Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DancingMooncalf 

20th January 2013:
I was just reading my last review back and I believe I accidently said it had many clichés. I meant the to say that it doesn't have them. That is what I like so much.

I think you did a wonderfull job with the date and all. It's lovely that you did not rush them into it, the tension leading up to the moment was very nice. The happiness that came afterwards was quite cute as well.
I loved it... and I sincerely hope those marauders won't get themselfs in to much trouble with their 'framing the Slytherins' plan.

Author's Response: No worries; I would have known what you meant. It's really great to hear that you don't think I've used too many cliches!

Back when I was posting this story, I definitely worried that I was building the James/Lily thing up too much, and I would disappoint people when it came to getting them together. I'm glad you didn't think this was the case.

Sorry again for taking so long to respond--I really appreciate the reviews1


 Report Review

Review #2, by classicblack 

11th December 2011:
I love how you had McGonagall mention how she thought it was a bad idea to put "the two of them" together. I take it she meant Lily and James and James was just too oblivious to figure it out, haha.
I like how you sort of incoporated a bit of canon in here with the fact that James never told Lily about the fights he had with Snape (like Sirius said in the 5th book). It was nice.
Great chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack
P.S. Mary's still annoying

Author's Response: You're good at catching details! I'm not sure anyone has ever picked up on that before (or at least, they've never mentioned it to me), but she definitely did mean James and Lily, not James and Sirius. :P

Glad you liked the little run-in between James and Snape! I think it must have happened, not only from what was said in the books, but also just because I imagine Snape would only hate James more after he and Lily started dating.

Thanks again! (And glad to hear that Mary is still succeeding in annoying people! :P)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Noblevyne 

30th June 2011:
Another excellent chapter. Mary and Anna's reactions were great - as was Snape's seething hatred.

My reviews are getting very dull. Sorry. I just want to read more before bed!

Author's Response: Your reviews are definitely not dull! I love them. And, like I said in a previous review, just the fact that you're excited to move on to the next chapter is a great thing to hear. :D

Is it bad that I was really excited to write about Snape discovering that Lily and James were an item? See, my sadistic tendencies when it comes to him are showing again... :P

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by doglover 

5th January 2011:
i don't think there plan is gonna end up working.

Author's Response: Once again, you are a very clever reader. You definitely called that one!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlPadfootPotter96 

21st December 2010:
Ooh...intense! Love the James/Lily action going on :)

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear you were still loving the James/Lily parts even after they got together! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by girly1393 

8th September 2010:
His brain has been taken over by Lily. He should just admit it.

I can't wait to read more, this is fairly Harry Potter world-realistic and I know you're going to end this story marvelously.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Haha, yes, James is a bit caught up with his new relationship. I think lots of boys are, even if they try to pretend to be blase and "manly". ;)

I'm so glad you find this authentic to the books, because I definitely try to keep it as close to them as I can.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CaribouProngs 

19th April 2010:
I just want to assert that this getting-the-Slytherins-expelled thing is a REALLY BAD idea. Other than that, I thought it made a very good buffer ;)

Author's Response: Haha, you are absolutely right. ;) Which, of course, you know by now. Those boys tend to have some bad ideas at times!

Glad you liked the chapter, though!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Leigh Kelley 

9th January 2010:
Oh. I forgot to add something to the last review, which I am going to do now. I like the relationship between Petunia and Lily. While not completely sisterly, you can still get glimpses of Pet at least caring about Lily, in her own kind of way. She can't outright come and say it, especially since she's not a big fan of the world (that comes from not being able to go to Hogwarts as well, aye?). I like her little statement about James being cleaner than Sev. Made me chuckle. That's as good as a compliment as Lily is going to get about her boyfriend. Pet was completely in character too. Still the nosy person we saw as an adult. I guess peeping through windows is her thing.

The Lily/Anna/Mary relationship confuses me. They didn't react to the news of James and Lily getting together in a way that I would have hoped. It's a similar reaction to, 'Hey, weather's nice today, isn't?' And it just irks me, especially Mary's bit, saying that Lily must be happy then telling Anna that they should go unpack all in the same sentence. A little enthusiasm if you will? I know she doesn't have Remus, and I guess it makes it hard for her to be happy for someone else getting their guy, but Lily's still her friend. At least ask for the date details, you know? But then later, Mary stands up and hexes someone because of what they said about Lily? I guess it was more for herself though, because Mary's muggleborn too, right? Aside from all of that, I'm glad to see Mary standing up for herself. She really seemed to be a pushover to me, but she redeemed herself a bit there.

