff, I'd suggest anything by the dirigibleplum - check them out in my favorites.


 Report Review

Review #3, by MalfadaPrewett 

1st November 2011:
It's because of you that my chem lab homework lays untouched and I'm up way past my bedtime. All happening because I decided to take a mild break and check the Dobby 2011 awards. I must say after spending the better portion of my night reading this, you definitely deserved your title. I normally don't like AU (or anything similar to AU, picky I know) but you have done a marvelous job that I feel was a close as one could get to match JKR's world while also imparting their own aspects and opinions. The little things you added to the characters were great, the different sides of them that we don't really get to see. Wonderful work, I wish you further success and congratulate you again on your very well-deserved award.

Author's Response: Thanks Malfada! Chem homework? No fun that, but I wouldn't be much of a role model if I didn't scold you a little for letting it sit. Tsk!

This is an absolutely stellar review. It means quite a lot to me to hear a reader get sucked into one of my stories, especially if its this one. Although Crusade has spawned a whole universe of stories, this is my magnum opus. To have it praised like this truly makes my day, even moreso when I hear from someone who typically shies away from "AU-ish" stories.

Thank you so much and I hope to hear from you again.

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #4, by Marissa 

22nd September 2011:
Wow... This story is just... amazing. I read Stop All the Clocks two nights ago and I've spent the past two days reading this. I honestly have to say that this is one of the best Fan Fictions I have ever read. I've been searching for a story that takes place after the war but they have just been too 'lovey dovey' for me. But this is absolutely perfect. I can't wait to read your other stories, I'm truly addicted. (: Great work!! You are definitely a gifted writer!

Author's Response: Hello Marissa! And thank you so much for this amazing review. I'm really glad you've enjoyed Clocks and Crusade.

I wrote Clocks with the sole intent of finding a way to make Ron the undisputed hero. Unfortunately, to do that effectively I had to kill nearly everyone off, including him. I simply couldn't leave the Clocks reality in the horrible state it was in, and the result was Crusade, which has spawned several pre quels (a timeline is included in the author's note at the end of Crusade's last chapter).

Actually, one of the reasons I wrote Crusade was to get away from the "lovey dovey" post hogwarts stuff out there and to try and do a fair balance between R/Hr and H/G. it seems too many fics, post hogwarts, focus too much on just one of the main pairings.

Anyway, I'm truly flattered by your excellent review and I hope to hear from you again soon.

Cheers

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #5, by emma 

22nd June 2011:
what a fab story :) i haven't got this excited reading since deathly hallows! xx

Author's Response: Thanks emma! Really glad you enjoyed it; I had a ball writing it.

If you're interested, this tale is part of a whole universe of stories, with more on the way. A chronology of the Crusadiverse is included below:

1998 - July - "Hermiones Wand" - one shot - posted in "Tales from the Crusadiverse" as Chapter 1

1999- August - "Journey of a Thousand Miles" one shot - posted as Chapter 1 of "The Staffer's Choice Awards," a Prefect's Collaboration. It's in my favorites.

2000 - August -The Battle of the Pitch (main story line) -short story -posted

2000 -November - "The Adventures of Reckless Git and Danger Ponce" - short story- posted in "Tales from the Crusadiverse" as Chapters 2, 3 and 4.

2002 Spring "Best Laid Plans," -one shot; and "The Proposal" - short story - both posted.

2002 -Early Summer - "The Tipping Point" - short story - posted as part of "Tales From the Crusadiverse" Chapters 5, 6 and 7

2002 - Summer - "Children's Crusade"- novel sequel to Stop All The Clocks - posted

2003 December "The Gift"- one shot - posted as Chapter 30 of "The Final Battle," site-wide collaboration. It's in my favorites.

2004 -May - "The Battle of the Pitch" (introductory story line) posted



 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyGreenEyes 

29th April 2011:
Thankyou for this story. As you said in your AN, setting the rights wrong. I'm so glad we finally have a happy ending for them all. And a happy ending that was so touchingly written, with a sensitivity and beauty that only you can do. It's made me very emotional to read those final scenes with Mione and Ronnie, I didn't spill over until the last part of the Epilogue, and then I went full on blubbering wreck again! And then I read your AN, and I really spilled over. Thankyou, from the absolute bottom of my heart. To have praise like that on the final chapter of such a brilliant story by such a brilliant writer is truly touching. A million thankyous my friend.

And so, to a brief review then ;) I won't say much because I think in all honesty you know how well this is written, how well you have completed it and how well you have tied all the loose ends from 'Clocks'.

