Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

8th December 2015:
For the HPFF Advent Calendar Day 9, which gave me the perfect excuse to return to this story because it's been unreasonably long since I last reviewed it (as the snorkack, which is why it appears I've skipped a chapter), AND IN THE MEANTIME YOU WON A DOBBY OMG?!?! CONGRATS ♥ that is AWESOME, and so very well deserved.

Okay, so. This chapter. I just love how the chapter starts, because I feel like this is how a chapter of the books could start. Yes, Harry would remark on how Ron's room is an eyesore with its bright orange hue and Chudley Cannons posters all over. And Mrs Weasley would pile comforting blankets on Harry to the point where he's almost smothered in them. And ahh - the point where Harry mentions he feels weird without Ron and Hermione by his side - this feels so realistic as well because usually the only time Harry was ever without his best friends was when he was at home with the Dursleys, and that's always an uncomfortable time for him, so it's this weird new situation for him that he's unused to. And then, of course, he's really awkward around Ginny, as expected. I love that he compares her eyes to drills XD It seems very much like a comparison Harry would make. So basically what I'm saying here is you've really got Harry's personality and quirks down so well and it's easy to read this as the same Harry as JKR writes. I mean it!

His reunion with Ginny was everything I hoped it'd be. You write Ginny amazingly well and I could really sympathise with her here, because obviously Harry messed up a lot and even though his minimal communication with her was for her own safety, I can understand why Ginny would be furious. That's a lot of time to have no idea what's happening and feeling totally useless. But that's what I like about Ginny - she'll speak her mind and tell Harry he was an idiot and that she's angry at him, but she doesn't really hold grudges, at least not when she knows the grudge would be stupid. Also, ahahaha Harry trying to make amends by quoting the Ways to Charm Witches book hahaha that made me laugh so much. (Yeah, I'd bet Ginny has read the whole thing, for entertainment!) I'm so glad Harry and Ginny made up. And then I laughed again when her brothers were like a little creepy audience at the bottom of the stairs. Haha, older brothers.

This was a fantastic chapter! I love love love your character interactions and you are a brilliant writer. Great work. ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell 

23rd September 2015:
Hello there! I'm back for more. Took me a bit – Dobby time is crazy! But I'm so excited to be back :D

He planned to sequester himself in Ron’s room until he’d worked out how to speak to Ginny and explain everything without getting himself blasted to bits.
--Hahaha, this is such a realistic Harry thought. And accurate. I love how you've kept the side of Ginny that really gets Harry, and you've let her grow up a bit, but you haven't sacrificed any of her fierceness (or the fear she can instill in all who know her).

- “Were you dropped on your head as a child?”

-"You haven't met the Dursleys yet, have you? I probably was.”

--This was so great! I chuckled. And I mean, honestly, it's probably true. Poor Harry. He turned out amazingly well, all things considered.

CC:

“Haven’t your lips long for my touch?
--I'm thinking that "long" should probably be "longed".


“I know. That's part of why I love you. And why I'll get around to forgiving you.
Between the Battle, and Fred dying and coming back, and you doing the same… Well, I’ve learned that life’s too short and unpredictable to hold grudges over silly things.”

--the spacing got a little wonky here. There was an extra "enter" or something, I think, maybe?


So glad to see Harry and Ginny actually talking (and snogging!). And it wouldn't be the Burrow if there weren't a whole host of Weasley brothers there to witness it. Heeheehee. Hey, at least they got applause, right? Could have been worse. I could see Fred and George holding up voting numbers: "4 out of 10, Harry. I'm gonna need to see more passion." Really, he was lucky. And I loved that he just accepted that his life was never going to be without an audience and just carried on kissing Ginny. I mean, it's a rare man who can snog a girl in front of her brothers and have them cheering instead of calling for blood. Just go with it, Harry. Count your blessings ;)

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #3, by ginnypotter242 

11th July 2015:
Hello again! I figured I'd finish reviewing this story :)

Ahh, yes! Harry and Ginny worked things out! Yay! I loved their conversation. Obviously Ginny would be very ticked off about Harry running off, and the was shown very well. But she's *so* in love with Harry, that she can't stand not talking to him ( not to mention, she is a Weasley. So she's stubborn obvs) But I like that she cornered him by the bathroom. There really is no other way to get him to talk, is there? I'm so happy they're back together, they (as my penname kind of says) are my OTP so I'm very happy with this chapter.

