Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Capella Black 

9th August 2011:
So, the thing I really liked in this chapter was the bit where you let us know something bad is about to happen, but make it clear that the characters don't know. There's a word for it, which is sadly eluding me at the moment, but you do it really well. It's particularly good in this chapter because we needed to know it was hermione's fault in order to then understand Harry's reaction. It also helped to set the mood, which seriously hooked me in, and was needed given the extent of the damage. Really nice, all in all.

This chapter's also helped sway me on the Harry/Ginny pairing. I like that it's been understated so far, but I also like how we've seen more of it due to ginny being in danger. That seemed really true to their characters, and so has made me love them that little bit more!

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: What a thoroughly insiteful review.

Foreboding? Is that the word your looking for? Actually, even the title of this chapter is laden with doom.

Dieppe was the site of an allied amphibious raid in 1942; it was kind of a "practice drill" for the eventual invasion of France. The allies were masacred. The allies casualteis were horrendous. Throughout the war just the name of the town (Dieppe) was synonymous with disaster.

Yes, Hermione's fault. She's been too engrossed in Ron to pay attention to the mission and now its nearly cost Ginny her life. And Harry? He's losing it. The one thing he feared most was losing Ginny. This all plays out in a nasty way in the next chapter.

I'm, again, very flattered that you like how I've developed the H/G pairing here. That's key to everything that happens from here out. Up to this point, the tale really has been R/Hr; from here forward it shifts more to H/G.

Thanks again!!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #2, by LilyGreenEyes 

28th April 2011:
WOWZERS! See, there's that word again, twice in one story makes it pretty amzing ;)

That was a FANTASTIC chapter! Absolutely stunning and brilliant to read heart in mouth action. At the start it felt like we'd settled back into the routine from the Horcrux hunts of DH. There was a sense of routine, despite a higher threat level to deal with and be aware of.

I must admit, the lovesick Hermione and Ron are a little annoying, and they are beginning to worry me cause I think there's more of the 'Mione' in there than Hermione! And to see what your Carrows were doing! They're even worse than mine! Would love to see them get their comeuppance ;) But I loved the inclusion of a good Snape, he is my favourite baddy turned goody ;)

But OH EM GEE! The Inferi! The Death Eaters! Ginny! EEEK! I had my heart pounding so much I could barely read. When the link severed I thought she was dead, my eyes welled up, and to see her injured was so heart wrenching, not least for Harry's reaction to it. This whole chapter, but particularly this part was extremely well written, congratulations! I really especially liked Harry telling Ron to sort Hermione out, that was really needed, a little harsh you might say on Harry's side, but it needed to be done.

And YAY! Umbridge getting some comeuppance! Now that I really did enjoy, I almost laughed actually, but I was always taught a little 'Schadenfreude' was a good thing in small doses!

Anyway, enough from me, I'm too anxious to read on! It was fabulous! Keep it up :)

Author's Response: During World War 2, the allies launched a huge amphibious raid near the town of Dieppe. It was a disaster. It was for that reason that I chose it for the site of this chapter.

Yep, Harry's worst fear has nearly come to pass and, unfortunately, its largely due to Hermione being off her game and Ron not preventing it. Yes, there is more 'Mione than Hermione at work here. The problem is the memories of Ron's death are just too strong, that they are dominating the merged Hermione's personality.

And all this leads to Harry, for the first time I can remember, being really and truly angry with her. It will only get worse in the next chapter.

My ego is expanding exponentially with all the praise you're heaping on me here. I really can't thank you enough.

Eldy

P.S. nearly forgot, I'm glad you liked the Snape scene. I just couldn't resist having him come to the rescue. Just seems to me that he couldn'l look at Gin and not see Lily.


 Report Review

Review #3, by searching4neverland 

24th January 2011:
Hi there. I back again to this story, for that review you asked a long time ago and that I never got around to (sorry about that). I thought that my reviewing link had been closed, but someone posted yesterday, and I thought I should get back to it. So here I am.

