Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
93 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
Laura's mum is really perceptive, isn't she? First realising that Bertram Aubrey wasn't the right guy for Laura and then seeing clearly that she's heartbroken when she returns from the Potters so upset and pretending that it's got nothing to do with boys. I also liked the fact that while Laura is so upset she can still worry about her parents because their jobs are really quite dangerous and I hope that they're both okay doing them with this war going on.

Oh no, Laura thinks that Sirius didn't go after her! Of course at this point she doesn't know that he's an Animagus and that dog she saw desperately chasing the car was actually Sirius! I feel so sorry for both Laura and Sirius in this chapter because they're both so miserable and everyone else but them can see that they're pining for each other - they are a bit hopeless, aren't they? All these mixed messages and miscommunications threatening to break them up! But I hope that Laura's seen sense now that Lily's guilt tripped her into meeting and talking with Sirius, because otherwise they'll all be miserable!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Ah, mums always know, don't you think? :) And yes, Laura definitely does think Sirius doesn't try to follow her, which really compounds the feeling that it WAS too good to be true and he didn't really care. But yeah, it's a really sad chapter, isn't it? They're pining for each other but they're both too stubborn to admit it. Sigh.

Having said that I do like Lily in this chapter. I think she says just what Laura needs to hear - not necessarily wants to hear, but needs to.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Vivyan 

16th January 2013:
Please please please let them get back together. I know you can't change it now blah blah blah but really, I hate reading this lousy character stuff.

Author's Response: Ah, sorry about that. Teen angst and all that. I thought it needed to go in there, though - you may understand when you read on.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Olga 

5th January 2013:
A dog running after the car? You freaking ripped my heart out, woman!

Author's Response: Yeah, I liked that one too. Poor Laura has no idea what that means, but of course the rest of us do, and that makes it even harder to read. Yes, I'm evil. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Elelith 

21st March 2012:
Hey, just read this whole story in one go, stayed up until 1 am! And I have to see say it is one of the if not the best Sirius/OC I've ever read...I only wish you hadn't killed her off at the end!

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. It had to happen, though, in order to keep the story canon. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the rest of it, though, because there are an awful lot of Sirius/OC stories out there so to have it rated as one of the best you've read is just amazing. Thank you so much!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
please let them make up

Author's Response: Maybe they will. And maybe they won't. Not telling. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack 

23rd October 2011:
The dog following her car was Sirius wasn't it? Haha nice touch :) Oh why must Laura be so stubborn? I mean, I love that about her, but it's so much easier when the main character isn't. Anyway, glad she's going to talk to Sirius and as you weren't even going to put the break up scene in there, I'm assuming they'll get back together next chapter.
Nice job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Yes, the dog was Sirius, who simply wasn't thinking that she wouldn't realise it was him. Gotta love those misunderstandings! :) And yeah, she's stubborn, but then again that's still within character for her. She's now hellbent on not getting hurt again, and this is how she goes about that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne 

13th August 2011:
Why can't she see that the black dog was Sirius? (even though she doesn't know he's an animagus)
They're both taking it so hard, and she's not trusting Lily at all :-( this is a really sad chapter.
No Laura! Don't do it! you need Sirius! oh man! Sirius needs to snap out of it and fight for his love! :-p
So Mrs Potter was being sly aye? I'm glad Lily's finally talked some sense into Laura! :-D

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: I did enjoy throwing the black dog into the mix here, because as readers we all know it was Sirius, but of course Laura had no idea and just thought he hadn't bothered to try to chase her. This IS a sad chapter, but then again when your'e dealing with broken hearts it has to be like that, otherwise it's not believable. Unfortunately Laura's too stubborn for her own good here, so I had to use Lily to get her to see a bit of sense (even if it was via guilting her out, hahaha).

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

10th August 2011:
Another brilliant chapter, and I love how really Lily proved to be the insight in Sirius' side of the story that we needed to balance everything out. I think there's really two or more sides to every story, and something I think Laura, as perfect as she is a narrator only can see one side of the situation, so it was nice to have Lily break this up a little and really put a focus on Sirius' side. I think you've written her well doing this, it really seems like something she would do, not to mention her caring nature is quite clear in her words.