Okay, Bill, Charlie and Percy: I love that you didn't make them go all macho, overprotective older brothers on Harry, and instead encouraged it. We know Ron was overprotective, but I doubt every single one of her brother's would be all "I'll kill you if you touch her" and I'm glad you didn't make them like that :)

I really love this story! Great job :)

~Sara

 Report Review

Review #4, by merlins beard 

27th April 2015:
Hi!
So apparently I have regained brain capacity and can now inform you about this:

five is such a nice number, so why stop at four. four is an ugly number, I don't like how it is so pointy. five is much prettier.

I guess I'm still here and loving every word you write.

This chapter was sooo sweet. I always imagined Ginny to forgive him rather quickly, holding grudges just doesn't do when you're in love. I guess seing Harry and Fred both almost die would have sped up her accepting his apology.

I had a good laugh at the end of the chapter, when Charlie, Bill and Percy watch them make out. It was even better when Harry decided to just ignore them and continue.

I can't wait for the next chapter.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Hm. Only a year and a half late. *hangs head in shame*

I'm so sorry about that! I just never seem to be able to keep up on this!

But I wanted to say thanks again for this review! It still tickles me pink that you went through and read and reviewed the whole story. And I'm so glad you regained brain capacity. I would have never forgiven myself if my story killed you off.

Your compliments make me blush. Thank you.

And I'm glad you liked the chapter. I had to find the right balance. I didn't want to brush over the fact that Harry practically dumped Ginny and then ran off for the better part of a year. I figured Ginny would be a bit peeved by that. But I also didn't want to drag it on for very long. Besides, fighting a war and almost losing everyone you love has a way of changing your perspective a bit. So yes, she got over it probably quicker than she would have if all of that hadn't happened.

And I couldn't resist the fish bowl scene, with her brothers catching them kissing. I read too many stories where as soon as Harry and Ginny start dating, all her brothers immediately like turn on him and are all "I'll kill you if you touch my sister!" kind of thing. I just couldn't see that happening. I mean, they all love Harry as a brother. I don't think they'd want to see her with anyone else.

Thanks for reading! Loved this review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by toomanycurls 

29th September 2013:
My Saturday morning was reading this in bed. I got through a few chapters before doing something productive. ^_^

The sauna/furnace bed was quite hilarious. I lol'd at the Quiddich practice smell comment. Well, first I laughed then I went ew. Charlie's comment about Mrs. Weasley roasting people in bed was funny and it conveyed her constant care and concern for people.

Dun dun dun - Ginny!! I've decided that I'm going to be mad at your Harry like you're mad at my Remus. *grumbles* stubborn men... I really like Ginny's confrontation. We know from the books that she's not a pushover but it's nice to see her really stand up for herself and call Harry out for some of his "i'm the hero" selfish behavior. hmph.

That was quite the kiss they had ^_^. I got a seriously good laugh out of the "Peeping Merlins" comment. Your ending line is awesome - I hope Harry keeps up his trend of not being so stubborn.

Author's Response: I hope it was an enjoyable Saturday morning then, as Saturday mornings are kind of sacred things, hehehehe, not to be wasted.

Hehehehe. I like to mix humor into my drama. It's how I write best. So I'm glad you didn't mind. And it seemed like something Mrs. Weasley would do, try to pile blankets on him. It also seemed like her kids would have practice helping people "escape" from what could often be over-protecting. hehehehe

Hehehehe. You can be mad at my Harry like I am your Remus. They are both kind of acting like idiots, aren't they? (Maybe it's a guy thing...) And I DO like to include romance, but I just can't do that sappy, lovy-dovy stuff. This was my answer. Just have Ginny call him on his nonsense. Glad you liked it!