Your story is as thrilling as ever and you dont waste any time either. It was a pleasure getting back to the fast pace of this story. It like you leave the reader a could of chapter to cool off, just so that you can invade us with an army of inferi of something! It was too much fun!

One of the things Ill never stop appreciating is the way you control dialogue. Its contained and almost lazy in certain situations and then fast and snappy with short sentences in others. It really creates the mood you want to convey better than anything else.

As I read about your description of the battle of the Pitch, I wanted to know more about it, about how Harry felt and what happened, but then I realized it was all a buildup for the real explosion. When Harry was thinking about it, he seemed a bit disconnected from the experience and still very in touch with it, and I thought this is a really good way to show how much he regrets taking Ginny with him (at least that what it looked like to me). Of course, Harry is not Harry if he isn’t feeling guilty about something. Which is probably why he is always somehow static, and not rally changing, even thought he is more grown up in your story than in canon. And He seems so much more responsible. But I’d warn you about not being too repetitive with this guilt thing. I have yet to read about a clished Harry Potter, but Ive heard it a lot and apparently, this overplaying of Harry’s slightly guilt-prone nature is a sure sigh. (Im trying to joke, but its not coming off really well, isnt it? ;P)

I love the contrast Harry and Ginny make with Ron and Hermione. One of the couples is all business and strictness, the other is still wallowing in the joy of finally being together (at least on Hermiones side. And it really cracks me up how Harry gets all impatient around their lovey-dovey stuff. I totally love Ron when he gets all serious and talking about strategies and things of the like. Ginny and her sense of humor is splendid! And Hermione is the know-it-all of always, of course and nothing could stop her from getting what she wants, right? Even when Harry is trying to be this really stern leader, she says 'Ron, care to help me?' That was really funny.

'He was starting to feel like a babysitter, or worse, Filch.' LOL!

It was all fun and games with Ron and Hermione at first, but you know, as I read on, the fact that they are so distracted after one another started to sound less and less funny and more and more like a recipe for disaster. And even thought when it happened, I was totally taken by surprise, I couldn’t blame her and Harry doing so felt kind of unfair, but it really showed how much he was hurting for Ginny.

By the way, that nightmare Ginny had game me goospumps, it was so horrible. I never thought that they had punished Ginny like that and when she was rescued it thought maybe it had been Harry. But of course, Harry wasnt there at the time. It was a nice surprise to be reminded that Severus Snape was there. I have always thought that he did a lot to keep Hogwarts at least resembling to a school and not a torture chamber for as long as he was headmaster.

The action in this chapter totally caught me by surprise. I was so glued to the screen, I love how you do action, I have to learn from you. And… Oh man, that thing with the stone was sooo COOL. I nearly thought you were gonna kill them off or something. I wouldn’t put it past you to do that!

The scene with Dolores and Voldemort was very vile, in more than one way, and I have to admit to the guilty pleasure that I had when she was being punished. I know, it was sadistic of me, but you cant deny she deserved it.

Thats it for now. I feel like I almost rewrote your two chapters with this long review, but you know me, right, I always go for long blabbers. Ill open my review thread again, and you’re welcome to come back!

Author's Response: Glad to have you back. And thanks so much for the stupendous review.

Pacing in Crusade was always a bit of a challenge; i didn't want it to drag, but I had to make sure there was a chance for the reader to catch a breath. I'm glad you think it worked.

The Battle of the Pitch actually became its own tale (its completed and posted); for Crusade, I only wanted to say enough about it to establish two things: 1) the reason Gin and Hermione have been training with the Aurors - I needed it to be believable that they could keep up with Ron and Harry when they went on this mission and 2) to help establish just how deathly afraid Harry is of losing Ginny, which is underscored by the fact that the Guerilla War nearly claimed her. Harry can't live without her; his life has been filled with too much loss.

A brooding Harry is one of my weaknesses. I know many think it over done, but I always thought it was a great source of angst.

