Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by classicblack 

14th December 2011:
I love how you began this chapter with "something sinister..." which made me think it was something horrible that had happened, but it just turned out to be exams. I actually laughed.
Great chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Haha, you know, this seems to be a plot device that I like to use quite a bit. I just finished a new chapter for Twice Defied, and it starts off in a similar way. I'm glad it made you laugh!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Noblevyne 

30th June 2011:
I like the little treats you throw in - for example, Remus teaching students to handle a bogart was a nice touch.

And I do like that Diana isn't a complete troll - I had always figured that the Greengrasses might be a little nicer than most Slytherins.

And Mary is going to end up on the wrong side of the conflict - which is interesting.

Author's Response: I thought the same thing about the Greengrasses! :D Which is a big part of the reason why I included Diana in the first place. It was neat to show a different side of the Slytherin personality.

I figured Remus might have gotten his first taste of teaching before he got the job at Hogwarts--sad, though, because at this point, I'm sure he thought something like that was never going to possible. (And even sadder that he kind of turned out to be right, in the end.)

I have a sneaking suspicion you might be right about Mary. ;)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Leigh Kelley 

18th June 2011:
It's been a while, and even after more than a year, I read one chapter and fall back in love with this story. Though I wouldn't, I suppose, if you weren't such a brilliant writer.

I love how you included the little sessions with the fifth years and didn't just dance over it and push it to the back. Or, just completely ignore it and leave the readers to as well. I don't know if it's what you were going for, but James reminded me a bit like Harry during his DA time. He's not as completely confident, and not at all smug as I see him usually portrayed, and I like how he seems genuinely interested in assisting the students. And is that a little glimpse of future Professor Lupin that I see there? =P

Another thing I liked was your inclusion of Diana Greengrass, and the fact that she's not a bad person. People tend to forget that not everyone who ends up in Slytherin is particularly bad or evil, just like not because people end up in the other houses does that mean that they are good and nice, or that they don't hold other traits from the other houses as well. JKR showed that through Peter and Zacharias Smith, methinks. Anyway, good job.

Not all couples are perfect. They squabble, they fight, and sometimes they don't want to talk to each other. I like that James and Lily have little arguments too, and that you didn't blow it out of proportion. Something that would have definitely turned me off is her shouting and stomping around, as far as her character goes, because I never quite pictured her to be like that.

Can't wait to see where you're going with this Mary thing.

Great chapter, as always.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hi Leigh! I finally got the time to come reply (or at least begin to reply, knowing how I tend to go on and on in these things :P) to your fantastic reviews! I really wasn't exaggerating at all when I told you I missed your reviews. It's so nice to have a reader who not only completely gets what it is you're trying to achieve with the story, but is also right there with you, and likes the paths you choose to follow. It's really encouraging and comforting, so I'm so glad you're back! :D

In my mind, I like to think that helping out the fifth years is maybe what interested Remus in teaching. I don't know if I'd say he decided here that he wanted to be a teacher, but I kind of think of it as, he got exposed to it here and enjoyed it, so certainly later on, when he was offered the job at Hogwarts, he would think it sounded great. Of course, for someone in his situation, it would probably sound great regardless of whether they liked teaching or not, but hey...my imagination is overactive when it comes to these sorts of things. :P

I got weirdly attached to Diana in a very short space of time. I guess it's because there's some part of me that hopes that Astoria Greengrass was a little less snobby and prejudiced, and so writing about one of her relatives allowed me to live that out. :) I did also want to show that not all Slytherins were evil, though, like you said. It's interesting to look at the shades of grey that fall between the extremes that are sometimes presented in the books.

I'm not a fan of shouting-and-stomping Lily, either! :D I mean, Harry had his moments where he really exploded, but he wasn't walking around just waiting to unleash on people all the time. He only really lost his cool when there was a fairly good reason for it, and I've always imagined Lily would be pretty much the same.

Thank you so, so, so much for the review...it's so nice to hear your thoughts! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by doglover 

9th January 2011:
mary needs to stop acting like a baby and just talk to her friends and remus already!

Author's Response: Well, as you read, she does talk to Lily eventually--the results aren't so great, though! :S

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlPadfootPotter96 

21st December 2010:
Another awesome chapter! We'll figure Mary out soon, I hope?

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm so glad to hear you liked this chapter, too! And since it's taken so long for me to reply to you, I guess you already know what was going on with Mary. ;)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheBattleOfHogwarts 

14th December 2010:
I loved the idea of James and Remus giving DADA lessons - it's seems so characteristic of them!

