Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
87 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gigi 

20th July 2014:
Not sure if you still read reviews to this story Mel, but please disregard my last review about Lily knowing Moony's secret. I was obviously jumping to conclusions like Laura here and it was just that Lily was more trusting of James and the guys. Anyway, read the whole story and the related one shots and this has to be the best story I've read, better than Delicate, which even though was well written like yours, this had the better story.

Author's Response: Hi! The thing is, Lily does know at this stage. She's just really good at hiding it. Though she didn't have the insecurities Laura had at the start of her relatiohnship with James, so she was generally more trusting. Thanks for the feedback!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by gigi 

16th July 2014:
Why is there a double standard: its ok for Lily to be in on Moony's furry little problem but not ok for Laura?

Author's Response: Because Lily has been with James for longer than Laura has been with Sirius, and to be frank they were a bit rocky for a while there. So Moony's secret doesn't get told until Sirius is feeling that the relationship is stable enough to take it. That's all. Lily and James have been together 3-4 months at this stage - when Sirius and Laura get to that point things might be different. That's all. :)
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
Oh dear, oh dear. It seems like there's always going to be some sort of obstacle in the way of these two, doesn't it? I can understand that in a way because most romances tend to finish when the couple has finally got together, but in this, since it's also a coming-of-age story, it makes sense that it would continue afterwards and we get to see the way that their relationship develops through the time they're together. All of the confrontations in this chapter were really interesting to read. I can sense that maybe the fan club won't back off for long, especially when they realise how much Sirius cares about Laura. And the part with Regulus was really sad to read because the last time we saw him in this story, if I remember correctly, was when he was trying to help Sirius out. Seeing him being so mean and cruel now is awful, but I suppose that's what would have happened if he was tempted towards the Dark Arts. Then the final section, when Laura told Sirius she didn't know if it would work out - why does she have to be so dramatic? I know she's working on her insecurities but I feel so sorry for Sirius when it really isn't his secret to tel!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, trials and tribulations. But as you said, this is a coming of age story so you do get the ups and downs of the new relationship, rather than having it finish at the first kiss or whatnot. I'm glad you liked the different encounters in here - I agree the Regulus one was sad, but then again he is about to join the Death EAters so his brother taking up with a halfblood wouldn't go down too well. And, well, dramatic? Of course! That's what stories are about, right?

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by dramione_love 

28th January 2013:
look I like your story and all but damn that laura is stupid...with the first break up it was obvious he loved her being inteligent and all I would've thought he might have meant that she conpensated in other ways such as being funny and listening to him and in this chapter it could've been easily a fight not something so awful as to be considered as a break up but whatever, nice story anyway :)

Author's Response: Ah, but they haven't broken up this time. She's not happy, sure, because to her it looks like she has to trust him but he doesn't trust her, and that's not fair. But have they actually split? No. It's an argument that may or may not be fixed. And that's all I'm saying. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Vivyan 

16th January 2013:
Aannnd she's back. Unpleasantly not surprised. I was hoping (still am, really) you were gonna have him tell her and them stay together until she's killed or something (terrible I know) but dysfunctional relationships between people--well again, only 12+comments, so--annoy me strongly. I still have hope yet.

Author's Response: But they haven't broken up in this one. She's not happy, sure, because to her it looks like he's using one set of rules for her (she has to trust him) and another for himself (he doesn't trust her). And that doesn't sit well with her. But there is hope ... you'll see. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Olga 

6th January 2013:
Noo not again! Gaaah!

Author's Response: Yes, again. Though this time, you note, they haven't actually broken up. And that's important.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Maurader_Girl007 

11th November 2012:
Oh. wow o.O Poor Laura! Poor Sirius!! Nawwwz...

Author's Response: Yeah, it's a bit like that. I'm mean to them, I know. (and I enjoy it, hahahaha)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by -A 

12th August 2012:
Your killing me, she breaks up with him again GOD, I'm dying here.

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. These misunderstandings are all part of the story, though. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
I knew something would happen. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Ah, it was bound to, wasn't it? But I thought I'd get it out of the way nice and early. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by singer123 

15th December 2011:
OH NO!! NOT AGAIN!!
Laura's still insecure..
If she does this all the time Sirius will get fed up..
But I can understand her side too..
She's been having that inferiority complex all her life and now suddenly going out with SIRIUS BLACK!
Guess it'll take some time, right?