Hermione and Ron are not acting quite like themselves here. They're in the middle of a rather nasty mission and their heads aren't in the game. Harry wants everyone focused because he's petrified of someone making a fatal mistake, and then, ultimately, his worst fear is realized. And it IS Hermione's fault. She was supposed to make sure the beach was free of portkeys, but didn't do the spell right because she was too distracted by her desire for Ron. The consequences of this mess play out in the next chapter.

Ginny's nightmare is one of my favorite parts. Thanks for praising it. I always thought Snape couldn't have missed the similarity between Ginny and Lily. And, although the greasy git will never be one of my favorite characters, I sympathize with him a bit. thought it apporpriate to show him as the unsung hero and make him a bit more human.

Umbridge. I took a fair amount of sadistic glee in letting Voldy Crucio her. No need to feel guilty. She's always had that coming. Frankly, I still don't think this is adequate justice for her. One day, I'll finally write the perfect Umbridge-gets-what's-coming-to her story. I just haven't figured out how to do that yet.

Long reviews are always a pleasure. Thanks so much!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #4, by melian 

17th August 2010:
Is it horrible of me to revel in the torture of Delores Umbridge? No? Good. The woman deserves what she gets, even though in this case it's due to a reluctance to kill too many Muggles. I kind of giggled at Voldemort's horror at losing so many warriors, too - too bad, I say. Particularly if our Ginny got hurt so badly in the process. Now, Eldy, I have to say that if you kill her off now I will NOT forgive you. Is that clear?

Other than that, a good chapter. :) The descent of the Inferi army on Dieppe was harrowing and, as I've already mentioned, poor Ginny copping the brunt of those DEs. And Harry lashing out at Hermione - I can kind of understand him doing that, but I do feel for her because it's really not her fault that she's a composite of two separate yet identical people. I'm sure she gets his anger, but it would still hurt.

I feel like I'm not reviewing very well but that's because I'm in such a hurry to get to the next chapter. Onwards I go!

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Mel, dear, you are reviewing fantastically! Thanks!

It is never a bad thing to feel good about Umbridge's anguish. Ever! I absolutely loathe her character, even more than Voldy. At least Voldy was relatively straight up compared to Umfemaledog in the way he fought.

Umbridge was too...sneaky, for my liking and just so condescending; it always made my blood boil. And I never felt she properly got what was coming to her. Don't get me wrong, I loved F/Ge's war on her and Peeves beating her and the Centaurs kidnapping her, but it just didn't seem like proper justice was meted upon her.

I've tried her to dole out a little retribution, but I'm still not satisfied. Someday, I hope to write the perfect fic where everyone can honestly say she finally met justice. But, until that day comes, I'll settle for a little Crucio.

Ginny. O my. She's the glue that holds everyone together here. Harry's a reluctant hero, Hermione's personality has been dominated by 'Mione's painful memories and Ron is just doing everything in his power to keep her happy. The only one really up to this challenge is Ginny and now she's...well...you'll just have to see.

Harry is totally lost without her and, in fairness, Ginny got hurt because Hermione wasn't giving it her all. Hang tight, things get MUCH worse before they begin to get better.

Thanks again!

Eldy

P.S. No promises on Ginny's future; so I may have to incur that legendary Melian wrath! LOL! I will say this tho, once you kill a character off in a fic, your readers never take anyone's survival for granted again. Hehehe.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Miss Lily Potter 

15th August 2010:
Argh. The Carrows are at Hogwarts. I hate them so, so much... Some of my least favorite characters.

Ginny's dream was crazy. I felt so bad for her, I just wanted to give her a hug. ): And her saying she'd kill them just made me think, "Ginny's changed. The War changed her." It's the theme in a lot of fics, and I believe it's true.

No. No. No. No!! < Harry can't lose her. ):

Darn Lucius. I hate him. :P And that's all I can say on that.

Umbridge... I was wondering when she was going to show up. Good. She got Crucio'd. Bad. She's going to kill lots of people. She's my least favorite character in the entire series... She'd better get her comeuppance.