Author's Response: I thought these little lessons might set a bit of a precedent for Remus becoming DADA teacher later in life--I think it was clear in the books that he enjoyed it, and, not only that, but he was also a very good teacher. As for James, he's just naturally suited to leadership positions, I think...that, and a bit of a show-off, so getting to teach younger students complicated magic would definitely appeal to him. ;)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by girly1393 

9th September 2010:
What? That was so weird. What is wrong with Mary?

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Mary is...well, like many people at her age, she's trying to figure herself out. Having been at that place, and having seen others there, I can definitely say that some people handle the transition much better than others. Mary doesn't really handle it in the best way, but suffice it to say that she's trying to break free of these labels that other people have put on her for years.

It is a bit weird from our perspective, though. :P

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by _hedwig_ 

24th April 2010:
I dont want it to end! I love this story!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! That makes me feel very good about the story. :) I'm so glad that you're still enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by CaribouProngs 

19th April 2010:
I REALLY appreciate the way you threw in Diana Greengrass like that, and for two reasons: The first just generally being that I think showing a lack of animosity between Gryffindor and Slytherin, and especially that NOT all of Slytherin house is into evil Death Eater things is a really good point to make in any fanfic. The second is that I'm assuming that this is the mother, or close relative of Draco Malfoy's future wife, and I like the idea that he married into a family that, while pureblood, isn't fanatical at all.
I'm kind of glad Lily and James had that almost-fight too, because I thought it was almost getting a little unrealistic there.
I'm hoping that we get to hear PLENTY about their next full-moon romp!

Author's Response: You know what's funny? Diana Greengrass, who gets all of about half a page of existence in the story, is probably my favourite OC out of this entire thing. (Well, perhaps not as much as Anna, but pretty close.) I don't know what it is about her, but I like her enough that I would even consider writing a separate story about her. I think it's definitely for the reason you stated, about how she's a Slytherin but still a nice person. I truly believe that though there are some nasty characters in Slytherin, and a good number of them make their presence felt in this story, that wouldn't always be the case. I'm so pleased that you liked her inclusion! As for her relation to Astoria, the way I have it envisioned, Diana's brother is Astoria's father--so she's her aunt. I also like the idea that Astoria wouldn't come from such a prejudiced family, so I suppose this was my small way of expressing that. :)

These little arguments between Lily and James, they literally just happen on their own. I often write without any intention of making them argue, and then a page later, they're fighting. :P I don't know what it is, but they're often very disobedient characters. I just comfort myself with the hope that it means these sorts of things are realistic!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Prongs05JP 

16th February 2010:
Here I am (ha thats a song I know) late again. I always think I'M GONNA REVIEW and then I just... don't... you should totally give up on me T_T But anyway - your A/N said we were getting towards the end D: Nooo!

Moving on, this chapter :D Of course James would be so hyped about the quidditch match over his exams - thats so... Jamesish. I like how James doesn't understand Lily about how she doesn't understand how he likes quidditch.. if that makes sense.. O_o

But hey - ha, those fifth years sure needed a lot of help! I wonder what James' boggart is >_< I'm really curious - maybe it was mentioned before and I didn't realise... damn! Oh well ;D
Quote tym: " "That went well," Remus said. James thought that he looked more cheerful and confident than he had ever seen him before. " Showing off Remus' teaching prowess (: And how much he enjoys it - or am I reading too much into that sentance? I tend to do that... ;)

The Diana Greengrass thing was quite unexpected - and then you tend to hit yourself and go "duh, of course some Slytherins are bound to be nice!" - at least I did. No one likes Nott she does Not have friends.. lala.. music.. ah, I shouldn't have had so much sugar with my pancake |D

Anna/Sirius (not a couple, you know what I mean) - ouch.
Ouchie. Oh boy.
Wouldn't want to be caught in that firing line.
OHMYGOSH MYSTERIOUS NOTESSS (i blame the sugar here) Does Remus really care about Mary? :O hurmm... O_o

Fab Chap (brackets do, as a bracket does... huh?) and I'm going to read the next chapter but please be patient with me when I review again *bows* I'm sorry! >_<

1000/10 ;D
Prongs05JP

Author's Response: Hi there! Oh, really, don't worry about being late in reviewing. I'm being quite late in updating, so you'll probably have loads of time to catch up. And if you don't, I'll still be happy when you do review! I never give up on reviewers...well, maybe if they hadn't reviewed for months, but that's okay. Life takes over sometimes, and I understand! :)