Author's Response: Yes, it takes some time. And thanks for understanding. Here, she's been working so hard on her trust issue that having something that, to her, indicates that he doesn't trust her is like a kick in the guts. So she doesn't take it very well, I'm afraid. Totally normal for someone of her age and experience, I think. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Chrissy 

12th December 2011:
I've really enjoyed this story but I don't know if I can bring myself to finish reading it at this rate. What does she have to go being such an annoying, possessive, insecure idiot for? He hasn't given her any reason not to trust him, and geez, everyone's entitled to their secrets. Great story, but I don't know if I can stomach her behavior much longer.

Author's Response: You know, I think I need to re-word this argument somewhat. She's not being possessive - she'd have no trouble wiht him having a boys night if he told her straight out that was what he was doing. What she doesn't like is being lied to, especially since he's been so big on the trust thing. It feels like a kick in the guts. So that's why she's upset - not that he's going out,b ut that he felt he had to hide it from her. Hope that makes sense!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
Laura has absolute trust problems; I blame Betram.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Like I said, she's working on it, but when it looks like he doesn't trust her (ie, the need for trust only goes one way) she feels betrayed all over again. Why does she have to do all the work? So yeah, that's factoring in here, and you're right, Bertram does have a fair bit to do with it. Her most recent experience is a boyfriend doing awful things behind her back, so when Sirius wants to do things behind her back she gets pretty antsy about it, which I think is understandable.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by 23Skidoo 

1st October 2011:
I just started reading this story two days ago and I can't stop! it's so addicting, I can't believe it's taken me so long to read.
however, I do have a question:
it may just be my computer, but are there several chapters missing? the chapters go from 42 to 44 to 49 and then it also seems to skip chapter 56. maybe it's just the format of the website, but I do feel like I'm missing some bits. if you could let me know, that would be great as I'm really enjoying this story and would hate to be missing out on parts. thanks!

Author's Response: HI! Thanks for the review!

First up, no, you're not imagning things and it's not your computer. Those chapters WERE up, but then were taken down again as there were things in them that contravened site rules. I've fixed the transgressions but the chapters have to go through the queue again so it might be a little while before they're all up.

Despite that, though, thanks for persevering with this story regardless. It can't be an easy read with such large chunks missing so I'm very thankful that you kept going. *hugs* One of the missing chapters has now been restored, and the others will come up one by one as they clear the queue.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by mrs_remus_john_lupin 

5th September 2011:
I know that I don't have to wait and that I can easily turn to the next chapter, so I can't complain about not knowing whats gonna happen, but REALLY???
theyve split up AGAIN?!!?!?!?!

no ='((

Author's Response: Hi again!

No, as at the end of this chapter they haven't broken up. She's not happy, I admit, but she didn't actually leave him like she did at the party. Like all relationships there are trials and tribulations to be overcome, and this is just one of those. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by alicia and anne 

13th August 2011:
I knew it wouldn't be long before the fan club reappeared, they're really dumb or desperate if they think that a love potion really got him, bless them. Glad they figured it out in the end though.
Look at them sitting together! So cute I love them being together, and I'm so glad that they're back to their normal self's.
Hehe stamping his territory like a dog, little do they know he is one! I love the little jokes and how Sirius does actually act like a dog sometimes.
Oh Minnie! How I love her! I'm glad that she approves of Laura and Sirius's relationship, but Regulus was ... wow... I can't believe what happened just then, It's so sad that he doesn't call him a brother anymore.
I missed seeing just Mary and Laura talking, I'm glad that they had a talk, they seemed to both be drifting away from each other slightly.
NO! Why are you doing this to me? You know I love Laura and Sirius, why must you insist on having drama in you story? I love it so much with the cliffhangers but you're slowly driving me insane hehe

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yeah, this cliffy was probably a bit badly placed, but hey, what can I say? I just love torturing people. I will thank you though for not automatically assuming they were breaking up again, because that wasn't the case at the end of this chapter. She was annoyed, yes, but didn't actually dump him this time. :)