It's good that James' friends decided to include Lily like that. I can definitely understand how she can feel left out, especially given how tight the Marauders are. So just telling her that little story (hilarious, by the way), is enough to let her feel just a bit like part of the group. And it's good that Sirius was the storyteller, because in an earlier chapter he didn't seem to keen on including outsiders into their group.

One little error in the Lily section.
The entire conversation left Lily feel a little dissatisfied, though she could quite put her finger on why. - 'feeling' and 'couldn't', I believe.

I like how James tries to shrink Gareth's head a bit. It really was just one game, and too much cockiness is never a good thing. He's really a good Captain.

The bit with Snape was bound to happen. Of course he wouldn't be too thrilled about Lily and James getting together, and would therefore need to take it out on James for further taking Lily away from him. I guess the unknown curse was Sectumsempra? If it was, it's good James jumped out of the way. We all know how terrible that spell is. Also glad he came out victorious.

Good chapter. We got to see the effects on them both going out now that school has started. They both feel differently about it; Lily self-conscious, and James completely happy. I didn't find it yawn-worthy, but maybe that's my bias since I love your story so much.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hi again!

You know, there are certain relationships within this whole Marauder-verse that I find endlessly interesting, and the one between Lily and Petunia is one of them. For that reason, it's great to hear that you think I've written it well. I'm glad the line comparing James to Severus made you laugh a little, and that you picked up on the parallel with Petunia's penchant for looking through the windows that we see in the books. :)

I'm going to be the twisted author again here, and say that I'm glad you're confused. Lily's confused by it, and it encourages me to know that I've kept things confined to her perspective. That probably sounds weird, but hopefully it makes sense. :P But besides that, it is just a confusing situation, and not exactly a nice one for Lily to be in, so I can understand the confusion on that level as well. (You really pick up on the little things well--yes, Mary was absolutely set off more by the Muggle-born comment.) If by some miracle I can actually manage to explain this part of the story the way it looks in my head, I think it will all make sense in the end.

I think all of James' friends would understand Lily's importance for him, hence the attempts at making her feel accepted. Again, you're very perceptive in realizing the significance of Sirius being the one to try and include her. The way Lily writes to Sirius (and about Peter) in the letter in Deathly Hallows gives me the impression that they were all very close to one another, so that must have meant that the boys welcomed her almost (almost) like one of them.

It makes me really happy to hear you think James is displaying some good leadership skills. I've never been into sports, so I feel like I'm kind of flying blind when it comes to all of that. But I do think James would have learned the dangers of arrogance by now. :P

I had an interesting time contemplating Snape's reaction to Lily and James going out, and confronting James like this was the only thing that really made much sense to me. I hardly see him as the type to have some kind of public meltdown about it, and I don't think he would have wanted to show that kind of weakness to Lily. Plus, the whole description of things by Sirius and Remus in OotP makes me imagine a lot of confrontations like this one. Anyway, yes, James is lucky he got out of the way. I think he probably underestimates Snape's abilities. (And your mention of Sectumsempra in Half-Blood Prince...I remember when I was reading it the first time, I was completely terrified that Harry had really killed Malfoy. It was so shocking!)

I'm so glad you didn't find the chapter boring! I thought it was valuable to have a chapter describing the state of things when they returned to school, but sometimes I can just feel my creativity faltering a bit on certain chapters. And at those times, it's very nice to get reassuring reviews like yours. :)

Thanks again for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by fangus747 

5th January 2010:
Hi I've been reading your story and it's really great! I'm totally new to this site and I don't know how to "favorite" things. but I would like to!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying the story. :)

I'll try and help out as best I can on the favourite-ing thing, though if it doesn't work out, it's still very nice to know that you like the story enough to put it on your favourites. First, assuming you have an account, you have to make sure you're signed in. I find a lot of times it'll sign me out when I click to a new page so you may have to try it a couple times. Then you go to the story page (where all the chapters are listed out), and right underneath where the banner and summary are, you should see an "Add to Favorites" link. Click, and voila! :) Alternatively, the same link is just above the review box on each chapter. And like I said, sometimes you'll get signed out clicking around--usually it works best for me if I sign in and just paste the link of where I want to go right in. Hopefully now you can favourite stories to your heart's content! :)

Thanks again for the review! I hope you keep enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Groundswell 

3rd January 2010:
Okay, first off. Sorry for not leaving you one single review for any of your latest chapters. But I've been burried in work and christmas stuff and haven't really had the time. Plus, now I've started packing for my 3-months trip to Costa Rica, so I only have little time.