Yes, James' focus on Quidditch is probably not his smartest plan...but is is very HIM, as you said. And don't worry, your sentence there made sense to me, even if I had to read it twice. :P

And the fifth-years were definitely lucky to have help, you're right! You're not reading too much into that sentence there about Remus, either...I think it's a bit of subtle foreshadowing, for sure. :)

Yes, well, I haven't exactly been nice to Slytherins in this story, but I do recognize that they're not all bad, and even the BAD ones have their sympathetic points, too. That's one of the neat things about the books, I think--even the people you should absolutely hate have things that make you feel a bit sorry for them. Anyway, I'm glad you liked the part with Diana. :)

Yep, definitely know what you mean with Anna and Sirius' arguments. It would probably not be very pleasant to be around them at a moment like that. :P

As for Mary and Remus, you'll find out more in the next couple chapters! If you haven't read them already, of course. And even if you have, no pressure on reviewing immediately. I love to get reviews anytime at all. Oh, and regarding the end of the story, I don't know if I've mentioned it to you before, but I do plan on writing a sequel. So there may be a bit of a break in between the end of this and the beginning of the next, but rest assured that the story line will pick up again.

Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you thought it was a "Fab Chap"! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Katie 

10th February 2010:
I love this story! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

I'm so happy that you love the story! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such an encouraging review. :)

I'll try my best to keep it up, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Somebody 

5th February 2010:
Good chapter! I like the way Lily and Jame's relationship seems to grow more and more with each chapter! I just love the way you write in general, because the way you make James and other characters talk can be so funny...mostly just James and his friends, the things they say are things I can most definitely picture them saying. They come off so carefree, amusing and just cool. These are only suggestions, but I'd really like to see James, Sirius, Remus, and Peter doing more mischievous things before their final year at Hogwarts is over. I know some people suggested that James simply spend more time with his friends, and tutoring the 5th years is okay, but I think it's a bit low on the excitement scale for James and his friends, not that I don't like it, but it seems more like something James would do with Lily just to spend time with her and make her happy...of course it was James idea to do the tutoring thing in the first place, but didn't he want to do it to spend time with Lily? I like James spending time with his friends, but I miss him him being around Lily so much. I know he's worried about his dad and everything that's going on with Voldemort, but he seems to be losing interest in Lily. In parts that were in his point of view a few chapters ago all he could think about was Lily...now it's seems to be the opposite and Lily's the one mostly thinking about him. However I do think that James and his friends should have at least one more adventure at Hogwarts before they leave. I know that's a lot to balance along with everything else that's going on in the book, but I 'd really like to see James spend a little more time with Lily and have at least one more small adventure with his friends. Aside from that the story is amazing as usual! I saw that you said you were wrapping the story up with in a few more chapters. Will there be a sequel of James and Lily after Hogwarts, what they do...so on and so-forth? If so what will it be called? Just like Once defined continued...part 2 or something???
Keep writing this story is like the awesomest thing since they like invented electricity!!! Besides Harry Potter itself of course.
Anywho like I was saying this story is dah bomb . com!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

I'm glad you like the way I write, and so, so happy you find it funny! :) I never really think of myself as a funny person for some reason. And I really can't tell you how great it is to hear that you think I'm characterizing the boys well.

On to your suggestions...first, more Marauder trouble-making. I think that with the stress of N.E.W.T.s in upcoming chapters, there may be a bit of a need to let off some steam, so you may just get your wish there. I can't really say that it will be some grandiose "final prank" or anything like that, but I do imagine that they would have a bit of a regression in the face of leaving Hogwarts. And I'm sure they wouldn't be able to walk away without bugging Snape a few more times, at the very least. ;)

And second, the whole James/Lily dynamic. You know, I hadn't really realized that I was switching things like that, so thanks for bringing that to my attention. I suppose the only explanation I can offer is that James has had some other things on his mind in the past few chapters...and whereas before he was pretty fixated on getting her to go out with him, that's not exactly an issue anymore. :P Not that he isn't still crazy about her, of course, and I'll take your suggestion to heart on that.

So, both of your wishes have been duly noted, and I hope I'll be able to fulfill them before the story's end! :)

As for future stories, yes, I'm planning on writing a sequel. "Sequels" in the plural, in fact! :) I'll let you know the title in the last chapter of this story, because it might possibly give some things away. ;) But it won't just be "Once Defied Part 2"--I have something a little more unique in mind!

I'm so happy you like the chapter. I wasn't really too sure about it--I wanted this one to be good, but I feel like it might have gotten away from me at different points. It's reassuring to know you enjoyed it.