It was a well-written chapter, but I'm finding it difficult to be unbiased when Ginny might be DYING. Stupid Inferi. If they weren't dead, I'd say Harry should kill 'em all. :P

But I do have to find out if she's dead. So, on to the next chapter.
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Carrows, Umbridge, ugh!

Umbridge. I will hate her till the day i die. I'm right with you on that. Now, I've been trying to write a way to bring her to justice and I've been struggling with it. I never thought she got what was coming to her in canon. Someday, I'll finally write the perfect story that puts her in her place. Until then, the Crucio she gets here is a good start.

Ginny. No promises on whether she'll live. but I can tell you her getting hurt here will throw everything into a tizzy. She's really the glue that holds everyone together. And, yes, she had a hard time during the war. Very. However, up until 'Mione showed up on their doorstep, everyone was doing relatively well, having healed and moved on. Revisiting the whole Voldemort/Carrows thing has dredged up a lot of bad memories and emotions for Harry and Ginny.

Things get pretty bumpy from here on out.

Thanks again!

Elder


 Report Review

Review #6, by PrincessPadfoot 

18th July 2010:
:O

I THOUGHT YOU WERE GOING TO KILL GINNY!!!

I was sooo relieved but like five seconds before that I was like 'if she dies I'm not going to read anymore until I yell at Eldy' yeah and it would NOT have been pretty and I most likely would have gotten banned.

But since Ginny is alive (for the time being) I will continue to read and enjoy!!!

Poor Hermione and Harry was rather mean but I can see where he is coming from. He probably wouldn't be...alive without Ginny. He needs her and loves her too much to lose her. Which is kinda scary when you think about it because he can't be everywhere at once and what if she does die!?!?! Then Harry will die too and then it will just be Ron and Hermione fighting it out again.

*sigh*

My battery is almost gone!! I don't think I have enough to last through the next chapter!! So I'm going to have to call it a night :(

PP

Author's Response: Well, I've already killed Ginny once. No promises about her living through this. From here on out it all goes severely pear shaped. Hopefully, I won't incur your wrath. LOL!

Harry's really lost it with Hermione; her head has not been in the game and now its cost them. Harry simply can't go on without Ginny and, with the link, there's a VERY good chance he'll die when she does. If not, he may still die of a broken heart.

Only time will tell...

Thanks for reviewing, and I'm sorry the weather put the kabosh on your computer.

Hope to hear from you again soon!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #7, by RonsGirlFriday 

5th July 2010:
I was going to say that Hermione was seeming a bit OOC, but I didn't really want to go into it, as I know you interpret the characters in the Crusadeverse slightly different than I envision them - I think I mentioned that when I was reviewing Stop All the Clocks, and it's not really worth bringing up repeatedly especially when it comes down to an issue of personal preference.

But I guess Harry thinks Hermione is a bit OOC here too, so I feel a little better about thinking that - knowing it's actually a part of the story. XD

On a completely unrelated note, I really don't feel bad for Umbridge here. She is probably one of the most vile characters in the series.

Author's Response: Oh, Hermione is DEFINITELY OOC. Way OOC, super mega OOC. The merge has left 'Mione's personality in the driver's seat because her memories of losing Ron are so powerful and now she has him back and its blown her circuits. Ron only wants to make her happy and knowing she's in pain, he's lost his focus on the mission.

And Harry definitely sees all this and it worries him to no end. But on Gin's advice he holds his tongue...and then it costs him.

In the prequels (Best Laid Plans, The Proposal and Battle of the Pitch) I think you'll find a much more recognizable hermione -more like the one from Chapters 2,3 and 4 of Crusade and less like the one that is around for most of the rest of this fic.

Umbridge! Glad you liked what happened to her here but I'm still not satisfied that justice has caught up with her. One day, I'll find a way to make sure she gets what's coming to her. If I can just figure out how...