I thoroughly enjoyed Maxime almost taking on the role of Dumbledore in this final chapter. The explainations were explicit and entirely understandable and cleared a few questions I'd got loitering!

I first started to well up when they were all saying their goodbyes. I thought this was so heartfelt, touching and written with a perfect balance whilst remaining sensitive, in truth, it was amazing, fabulous *insert a thousand more positive adjectives here*

Mione explaining things to Ronnie was beautiful, and the fact that she is pregnant is a beautiful way to end the story, truly brilliant to balance things up and set the world right. I really felt empty after 'Clocks', it was a fantastic story, but I felt it needed finishing and balancing, and here you have done that masterfully. I cannot remember where I read it, but someone once said that nature always tries to balance itself and right it's own wrongs, and you've really picked up on this here.

And so, the end of another piece of fantastic writing by yourself. I said it all in the first paragraph, but let me say one more thing again, heartfelt and profoundly, thankyou Eldy, thankyou xx

Author's Response: Lily, I'm truly speechless at this magnificent review.

I first read it two days ago and have been hoping, in that time, to come up with an adequate response. So here I am, can't put it off any longer and I'm still having trouble finding the words.

I couldn't let Clocks end that way. And, again, you hit the nail right on the head. Nature is self correcting. Fate simply couldn't let things stand as they were (and neither could I).

The big plot hole in Clocks was the blood protection. Specifically, that while Voldy lived, Harry should've been anchored to life. Out of a combination of Bella killing him and Harry not being allowed to remain behind as anything more than a gaurdian, the reality was simply to unstable to exist.

Put another way - Clocks could never, should never have happened! LOL!

But, I'll tell you, I'd made such a mess of things in the Clocks reality, it took a whole novel and a LOT of skull sweat to put everything right and explain just what the heck happened. I say this in nearly every chapter, but its true: I'm really really really flattered that you think it works. Plot can be a horrid nightmare at times. And I've painted myself into a few corners on occasion. But, fortunately, the only ret-con I've had to do in Crusade was add in the reference to "Reckless Git and Danger Ponce" in chapter three.

I first had Ginny refer to them as that in "The Proposal" which takes place a month before Crusade. Then I wrote "Pitch" which takes place two years before Crusade and decided to explain the origins of the nicknames (courtesy of Ginny and Hermione for the crazy heroics our heroes engaged in at Appleby).

Then, I finally decided to use the names as a story title: "The Adventures of Reckless Git and Danger Ponce." It takes place about three months after "Pitch."

It would've been so much more helpful if I'd written these tales in order before I started posting. I really don't know how JKR managed it (or Tolkein for that matter).

Maxime as Dumbles: again your spot on. that was what I was going for and it just seemed right for her to handle part of the explanation and Hermione to do the rest.

The goodbye scene still gets to me. I'm glad it has the same effect on you. While its still horrid that Ron is leaving his Hermione, again, a new set of weasley twins will be gracing the Burrow.

My betas split over the idea of leaving 'Mione pregnant; but, since I'm the author I got the last word. Literally. LOL.

Now, I cannot take credit for the epilogue. Siledubghlase, a brilliant writer, and one of my betas, bodged it together in about fifteen minutes. I tweaked it only slightly. Amazing isn't it? Still chokes me up when I read it.

I'm loathe to close, but all good things must come to an end.

Lily, you've been with me from the start and I can't tell you how much it means to have you come back and leave such wonderful reviews for this tale.

Thank you my friend,

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #7, by Psyber014 

17th January 2011:
Mrs. Rowling,

Good cover identity! I understand why you can't write these true stories officially, but I'm ecstatic you're continuing the saga in such satisfying fashion. All the work you and your comrades put in showed. Keep 'em coming! :p

Have you considered contacting an epic fanart person and recommending they read Stop All the Clocks and this? I can see an oil painting of 21-year-old Ginny in armor swinging a sword against Nagini, and one of the quartet suited up for battle looking grim, just for starters. That won't be me, but see if you can find who painted "brightest witch of the century" on the first page of the "exceptional" gallery of the second page of fanart galleries on Mugglenet. Just a thought.

Thanks for the ride! Perfect except for:
...Harry giving in to his hate- though this made the character very human, it just... no. :)
...The fact that FUBAR-universe Harry had no choice at all to stay or go as his blood protection had no effect on Bellatrix's magic (which was your brilliant point in the first place, yes?)
...and the girls being such... erm... promiscuous people, and the guys taking advantage of it... :( That's in all the good fanfics and gets old fast. It does show they've grown up, and on that note you did an AMAZING job of them thinking, talking, and acting their new age, but that's the only thing that made it less believable for me.

Phenomenal! I listened to the intro from the new Star Trek for the last two chapters... it did the trick well enough.

