Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ed 

22nd June 2017:
You need to studt geography! Going from France to England You would be travelingWEST!!!

Author's Response: I beg to differ. Traveling from Calais to Dover one would be traveling northeast But thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LilyGreenEyes 

29th April 2011:
This is a very well written chapter with some truly brutal scenes of the war taking place. It was such a dark and depressing chapter but I really enjoyed it, in a weird way. The intricacies and details of the battle are stunning, and it is brilliantly written.

Maxime's dedication to the process she started is trully touching and the unknown arrival of Ronnie is adding an extra layer of tension to the story, which is making it even more interesting to read.

You really captured the moment well when they were all apologising to each other. It's important to clear the air like that, especially when you've been building up for a big battle, so that was lovely to have included.

OH NOES! Another aerial battle! You write these so well but I have my heart in my mouth for the whole time theres a battle going on and it doesn't half get me panicky when it doesn't all go smoothly! But my! Hermione can fly now can't she! That was very good to see her finally developing those skills. And Ron and Ginny - what a team they make!

But the Inferi Army - now they are scary! They are like this semi indestructible, all consuming force threatening everything in their path. It's quite terrifying to imagine those scenes which you make so vivid through your writing.

Another fantastic chapter, I don't want this story to end!

Author's Response: I think this is about my absolute favorite battle scene ever.

I liked keeping it dark in the begining, carrying over the desperation of the last several chapters and then just letting the Quartet kick some major death eater posterior!

I'm pleased as firewhiskey that you liked it ;)

Only two chapters left!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #3, by melian 

17th August 2010:
I've READ Farmgirl's story so you can stop plugging it, okay? :)

You know, I thought they were goners. Or at least one of them would be, in that flight above Calais. With so much going against them it seemed almost folly to hope that they would all get through. Gotta love the Elder Wand, though (and I mean the wand, not you, so get that ego back down to size) because it can pull of the most extraordinary things. I do find myself wondering what will happen when Harry and Voldie face up because they'll BOTH have deathsticks ... which will win out? Which is the true master? All that sort of thing.

It was lovely to see Maxime and Hermione reunited on the beach there, too. And DuChamp, that little Charms wizard that we met back in chapter 1. Though the setting was a little macabre - even if the Inferi had exploded into dust it still wouldn't be the nicest place in the world, would it? But then again, nowhere is in this reality so I suppose it's as good as they're going to get.

I must take a break now but I'll be back as soon as I can, okay?

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: I purposefully kept the begining of this chapter as dark as the last few to ensure that everyone would think this fight would be a tough one. I had entirely too much fun turning this into an opportunity for the Quartet to give the DE's a desperately needed shellacking.

Elder wand v. Elder wand Never fear, its coming and I hope it lives up to the hype. LOL! But, here's the kicker. They're each master of their own death stick. So, it'll be down purely to duelling ability, no nifty tricks this time. Well, maybe a few...

I nearly killed Maxime and Duchamp off. I'm really glad I didn't because they were so desperately needed in this scene, dark as it was. And yes, there is "no safe patch of earth" in this reality. It truly is a nasty place.

Thanks so much for the amazing review.

Eldy

P.S. Whatdya mean "get that ego down to size" I resemble that remark! LOL!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Miss Lily Potter 

15th August 2010:
Oh, wow. O.o This was yet another brilliant battle scene.

I loved it. I could feel the tension and the weaving, and I could see it all in my mind's eye. I don't remember the exact quote, but I loved the bit about Ron and Ginny "flying together almost since birth", I think? That made me smile, because I can see them, one or two years old, just flying together on toy brooms. (:

xD Hermione and Harry made me laugh, with Ron and Ginny being all jealous. I really hope they don't get together... That wouldn't be too nice. ;P

So now Maxime knows Harry's alive, which is totally cool. Though it must be more than a bit of a shock to her... "You know that guy, the one who was supposed to save the Wizarding world but didn't? Yeah, this is him."

Ooh. I feel like the story's heating up even more, now. I'm suuuper excited to keep reading. (: So I'll cut this review, too, a bit short and read on. :D
-Jasmine

Author's Response: This is by far and away my favorite battle scene. That's due primarily to the pairings: H/Hr and R/G.

Never fear, I won't be messing with the canon ships, but I just thought this would be a great opportunity to poke fun at the H/Hr ship.