What is this business with Bernie... Sirius and Laura have barely been apart two weeks! This is not an ideal situation for her to be in at the current time. I must read on to see whether she says no...

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: You're definitely right in that there are two sides to every story, and Laura is definitely only seeing one side of it. And she's held out from talking to him for so long now that she can't exactly go to him herself, that would be losing face. Hence, Lily. I thought the guilt of keeping her and James apart would work here on Laura's consicience.

As for Bernie, well he's not asking her out, just registering an interest for when she is ready. I agree that the timing wasn't brilliant but he was trying to be as tactful as he could. But yeah, not ideal, have to admit that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by LivingLife42 

25th July 2011:
I'm really hating Laura right now. But I loved Lily in this situation. Very calm.

Laura and Sirius better get back together or i might die.

Author's Response: Yes, Laura is being stubborn, isn't she? But she's in self-protection mode - she thinks that if she doesn't hear him out then she can't get hurt any more. Silly, yes, but then again it's not us in that situation. As for Lily, well she's getting as frustrated as everyone else so she decided to do something about it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
Ah, I love Lily. So calm and practical.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, LIly is a bit of a godsend in this situation, I think. Someone needed to slap some sense into Laura and Lily was the only one who managed to get past the facade to do that. Glad you liked it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by theelderwand 

23rd August 2010:
Stubborn, thick headed, obstinant.gr...*sigh* This is just too much.

Perfectly written in character. I know I said this last review, but its just as appropriate here. her falling back on her inferirority complex is the proper character motivation, but its frustrating as heck to read.

Sending back his gifts was horribly nasty.

And what of her looming date with whatshisname? Hopefully, they'll reconcile long before that - be a shame to crush the guy AGAIN.

Mel, you're killing me here.

Eldy

Author's Response: Hahaha. Yep, she's all of the above and more. But, as you said, it's in character. Sending back the gifts was nasty, yes, but it was purely a reflex action - she was hurting and she wanted to hurt him.

As for Bernie, well that's only a statement of intent rather than an actual date. He got from her all he could hope for under the circumstances, which was that when she was ready to think about that again she'd go to him. Of course, it was unspoken that this was only if Sirius remained out of the picture, so Bernie's got that to contend with. He knows who he can and can't compete with. :)

And not really killing you I hope - only frustrating the living daylights out of you. Which was quite deliberate, I might add. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
WHY?!!! Why must she be so pigheaded?! OK, I know the answer to that - you've developed her character as consistently being self-depreciating and pragmatic, so this fits perfectly, but it is just too frustrating for us readers!

Onto what I love about this chapter - having her moan that he didn't follow her, just some stray dog. Again, it's the attention to detail and the depth of the immersion into Marauder era realities that makes this story stand out, particularly as they're so neatly blended with typical muggle stuff, like returning presents.

Would write more, but for me this has been the biggest cliff-hanger to date, so off to find out how the talking thing goes...

Author's Response: You know, I had a few people say this was the worst cliffy in the story so I must have done something right there. The thing is that I only cut it off there because I'd reached my word limit for the chapter and it was the only place that a chapter break would actually work. In other words, an accidental cliffy, if you like. :)

And yes,she's being totally pigheaded. But, as you said, that's still in character for her which I think is important. Glad you liked the bit about the dog following her, too - I was quite proud of that one myself. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by doglover 

12th August 2010:
i hope their talk works!!! please!!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

I had a lot of people hate me for ending the chapter where I did, but I'd run out of words and it was the best place to break it. As for whether the talk works - well, no spoilers, but I see you've read the next chapter already so I don't need to comment. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by EW4eva 

14th April 2010:
Okay, okay... I am a horrible reader. 42 chapters and no reviews :( I love this story so much that I couldn't stop reading to write anything. I was afraid once Sirius and Laura got together, because thats when stories start going downhill for me... I guess I'm more into the love/hate stuff more so than the love/love mushy stuff. I sound like a twelve year old. shame I'm really twenty. :( Well I love it, and I am going to stop blabbering on about nothing. Going on favorites!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

First of all, please don't apologise for not reviewing every chapter. The fact that you couldn't stop reading for long enough to leave a review is a huge compliment so don't by any means feel bad. And hey, you're reviewing now, and that's great so thank you. :D