I'm really pleased that you liked the McGonagall and Regulus interactions. I'm actually rather proud of those so it's really nice to have them recognised - thank you! :) As for Laura and Mary's friendship, well all that was happening was what normally happens when people are in new relationships - the new partner takes precedence and friendships take a back step. Fortunately both of them had new boyfriends so neither was feeling left out, which was nice.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

10th August 2011:
I think you've handled the several situations wonderfully in this chapter. Firstly there is the conflict within his own family, and I particularly loved the insight into Sirius and Regulus' relationship, they seemed to be an awful lot more close than I ever assumed them to be, and to see him mention that he has defended Sirius well I think it proves that perhaps he couldn't really have been all bad in the end, even if he did become a Death Eater, I think his later actions proved this anyway, but it was a nice note.

I also love how you've handled Laura not knowing about Remus' condition and the confusion which has come as a result. There would certainly be a level of confusion in the relationship at this early stage, but it's nice to see that it has resulted in conflict rather than him simply just spilling the secret to her because of the loyalty he feels to his best friend. I almost forget that not everyone knew he was a werewolf at times.

I can't wait to see what happens next... You always leave us on such brilliant cliff-hangers.

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Yes, I thought we needed to deal with Regulus sooner rather than later. It's not exactly a match he'd be very keen on, so there was always going to be a bit of a scene.

And yeah, the first full moon after they get together, Sirius isnt' exactly going to be telling her about Remus' lycanthropy, is he? It's not far enough in yet. So I wanted that confusion and feeling fo betrayal ... and I'm glad that you didn't automatically think they were breaking up over it, as a lot of people did. They had an argument,yes, but arguments can be overcome.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
Wow, she is really touchy. Hyper-sensitive in that extremely annoying way.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: I don't think it's a case of being uber-touchy, more that she's been trying to hard to put her trust issues behind her and now, with him running around behind her back (not necessarily with another girl, but just not telling her things) it feels like he doesn't trust her, and that rankles with her. It's all explained a bit better in the next chapter but I hope you're prepared to give her the benefit of the doubt in this. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by theelderwand 

23rd August 2010:
Well, at least this doesn't worry me so much. Remus' furry little problem is a whole different can of worms. Since Remus has obviously allowed James to tell Lily, he has to allow Sirius to tell Laura.


Excellent chapter. I especially liked that McG approved. Priceless! Regulus, on the other hand. I'm almost afraid to ask if Laura doesn't die in a DE attack. Lets hope not.

Great stuff!

Eldy

Author's Response: Oh, thank god you understand that this is completely different. The number of people who railed at me because they'd broken up again, when really they hadn't - she wasn't happy but she hadn't actually dumped him at the end of this chapter. And like you said it's easily rectified, given time.

I'm very fond of that little McGonagall cameo myself, particularly juxtaposed with the Regulus conversation. Though I will say that if Laura died at Regulus' hand, would Sirius have been nearly so forgiving towards his brother in the canon? Not that I'm ruling out a DE attack, more Reg's involvement in any said attack should it occur. There. Was that vague enough? :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
Finally! It's great to see that Elvira gets her comeuppance - she more than deserves it for the way she reacted when Laura first tried to help. I love the way you phrased this - cutting, but without being catty and thus un-Laura-esque. Really great section.

I also loved the way you contrasted McGonagall's reaction to Regulus' - this fed back nicely to Sirius' earlier musings on the requirements for a Mrs Black, and really holds the story together as a single unit. As I never mange to think that far ahead in a story, I'm impressed!

The ending sucks, but in a good way - again, this is such a good expansion of known canon, it just pains me to watch Laura's insecurities being fed. Completely fairly, of course, but a shame nonetheless. Still, I can see why this was needed for realism's sake, so I'll forgive you just this once!

Loving it, reading more...

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, Elvira. It's so nice to be able to put her in her place occasionally, though keeping Laura in character to do that can be tricky. :) And I too liked the McGonagall/Regulus bit - it just came to me one day and was too perfect not to use.

Thanks too for forgiving me the ending. I copped a bit of stick about this one, but to me it makes sense at least. Glad it does to you too!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by doglover 

12th August 2010:
that's a tad too sensitive of her.