And yes, I did let them kiss. But I do try to remember that they are still only 17 and 16 years old! hehehe. They are KIDS!

Peeping Merlins was fun.

Thanks for reading! Your reviews are so much fun. And I promise to return to your Remus soon.


 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane 

7th September 2013:
I like the mention of Ginny's frostiness and Harry trying to work out how to explain things to her. I'm guessing we're going to get an update on how things are going in their relationship soon.

*laughs* I was just reading somewhere recently that the English are more likely to say "er" or "erm" than "em". Just noticed Harry using "erm" here.

And I really love the way Ginny calls Harry out on how the trio treat her as if she's at least four or five years younger than them some of the time, instead of being almost as close in age to Harry as he is to Hermione. He wouldn't have liked it if she'd insisted HE was too young to get involved a year earlier because he was under 17.

*laughs at "were you dropped on your head as a child?*

And that's a good point. It sounds like something that could well have happened with the Dursleys.

Author's Response: Ginny and Harry's relationship will very much be a part of this story. I have every intention of letting them get together, however, I don't believe they have to rush it. :)

Hey, I did something right without knowing it! Cool.

They DO treat her like a little girl sometimes, don't they. And she's right in their age group. It does bug me. It's okay for Harry to risk life and limb at 14, but Ginny must stay safe at 16? Harry has a lot to learn, doesn't he...

Hehehehe. Glad you like the crazy humor.

Again, thanks so much for a great review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMolly 

29th November 2010:
Farmgirl,
Again I say Bravo. You have such a handle on the emotions and motions it's very satisfying. As a fan of siledubhghlase, I can see her fingerprints here as well as elderwands. You have a couple of top flight helpers on your side. That tells me you have talent, as if I haven't figured that out myself. I really like the tone, the flow and the content of this story and especially this chapter. Yes, Ginny was furious with Harry for all she listed, but especially for the worry she went through. She never stopped loving him as he never stopped loving her. Now they just need to talk and work it out. That's what scares him the most. That something he did, will turn her away. I look forward to continuing this.
FoM

Author's Response: Your reviews are so wonderful and complimentary I really don't know how to respond to them! Thank you so much, however.

siledubhghlase is a brilliant author, isn't she? I very much appreciated her help on this chapter. And Eldy is just aces. I couldn't have written this chapter without his help. I still can't quite figure out how I managed to get two such talented authors helping me out, but I'm grateful everyday that I did.


 Report Review

Review #8, by schoenemaedchen 

13th November 2010:
So, THANK YOU for writing this chapter.

This had to be coming. Short and simple. It just wouldn't have been "Ginny" if everything would have been immediately honky-dory.

I have some huge issues with Harry and Ginny's relationship in the book, mostly because I think it was severely underdeveloped...or even better, there was little to work with because Harry was too busy scurrying about England. Whatever the case, they had a "thing" and then we're suddenly supposed to come to terms with it after Voldemort has been smited.

You've given a good image into how this occurs! Wonderful, actually. I think Harry is perceptive and certainly not as thick as Ron, but he has his "growing" to do in terms of relationships. It's not like he had time in Hogwarts to do multitudes of dating.

So, all in all, wonderful! I think the scene at the Weasley's is great. It really must be like living in a fish bowl. Poor Ginny.to be the only girl in that mess!

Alright, wonderful chapter, as always. Can't wait to keep reading!!!

Author's Response: You're welcome! Now let me thank you for reading it and reviewing!!! I hope you don't mind that I'm working my way backwards through your reviews in my responses. It seemed easier to start at the top of the list tonight. :)

I have mixed feelings on the Ginny/Harry thing myself. Don't get me wrong, I'm a complete supporter of them together, and I do love the little glimpses of them we get in the books. I was pushing for them to get together since book two, but like you, I wish we would have seen more of Ginny in the books. As for the movies, I have very mixed feelings. I'm not sure the actress who plays Ginny would have been my first choice, and I'm not a huge fan of the manner in which she plays her, but at the same time I've been watching her play Ginny from the beginning so she's stuck in my brain that way. Does that make any sense?