But I love it. I love the whole development Lily and James have gone through, and especially their relationship which progressed nicely, in a perfect pace, also when it came to the point of it all. I liked the tension, which you always seem to hit spot on, and as it grew between Lily and James I really felt it - as in the many chapters before it. It was time for them to get together.

Though I do think this chapter was a little... I don't know, something just didn't feel right about it. I can't really put my finger on it, but as you say, it's just to create something between the previous and the next chapter.

I really had hoped there would be some girly scenes in this. No matter how unsurprising it was to Anna and Mary, I would have liked there to be a little fuss about it, just like Lily wished. Just a little talk, or a glance and a teasing comment from Anna or whatever.

I miss a little Mary-Remus here. I want to know what has happened between those two. And about Mary. Nice to see her finally standing up. Well placed here.

One thing I do love very much is the way James' and Lily's friends just don't get along. We've all read those where they magically get a long or really hate each other. But here's it's just some awkward thing and a little dislike. It's nice to see something liek this, you know? one's boyfriend/girlfriend's friends don't always get along with one's, and you've written that. Oh, it took me long to explain something so simple, hopefully you got that :P

I can't help but think the Marauder's plan will once again fail. Maybe in an even worse way than before.

One little thing. In my opinion the whole ´what's-the-deal-with-your-nicknames?'-part didn't feel quite right. Strange Lily couldn't remember them, seeing as they haven't been holding back on them (of what we've seen). And I just... well, I haven't seen this scene written properly. Ever. Sorry. But the conversation after she had asked seemed fine and it pulled it a little up. But I just don't believe that this one can be written so it doesn't come off as awkward and wrong. My opinion.

Anyways. Wonderful chapters 19-22. This one, not my favourite. But still, way better than a lot of other things I've read.

Great! Hopefully you'll just have a chapter up before I leave :P crosses fingers. If not I'll read the rest when I get back :)

Author's Response: Hey Vicki! I'm so glad to hear from you again! Don't worry at all about missing out on reviewing some of the chapters. Life just gets busy sometimes. :)

It makes me so, so happy to hear that you like the way the relationship has grown between Lily & James. I really wanted it to be gradual and for the actual relationship to begin at the right time, and in a believable way. It's great to know that I managed to portray it that way.

I'm glad you like the way their friends don't really get along, too. I just really can't imagine James' friends being too welcoming of any other people, to be honest, and I'm sure those other people would find the insularity (can't believe that's actually a word) of them to be a bit off-putting, as well.

I think you might get a little more of the girly stuff in future chapters, or at least an explanation of why it wasn't there. The same goes for the whole Mary and Remus situation, as well. Also, you'll see whether the boys' plan fails or not.

There's me being cryptic. :P Now on to your criticisms. Yes, this chapter was not the greatest, though I'm glad you still thought it was somewhat good. Like you said, I really did need something to fill the space between the last chapter and the rest of the story. It would have been strange to just jump straight into the next chapter, believe me. :P I understand your uncertainty about the chapter though, and it's not really something I can put my finger on either. Hopefully the rest will be much better!

And as for the nicknames thing, I think I'm going to have to go back and look at the conversations where Lily was around when the boys were talking, because I thought I was being very careful about having them not use the nicknames when she was around, except for the few slips. Of course, I could have completely messed up on that and had them throwing nicknames around left and right. It is a strange conversation to write though, so I can understand why you feel like it never gets written properly. I was having some trouble with it myself, so I'm glad the part after it made it better. Next time I write something relating to this, I'm sure I'll remember your review and I'll have to try and impress you. :P Though of course I won't blame you if you still find it awkward and wrong.

And a three-month trip to Costa Rica? Wow! That's awesome. I'll try to get the next chapter up soon, and hopefully you won't have already left. Good luck if I don't hear from you again, though! I'm sure you'll have an amazing time.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by technicolor 

2nd January 2010:
Hey Penny!

Arghh, you were too fast for me again so now I'll just review both chapters in one (though I guess it's not the kinder thing to do...). I really enjoyed reading both of them, although the last one more than this one since it does obviously function as a filler (you need some of those every now and then to keep things moving, though, so that's understandable.)