Now, we get down to business. They've reached Calais and its time for the final phase: crossing the chanel and killing Voldy. But, before then, a little unfinished business.

I don't mind the short review; that just tells me I've got you enthralled which is a great compliment. Thanks Jasmine!

Elder


 Report Review

Review #5, by PrincessPadfoot 

14th August 2010:
Eldy!!

So first I'm going to apologise for not reading this sooner. Second I'm going to kick myself for not reading this sooner.

It's brillaint!! You are a master at battle scenes and this one was just as epic as the first one (back in chapter 2 I think...maybe...). But anyways, I thought it was clever how you managed to get Hermione to stay on the broom and still fire curses. Very clever little sticking charm :P

I also like the different POV from the French people fighting. It gave a different insight into the battle and made the chapter that much more interesting.

I wonder how they are going to explain all THIS to Madame Mazime?!?!?! Hmm...I have a feeling I shall found out in the next chapter!!

I'm off to read!!

Love ya!
PP

Author's Response: Shock! PP is back? Yea! I was starting to worry. LOL!

This is one of my all time favorite battle scenes. I particularly liked it because of the R/G H/Hr pairing. Leave it to Hermione to figure out a way to become a tailgunner.

The POV of the French was a flourish I liked too. I thought it helped make everything more dark and desperate. Really flattered you liked it.

Thanks so much for coming back.

Hugs!

Elder


 Report Review

Review #6, by edward ollivander 

3rd July 2010:
finally something is going right! it is going to from now on right? right? damn! i knew it was too good to be true. Happy writing.

Author's Response: My favorite fight scene! Glad you liked it. Will things continue to go right for the Quartete? Surely you jest. LOL!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsKatieGrint 

6th March 2010:
Absolutly stunning chapter here! Everything was so smooth! I was surprised! Normally scenes are choppy and cut short, but really yours are just amazing! You have so many different things gong on and yet it never gets confusing! Really fantastic job! I enjoyed every word of it! :DD

Author's Response: Katie, there are times when I like this chapter more than the final fight scene. I'm really glad you liked it.

Thanks so much for the amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sirius Black Dog 

20th January 2010:
I'm loving it. Though i think i'll need a hankie due to the fact that there is only 3 chapters left :(

But it's a brilliant story. You have an amzing talent for writing and i'll stand by that for as long as i live :)

Author's Response: Sirius! Great to hear from you. I'm really glad you're liking the story. I had a blast writing it, but, yes, we've about come to the end.

I can't thank you enough for praise like that. It's really appreciated and I hope to hear from you again.


 Report Review

Review #9, by weasleyismyking17 

15th January 2010:
These chapters just keep getting better and better! This was absolutely my favorite so far. You are amazing a broom battles, and I specifically liked the one in this chapter because of the way the quartet worked together SO WELL. Their communication and understanding of one another was perfect, considering how close they are mentally. Also, I liked how they incorporated some pretty kick-arse Auror tactics into the battle. I have only one word to describe this chapter: INTENSE. Keep writing! I can't wait to get to the end of this story! :)

Author's Response: Weasley's back! Great to hear from you. And what an amazing review. Thanks!

I had entirely too much fun writing this broom battle. I wanted it to start off desperate, to carry over the heaviness of the previous chapters. Then, when everything looks about as dark as it could get, I wanted to have the quartet kick the living snot out of everybody and do it with huge grins on their faces. If it hit you that way, I'm really flattered.

I've been building this chapter up since the begining in reviews. So much so, that I was afraid that it might not live up to my hype. So, again, I'm really glad you liked it. It was great fun to pair everybody up like this: H/Hr R/G. Its so easy in Post Hogwarts fic to focus on the couples and forget the friendship of H/Hr and the sibling bond of R/G. I almost did it here and am glad I went the other direction. It also gave me an opportunity to poke some fun at the H/Hr ship.

As to the rest of the story, the end is near!

Only two chapters left. Next up: "Assault on the Imperium." It's time. Harry v. Tom; Chosen One v. Dark Lord. Elder Wand v. Elder Wand. Buckle up! (Now, if I don't live up to that hype, I'm doomed!)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by blueirony 

9th January 2010:
Only THREE chapters left? But... but... thereís so much more to be explained! Argh! Iím going to tear my hair out. This is just so intense. And I love every second of it.