Author's Response: You know, a few people thought that but to her, it's an indicatoin that he doesn't trust her. And as the whole relationship is supposed to be based on trust she thinks it's a kick in the guts. So yes, perhaps sensitive, but in her shoes I could completely understand that reaction. Sorry if you don't agree. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by dramione_ftw_4ever 

8th August 2010:
so Lily knows, but not Laura. Now that's just unfair! I think Remus ought to allow Laura to know. Because you're being a VERY unfair author here. I love you and all, but... When I read her I seriously did a face-palm. She's become over dramatic. she's supposed to sigh, grit her teeth, and say "Fine. Whatever." and go do revision with Lily. Then she's supposed to get over it. this chapter upsets me a bit. it only gets 8/10

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, Lily knows, but then again she and James have been together a lot longer so of course she's going to know more of the secrets than Laura is. As for Laura, well maybe she is a bit dramatic but if the whole relationship is supposed to be built on trust then this is going to feel like a kick in teeth, isn't it? Him virtually saying that he doesn't trust her. So that's what she's getting upset about more than anything else.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by ericajen 

28th July 2010:
I think you might secretly be evil, Mel. How cruel of you. Hehe. Poor Sirius and Laura are the king and queen or misunderstandings. They could do it professionally.

Author's Response: Secretly cruel? Perhaps openly, hahaha. I had a few poeple accusing me of embracnig my inner Slytherin for this story so you're not alone in thinking that. Yes, they are the king and queen of misunderstandings, but then again teenagers so often doubt themselves, especially when it's really important for them, don't they? I admit that some more maturity wouldn't have gone astray but I was trying to keep them age-compliant, if that makes sense.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by ashgal72 

10th July 2010:
Wow. I'm sorry if I sound mean, Cause I really do love this story and all, but.How could you make them break up AGAIN!?!? Sometimes it makes me think that they'll just break up one day and Laura will just go back to Wales or somethin of the like.

Author's Response: Hi again!

I know you've read on from this now so my response is probably redundant, but at this point they haven't actually broken up. Laura's not happy and she's stated that, but it didn't end with her storming off like she did last time and so, while this is definitley an argument, it may not end up in a breakup. At least, that was what I told people at the time, and it seemed to be accpeted as an explanation. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Schnatz 

30th June 2010:
Hey again :)

It was not that I have forgotten Remus and the fullmoon completely it's just that I haven't expected it that early ... and I really hope that Sirius is just telling Laura and don't have any argument with her again. I don't want them to be apart again. That's awful! They're just such a perfect match and so cute together! And I'm worried that when Sirius is not telling her the mutual trust Laura has now again for Sirius will be damaged forever (or at least for a long long time).

On the other hand it would be nice to have Remus' accreditation to tell her his furry little problem. Hmm, I'm excited about the next chapter ... but can't read it now because I have to go to uni now (Oh that evil uni, oh that evil cliff :P )

Schnatz

P.S.: The talk between Elvira, Greta and Laura - especially where Laura told them that she used a love potion to get together with Sirius) was so great and funny! :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

You make a good point in that the timing of the full moon thing isn't good,but to make it within the first month of them being back together it had to be in at this point, as I couldn't see Laura not noticing it happening, not when trust was such a big thing. But yeah,it's a bit abrupt, I concede that.

As for the chat with Elvira and the others, well I'm pleased you liked that one. It was fun to write so I'm glad that came out. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by always_dreaming 

26th March 2010:
“Must have been that goat I sacrificed,” I deadpanned. “The planets aligned for me after all.” that's my favorite quote

does lily know about remus? she must be much more trusting than laura if not. this break up, make up is really annoying. i guess i'm just not seeing it from laura's eyes.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, Lily does know about Remus by now, she and James have been together for 4 months so he's already told her. As for the break up/make up, well I will point out (which you already realise, having read the next chapter) that they didn't actually break up at the end of this chapter, it was just Laura articulating that she wasn't happy. It was a case of her working really hard on her trust issues and then him coming out and saying, 'yes, it's great, only I don't really trust you'. She didn't react well to that, and I think that was fair enough because it does have to go both ways. It was an overreaction, yes, but then again she's a 17 year old girl. I don't think it's OOC for her to over-react.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>