Thanks so much for the great review!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #8, by edward ollivander 

3rd July 2010:
whew! things are getting serious now. I know Harry did not like to be that mean to Hermione, but maybe it will be the kick in the butt she needs to straighten her out. Maybe it will get Ron's mind back onto the job as well. My prayers are with Ginny. if she doesn't get better... well, God help Voldemort and the death eaters. Nice to see that Voldemort is running low on troops. happy writing.

Author's Response: Ginny's injuries have finally pushed Harry nearly to the breaking point and he's had it with Hermione - as you'll see next chapter.

Yes. If she dies, the Death Eaters and especially Voldy will REALLY be in for it. Hopefully, this will finally bring Hermione back to reality.

Thanks again!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #9, by lauraf68 

10th June 2010:
OH MY!! Harry and Hermione never fight. Hermione never makes such bad mistakes. What a hell hole they are in! Glad I took a break the other day, my heart would not have survived. LOL, just kidding. Wishing now I had come back sooner.

Glad ole toad-face is getting her 'rewards'. Won't have time to read until later, and I'm stuck with a cliffhanger. I'll be back again. ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Laura!!

Great to hear from you!

Yep, a Harry/Hermione fight. I like that because I don't think it'd been done before. Just wait, tho! hehehehe.

Hermione's been a bit distracted, what with having Ron back. That is, 'Mione has tended to really dominate the personality of the composite Hermione and now its caught Ginny out.

Toadface. I loathe her! I still haven't found a good way to make sure she gets what she deserves, but I'm glad you liked this. Maybe one day I'll finally figure out how to bring her to justice...

Cliffhanger? You ain't seen nothin' yet!

Thanks so much for coming back. It's always great to hear from you!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsKatieGrint 

1st March 2010:
Hmmm.. I've always seen Umbridge as a Death Eater! Lol! It really is interesting you've decided to make her one!

Also, your suprise attack on them was fantastic. You action scenes rolled, and the attack was crazy insane, nonpredictable! Thats amazing!

Ah really do keep up the good work. I love love love your story! Favorited already! :D

Author's Response: Wow! Favorited? Thanks!

I hope I kept you guessing as to what was going to happen here. I was always worried it was too obvious that Ginny would be the one that gets hurt because of R/Hr's carelessness.

Umbridge! Urrrg! Can't stand her. I keep trying to find a way to bring her to justice because I never thought she got what was coming to her in canon. She's definitely a Death Eater.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TheDirigiblePlum 

5th January 2010:
"He was starting to feel like a babysitter, or worse, Filch."
(That line seriously made me laugh; I've always found Flich a bit of a joke, and Harry comparing himself to him was just hilarious!)

Apart from that this chapter had me on the edge of my seat!! Everything from Ginny's horrific nightmare that was seriously tense (I hate whips; they're so nasty!) and the Inferi arriving and then I thought Ginny had died and and and then all the explosive spells that really showed how angry Harry was. I don't think him killing those Death Eaters was out of character at all, and usually I would've done but his frustration with Ron and Hermione and his fear and anger was so clear that I feel he couldn't have reacted in any other way.

Seriously good chapter this one, kept me hooked all the way through and I swear I nearly cried out "NOOO!" a couple of times. Mainly because I thought Harry was going to die and then that Ginny had died. That just can't happen!!!

I'm going straight on to read what happens next!

11/10

Author's Response: DP!

This chapter is about as horrible as it gets. Or maybe not...

I've always wondered what happened while Ginny was at Hogwarts and I really still don't know all the fine points. But she had to do somthing to win that Order of Merlin, SC; I took a lot of inspriation from other writer's stories, particularly "Right of Justice" (the chapter called "Ginny's Worst Memory" in particular) by justanothermuggle and siledubhghlase and "Within the Heart of the Battle," by LillyGreeneyes. They're great stories and they're in my favorites if you'd like to check them out.

I was deathly afraid it would be too obvious that it was Ginny that "Sooner or later..." referred to. I'm glad I was able to keep you guessing.