Author's Response: Mrs. Rowling? My wife will get a kick out of that! ;)

Thanks for this great review Psyber014! Its always great to hear from a new reader. Especially when its a review for Crusade, which is my magnum opus.

Crusade is part of a Universe of stories I've written, for the "canon" universe, that is.

Here's the chronology (although they weren't written in this order):

Crusadiverse Timeline:

2000 - August - "Battle of the Pitch" main story line (novella)

2002 - Spring - "Best Laid Plans," (one shot) and "The Proposal" (short story)

2002 - Summer - "Children's Crusade" (novel)

2003 - December - "The Gift" (one shot, chapter 30 of "The Final Battle" a site-wide collaboration; its in my favorites)

2004 - May - "Battle of the Pitch" introductory story line (novella).

There should be more on the way, I'm just not sure when I'll get around to writing them. Hopefully by Spring.

I'd love to see some Crusade/Clocks inspired fanart. I may just track down "Alicia," the artist who did "brightest witch of the century." I checked it out and you're right, she's amazing!

The Clocks-reality Harry did have something of a choice as to whether to stay or go, but he couldn't remain in corporeal form - because it was Bella that hurled the killing curse at him, he didn't have the same kind of "blood sheild" that he had against Voldy. The best he could do was choose to stay behind and act as somthing of a guardian, but he couldn't completely dodge his own death.

As to Harry yielding to hate, I think its more aptly put that he yeilded to rage (maybe I should rewrite that and make it more clear). At this point in his life, he's really had it; his monologue in "Choosing to be Chosen" really sums it up. It just seemed to me that (given how his temper erupted at the end of OotP) someone or somthing that threatened Ginny's well being would drive him totally over the edge.

As for the active libido's, I really think its the girls taking advantage of the guys here. LOL!

Thanks so much for the praise on maturation of the characters. That's always tricky to get right (especially with Ron), I'm really glad you liked it.

Star Trek? Excellent choice of music! I usually write to music and I was using "Duel of the Fates" from Phantom Menace as inspiration when I wrote the big duel in "Assault on the Imperium." I listened to some of the "First Contact" soundtrack when I wrote some of the other Crusadiverse tales, so it looks like brilliant minds think alike.

Thanks so much for the great review and for reading Crusade and Clocks. It means a lot to get feedback from readers, especially a very thoughtful review like this.

Sinc

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ronsgirl29 

20th December 2010:
I'm so bad, because I finished reading this story about two weeks ago, but I haven't had time to come back and leave a review! But, I'm doing it now! So I guess better late than never (:

anyway

AMAZING AMAZMING AMAZING AMAZING. and several more amazings.

When I first started the story, I liked it a lot, and I remember thinking one night before bed that I'd have time to read one chapter... Several hours later I was done. I was so hooked that one chapter turned into reading the whole rest of it (about 13 chapters I think?) haha I don't remember. By the time I was finished it was 3 am and I was litterally sitting at my computer crying like a baby. No story on this site has ever made me cry that much, EVER. I had to go get myself tissues!

As much as it broke my heart, I don't think you could have ended it any better way. I felt so bad for the other universe Hermione that had to go back to a world without everyone in it (gah, I'm about to tear up just thinking about it!) but at least she would have two more children. I loved that the burrow would have Weaselys in it again, even if it would never be the same.

I don't know what else to say other than thank you for writing so a wonderful story. I truly enjoyed reading it, and I even recommended it to a good friend of mine who also reads stories on this site!

10/10
-ronsgirl29

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this great review!

Crusade is my magnum opus, so getting a review like this really makes my day. I especially like hearing that it was a real "page turner." That's really high praise and I can't thank you enough.

The ending was somthing that I struggled with. I knew 'Mione would be left in the "Clocks" reality, and I knew it was not going to be a happy moment. But, once I got the idea of the twins and having her move into the Burrow, I thought I'd set things as right as I could. My betas split over the idea of leaving Mione pregnant, but I got the last word. LOL!

Rest assured, Mione finds her parents in Australia and they live with together in the Burrow (they open a dental practice in Ottery St. Catchpole). So, all is as well as I could make it.

Thanks again for advertising for Crusade. That really means a lot.

Merry Christmas

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #9, by baldurpotter 

21st September 2010:
great story really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Its always great to hear from a new reader. So's you know, this tale is the last story (presently) in a whole universe of tales, starting with "Battle of the Pitch."

Great to hear from you.