Anyway, when I write the two of them together, I like to try and do it how I wish it would have been done. I hope people like reading it and I hope I don't get Ginny too out of character.

Harry being a bit dumb? That was fun to write - because face it, savior of the wizarding world or not, he's still a 17 year old boy and I work with 17 year old boys every day - love is NOT their forte.

So glad to see you back, and so glad you aren't terribly put out with me for my slow/non-existant replies to your WONDERFUL reviews! I shall get to some more later tonight, but wanted you to know I'm reading and loving them.


 Report Review

Review #9, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

11th September 2010:
Another solid chapter here. This one didn't wow me as much, simply because it wasn't exactly surprising. Ginny's lines were good, like "talk is cheap", and quite in character. Perhaps because I never once believed Harry and Ginny wouldn't get back together, the ending didn't surprise me at all.

The best part, actually, was the last line. "So Harry, having vowed a while back to stop being so stubborn and start listening to good advice, did." It was witty and cheerful and summed it all up quite nicely.

Another good part was the very beginning, when you described Ron's room. A furnace sounded pretty accurate, and original as well.

Good work here, it didn't pull my heartstrings or completely wow me like the last chapter, but it still moved things along nicely and was good overall. You're doing a good job balancing out the several different characters, but the thing for me is that since Fred's survival was what made this story so cool for me, I want to see more of that now. I can easily picture Harry and Ginny getting back together, but Fred's unique circumstances is all you, and I'm eager to find out more.

~lllb

Author's Response: Thank you. And no worries about it not wowing you. I'm fine with that. :) I knew I wasn't exactly hiding the fact that Ginny and Harry would be together. Of course, if it makes you feel any better, I'm not in any rush to have them married off or anything. They're still teenagers and I think they need to get the chance to act like them.

Describing Ron's room was fun. In fact, anything at the Burrow is fun to me. I wish more things would happen at the Burrow, it sounds like the kind of house I would love to have. :)

Don't worry, there will be more Fred. Fred and George are my favorites, so I will make sure to get as much of them in this story as I can.

Thanks again for reading! I love your reveiws and honestly value your opinions of this story.


 Report Review

Review #10, by pennyardelle 

17th August 2010:
This was just lovely. I'm a romantic at heart, so of course I was looking forward to Harry and Ginny's reunion, and you didn't disappoint.

I love that Ginny was giving him the cold shoulder at first. I love that he was trying to escape, and she cornered him. I love that he was so nervous that he spouted off some incredibly cheesy declaration of love, and I love that she laughed at him for it.

I also thought the beginning of the chapter was hilarious, with Harry waking up sweltering because Molly had covered him with too many blankets. :D That made me grin!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm NOT very good at romance myself and I struggled very badly with this chapter, but with a little help from theelderwand (my beta) I got through it. It's nice to see someone who likes romance approves of it.

When I read Ginny in the books (not the movies, I'm very torn on the Ginny in the movies, but that's a tale for another day) I see her as a rather tough, straightforward kind of gal, who does have a soft, good heart. So I figured she'd be mad, but she also wouldn't let him hide. Now, the cheesy declaration of love, that was all Eldy. (Sh, don't tell him I said that.) The laughing, that was a gut reaction to said cheesy declaration of love. :) Glad to know it worked!

Glad I could make you laugh after that last chapter! Thanks for continuing to read!


 Report Review

Review #11, by melian 

16th August 2010:
Okay, inner critic time ... you missed a full stop. Sorry, a period - you're American, aren't you? In the second part, just after "Harry's head sank". I didn't notice anything else that was worth mentioning but I thought you'd like to know about that one.

The Harry/Ginny conversation was hilarious. Two stubborn people trying to iron out any misunderstandings is always fun to read about (but torture if you're one of the people involved, usually), and I adored your reference to the "patented Weasley glare". And when she asked him if he was dropped on his head as a child and he answered her literally I laughed out loud, which is a good thing considering how many tissues I've gone through because of you so far today. Then, the applause ... not subtle, but then when is a Weasley subtle? Bill, Charlie and Percy clearly wanted to make their approval known. And can I say that I loved that you included Percy here, because it means that he really is well and truly back with the Weasleys. It makes my heart swell.