I thought the Snidget park was a creative touch, although if I were you I would have added a picnic to it or something to make it more romantic. I also loved the fact that they went to Lily's park and that they sat on the swings; it felt nicely nostalgic and it's good to see them including each other in their lives/past (like you do with James in this chapter). I was of course one of the diehard Snape fans that was upset by his lack of an appearance, but you did make up for that slightly by showing his reaction in this one. Poor Snapey! : (

This chapter left me pretty curious about what you've got in store for Mary. It's interesting that she seemed indifferent about Lily's new boyfriend and that it was still her who stood up for her. Maybe she's just blowing off steam about the whole Remus thing? It would be good to see their little tensions culminate in a real fight or something so that afterwards they can really be friends! And for some controversy of course : )

Anywho, another great read! Belated congrats on the TA status, though I thought it was pretty weird that they took so long to make you one. Can't wait to see what you have in store for them now that they're finally a couple!

~Soph

Author's Response: Hey Sophie! You know, I did feel a little bad about posting a new chapter before you'd reviewed, since you mentioned you were having some technical problems. But I don't mind a 2-in-1 review at all, and I'm glad you got the chance to review now!

I'm glad you liked both of the chapters, and I can't say I'm surprised that you liked the chapter with their date more. I do as well! :P You know, I did consider going with the picnic thing and for some reason I thought it would be a little too cheesy, or something. I think I have some weird thing with writing a date involving food, which is just bizarre, and I have no idea why. I only say that because I originally tried writing a dinner date and it was just nightmarish for me. Now I feel like eventually I have to challenge myself to write one in a future chapter, just to get over whatever mental hurdle I have there.

Sorry there was no Snape as they were at the park. :( I did feel like it would make him a little overly creepy to be watching them from the bushes or something like that, though. And for some reason I've made the assumption that the park was not necessarily very near to his house, given that he lived in a sort of row-house, so it didn't really seem like he might be strolling out his front door and just happened to see them pass, you know? So that was my reasoning in not including him there, but he did make it into the following chapter, as you saw. I do feel bad for him, having to see the girl he loves with someone he hates. That, put simply, would suck.

Without ruining future chapters, I'll say that I think the thing about Mary is that she's just trying to figure out herself, as so many people do when they're eighteen and about to graduate, and often it leads to them changing in some way or another.

Thanks very much for the congratulations! Oddly enough, I thought it would take much, much longer to get TA status, just because it's always said that sometimes it can take years for people to get it. I didn't think it would happen until later this year (I almost wrote next year, but it is next year now), so it was a very pleasant surprise. I did have one rejection near the beginning though for a banner thing, so maybe it would have happened sooner if not for that.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Dramaqueen62442 

2nd January 2010:
Very nice once again.
I personally am always amazed at how nosey people get about other people's love lifes, it's sad because I know that that is what happens. I actually remember being shocked because suddenly people I hardly even talked to cared so much about who I was with and what I was doing... *sigh* It's no fun. Anyway...

I liked how you had Snape completely ignore Lily and then go after James. I can completely see that happening. I bet he went mental in private. I'm sure that little problem will come up some more.

And then of course I'm sure that life and the war will start to become bigger and bigger. In which case the school drama will seem less and less important.

I'm quite curious as to what going on with Mary she does seem to be acting a bit odd...

Great job once again. =)
I look forward to more! ;)

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks so much for reviewing.

I'm glad you thought the chapter was nice. And you're right, it is pretty ridiculous the attention that comes with relationships. It sort of makes you feel like you're under a microscope, and you're left wondering why you seem to be more important when you're going out with someone as opposed to otherwise. It's funny--not sure if you've read Pride & Prejudice--but one of things I've found to be truest about relationships is something Charlotte says to Elizabeth about how very few people are secure enough to love without encouragement. It's unreal how much others' opinions or lack thereof can make people either insecure or more confident when it comes to romance. Anyway, sorry, I'm rambling, but it came to mind as I was reading the beginning of your review. :)

I'm so fantastically thrilled that you thought Snape's reaction seemed right. I really thought it was unlikely that he would publicly show his anger, especially in front of Lily. I'm sure he hoped that if he played it the right way, he would be able to win her back one day. And yes, I think you're very right, it probably did drive him insane when he was alone, and also that this will not be the last of the problem there.

Ha, I think you just summed up the theme of this story (or at least how I think of it) in that second-last paragraph there. I really hope I can get that across as the story winds up. And you will get your answer to what's up with Mary, too.