Sinc

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #10, by melian 

18th August 2010:
*reaches for more tissues*

You have to stop doing this to me, you do realise that? If it wasn't 'Mione & Ronnie's conversation about moving to the Burrow, it was the epilogue. It's so nice to know that for someone who had such a horrible life, things will settle down and be relatively normal for her. At long last.

Though I don't envy her the life of a single mother with twins. Geez, one would be bad enough, but twins? And a four year old running around at the same time? The poor woman will NEVER sleep.

I am extremely happy that you've left us with a happy ending, though. They're not as common as you might think and after a story like this (and Clocks) it's so nice to have something that MIGHT translate to "happily ever after". Even if Harry has recognised that there will always be SOMETHING . it's just what he was born to do, isn't it?

Right, Kingsley, I'm on holidays for two weeks now. And if you owl me I'll quit. :)

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: A tissue comment is the hightest praise. Always has been, always will be.

Again, Mel I can't thank you for all the kind words and for taking the time to read, what I hope, you found to be an enjoyable tale.

A happy ending (or one as happy as I could make it) was vital here. I set out to write Crusade with the sole purpose of setting right everything that went wrong in Clocks. But, as the summary for "Return to the Cliffs of Dover" makes clear, some things can't be fixed.

I'm pleased as firewhiskey that you liked the ending for 'Mione. Rest assured, while she will have a house full of Weasleys to contend with (YIKES!) she'll not be raising them alone. The Grangers move into the Burrow with her and become pretty much as how I've written them in the "canon" reality. Between you and me, I'm pretty certain that the kids find a way to charm a broom so that Grandpa G can play Quidditch with them.

As for the canon characters. Life will go on for them and there will most likely be more stories post-Crusade now, although I'm not sure what shape they will take. We'll just have to see.

The Epilogue always chokes me up, too. I didn't write it (although I did tweak it and edit it a bit). Siledubhghlase wrote it for me in about 10 minutes. Amazing, isn't it?

Two weeks...most definitely! LOL! Reading one shots is the best way to get that review count up; no worries about the rest of the Crusadiverse; it'll be here if you're ever interested.

As for me, I'm about wrapped up with the collab and then I'm off to HTM (and, no, I DO NOT expect review responses).

Thanks again Mel,

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #11, by Miss Lily Potter 

16th August 2010:
It's done. My gosh.

I don't even know what to say. I know I've jumped on the Crusade bandwagon late, but I really adored reading this story, and the prequel. So much emotion, so much feeling was packed into every chapter, and I think it's absolutely brilliant. I will definitely be checking out more of your work, and I'll read the stories of the others' (1917farmgirl, for the record, is one of my favorites as well).

The epilogue had me crying like the sap that I am. It was bittersweet, but I was just thinking about how 'Mione's alone, but not completely. And I LOVE that she gets to see her family again.

I'm happy that this had a 'happy' ending, for the most part. If it had ended in a Clocks-esque way, that wouldn't have been as good. ;D But this, while not fairytale perfect, was enough. And I loved the scene with the ale, it was sweet and perfect.

Just... a totally brilliant story. I loved it. Fantastic job. Amazing. This review doesn't do it justice, but there aren't words to describe it.
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Dear Jasmine,

After all these breathtaking reviews, your not the only one whose at a loss for words.

Reviews are like catnip. I can never get enough of them and yours have been absolutely stellar. And, no worries about jumping on the Crusade bandwagon "late." The Crusadiverse continues to expand, four stories total now and, hopefully, more on the way. Having just finished "Battle of the Pitch," I'll be taking a bit of a break. But I'll be back.

Oh and the Mighty Farmgirl? She is aces, isn't she? "Healing" has to be my one of my all time favorite post DH stories. That kid can write! (She's also my adopted lil sis out here in Potterdom, so I may have a slight bias. LOL!)

To hear that I left you in tears (of joy, hopefully) is really high praise indeed. The Epilogue, however, I cannot take complete credit for. Siledubhghlase wrote it for me and I just tweaked it here and there. She's another amazing writer and I highly recomend her stuff, which she co-author's with justanothermuggle. They've been VERY strong influences on my writing.

The ending here isn't perfect, but I made such a mess of things in Clocks, this is as close as I could get to setting things right. I can promise you that 'Mione's well, as are her children and parents.

The Burrow's full of Weasleys and, I have no doubt the kids charmed a broom so that Grandpa G could play Quidditch with them. LOL! My betas actually split over whether I should leave 'Mione pregnant. But I just couldn't bear the thought of just she and Ronnie living in the Burrow alone.
I simply couldn't have had a "Clocks" ending here. I really couldn't stomach it. It was time for some light to drive away the darkness and I'm glad you agree.