Since the Battle of Hogwarts, in both realities, the gloves have come off when it comes to dueling. Too much has already been lost to play nice with enemies. This is especially true in the AU, as you'll see in the two chapters from now.

It made sense to me, also, that anyone who hurt Ginny this badly couldn't possibly expect to live to tell the tale.

He's really had it with R/Hr, moreso with Hr. The one thing that would really push H over the edge is anything happening to Gin. He's on that edge now. In the next chapter, I give him a little push.

Thanks so much for the glowing review. 11? A Spinal Tap number! LOL. Thanks again!



 Report Review

Review #12, by AvadaKedavra1 

3rd January 2010:
Here we go. I still love Harry anger towards Hermione after her screwing up and nearly costing Ginny her life.

I love it.

Harry always had a hard time controlling his anger, his reaction is very much in character.

I am very interested in seeing what Voldemort has planned.

Author's Response: This is one of my favorite chapters. I never recall a real fight between Harry and Hermione or even Harry being really truly angry with her.
Nearly killing Ginny because of her distraction seemed the only thing that would really set him off.

Thanks again for the praise!


 Report Review

Review #13, by 1917farmgirl 

30th December 2009:
Okay, I always knew you were an amazing author, but this chapter blew me away! You crossed lines and went to places I wouldn’t dream of going in a fic! It was chilling, absolutely chilling. I spent a good portion of it hating you, honestly, for what you were doing. (Take that as a compliment!)

Wow! Ginny and the Carrows! Blood-chilling! I was trying to read and scrunch my eyes closed at the same time so I wouldn’t have to see it! I still think you need to do something where you show her family, or some of her brothers at least, finding out about this.

But the best part, Snape rescuing her! THAT WAS BRILLIANT! Absolutely inspired! Snape is not my favorite character. He’s whiny, cold, etc. But I DO believe that Snape is one of the bravest and most un-sung heros of the books. What he did, all those years, took guts and dedication, even if he did it for partially wrong reasons. Having him rescue Ginny was amazing. One of my favorite parts, ever.

And then to turn around and have them attacked, have Ginny wounded, have it be partially Hermione’s fault. That’s just cold, brother. I’m kinda hating you right now, because I really, really don’t like it when they fight amongst themselves. Oh, don’t feel bad, it just means you wrote it exceptionally well. And I’m glad Harry told Ron to go to her, comfort her, help her get her head back on straight. But, dang you, don’t they have enough to worry about? Please tell me they all come out of this still friends!

Using the stone to help fight off the Inferi. I never would have thought of that. Honestly, I didn’t know the stone could do anything like that. Cool idea.

Umbridge killing muggles and mudbloods? EVIL!!! That is such a perfectly chilling detail to throw in there! (I knew you hated Umbridge, but wow…) So, how exactly do you MAKE Inferi anyway?

Stupid Dieppe. Stupid foreshadowing.

Bravo on the chapter though! Dare I go on?

Author's Response: Farmgirl!

Yeah, I thought this chapter might leave you a bit peeved at me. Sorry, had to be done. we've had humor, adventure and romance, but no angst or horror for several chapters. Time to go into the despair!

Ginny's time at Hogwarts...Yikes. I took a fair amount of inspiration for that from JAM and SD in Right of Justice. Their chapter, "Ginny's Worst Memory, " was masterful. I highly recommend it. And, of course, there's LilyGreenEyes amazing take on the Hogwarts resistance in "Within the Heart of the Battle."

As for the Weasleys finding out, I don't think she shared it with anyone until after the Battle of Hogwarts, and then, she only told Harry. I'm sure that, eventually, she told her family, but not anytime soon enough for the Weasleys to exact some heavy vengeance on the Carrows. Sorry about that!

But, I wanted to give Snape his due, especially because I couldn't help but think that Ginny HAS to remind him of Lily and that, if for no other reason, he'd risk it all to save her due to that. Plus, they said he was protecting the students. What better way to do that?