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Blasted editing! I've been over this thing a million times but I still missed things. And it's been so long since I edited that I can't remember where I left off and what I fixed. I'm just going to have start over from the top. But thank you for point out the error! I never would have caught it otherwise!

I'm glad you liked the conversation! This is one of those spots I had serious writer's block while doing. Eldy came to my rescue and helped me pound it out, and as a result, much of what Harry says here comes from him. You should give him some credit for this. Glad to get you laughing, and again, appologies for the tissues.

Weasleys subtle? Seriously? That would be like...the world ending. As for Percy, I sort of have a soft spot for that boy and try to find ways to include him. Plus, I want to show that he's really trying to mend things with his family and thus, sticking around a bit more.

Thanks again for reading! Your reviews are wonderful!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Amanda 

20th July 2010:
Wonderful. Awesome. You could be JK rowling! keep doing this!!! dont stop!

Author's Response: JK herself? Incredible praise! I thank you, deeply.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sirius Black Dog 

7th April 2010:
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

AMAZING AMAZING

You write so well and i'm full of anticipation :)

100/100

Author's Response: 100/100!! WOW! Did my ego just go through the roof! That's like off the charts! *blushes furiously*

Thanks, so very much! Now the pressure's on to live up to such praise as I continue this!


 Report Review

Review #14, by icefire_lioness 

18th March 2010:
Aw, totally sweet. :) I don't really like Harry/Ginny that much, I must admit, but I know it's canon, so...I am willing to forgive. :P

Really well written, as always. And the only reason I'm not joygasm-ing over this like usual is cos I'm not a huge fan of Ginny, so...you know. I'm weird like that.

STILL. Love you, love your writing, love pressing the next chapter button. ^_^

Author's Response: So you don't like Ginny but still enjoyed this chapter. Hmmm, high praise.

Thanks for plowing through it, even if you don't like poor Ginny! Sorry you're going to run out of chapters to push the next button on very soon. :(


 Report Review

Review #15, by siledubhghlase 

17th March 2010:
Boy, have I been out of the loop! Jill, this is just precious. From Molly trying to melt poor Harry to Ginny trying to scare the snot out of him, this chapter was HYSTERICAL!

You've got Harry and Ginny pegged. These two are madly in love with each other, but they're too caught up in all the stuff going on around them to realize it. Well, maybe they do, but just not how much.

It's really hard to have a private moment with a house full of Weasleys--er--people. Harry's so completely unsure of his status in the world right now, he doesn't need the fishbowl effect. At least Ginny finally had mercy on the poor guy.

I like that you allowed Harry and Ginny to voice their true feelings, but this is just the beginning. There's a lot of baggage to unload and I daresay some of it is going to be hard for them to tell each other and to hear.

Excellent, Jill! Now, I have to go and read Chapter 6. I'm so behind...

Author's Response: Naw, not really. It's not like I'm posting a chapter a week that you need to keep up on. I MIGHT get a chapter a month up, but that's pushing it. :) Besides, I do believe you already sent me another WONDERFUL review for this chapter on the other site! How did I get lucky enough to get TWO reviews of this chapter from you?

It's great that you find the chapter hysterical, because I really was trying to get some humor into this story. I don't want it being all "woe is me" etc. And who can resist a little Molly Mothering?

As for having Harry and Ginny pegged, I had a little help there and you know it. The conversations I had with both you and theelderwand are the ONLY things that got this chapter where it needed to go, so thank you so very much!

As for the fishbowl effect? He'll live. I can't resist having Ginny's family tease him, and egg him on. At least her brothehs haven't given him "the talk" yet. :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing AGAIN! You rock!


 Report Review

Review #16, by simplyshiny 

17th March 2010:
Yay! That one was a happy one. These next few reviews are going to be short, since I'm reading all these chapters successively and there really isn't anything bad to comment on. Just, yay for Harry and Ginny!

Author's Response: LOL. Yes, occasionaly, I do throw in a happy moment or two I suppose.