As for the canon characters, I wanted to show that all was well with them, too. Hence, the ale scene and the cleansing laughter. They needed it just as much as I'm sure anyone who reads this tale did too. And, like I said, I'm an old softy at heart.

Its been a real pleasure. I do hope to hear from you again throughout the Crusadiverse.

So, till the next time...

Elder


 Report Review

Review #12, by PrincessPadfoot 

15th August 2010:
"Ive put Marietta in charge of the Department of Magical Law Enforcement. It turns out she was the leader of the resistance. She kept it such a closely-guarded secret, not even Smith knew. I'm glad that you gave her a better reputation. It sucks being the person to go down in history as the 'sneak'.

The tearful goodbye had me all choked up! Little Ronnie was so adorable. I very nearly did cry when he said 'Daddy'. Parting is such sweet sorrow...but this scene was beautiful. The emotions are so real. Well done.

Another of my favorites, are the scenes with Mione and Ronnie after the quartet have left. I love the fact that she is pregnant with twins no less! She's going to have her hands full raising three babies! Maybe sequel material? Maybe?

Basically.you've covered everything!! You tied up all the lose ends in this chapter!! But it was SO FLUFFY! hehe I know you have a close relationship with fluff and this was such a cute ending to a really tragic/beautiful/well written story.

I liked the return to the beech scene. It was almost exactly the same as the one from all those chapters ago...but quite a different experience now knowing what they've been through. I liked that the guys had a good laugh. They deserved it.

Aww I always feel a sort of sadness when I finish a fan fiction or any book type thing (book type thing? really did I just say that?). But just know that this is one of my all time favorite stories and I would be very surprised if I didn't come back a read it again someday.

Love Ya!
PP

P.S. Now onto Battle of the Pitch!!!

Author's Response: Fluff, fluff and more fluff. I love fluff. And a few tear jerker moments.

I'm really glad you liked this chapter. Tying up the loose ends was a bit difficult. So many folks wanted Ron and 'Mione to find a way to stay together, but the Muse wouldn't have it. But, then the idea of the twins hit me. My betas divided over the idea, but I loved it. I just couldn't stand the idea of the Burrow devoid of Weasleys.

And then we go back to the beach. I thought it was a good way to wrap everything up again, and to show that everyone was gonna be alright.

Sadness at the close? Me too. Finishing writing a fic is always a little deflating for me. I just finished Pitch this weekend and am a bit tired, and a little deflated. I've got nothing else written and no other ideas ready to jump to paper. So, as with when I finished Crusade, its time for a break.

PP, I can't thank you enough for all the brilliant reviews and the nomination for Story Seekers. I owe you big time.

Thanks again!

Elder


 Report Review

Review #13, by Chuckelangel 

7th August 2010:
I've read this, the propsal, the best laid plans and the first 5 chapters of the battle of the pitch all in one day, and they're ace.

Your stories are great!

Author's Response: Thanks!!

You may be one of the first people to read these in anything near Chronolgocial order. I wrote them backwards. Really glad you're enjoying the crusdadiverse.

Hope to hear from you again soon.

Elder


 Report Review

Review #14, by ShePotter 

28th July 2010:
Ok, ok, GREAT! I first started reading "The Battle of the Pitch" and then realized all the other stores. I also read the "Clock" and hated it, not the writing, the story. However, now that I am reading them all this a great, wonderful story. If you can help, is "the pitch" after all the other stories. Have I left one out? I assume this is after due to Harry saying he is going to be a "father". However, in one of your notes you say read this story to know how it ends. If you answere reviews I hope I get an answer, if not I guess I will have to wait until the end to understand:) Keep writing, great job.

Author's Response: Hey SP! Thanks for reading Crusade. I put a lot of blood sweat and tears into it, so I'm glad you liked it.

Ok, now to the order of the stories.

Chronologically, the main story line in "Battle of the Pitch" takes place first - two years after the Battle of Hogwarts (2000). To be clear, the portion of "Pitch" that deals with Hermione getting promoted to Undersecretary and Yaxley's break out, takes place in the year 2000.

Next up is a one shot, called "Best Laid Plans." It takes place four years after the Battle of Hogwarts (2002), but about six weeks or so before "Crusade."

After that comes a short story, "The Proposal." It also takes place in 2002, but about a week after "Best Laid Plans" and about a month before "Crusade."

The story line in "Pitch" that begins and ends every chapter (those parts where Harry is wounded and staggering down the road) talkes place in 2004, six years after the Battle of Hogwarts and two years after the events in Crusade. The idea here is that in 2004, Harry is remembering, via flashback, the events leading up to the Battle of the Pitch back in 2002.