Thanks for the encouraging review! Hope you have a good weekend!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Tonks 

1st February 2010:
Omg u my fav!!!
I am new to this! So. How do I make u my favorite story?!?!?!?!?!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so happy you like the story so much! :)

As for adding it to your favourites...first thing to do is, get an account. (You don't have to post stories if you have an account; you can use it just for reviewing if you prefer. If you don't want an account at all, though, you can just add me to your hypothetical favourites, which I will consider a fantastic compliment in itself.) Then, when you're signed in, click your way over to my story. Make sure you're on the page that shows all the chapters and banner and stuff. If you're signed in still (sometimes I get signed out as I'm clicking around the site and have to try it again), you should see a little link underneath the banner and summary that says "Add to Favourites." The link is also above the review box in every chapter, if that's easier. :)

Hopefully that it explains it all! :) Let me know in another review if I've confused you horribly, or something. And again, I'm so happy to hear that you love the story. Thanks for leaving me a review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by SeVeRuS LoVeR 

28th January 2010:
OMG i really like your story :)) its cute and unique i like your take on both James and Lily even though i see Lily as having more of a temper but i like your version too!!

you've been added as a favorite :))

update soon!!!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much! I'm really happy to hear that you like the story. :)

I'm especially glad that you think it's unique and that you like my characterizations, even if you think of Lily a little differently in your own head. That's kind of the cool thing about Marauders Era, I guess--there are so many things we don't know that it gives us a lot of freedom to write about it!

I'm flattered that you added the story as a favourite! :) That's a fantastic compliment. As for updating, I'm hoping to have a new chapter done tomorrow. School is taking over my life these days, which is making it hard to write as often as I'd like...the next chapter is half-done, though!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by pattybuns_hpf 

25th January 2010:
I'm late on reviewing... Not me at all...I'm Sorry!... =(

Anyway, I really like this chapter. It's intense and I thought Lily and James would be fighting until something heartbreaking came up, but I'm glad that didn't happen at all. And it's really sad to see Lily's friends fighting, hope they resolve things between them soon. =]

Man... A lot is happening on the twenty-fifth of May. I can't wait to see how it goes. Quidditch final, a wedding to go to, and the full-moon for the marauders. I might get confused along the way. hehe... =D

-Patty

Author's Response: Hi Patty! Oh, don't worry one bit about reviewing late. I like getting reviews anytime!

I'm so glad you liked the chapter. It was sort of on the verge of an argument between Lily and James there, but I think a lot of times when you're in a new relationship, you're hesitant to push things. You just want things to be happy and good, so you let your frustrations go. Of course, as time passes, that happens less...but since they've only been dating for a month, I think it makes sense that neither of them would want to argue.

And speaking of arguing, yes, it is sad that Lily, Mary, and Anna are on not-so-great terms. The issue will be resolved soon enough...although I won't say whether it's a good resolution or a bad one! (Sorry, here I am keeping you in the dark again. Really, though, it won't be too many more chapters until you get some answers!)

You know, the funniest thing about this May 25th thing is that I didn't do it intentionally at all. I have this calendar where all the Quidditch matches/holidays/full moons/etc. are plotted out, and it somehow ended up with all three of those things on the same day without me even realizing it. Haha. :P Oh well, should make for an exciting chapter! And I'll try and write it as non-confusingly as possible.

Thanks very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by JackG 

25th January 2010:
gahhh what is the deal with mary/remus!! anyways, love the story like always (:

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Hmm...yes, there are some strange happenings going on there. You should get a full explanation within the next few chapters, and hopefully it satisfies your curiosity! :)

I'm so happy to hear you loved the chapter, and thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Harry and Ginny 

25th January 2010:
it was great 4 James and the rest of the marauders to help those who would be doing their OWL's. i wonder what's happening between Anna and Mary... i can't wait to read the next chapter!!!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Hi Harry and Ginny!

If I were at Hogwarts, I would certainly appreciate them helping me with my O.W.L.s! James' idea finally came to fruition here, and I think it worked out quite well for them.

As for Anna and Mary (and Lily, I suppose), well all will be revealed before story's end...which really isn't all that far off! Hopefully it all makes sense!

I plan on posting the next chapter sometime over the weekend, so check back then! Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by redhead1287 

24th January 2010:
I was so excited to see an update!! Again, I love this story!! :) Why is Lily not insisting on James going to the wedding with her?! that would really put a glitch in his plans to be with Remus on the full moon... I want him to tell her that he is an animagus! I foresee an argument in the making. update soon! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad you're still enjoying the story!