No problem with the short reviews! They are still very welcome and wonderful to recieve, and I'm glad you are enjoying the story!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jet LaBarge 

8th March 2010:
Yes, I think this is reasonably true to cannon, and delightful besides. And I will add this to my favorites just to see when Harry finally gets that bruse looked at. I'll even forgive you for bringing Fred back to life. Good start to a nice post-Hogwarts story

Author's Response: Thank you. I have tried to be mostly close to cannon in this, with the exception of Fred being alive of course. (Thanks for forgiving me for that, by the way. I know it was bad of me, but the twins are my favorites. No way was I writing a novel without both of them in it.) I will warn you, however, I'm not too worried about being strictly adherant to everthing from the epilogue and post DH interviews and such. Most of it shouldn't make much difference to this story anyway, but just so you know...

As to Harry's bruise getting looked at, hmmm...have to think about that one. :)

Again, thanks so much for the wonderful reviews! It's been a pleasure to read them.


 Report Review

Review #18, by kandekisses 

3rd March 2010:
Yay no tears! lol. That was adorable.

I'm smiling like crazy right now. At first I was thinking Ginny was being a bit harsh, but as I kept reading I realized that it was perfect. You captured Ginny exactly right. She is a tough one, of course growing up with all those brothers. &Poor Harry, he keeps beating himself up doesn't he.

I'm glad they both got it together though.

Oh and I have to mention that your details floor me every chapter. The littlest things you add from the books really complete the story. I absolutely love it!

Author's Response: Yes, I finally got you smiling instead of crying! Sweet. :)

This chapter was VERY hard to write! I knew Ginny had to come off as a little harsh, but I didn't want it to stay that way. There is no way the chapter you see here would have come about without the help of my very good friend theelderwand. I don't know if you've ever checked out any of his stories, but they are well worth it.

I really love Ginny. I love the thought of her being a mix of a regular girl, but also a tough-as-nails-survived-six-older-brothers girl who doesn't let herself get pushed around. It's always fun to get to play with that, especially when it's poor Harry who's stuck in the middle.

Getting them together was a given. Making it go smoothly...you'll have to wait and see.

As for Harry beating himself up...you know Harry. That's not gonna go away overnight either.

Gosh, you like the details! That is high praise for me. I LOVE details, so I do try very hard to include them in my stories as I know I like them when I read, but sometimes I wonder if anyone even notices. Thanks for mentioning it!


 Report Review

Review #19, by TheWeirdSister 

22nd February 2010:
Pretty good chapter. I like how incorporate alot of Seemingly insignificant information from the books into your story. Mr. Dursley's drills, twelve failsafe ways to charm witchs book ( I think it's called that), Ron's orange room. In some fics it just seems like the authors make stuff up As they go along

I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad to see you back again!

Thank you for noticing the details. I love details, so I do try to stay on top of them. It's great to have someone else notice them.

As for updating, the next chapter has been submited to the queue. Baring anything issues with validation, it should go up in nine days or so.

Thanks!



 Report Review

Review #20, by Laugharama_llama 

18th February 2010:
AW, that was the sweetest thing :D I love Ginny to pieces. Even in the books, I love how she doesn't take any of the fluffy crap and just gets down to business and is as real as it gets. FAV.

Again, not much more to add other than I loved itt!!! :DD

Author's Response: Thanks! It makes me very happy that you loved it!

I agree, Ginny isn't a "fluffy" girl. How could she be, growing up with that clan of brothers that she has? So yeah, I felt strongly that she wouldn't be a puddle of giggling mush the first time she and Harry managed to speak to each other again. But knowing that didn't mean it was easy to write. Must give some credit to theelderwand for this, as his help got me through my writer's block so I could do this chapter.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #21, by TheWeirdSister 

4th February 2010:
This is amazing so far. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading! There will certainly be more in the near future!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsKatieGrint 

30th January 2010:
Aww! This was great, and like you said, its really something Harry would have said. Great job! :) I can't wait for the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Thanks again! I'm honored you read all the chapters I have posted! That's a lot to read!