"Stop All The Clocks," takes place between May 2, 1998 and May 6, 1998. As you know, its an Alternate Universe. Its the first story I wrote on this site. For what its worth, I have a love/hate relationship with it. I love the emotional impact of the story but absolutely hated to leave it as it ended. Because of that, I wrote "Crusade" so there would be somthing of a happy ending for the Hermione ('Mione) from the AU reality.

After I finished writing Crusade, I realized there was a lot of backstory for me to play with, which is why I wrote "Plans," "Proposal" and am now finishing "Pitch."

I hope that helps clear things up. I do hope to hear from you again.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Elder

P.S. If I've just confused you more, just drop me another review and I'll see if I can clear it up.



 Report Review

Review #15, by SammyJ 

23rd July 2010:
What an amazing end to a fabulous story! I was welling up by the end and was left screaming for more! Thankyou so much for writing Children's Crusade! You've captured so many brilliant aspects of these characters that I just love! I'll keep my fingers crossed for a sequel and I'll make sure to read more of the works by the authors you suggested.
Thankyou again... you're brilliant!

Author's Response: Hi Sammy!

Thanks for this great review. I'd seen you'd favorited Pitch, Proposal and Crusade and I'm very flattered.

There's more on the way, as I'm sure you know. Pitch is completed and I plan to post chapter four this weekend; there's a total of six chapters in that tale. Not sure if you read "Best Laid Plans" yet, but it directly leads into "The Proposal."

As for another Crusadiverse story, I'm sure there will be one, just not sure what it is yet. The muse hasn't shared that with me.

Defintely check out the tales I mentioned; they are amazing and most, in one way or another, helped inspire me to write the Crusadiverse.

Again, thanks for this great review; it made my day.

Hope to hear from you again soon.

Elder


 Report Review

Review #16, by harryfan100 

19th July 2010:
So I finished this story and I liked it, but yeah the Voldemort parallels to our history always seems to pop up a lot nowadays

Author's Response: A bit scary how much real evil there is out there; one would wonder if we really need any fictional evil added to the mix.

Thanks so much for the great review and for reading Crusade.

Elder


 Report Review

Review #17, by bea 

8th July 2010:
that this bloody great i cry and laugh and freak out thought the whole story and thank you for make it and share it with us just keep what your doing all of you.

Author's Response: Thanks bea! I will. It was a pleasure to write, and Its really great to hear from people who enjoyed it.

TEW


 Report Review

Review #18, by RonsGirlFriday 

5th July 2010:
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this. Congrats on completing a fic of this length. How long did it take you to write it overall? I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the Crusadeverse stuff, and anything else you may write in the future. :-D

Melanie

Author's Response: Thanks so much. The first draft took about a month - but I was editing up until the last chapter posted - so three months all said and done.

Its been a real pleasure answering these spectacular reviews. Great to hear from you!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #19, by edward ollivander 

4th July 2010:
such a touching ending. i half expected to find out that the Hermione who went back with Ron was also carrying twins. that sure would have stirred things up. Thanks for all of the stories you've written. I'm really glad i read them all after being requested to by the podcast. I'll check back for more in the furure. Happy writing.

Author's Response: I wanted the ending to be a bit of a tear jerker - I'm glad you found it touching.

I toyed with the idea of hermione being pregnant too, but I wanted to keep the "canon" characters as close to "canon" as possible so I could continue their story independent of the AU reality.

No one in the "canon" verse knows about 'Mione's pregnancy. My intent is for the canon characters to go on with their lives and have the children as indicated in the epilogue of DH. My only intended change was to ignore the inference in the epilogue that "all was well" meant that everything had been sunshine and roses since the Battle of Hogwarts.

Edward, its been a real pleasure reading your reviews all the way through. Thanks so much, and "Happy writing" to you too, mate!

TEW

P.S. I must get over and read your stuff!


 Report Review

Review #20, by lauraf68 

13th June 2010:
Wow. Very Intense! Thanks for a great read. I really enjoyed the "romantic" feel to the ending. 'Mione and Ronnie will survive and thrive in the 'bad' realm. The Quartet will survive and thrive in the 'good' realm (I think you know what I mean).
Happy Writing in your realm. :-) ~~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hey Laura!

Thanks so much for reading Crusade. Yeah, I kinda liked the ending too, much as I hated to leave 'Mione without Ron. But it had to be.

So glad you liked it.