I hated dumping on Harry and Hermione this way, but it just made for such a heavy scene! Still friends? Hmmm. Wait till the next chapter and we'll talk.

I got the idea for using the stone for Inferi from Dumbledore's talk with Harry at King's Cross. Dumble's mentioned that Grindelwald's only potential interest in the Stone might be to make an army of Inferi. Now, did Grindlelwald misunderstand how to use the stone, or did he know of another power it had that the books never displayed? I went with the later.

Umbridge...Don't even get me started on her. As much as I enjoyed having her crucioed, I STILL haven't found a good way to see to it that she gets what she deserves. Oh, well, maybe someday...

How do you make Inferi? I haven't a clue, but I'm sure its very very nasty. Maybe I'll do a one-shot on that someday.

Aha, Dieppe! Yes, I chose this scene to take place here for a very specific reason. In 1942, the Allies staged an amphibious assualt of the place and it was a complete disaster. More than fifty percent casualties. Throughout the war following the Dieppe raid, merely mentioning the name of the town conjured images of calamity. From what I've read, it had a conotation similar, albeit much less strong, than the name "Hiroshima" does now.

Dare you go on? Hmmm. You're gonna hate the next chapter...

Thanks for the GREAT review lil sis!


 Report Review

Review #14, by weasleyismyking17 

29th December 2009:
Can I just say that I ADORE this story so far? You are a fantastic writer, and know exactly the right blend of action, angst, romance, and occasional comedy. I must also compliment your exquisite character developement; each one and their reactoins to certain events is exactly the way I have pictured them. Please, keep it coming! :)

Author's Response: Hi weasleyismyking17 and welcome!

Thanks for the amazing review! This entire tale has been loads of fun to write. Its really good to hear from folks who are enjoying reading it. I can promise more action: "The Siege of Calais" (Chapter 15) is quickly approaching and its my favorite (except for the final battle); as for agnst, theres more a comin' too, as well as comedy and even a little more romance.

As to character development, I do stretch the characters a bit, especially Harry and Hermione. That is, Harry's a very reluctant hero this time around. I was concerned how that would be received. As to Hermione, both versions of her have been or are being put through the emotional ringer, so she's been a bit off her game. I'm glad you think that worked.

Ginny, I think, is pretty well defined in canon, despite her not receiving much print; I always thought JKR wrote her as being very mature in the later books, so she was pretty easy to write. Ron's post DH character development, on the other hand, seems to be the subject of ongoing debate in fanfic. I've always been positive that the Ron we saw after he got into the Chamber of Secrets in DH, was the real post-Hogwarts Ron: strong, sure and capable.

The entire story is done, but I'm still editing and tweaking. My intent is to post a chapter a week until its fully posted (19 total).

Next Chapter: "Victory At All Costs"

Also, I hope you've had a chance to check out the prequel to this tale, "Stop All The Clocks." I'd love to hear what you think of it.


 Report Review

Review #15, by pinks 

27th December 2009:
Excellent chapter! Glad to see Harry finally voicing his concerns instead of bottling them up.

Author's Response: Pinks!

I'm so glad to see you! First, let me tell you how honored I am you favorited this story. It means a lot. Second, I owe you a "thank you." I regularly like to see what my reviewers are reading and I noticed "Midnight" in your favorites. Now, I hate Dramione, but, good lords what a fantastic story. Actually made me a little green with envy.

Down to business, yes, the worst thing that could've happened here is for Ginny to get hurt (I know it was a little obvious, but I hoped that it would be masked by Harry taking the brunt of the Inferi assault first). If there's anything that will push our noble Harry over the edge, its Ginny. Her getting hurt has finally made him say what's been on his mind.

But, still, Gin has a point about the suffering 'Mione's been thru. Well, we'll just have to let it play out.

Thanks for the great review and the story recomendation!