As for the next chapter, I'm still ironing out some things in it so it might be a little while before it's posted. But don't worry, it will be coming along shortly. I'm having too much fun writing this story not to.

Thanks again for all your wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #23, by blueirony 

21st January 2010:
You know, theelderwand told me that I was in for a treat while reading your story. And he was right. This was absolutely lovely.

I have read a lot of stories that are, for want of a better phrase, a “Book Eight”. They deal with the immediate aftermath of the war and how everyone learns to move on. In essence, they fill the gap before “Nineteen Years Later” in DH. And they’re all good. They’re all really good. However, none of them really tap into Harry’s emotions that well. People always mention how there are such tortured characters, such as Remus and Sirius. But people forget just how tortured Harry is. You didn’t. You seem to understand that a seventeen year old boy can simply not bounce back immediately after something as great as what Harry has gone through.
Your depiction of Harry is really interesting. He’s just... lost. Perhaps not so much damaged or broken. But he’s lost. And you really bring that across very well to the reader. The way he feels so guilty, the things he does, the way he talks, the things he says... they all really fit your characterisation of him. And you’ve followed through with that characterisation right through the five chapters.

That scene with him and Molly brought tears to my eyes. When he admitted that he had nowhere to go. Damnit, Harry! Why must you be so heartbreaking to read about?
Seriously, though. That was such a touching part of the story. Not to mention what Molly says to Lily at her grave. The entire thing was just... it really touched me. The things I was impressed with was how much dialogue you chose for Harry and Molly to have. You didn’t overload them with too much to the point where it starts sounding a bit contrived but, at the same time, you didn’t have any missing gaps in what they said. Everything was said that needed to be said and it was just... beautifully done.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a post DH story where Fred is alive. This would be the first. And, I do admit, I initially did have reserved feelings about it. It just didn’t seem like it would work. And it just seemed... I don’t know. I wasn’t really for it. But after reading the chapter in which Harry meets Fred and how it affects George, especially, I was sold. It fits. And that’s strange for me to say. Especially since I didn’t think it would fit at all. The way in which you described how he stayed alive was really clever, too. About the killing curse hitting the wall? That’s so smart! I never would have thought of something like that. And, it makes sense. It isn’t as though you have just pulled out a hasty explanation out of nowhere. It works.
In a way, I kind of hope that Fred doesn’t make an entirely full recovery. The bloodbath that was DH made me realise that war really is ugly. And the characters and people we know and love are all at risk. So a small part of me hopes that Fred is physically damaged in some way. It would be more real to me if that happened. But, having said that, I honestly wouldn’t care if he made a full recovery, too. He is such a lovable character. How could anyone be upset if he did?

I liked the scene with Ginny and Harry. So many of the “reunion” scenes between the two that I have read are full of emotion to the point where drilling holes through my teeth seems more pleasurable. You had the right amount of emotion. And appropriate awkwardness. It was set up when Harry was talking to George and Charlie. He said something about how he needed to figure some things out for himself. And that, in my opinion, makes the most sense. It just wouldn’t work if Harry and Ginny fell into each other’s arms two seconds after The Battle ended.

The title of this story is a good one. And the story fits it. They’re all healing from the inside out in small ways and it’s really lovely reading about how you deal with all the characters. I would love to see more about Percy and, of course, Ron and Hermione. Though I think you will probably deal with those in later chapters. And not to mention Teddy! I do hope you write about Harry developing a relationship with Teddy.

But, honestly? Whichever way you take this story, I’ll still absolutely adore it. It’s nice to know that there are people still out there who are writing Book Eights and aren’t screwing it up like so many people do.

Ju :]

Author's Response: First of all, I must tell you that your review absolutely floored me. I'd been a little worried because it seemed like people had just stopped reading and I was wondering if perhaps no one was interested. Your review honestly restored my faith. THANK YOU!

theelderwand is too good to me.

I really didn't set out to write a "Book Eight." The first HP story I ever wrote is nearing 100 pages now. It takes place roughly 9 months after the Battle. That was supposed to be my epic HP fic, but as I was writing it I realized that some of the things I was trying to address in that story really needed to be set up better. So, Healing was born, to fill in those blanks and set the stage for the other story.