Thanks again

TEW

Coming Soon: The Battle of the Pitch, prequel to Children's Crusade.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Pacific Wizard 

10th June 2010:
TEW: Wow, wow, wow. You are an amazing writer and your imagination is well...I'm in awe. You have an amazing gift. I have read many fanfics but this one is very, very special. You have a descriptive and fluid writing style and you organize your thoughts well so complicated plots don't drag the reader down forcing them to solve a difficult puzzle. Yet, you make us think it through, interact with the characters and all their emotions. I could go on and on and you certainly deserve all the accolades heaped upon you. All I can say at this point is that I will be an avid fan of your work. Btw, the help you give other authors is very generous of you and you need to be commended for that. Well done. PW 100/10

Author's Response: PW, ocasionally I get a review like this and I'm kind of at a loss for a response.

Thanks, so much.

I really don't know what else to say here.

Just an amazing review.

As to other authors, I like plugging (and helping out) other folks with great stories, especially the ones that I don't think are getting enough play - incidentally, whiteeyebrow has an awesome story about Moody's back story: "Prisoner of Hope." I highly recomend it.

If you get the chance, I've got several other tales of the "Crusadiverse" up now. I know you've read "The Proposal," (and thanks for the great review, btw). There's a prequel to that, a one-shot, called "Best Laid Plans." It covers the talk Ron and Harry had at the Broomsticks that is elluded to in "The Proposal."

Also, coming soon a new novella: "The Battle of the Pitch." It takes place two years before Crusade. I'm almost done with it and will be posting soon.

Again, PW, its always great to hear from you. You're giving me a swelled head!

Thanks!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #22, by Sabya Sachi 

28th April 2010:
I was overwhelmed by the emotions, chewing my nails during the battles and always wondering, what would happen next. You are really an exceptional writer. Thank you for such a nice story... :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much for the praise. Children's Crusade is really my magnum opus; it means a lot to me that you liked it this much.

There are three other stories I've posted that are related to this tale: Stop All The Clocks, covers 'Mione's backstory, how Voldemort won the war in the alternate reality. Best Laid Plans and The Proposal, cover some of the back story for the characters in the canon reality and a third, currently being written, delves further into the canon character's history. It's called The Battle of the Pitch and should post in a few weeks.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on them.

Thanks again!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #23, by Pixileanin 

10th March 2010:
So here is more than a three-word reaction to your thoroughly enjoyable story.

Chapter one was terrifying and made me think that I wasn't going to like where it was going. But it was done so well that I just had to see what happened next. Chapter two really threw me. At first I thought I might have clicked on the wrong thing and even went back to check... Then I thought I might have missed something and went back to chapter one. Finally, I just stopped trying to figure it out and kept reading, thinking that there must be some master plan at work that I hadn't grasped yet.

I settled in somewhere in chapter three. Chapter four was delightful. At the end of chapter five, I took your direction and scanned through your other story (still have to go back and read it properly). I was glad that you put the space of those chapters before 'Mione's reappearance. So that was my reaction to the AU jump.

Chapter six had all that emotion with Hermione's disbelief and Ron's uncertainty of what to do... I can see Hermione being exactly like that. The next few chapters were an excellent portrayal of the characters. I especially liked Ginny's level head and then Ron. It was so good to see a maturing Ron.

The Voldemort scene in chapter twelve was just long enough to make your point. I liked that it was just a little bit. I thought it was very effective that way.

Then chapter thirteen... that wasn't on purpose, making it thirteen? Anyway, this chapter made me glad that you'd finished the story before I started reading it, or I'd just have been a mess for however long it took you to post the next few. The darkness, the AU resistance, yet another horcrux... wow. There was a lot going on in there, but it worked really really well. Really. It all made sense.

There were many moments in your story that were memorable, but if I had to pick one... when they saw the statues on the cliffs. That was a big moment for me.

Your action scenes held my interest all the way through, and that's saying something because I'm one to skim through those. Your emotional moments were great, your characters stood up all by themselves and everything fit together like it was meant to. Did I mention how impressed I was with Ron?

I don't have anything critical to say. Sorry, you just did too good of a job. I know I like scathing reviews so I can learn, but I just have nothing.

More than three words.

Author's Response: WOW!

That's definitley more than three words.

Here's two: THANK YOU!!

Ok. My head's swelling here.

I'm really thrilled the statues got to you. They always get to me. Frankly, I thought that was probably the single most powerful part of the tale and I dont seem to get too much feed back on it. Thanks!

Ron. I absolutely abhor Ron being written as a buffon in post Hogwarts fanfic. I always thought JKR was pretty clear that our Ron-boy finally turned the corner when he got into the Chamber of Secrets during the Battle of Hogwarts, so I prefer to write him as confident, if a little befuddled on occasion. I'm glad you liked that, too. In fact, this whole endeavor started because I wanted to write a story in which Ron got to play the hero. "Clocks" was the result.