I know what you mean about the love/hate stuff but really I'm a hopeless romantic at heart so you're going to get some of the soppy stuff in this story. My apologies for that, but it's just the way I write, I don't like feeling unsatisfied with the romance, if that makes any sense. But you don't sound like a twelve year old, just someone with distinct tastes. Nothing wrong with that! *grins*

Anyway, I'm really flattered that you like my story so much, and I hope you keep on reading till the end. There's not much to go now so maybe you'll live with the soppy bits and appreciate it anyway.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by always_dreaming 

25th March 2010:
how long did lily spend at the potter's? she seems to have bonded with james' mother pretty well

Author's Response: Hi again :D

Lily has spent a few days at the Potters' - she was there on Boxing Day as well as for the New Years party, so she's had some good bonding time with Mrs P. Besides, they met at Kings Cross station when she and James got off the train as well. So, that's how she's managed to bond so well, it's not like it was the first time they met or anything. And of course she's trying to ingratiate herself into the family because she wants her potential in-laws to like her, as most people do. Hope that answers your question!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ronsgirl29 

24th January 2010:
oh goodness, this is killing me! i love some good conflict, but at the same time i'm afraid to read so i'll hide my face in my pillow hahha. I know Laura was really hurt by what Sirius said, but it could have been alot worse, so i'm glad she's taking lily's advice and talking to him. once they talk i hope it will be okay!

10/10 (:

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, this is a bit of a dark chapter, isn' t it? But then again I had to get that heartbreak in there. Even so, yes, I too was glad she agreed to talk to Lily. It's amazing how much characters can go off on their own without telling you hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by ochalke5 

13th January 2010:
OH MY GOD! I LOVE IT!!! IT'S AMAZING AND I'M NOT SURE WHY I HAVE CAPS ON BUT THIS CHAPTER IS ALSO ONE OF MY FAVORITES!!! It kind of reminds me of that song, Savior by Rise Against... anyways loved it!!!
10/10
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie!

Wow, almost caught up I see! You are doing well. :D

You know, people keep telling me about songs that have reminded them of this story, and I'm such a dork that I haven't known any of the songs! This one included. I did however Google the lyrics and it does kinda fit, doesn't it?

Glad you liked it anyway - it was a bit of a sad chapter but then again breakups are sad generally.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Bridie 

9th January 2010:
I feel so sorry for Bernie, if they make up he gonna get the burn again. oh well Sirius will always come first.

Author's Response: Hi Bridie! Thanks for reviewing again! :D

Yes, I too feel sorry for Bernie. He's a nice guy and doesn't deserve to be caught up in the middle of this. However, he was necessary for the plot so that was what happened. But yes, he's fighting a losing battle if he's trying to compete against Sirius. Which he knows.

Next chapter should be up very soon now.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by broadwaystar 

9th January 2010:
I want to start by saying that you are a phenomenal writer. Your imagery is spectactular and you depict your scenes so perfectly. I have read your story from beginning to end, reading in the dead of night if necessary =) This fic is my favorite by far and I commend you on your Dobby Award and Trusted Author status. You truly deserve them both.

Now, you need to keep writing!!! I'm obsessed with this! When will the next chapter come? When will we find out if Laura takes Sirius back! I need to know!!! Anyway, as I've mentioned, you are amazing. Congratulations on a stellar story and hope to see Chapter 43 soon!!!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean. :D

Wow, phenomenal? That's astonishing. Thank you! I'm not sure I agree with you but I'm incredibly flattered. *beams*

As for the next chapter, well you're in luck. As soon as I finish these review responses I'm going to load it up. I do updates about every 5-7 days generally so you should never have to wait too long.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Josie 

9th January 2010:
Sorry i haven't reviewed in a bit. I've only just got a chance to read the new chapters. so i'm going to review them in one big go.
Muhaha (i'm starting to think i have a really sadistic sense of humour) i laughed at the split! I thought it was really good actually. You know shake up Laura for a bit I mean we can't let her get too happy!
I usually love Siruis but what a doofus he is!! I mean running after Laura as a dog!! Was he expacting her to stop? 'oh look a dog is chasing me lets stop and find out why' honestly Siruis!
>Meow< Laura was mean in this chapter. I feel sorry for Bernie he hasn't got a chance against Siruis muhaha! (oh god my humour again, yes laugh at the poor boys pain just laugh)
At the paragaph 'Her words made me realise that I hadnít heard him talking that term at all.' is Laura talking about fifth year when he was disinherited or now? i was confused (doesn't take much)
ARGH and it was a cliffhanger!! Which the worst but kinda best bit of the chapter in a weird sort of way
I can't wait to see them get back together (they WILL!!) Update soon :D

Author's Response: Hi Josie!