Fred. I wasn't sure how people would take that so I can completely understand you not really being for it. I could say I debated long and hard about bringing him back, but that would be a lie. I knew I had to bring him back if I was going to write this story. I love the twins, and the thought of investing hours into a story without both of them there didn't appeal. The thing that I had to think long and hard about was how I was going to do it. I HAVE read a few post DH with Fred alive, but I wasn't satisfied. I finally came up with what I used here. I was quite excited because technically, everything happened exactly as the book says (with the exception of the epilogue) so I could ALMOST claim the story as canon. I'm so glad that you think my explanation works, and that I sold you on it. I can only handle reading so many George grieving for Fred fics. I wanted something new. I wanted to see George dealing with a Fred who was alive but injured.

As for Fred's recovery, I can tell you that there will be lasting issues from this. I can't tell you what or I'll spoil some of the plot, but I agree with you on so many levels. Wars don't clean up that easily, and the affects of war don't just go away. War is ugly.

I can deal with a damaged Fred, I just couldn't deal with a dead one.

Whew! I was worried about that Harry and Ginny scene! That scene was more ME than anything. I'm a romantic soul, but a rather pratical one. No matter how much I think they adore each other, and I do think that, I just didn't see them moving terribly fast. How can you stand there kissing each other when your friends and family are lying dead at your feet? And besides, real love and romance is much more than just snogging and such.

Ron and Hermione show up again in the next chapter, so no worries.

Again, thank you SO much for this review. It was more than I could have ever dreamed of.


 Report Review

Review #24, by theelderwand 

18th January 2010:
Absolutely amazing, superb. I LOVE this chapter.

I spent a little time looking at your reviews. VERY impressive. And exceptionally well deserved. Looks like you've got everybody glued to the computer. That definitely, absolutely and positively includes me.

Farmgirl, you have an AMAZING story here.

Thanks so much for the shout-out, but we do need to correct the record a bit. That Harry/Ginny scene was all you and its PERFECT. You've so got her down. I absolutely love the way you have her shoot him down when he hits her with the "lips and eyes line." (LAME!) Then, following it up with her knowing about the book. Gods that's just hysterical. Everything from Ginny's posture (is that hereditary for a Weasley-LOL) to her excellent dialogue "Talk is cheap" was just perfect. I'm running out of adjectives here. LOL!

When the Weasley's applauded, rest assured, your adopted big brother was clapping and cat-calling right there with them.

Fantastic chapter! More!!! MORE!!

You are a gifted writer. Never forget that.

Author's Response: You have an amazing ability to make me blush, you know that. Thank you for the praise.

You read through my reviews? Wow. Dedication. People have been very nice to me in their comments, much nicer than I probably deserve, I'll admit that without hesitation. I just hope people keep coming back once they realize how slow of a writer I am. :)

Now, big bro, the record stands fine exactly how it was. No need to correct it. I would STILL be stuck on that Ginny/Harry scene if you hadn't swooped in and rescued me with your brilliant Harry lines. So, I thank you heartily.

Glad you liked the Weasley boys applauding though. That bit was fun.

As for more? I'm trying. Hopefully more soon.

Thanks for the review! Always makes my day to find one from you. Don't stay away too long, okay?


 Report Review

Review #25, by Husain 

18th January 2010:
Well actually Harry did think of her everday when he was off to destroy the horcruxes so i think him agreeing with Ginny that he was using the lines from the "Twelve Safe Free Ways to charm Witches" is quite stupid.
Well it was nice chapter though but not how i expected them to get together after the way u wrote first few chapters.
Though its not the end of story i would have many chapters to be satisfied with I THINK.

Author's Response: Sorry the way they got together wasn't really your cup of tea. I can be a rather unconventional storyteller and as such sometimes scene probably go in a different way than you are expecting. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell me your opinion, however, and to submit a review even if it wasn't your favorite chapter! That takes dedication.

You are right. It is not the end of the story; there is much still to come so hopefully you will come back again and find other chapters more to your liking.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>