Iíve said it before, but Iíll say it again Ė this story really does have everything. It has some humour when itís needed. It has romance (and, yes, I will admit to being a soppy romantic inside) that makes me smile. It deals with family. It has some kick-ass villains. It has tension. And it has the unbelievable action, thrill and intensity that keeps me hooked. Absolutely hooked. I sat down to read this just now and thought that I would only get to the end of Chapter 10 because I really had to get these reviews up. And I thought that I would easily be able to stop. Next thing I know, Iím at the end of Chapter 15. Totally and utterly hooked.

I donít know what to say. I donít want to make theories about what happens next. I donít really want to comment on whatís already happened. I feel like Iím in the middle of a really intense action suspense thriller film and Iíve just paused it to go and get a plate of cookies or something. I donít want to talk about it. I just want to get back to it and absorb everything that happens.

You mentioned a hanky warning at the end of Chapter 15. I do not know what that means. And, in some ways, I donít really want to know or think about it too much. I just want to wait until the next chapter(s) are uploaded and then I can sink my teeth into what new things you have cooked up.

Go... go make films or something. Go get published. Actually, donít. First finish this story off and then go out into the world and share your talent. Seriously. You really know how to cook up a freaking AWESOME plot.

Once more chapters have been uploaded, please tell me! And if I have no more space in my review requests, to hell with it. Just drop me a PM and Iíll come running. Well. Maybe not come running. Seeing as this is online. And running online isnít actually physically possible to do. But Iíll type very fast and press the mouse button repeatedly, in quick succession. Hee.

:]

Author's Response: Wow!

What an amazing review. I'm speechless here...

I put a lot of blood sweat and tears into this story so I can't thank you enough for the amazing review.

I promise more chapters are coming. But its vital the final three be as close to perfect as I can make them.

Next up: "Return to the Cliffs of Dover", after that: "Assault on the Imperium" and the last chapter? Well, we're gonna keep that secret for now.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TheDirigiblePlum 

6th January 2010:
Crazy stuff! A fight scene on broomsticks! Doesn't get much better than that. :D

The small bites of humour made this chapter really exciting. Flitting between the light hearted friendship and breathtaking pace of the all the action was just insane to read! And I love insane. ;D How do manage to write so... "fast" if you get my drift? Like how do you make it so pacy??! It's great!

Updates soon? :) Please? :)

10/10

Author's Response: The Siege of Calais was my favorite fight chapter (except for the climactic final battle - which I hope you'll like!)

I wanted it to start desperate, keeping the tone of the previous chapters, but things needed to lighten up. Having Harry shout about Hermione watching her hands was key. After that, everything was easy. The quartet were able, to a point, to go back to being the good friends they are.

I absolutely loved writing Hermione's joking suggestion that she and Harry be a couple.

The transition was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I'm really glad you liked it.

As for how the pace runs the way it does, that's just the muse. I don't know how she does it...

Updates? As I've said, the whole story is finished, but its being edited. Three chapters left to go. The next one, "Return to the Cliffs of Dover," is still being tweaked. It'll be posted in about 10 days. I know I promised a chapter a week, but the delay is necessary because the two chapters that follow "Return" resolve a lot and I don't want to leave holes. Again, the problem with not writing with an outline.

What can we expect? The next chapter will be angsty. After all we're going back to the scene of my crime: killing Ron. Hermione's not gonna be dealing with that well. Plus, she and Ginny will have a VERY strong scene together. Ron will be struggling with his emotions quite a bit. And Harry? Harry will revert to his old self: the leader.

After that, its time for some Elder Wand v. Elder Wand. No more will I say.

"Return to the Cliffs of Dover" will post next weekend (Jan 16ish).

Thanks again! And, hey! I want more Teaspoons! Great story.


 Report Review

Review #12, by 1OldHPFan 

6th January 2010:
Very interesting story. I like the alternate universe feel of the story. As we know for JR herself how things ended up, this is refreshing. Tying the two together the way you do is amazing.

Author's Response: Welcome 1OldHPFan!

It's always great to hear from a new reader!

This story is the sequel to my first tale, "Stop All The Clocks." If you get the chance to read that, I'd really like to know what you think.

The premise behind Clocks was that I wanted to write a story in which Ron gets to be the undisputed hero. In order to do that, I knew Voldy had to win. I then had to kill off all most everyone and have R/Hr running for their lives. The AU that was created was the result.