Thanks again for the review! Hopefully there'll be more to read by the end of next week.


 Report Review

Review #13, by pattybuns_hpf 

1st January 2010:
Yeah, to be honest it was a little yawn-worthy. Though I did like Mary standing up herself, it was a rather funny scene. Oh and another was the story the marauders recounted for Lily, it made me laugh so much. I could so picture that happening to me instead. lol xD

Oh and A Very Happy New Year to you! Can't you believe it? 2010 already! Wow! x]

Hope to see another chappie soon, but if school stands in the way, it should go first, shouldn't it?
-Patty

Author's Response: Hi Patty! Thanks for stopping by and reviewing. Happy New Year to you as well! No, I really can't believe it's already 2010. It makes me feel very old. :P

I'm very glad that you did find some things in the chapter you thought were funny--that's really all I can hope for, as it really is true that this one was a bit uneventful. Hilariously enough, the boys' story was actually based off of something that happened in real life--only no one was about to fall out a window. It was just my brother falling off his bunk bed when he was younger. :P Real life comes in handy at times with this story!

For the first time in a while, I feel like I have a good direction with the story--I know what I want to have happen in the rest of the chapters, which I'm hoping will make them easy to write. And yes, logically school SHOULD go first...I have this terrible habit of writing chapters when I should be doing homework though. It's just so much more fun than essays or reading articles. Hopefully I can get a good part of a new chapter written today and tomorrow, and then post it by the end of the week! After that, I'll have to see how much life takes over...

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by saffy 

1st January 2010:
Finding this story was like a unexpected christmas present you have a really entertaining writting style and love reading your chapeters. As for your comment about a buffer chaopter - why do people have a problem wioth these? they set up importnt plot developments it cant all be action.

Wonderful story thanks :)

Author's Response: Well, I'm so glad that you found the story and enjoyed it. It's been very nice to hear your thoughts as you read through, and I really do hope you enjoy the rest of the story just as much.

I suppose you're right--chapters with filler aren't necessarily bad things. Fan fiction is kind of a funny thing, because it gets read chapter-by-chapter, as opposed to the way a full book is read. If you're reading a book and there's an uneventful part, you can keep on going to the more interesting material...but with fan fiction you sort of just have to live with the less exciting chapters for a bit. Which, like you said, doesn't make the chapters bad...they just serve a different purpose!

Thanks again for all of the reviews! I really appreciate all the time you spent reading the story and writing them.


 Report Review

Review #15, by C A L M 

31st December 2009:
Hi me again

I loved this chapter particuly because you made their relationship sound like a normal one such as the awkwardness, people talking about it, her hanging out with his friends etc. In some stories lily and james' relationship is full on romance as soon as they start going out but in your story they are starting out slow and you can tell that they are both nervous about doing something wrong etc and wondering what to say. Kinda like my first relationship was haha. Well sorry for my ranting on I just wanted to comment on how well written the relationship is between lily and james :)

10/10

Author's Response: Hi there, Ashleigh! (Do you mind if I call you Ashleigh? I saw on your Author Page that that's your name. Hopefully that doesn't make me sound like a big creep. :P )

I'm so, so glad that you thought this chapter made their relationship seem normal and weird. I feel exactly the same way as you--in my own experience, even when you really, really like someone, it never goes perfectly. There are certain things you have to adjust and figure out, like all of the things you mentioned. I was a little afraid that I might make it seem like they were already having problems or were in danger of breaking up, so it makes me so relieved to read your review and know that you picked up on what I was trying to do!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Harry and Ginny 

31st December 2009:
it's funny that Mary hexed someone because they were insulting Lily and how she was dating James. i have to think that Snape is a little crazy when he thought about hexing James. is Lily going to find out? if so, how is she going to react?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for reviewing!

I'm glad you thought the part with Mary hexing Astrid was funny. :) I felt like it was a little bit like Hermione punching Draco--out of character, but justifiably so.

I think "crazy" is probably a good word for Snape in this chapter. I imagine he probably would have been pretty upset about Lily going out with James. And as for Lily finding out...well, in OotP it's implied that she never really knew that James and Snape were still duelling each other fairly frequently. I think both of them probably would have wanted to seem like good guys in front of her, and I doubt James would have offered up the information freely. Plus, I don't think Lily would get THAT angry about it. She might roll her eyes a bit, but she's not exactly Snape's friend anymore. I think there are probably other things that would bother her much more.