But "Clocks" ended so horribly, I couldn't leave it alone. Toward the end of writing it, I got the strong image of 'Mione running into Ron's arms, only to be caught in the act by Hermione and then everything going straight to hades. I still wasn't sure how everything would pan out, but then I realized that I'd left a huge plot-hole in how Voldy killed Harry: the blood protection that anchored Harry to life. That plot hole gave me the "in" I needed to write "Crusade."

Lesseee...rereading your amazing review...

The flow has always concerned me, between chapter 1 and chapter 5. That's somthing I keep tweaking but am never sure what to do about. I'm glad you thought it worked, but it may need another edit if I had you confused. The hope was too keep the reader intrigued, but not completely lost. I hope I accmoplished that.

Ginny really is the glue that holds everyone together. I figured since she got sidelined in DH it was time for her to have her due. Also, since she is keeping everyone focused, it ocurred to me to be a great way to throw everyone off kilter by having her nearly die. Evil, I know, but what a fun plot device.

Hermione. I was always concerned that I wrote her too emotional. But I figured that if anything would throw Granger the Great off her game it would be the prospect of losing Ron, to...herself. I'm glad you thought her and Ron's reactions felt right.

I loved writing the AU just as dark as I could get it and only had a few opportunities to dwell on it; glad you liked it and the scenes with Voldy (he's hard to write!)

The action scenes were a load of fun. Too much at times. I'm really flattered you liked them, especially because they're not your normal cup of tea.

Again, Thanks so much for this amazing review!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #24, by mrsyaya 

16th February 2010:
This was a great alternate story. I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thanks mrsyaya! I had a great time writing it, and its always great to hear from people who liked it. Thanks for leaving a review.

 Report Review

Review #25, by TheDirigiblePlum 

9th February 2010:
Poor poor Mione! I can't help but feel sorry for her, especially as she thought about all the times when they all used to live in the Burrow. The idea of the Burrow being empty nearly made me cry, really! I just adore Harry Potter so much (you'd never have guessed would you? :D) and it's all ingrained so deeply in my mind that even reading fanfics can make me upset! Only if they're done well, like yours definitely has. :) All her memories will get her through won't they?

This chapter was just such a gorgeous ending, it really felt like all the loose ends had been tied together which fitted well with the contentment and peace that I felt whilst reading it. Harry and Ron on the beach watching Ginny and Hermione was a little *romantic sigh* moment especially as Harry said: "I'm in love." He so so deserves happiness and now he has a fiancee and a family to come and I just want to hug him because I'm so pleased he's happy. :D

This story has been a terrific journey and has really opened my eyes to a whole new genre of fanfic! I've never read any story that does action and fight and tension like you can and I've never been kept on the edge of my seat by any Harry Potter related story (apart from the books themselves of course) before.

I'm so sad this story is over. :( Do you have any other ideas milling around that might come about soon? :D Please say yes?!

Amazingly amazing read. Thank you so much for writing it!

10/10

Love, TheDirigiblePlum

Author's Response: DP! Well, I'm sorry this had to end too. I really enjoyed this tale and setting right all the wrongs from Clocks.

Don't worry about 'Mione. She's gonna be fine. I promise. Originally, I intended to end with Harry saying "I'm in love." That's still one of my favorite parts and I'm really flattered you liked that. But I just felt I needed more closure as to the 'Mione story-line. After all, this whole tale started with her. So I added the scene with her and Ronnie after the quartet left.

Once I determined to have her live at the Burrow, I just couldn't stomach the idea of just the two of them there. That's when the idea for the twins hit me. I wrestled with it for a while. That's when SD wrote the epilogue, which was amazing stuff.

So's you know: Mione has the twins, finds her parents in Australia and they come back and live with her at the Burrow. Mr. G eventually becomes a lot like the way I've written him in the canon reality, right down to having Ronnie charm a broom so he can play Quidditch with his grandkids.

I can't thank you enough for the gushing review. It means a lot, especially since I love your writing.

What's next? Well, a bit of a break. I've been attached to my computer since September, so I'm gonna sit out for a bit. New ideas? Well, the muse is a bit tired, but I do have a few plot bunnies kicking around. I'll probably do a few one shots to cover some of the four year period that only got hinted at here. I probably will not revisit the AU, tho. Rather, I'll focus on the Canon characters, most likely, in my next novel. But, never say never.

DP its been such a pleasure getting your reviews.

Until the next time...

TEW

P.S. Almost forgot, don't know if you read my Author's note at the end, but if you see Lupi Erminea or any of the other folks that read Clocks and immediately went out to buy black clothing, please tell them 'Mione's well and she's found a home.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>