However, as I got closer to finishing Clocks, I got this very strong image of the Clocks-Hermione travelling to a canon-reality, and being caught in a compromising position with a canon-Ron by a canon-Hermione. Then all hell breaks loose.

Because Clocks ended so depressingly and because I couldn't get the above image out of my mind, I wrote "Crusade." My chapter, "The Two Hermiones" is the direct result of the image I got stuck in my head.

I'm really glad you like the tale, here. It's completed. Three more chapters left to post. However, I'm still editing the last of them. But, I plan to start posting again next weekend (Jan 16ish).

Thanks for the great review and I hope to hear from you again!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Karkaroff 

4th January 2010:
I liked how you wrote the Trio making up after their fight earlier. Please update soon thanks as I am enjoying the story. I also liked the battle scenes in this chapter. Thanks for writing.

Author's Response: Karkaroff!

Great to hear from you and thanks for the great review!

I was concerned that my resolution of their fight would be a little too quick, so I'm glad you liked it.

I had a ball writing the aerial battle here, especially Ron and Ginny's part. I'm happy you liked it too.

Only three chapters left! The next one, "Return To The Cliffs of Dover" should be posted in two weeks.


 Report Review

Review #14, by AvadaKedavra1 

3rd January 2010:
Wow, that was worth one last glass of rum.

I don't even know what to say.

The brooms, the strategy, the intelligence. Brother and sister, unstoppable.

Ginny and Harry split up, brilliant. Maximize your strengths, cover your weaknesses.

The humor, fantastic.

Now, this chapter, makes me want to write.

Dude!

Author's Response: Thanks man, that means an awful lot. With all the build up I've given this chapter. I'm really glad it paid off.

Thanks for that!


 Report Review

Review #15, by pinks 

3rd January 2010:
Another great chapter! Though I'm curious about how the hard times ahead will take their toll on the group. Given the state of chaos France is in, it doesn't seem like there is any easy way out of the mess. But I take it from your comment about needing a hankie that this won't tie itself up too neatly!

One question: Why does Harry and Ginny refer to each other as "love"? I suppose its supposed to be romantic, but it feels a bit over the top.

Author's Response: Pinks! Great to see you again and thanks for the great review!

How much to say? Neat resolution. Well, neat by my standards, and neater than the end of the prequel, "Stop all the Clocks." No more will I say...

As to the term of endearment "love." I picked it up from other fanfics, liked it. Bit of a Britishism, so I'm told.

In my experience, couples tend to settle on one or two pet names and stick with them. So too with H/G.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirl 

2nd January 2010:
"Harry Potter and the Apocolipse" That's what you should have named this fic you know... If they were on horses instead of brooms I'd be worried. Really worried.

Oh heck, I'm STILL really worried. Hankies? EEP!

So, that scene you painted there of that city is dreadful. Not dreadful writing, but dreadful to imagine. Everyone fighting, Muggle and wizard alike, no regard for age. That's pretty much what I imaged for an end of the world picture.

YES! Piere and Maxime are alive! YIPPY! I like them, and you deserved to let SOMEONE live through your story. They do live, don't they? And the part where they say they have to hold anyway, despite the odds. Dobby material.

Now, the flight through the city on broom. One of my very most favorites, and that's saying something as I've had a lot of favorites in this story so far. I absolutly adore that you teamed Ginny with Ron and Harry with Hermione. I know you had stratigical reasons for that, but those aside, it's so nice to remember the other bonds that exist that aren't romantic. The friendship between Harry and Hermione (and thank HEAVENS you let them all be friends again!) and the sibling relationship of Ginny and Ron. Two angry Weasleys? I'd check my wand at the door and just surrender.

Um...you lost George's broom. First you took it, without asking, now you lost it? Perhaps Harry likes Siberia? Or, if I were Harry, I'd just point at Eldy and say "he did it."

Inferi marching up out of the water across the Channel? Where is that defibrilator anyway? No more Death Eater classes for you! EVER!

Two weeks? Waiting two weeks? Drat... :)

Author's Response: Farmgirl!

The "Apocalypse" portion of the story was one of my favorites. Calais really functions as the bridge between the AU and the cannon characters. Up until this point, I never really felt they'd been imersed in it, with the exception of Dieppe. Now there unreservedly up to their eyes in the world Riddle created. Pretty ugly, too. I'm pleased you thought it was gripping.

I really wanted to kill Pierre and Olympe off, but I realized I desperately needed the quartet to connect with some people in the AU. So, I couldn't afford a higher body count. LOL. Will they make it through to the end? Hmmm...