Hope you had a lovely Christmas and new year. And no worries about reviewing, I think I've said before that you doing it at all is a favour to me so whenever you feel inclined is good. :)

Hmm, I think you do have a bit of a sadistic streak. But, so long as it's only directed at fictional characters, that's all right. I had a lot of people particularly unconcerned when I broke Laura and Sirius up so it just sounds like you're one of them. :)

As for Sirius running after her as a dog, well that gets covered later but he simply wasn't thinking. He could move much faster as a dog so that was what he did. It didn't occur to him that she wouldn't realise it was him.

As for that quote, you've got it wrong, Laura was thinking about the term she had just started. Maybe I should go back and re-word it.

Oh, and I too feel sorry for Bernie. He doesn't deserve all this. But these things do happen and he's just caught up in the middle.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Denise 

8th January 2010:
I love your story. Please update soon. Also, I wanted to ask a sort of stupid question. Here it is: is the girl featured in your banner how you picture Laura looking? Just wondering. Keep up the awesome work.

Author's Response: Hi Denise! Thanks for the review!

Hmm, the girl in the picture. She's not exactly how I pictured Laura but she was the closest I could find in the photos I looked at so I figured she would do. Though, really, it's not that important - I think people will have their own images of my characters so I don't want to influence that too much.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ellen 

8th January 2010:
Honestly, I don't know what to say... This, is AMAZING!
It is now 3 am in the morning(night?), and I don't know what to do! I want to read more but I have to wait and I am going nuts.

You truely deserve your Dobby, it is addicting. And I have to give you credit for making Laura so trustworthy and not so "I am popular and pretty so I can get everybody I want." :)

Thank you for a wonderful story!
Hopefully I can read some more soon ;)

Author's Response: Hi Ellen! Thanks for the review!

Wow, you stayed up till 3am? That's incredible. I'm not sure I condone it but it's very flattering so I won't complain. And sorry that it ended on a cliffy, but that does happen occasionally.

The good news (from your perspective) is that I'll be loading up the next chapter very shortly so you can find out what happens.

And thank you for saying such nice things about Laura! I worked very hard on her as an OC because a lot of them are frankly awful, so it's great that people appreciate her.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheOriginalMarySue 

8th January 2010:
Amazingly written story.
I was itching to get back to my computer,and even pulled an all nighter reading it.
Realistic to a tee, even the slightly sickening sweetness of Sirius and Laura together,and the two faced syndrome of teenage boys. It deserves its prise
This review is of the entire story so far,and I hope you have a nice speedy update soon,with a bit of length to it. No pressure!

Thank you for this gem,
TheOriginalMarySue

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean. :D

I'm very pleased that you think my story is realistic, I tried very hard to get that right because like a lot of people I was sick of stories where everything moved too fast. And I'm also glad that you appreciate the teenaged-boy-ness of the hero - he is only 18 after all and a lot of people seem to forget that. But of course there is some maturing that still needs to happen.

As for updates, well I do them about every 5-7 days so next one is due this weekend. Not sure when, but soon. As to length, well they're all about 4000-5000 words give or take so expect it to be that long.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by serenity_1 

8th January 2010:
I am officially addicted to this story.

It's been awhile since I've read a story this good.
Your a great writer and I can't wait to read the next chapter.
Please update soon!

Thanks! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! :D

It's so nice to have people tell me they're addicted to my story. I still find it surprising, but it's definitely nice. So thank you! *beams*

Next chapter is due sometime this weekend - when, not sure, but definitely soon.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Bezoar 

8th January 2010:
Please update !

I read most of this story in a day, and I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

Wow, most of it in a day?? I am impressed. Because there's an awful lot to get through by now ... Anyway, I update about every 5-7 days so next one is due this weekend. When, I'm not sure, but soon.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>