 Report Review

Review #16, by siledubhghlase 

22nd December 2009:
Wow! Powerful chapter! Harry's fed up with Hermione's irresponsible behavior and I think he's a bit ticked at Ron for not taking matters in hand to straighten her out. Now Ginny's paid the price. TELL me she's going to be okay.

So it appears the baddies have planted objects on the beach to trap unsuspecting people and Harry tripped one. Now they've got that to look out for as well. I'm wondering if Harry's hostility toward Hermione isn't also fueled by guilt over having tripped the alarm.

I'm not surprised that Ginny's nightmares have returned. I thought it was clever that you allowed Severus to personally intervene through the use of Peruvian Darkness Powder. Very clever! It seems as thought that scene was a bit of an extension of one in ROJ, which is fine. Nothing like a little consistency. Scared the crap outta me.

I hope Hermione (and Ron) learn their lesson now. They need to be on their game as non-compromised as possible. They need their rest and they each need to do their part.

Hermione slacked and it cost them. I loved Harry's line: “Until the Hermione I know shows up, I’m not interested in hearing anything you have to say. Get out.” I hope he's got her attention now.

Thank you for further torturing Umbridge. Every little curse she gets makes me all warm and fuzzy. Woo hoo!

EXCELLENT JOB!

Author's Response: Harry is really beside himself and it only gets worse in the next chapter. Will Ginny be alright? hard to say. We'll just have to wait and see.

Actually, the fan was a return port key. Maybe i should make that a little more clear. The point is, Hr was supposed to make sure that the beach was clear of them, she flourished her wand too much and missed it. Harry tripped over it and, bad luck, a contingent of inferi were portkeying in.

Your scene in ROJ very much inspired her nightmare here. I really wanted Snape to be the one to rescue her and throw in the Lily line.

The line you point out is one of my favorites in the whole novel. Harry really is close to going over the edge. Another little secret? I'm gonna give him a push...

Umbridge! There can never be enough torture of that evil wench. I still don't think I've really had her meet justice yet. But I'm trying.

Thanks so much and Harry Christmas!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Karkaroff 

22nd December 2009:
Poor Hermione and I hope she doesn't let Harry's fury distract her from the mission. Please update soon thanks as I am enjoying the story. Thanks for writing.

Author's Response: Harry Christmas Karkaroff!

Yeah, Hermione and Harry are both in a really bad place right now. And as usual, Ron's stuck in the middle. Never fear, I think I have a plan to get our heroes out of this mess!

Next Chapter: "War On All Fronts" - it should post by next Monday, but I may do it early. We'll see!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Manwe Valarian 

21st December 2009:
Cool chapter. Poor Hermione and Mione, she gets her Ron back, but it makes her go soft between the ears. Hopefully, she won't let Harry's anger distract her or worse make her do something foolish to offset it.

Author's Response: Manwe! Pleasure to see you again.

Thanks for the great review. It really is a no win situation isn't it? As a writer, I wanted to find a way for 'Mione to have her Ron back. But there had to be consequences... Just ain't fair is it?

Harry's simply not emotionally able to deal at the moment. I hope that's a flourish that is believeable. To me, it seemed that simply heaping one catastrophe after another on Harry had to eventually be too much for him. Hence his brood about choices and his denunciation of his best friend for costing him the love of his life. Will it distract her? Will she over react?

These and your other questions will be answered in the next chapter to be posted next Sunday or Monday: "War On All Fronts"

P.S. I may be coaxed into posting sooner, but, the holidays are a mess! Harry Christmas!, as my buds siledubhghlase and justanothermuggle are fond of saying!


 Report Review

Review #19, by felix the great 

21st December 2009:
Great Story! Nice writing, fun to read!

Author's Response: Welcome Felix! Always glad to see a new face.

I'm glad you're enjoying the story. I can promise a new chapter every weekend; the story is completed, but I'm still tweaking the final chapters.

I'm also toying with posting extra chapters over the holidays.

Thanks for reviewing and I hope to hear from you again soon.

Next Chapter: "War On All Fronts"


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review