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by rainbowsocks 

31st December 2009:
I hope Lily hasn't changed James.
I like James the way he is.
and dude, WHAT IS GOING ON WITH MARY AND ANNA?
*sighs*
loved it, update soon
Happy New Year !
xoxo ~

Author's Response: Hi rainbowsocks! Thanks for the review!

Oh, I don't think Lily has changed James that much, nor will she. I like to think that (despite what Sirius and Remus tell Harry), it wasn't so much that James' personality changed, it was just that Lily changed her perception of him, and started to like him despite the slight arrogance and such. I really do like James the way he is, too.

As for Mary and Anna...well, I think Anna's pretty much her usual self in this chapter, although I could be forgetting something completely. It's just not like her (as Lily says) to get all soppy about anyone dating, so while it might be disappointing, it's just who she is. As for Mary, I do hope it'll all sort of come together and make sense by the end of the story. Suffice it to say that she's an eighteen-year-old, which means that she's still trying to figure some things out about herself.

I'll try my very, very best to update by next Friday. I think I like the idea of new chapters on Fridays, not least because it's the weekend and if I happen to NOT have one written, I can forgo my homework more easily for a few hours that afternoon. :P The good news is that I think I have the rest of the story planned out pretty well, and I feel very optimistic about sitting down and writing it. Hopefully that'll translate into regular updates!

Thanks again for the review, and Happy New Year to you too!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Tallis 

31st December 2009:
Once again, a lovely chapter added to a lovely story. Wonderful job! And thanks for the very informative reply to my previous review. :D

Author's Response: Hi Tallis!

I'm really glad you liked the chapter. It's very nice to hear that it wasn't as bad as I thought. :P You're very welcome for the previous reply, as well--hopefully it satisfied your curiosity vis a vis the banner. Like I said, it was a very nice review, and I was happy to respond to it and answer your questions!

Thanks for coming back to review again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by NATAliEisBAx14 

31st December 2009:
I'm not quite sure if you understand that you are AMAZING. Just thought I'd let you in on that. Okay. Bye.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Amazing? Me? Well, I'm not sure about that. :) But I'm very glad that you think so, and that you're enjoying the story! Hopefully I keep living up to that compliment.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ginnygirl808 

31st December 2009:
good chapter... but there was one part that bugged me. james is in seventh year by now and has matured and yes i know that snape attacked him but he is head boy so he can do something about it instead of fighting back. i think he should have taken off points and jsut given him a detention instead that way lily would be proud of him instead of getting mad for letting snape prevoke him... it would show her that he really has changed... and i dont think that you should write so that they break up because she thinks that he was not sirious and he hasent changed at all. to many stories do that, so i think since your story sticks out so much that your story shouldnt do that... hope my advice helps..., other than that really good chapter! update soon!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you for the review.

I'm glad you thought the chapter was good! I'm pretty bleh about it, to be honest, but there really wasn't much else I could do. Anyway, it's good to know that you enjoyed it!

Now, on to your criticism. I think you're right in some ways--James does have other options than fighting back with Snape, now that he's Head Boy, and it would impress Lily if he used those. But...I think I stand by the way I had him react, mostly because of what Remus said in OotP about James and Snape's interactions after he and Lily starting dating. He said, "He never lost an opportunity to curse James, so you couldn't really expect James to take that lying down, could you?" I think James must have known that Snape had liked Lily, and I think that, plus his general dislike for him, would have really created a very particular kind of enmity between the two of them that they wouldn't ever have grown out of. Plus, when you're confronted with someone who's just trying to flat-out curse you, I can imagine it would be hard to just take points and walk away, you know? Anyway, you can of course stick to your own opinion, which has a lot of merit, as well. :) Maybe James would have told Lily that he was taking points away from Snape after these sorts of occasions, when he was really getting into duels with him.

Please don't think that I don't appreciate your advice, though! I actually really like it when people question the way I've written things, because it makes me really think about whether I've done it right or not. So, keep the constructive criticism coming! :) I'm here to improve as a writer and this is the best way to accomplish that.

Oh, and no fear--no break-ups on the horizon. :) Actually, I'm inclined to think that if Lily found out about James fighting Snape, she would probably just roll her eyes, maybe point out that it wasn't very nice...but she's not exactly Snape's biggest fan.

Thank you so much for the review! I'll try and update very soon.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review