Well, one thing that's keeping Lily from asking James to go with her is that he wasn't invited. I was trying to work that into the chapter somehow, but I couldn't make it fit. But also, with the Quidditch match, it would be a little uncertain. The match could go on for hours, and James can't leave like Lily is able to. Plus, I think she might feel a little weird about asking him to go with her to a wedding--kind of a serious date for two people who have only been going out for a month or so, you know? Although, I'm not sure James would mind. :)

But I understand your wish for him to tell her! And that will happen at some point...whether it's soon or much later on, I won't say just now.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by rainbowsocks 

24th January 2010:
DONT BLAME REMUS. :o
gawd anna. i don't like her anymore :(
and ahahahah their lesson was HILARIOUS.
james was like..and uh.
ahaha
loved it
update soon
xoxo ~

Author's Response: Yes, I have to agree, Remus shouldn't probably be blamed at all in this situation. And actually, I don't think Anna was necessarily blaming him, she was just trying to find out what was going on...but of course, it would be in her..er...not-completely-polite way of doing so. At the moment that Lily and James walked in, the conversation was likely at its most confrontational.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the lesson. They were a little "...and uh" the entire time, you're right. I tried to have some fun with them in that scene, and it's great that you thought it was funny!

I hope to update at some point this weekend, so check back then! Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by NATALiEisBAx14 

24th January 2010:
DUDE. The fact that you updated makes my day, and I was watching Sailor Moon so you had a tough act to beat. I've decided today I'm in a 90's kind of mood, so I decided to watch the best little kid cartoon ever. I mean seriously, after every episode they have a moral like "don't go off with strangers" or "cheating is bad for you." IF YOU AIN'T CHEATING YOU AIN'T TRYING. :D

Anyway, I love this story. It makes my week that you updated because this is exam week and this is the only form of pleasure I'll get until they hand our exams back in three weeks because until then I'll be worried as hell. So thanks for updating madam

Now if only I could find a slinky and a Goosebump book and a pair of roller blades I'd be all set.:D

Peace and Love.
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie! :)

I feel extreme guilt when I don't update somewhat close to what I told people, and since I'd said Friday, by Saturday I was really feeling like I needed to just get it done. And I did! And I'm so glad it made your day!

Oh, the 90s...what a decade. I was born right at the beginning, so I was a kid for most of it, but I can still remember watching Sailor Moon and reading Goosebumps. :P For some reason, Pogs also figure largely in my memory. And of course, boy bands. With all that amazingness, I'm surprised my story measured up at all!

Thank you very much for reviewing again! And good luck on your exams--hopefully they all go well!


 Report Review

Review #21, by saffy 

24th January 2010:
i love your description of "exam fear" (I'm feeling it myself) You're so good at desribimg the typical thoughts and feelings of teenagers and putting them in the context of this magical world. I think thats why HP was so successful in the first place; that perfect mix of realism and fantasy.

That was so cute the DADA lessons that James&CO were doing. Excellent foreshadowing. I really want to know what the boggart would becoe if James stepped infrom of it :) I loved the afraid of the dark one, the fireworks seem a perfect way of counteracting it :)

Ah Lily and the Slytherins - its nice that she can be so nice you know ? :)

If I was her i wouldnt be looking forward t o the wedding either! Mary is so confusiong or should i say complex.

As always cant wait to read more, thanks!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for another review!

No one in school can escape from exam fear, I don't think--and if someone can, I'd like to know their secret! :P I sympathize with you there. Luckily I'm not on the brink of any exams at the moment, but it's a very stressful time whenever I am. More importantly, though, I'm so glad that you think I'm doing well at portraying the typical teenager issues. I always hoped I would be able to do that. You're right, it was one of the great things about the books--there was Harry, narrowly escaping from death once or twice a year, but still worrying about girls and getting to go to Hogsmeade with his friends. :)

I deliberately didn't say what James' Boggart would become, because I think I'm going to include it in future (not in this story, in some sequel or another), and I think it might ruin the shock a bit if I tell. :P Sorry to be cryptic! I am glad you liked the fear of darkness one--I couldn't really think of how to make it "funny", but I figured fireworks would at least lighten the mood!

I imagine that Lily was an almost unfailingly nice person. I'm sure she could get angry at times, but I also think she'd be quick to forgive people, and she'd be very empathetic and compassionate. So I suppose if her patience is being tried by this whole wedding thing, then it's probably not without reason. :P Mary is quite difficult and complex at this point, you're right.

Hopefully I can get the next chapter up between Friday and Sunday this week! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review