H/Hr and R/G was great fun. You're absolutely right that its just so easy to get caught up in the 'ships and forget that Harry and Hermione are best friends and Ron and Ginny are siblings. They really needed their scenes together and it changed the dynamic. Also gave me a chance to throw in some anti H/Hr humor in the process!

Two angry Weasley's...Yep, surrender is the only option, unless you learned to fly on the pitch at the Burrow.

George's broom? Actually, I was gonna blame you...

I loved the visual of the Inferi coming out of the waves. Still gives me chills and I'm really glad you liked it!

Two weeks? Well, the last two chapters need significant re-writes and until those are done, I won't know what needs changed in the chapter that is to follow this one. Sorry, 'bout that. But rest assured, the story is completed; just in the editing process now.

Thanks for the amazing review!



 Report Review

Review #17, by siledubhghlase 

2nd January 2010:
TEW:

Wow! That was a messy nail-biter! That could've been Armageddon. Well, I suppose you could say it was. The noise and the smell must have been stifling. Ack!

Thank goodness for the Elder Wand. There was no way Ginny would have healed on her own in time for them to do what they have to do.

Take your time with the posting. Better to wait for good writing than to whine for a rush-job. Take all the time you need, love. Hankies are standing by, tears are replenished.

Question: Would Pierre DuChamp be calling Mme Maxime, "Maxime" or "Olympe?" Hermione's hair is brown, not raven, which means black. Harry's hair is raven.

Loved the tag-team Weasleys and how Harry and Hermione played pilot and tail-gunner. Very clever! What did Harry do to vaporize those Inferi and their DE commanders? It was magnificent! Was it the Elder Wand or did he cast some killer wandless magic? Oh, Voldie's gonna be upset...Tee hee.

Now...where's Little Ronnie? I hope he does come straight to his Mum and Daddy. I also hope they can beat Baldemort and save the AU. But since you've warned me to have the hankies on stand-by...

Nice ending, by the way, for this chapter. Hermione re-introducing the "resurrected" Harry, Ginny, and Ron to Mme Maxime and Msr DuChamp. Very cool!

EXCELLENT, mate!

Love,
SD

Author's Response: SD!

Once again, its great to hear from you!

Calais was definitely Armageddon; I'm flattered it had you biting your nails!

Ginny may be mobile, but she's not nearly at full strength. That will get addressed more in the next chapter and it will have consequences later on ...

I've just made the corrections you suggested. Oops! Thanks for that!

The Inferi were zapped by the Resurection Stone the same way they were at Dieppe. Handy little gadget that! But it wasn't Harry; Ron's still got the Stone. So, chalk one more victory up for your hero!

Ginny and Ron beating the tar out of the Death Eaters was probably my favorite part of this story. No substitute for learning to fly at the pitch at the Burrow! I also liked pairing Harry and Hermione up; that tends to happen too rarely. I'm always tempted to keep the couples together, but a pairing like this was great fun. Especially as it gave Hr a chance at some redemption.

Where's little Ronnie? Right now, in transit. No more will I say.

I will take my time before posting as I have some kinks to iron out, but rest assured we'll be back in business in about two weeks.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Aurorofthelight 

2nd January 2010:
WOW! This has been one heck of a story!! An ingenious twist and an exciting storyline. Giant Kudos all around! Can't wait to see how you end it!

Author's Response: Welcome Aurorofthelight!

It's always great to meet a new reader. Thank you for the terrific review. I really enjoyed writing this story, almost as much as I love reading reviews like yours. I'm glad you like it.

Don't know if you've had a chance to read the prequel, "Stop All The Clocks," but I'd really like to hear your views on it. Be warned tho, it's a very dark tale. So dark, I couldn't leave it be and wrote Crusade as a sequel.

The original premise behind the prequel was to find a way to make Ron the undisputed hero. The AU that's been created is the result.

The end is near! Only three chapters left.

Now, despite the quartet's relatively happy mood by the end of this chapter, rest assured, they still have some unresolved issues because of Ginny's injuries, the massive row two chapters back and the fast approaching end to their journey. That gets addressed next.

Then, we'll have a little one-on-one, Elder Wand v. Elder Wand. No more will I say. So hold on tight and thanks again for the great review.

Next Chapter: "Return To The Cliffs of Dover"


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review