Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Capella Black 

9th August 2011:
Aww, he braids her hair! That is so very cute! I haven't commented that much on the Harry and Ginny pairing so far, mainly because it hasn't felt like the more important pairing. Also, because I find the link thing... unusual? You've done it more believably than most writers, but it still seems non-canon to me. I am fully prepared to be swayed once I've read the other stories, but maybe a bit more explanation of why something so unique occurred would help? Ah, what do I know?!

Anyways, I still adored this chapter. The whole into-out-of England dilemma is brilliant, and this chapter really has me eager to see how they do in reality.

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: A little art imitating life. I love brushing my wife's hair, so I couldn't help putting that in here.

The link is on the unusual side. I didn't create it. But I've seen three other author's use it: Edward Olivander, justanothermuggle and MyGinevra and I really liked it. I'm not sure who came up with it originally . I purposely do not go into much explanation regarding it because I'd be too influenced by the better explanations I've read and I don't want to steal. Hmmm. Mayhap I'll need to bite the bullet and finally come up with my own explanation (somthing more than what Ron relays to Harry while they were at Shell Cottage in chapter 3).

Glad I've got you enthralled - high praise again! Thanks!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #2, by Mintleaf 

23rd May 2011:
I'm back! Haha, finally got a chance to come back and read more! :)

Harry can braid hair? That's adorable haha! Again, I really love Harry and Ginny's relationship. It seems just right, exactly as I'd imagine it. Also, I thoroughly enjoy any mention of Ron eating; even subtle mentions make it feel so much more like Ron haha!

I presume the 'Battle of the Pitch' you mentioned is the amazingly condensed version of your story of the same name? I really should have read that first haha :P

Gosh, I love reading about all the strategy and planning! So often it's more enjoyable than reading about the action itself, for me.

I really loved this chapter, possibly my favourite in this story yet. I liked the balance of relationships between the quartet and the main plot. And what I love most is that in 'planning' chapters like this, it's clear how much you've developed the back story, which makes the story a bazillion times more enjoyable than stories that seem to just carry on with little to no information.

The mention of a DA member still being alive excites me! The quartet's prospects look so limited at the moment, so I can't wait to see what'll happen! :)

Author's Response: Hey Mintleaf!

Welcome back! Harry can braid - he has my affinity for his wife's long hair, no idea why ;) Besides, I thought it would provide a nice moment to show how devoted to her he really is, right down to being her "dutiful slave." No idea where that came from either...

Ron's eating. I love showing Ron as having grown up, being more confident to the point where he's not jealous of Harry anymore. But I still want him to be "Ron," the eating and his funny quips are the way I've chosen to do that. Glad you think it works.

Yep, the Battle of the Pitch mentioned is the same as in the Novela of the same name. But, never fear. "Crusade" is the first of the "Crusadiverse" stories I wrote, although all of the others, including "Pitch" comes earlier in the chronology. I do everything backwards. Anyway, you won't be lost; but nearly all the backstory and some of the things folks were curious about (Like why Yaxley's wand locked with Harry's) gets explained in the prequels. I'll include a chronology of the Crusadiverse below to help you out. But, no pressure to read 'em.

I delved into the planning to show that the Quartet has grown up; they're not doing things on the fly anymore. I'm glad you enjoyed it; sometimes all the exposition can get REALLY boring. I try to break it up with action and high pitched emotions. Hope you think the balance works.

Can't wait to see how you react to who of the DA survived. No more will I say.

Thanks again for reviewing!

Eldy

Crusadiverse Timeline:

1998 July - Hermione's Wand one shot - posted

1999- August - Journey of a Thousand Miles -one shot - posted as Chapter 1 of "The Staffer's Choice Awards," a Prefect's Collaboration. It's in my favorites.

2000 - August The Battle of the Pitch (main story line)short story posted

2000 November -The Adventures of Reckless Git and Danger Ponce - short story posted

2002 - Spring "Best Laid Plans," -one shot; and The Proposal -short story both posted.

2002 Early Summer - The Tipping Point - short story - posted.

2002 - Summer - Children Crusade- novel sequel to Stop All The Clocks - posted

2003 December - The Gift- one shot - posted as Chapter 30 of "The Final Battle," site-wide collaboration. It's in my favorites.

2004 May The Battle of the Pitch(introductory story line) posted




 Report Review

Review #3, by LilyGreenEyes 

28th April 2011:
I'm back! Finished most of my chores and treating myself to some of your delightful writing before I go to bed ;)

I loved the start, with Harry doing Ginny's hair, I just thought it was so romantic and cute. And the juxtaposition with his wanting to trust she'll be ok and not smother her, with his urge to wrap her in cotton wool was really well written throughout the entire chapter.

Harry trying to hint at Ron reminded me so much of when he used to try and suffocate Lavender Brown with his intense kissing sessions ;) It was a real comical moment for me and added some light relief.

The Battle of the Pitch (which I'm off to read once I've finished this story) was excellently summarised from Harry's POV and was very well written. You seem to have a wonderful knack for writing action scenes in a perfect balance which makes them exciting, yet understandable and still be compulsive reading.

Those wards are an absolute nightmare! I just have horrible premonitions that someone else is going to get hurt in them and I'll end up crying again, but I'll keep everything crossed! A brilliant device you've come up with though to express the thought that they are trapped. It was lovely to see them all planning their escape routes together though, very reminiscent of DH and the Horcrux Hunt, only on a much greater scale and with a lot more danger involved.

I really liked the references to the DA and the coins again. I always smile when I see aspects of canon I know like this as it makes the stories more believable and make me know that the whole wizarding world is still ongoing :) I'm really intrigued to find out who it is and whether the blood protection will work!

Another great chapter, I'm off for a few more before bed so that I can finish the story tomorrow ;)

Author's Response: I have a huge weakness for long hair; I make a point of brushing my wife's anytime I get. I thought it would be a nice flourish to Ginny and Harry's relationship. And, as protective as Harry would like to be of Ginny, he knows he can't cage her. But, by the same token, if anything happens to her, it would crush him. Tough situation.

The Battle of the Pitch was never supposed to be anything more than a justification as to why the witches were trained as Aurors. I never dreamt it would become a story of its own. Strange how these things happen.

Thanks for praising the Teeth - probably my most original flourish. they are nasty and, at times, caused me a great deal of trouble as I tried to figure out how the characters can escape them. A little too effective. Lol!

Glad you're liking the canon stuff I've thrown in here. Those are the kind of flourishes I really like that other authors do as well. Like the wizard talk "sitting gnomes", Merlin's twins and the like.

I hope you'll get a kick out of the surviving DA members - that took some doing as I'd killed nearly everyone off in Clocks.

Thanks again for the great review, on to the next.

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #4, by melian 

17th August 2010:
Ah, strategy again. I do like to see Ron come into his own with this - the grand chessmaster has to come into play somewhere, doesn't it? I kinda like the idea of Voldemort (I can say it, the Taboo's not in effect here, hahaha) playing house in the Wizengamot, and if the layout is the same that should help our heroes, should they ever get there. I have a feeling the journey to Calais will have a few pitfalls along the way, to put it mildly.

As for the mysterious living DA member, well I'm dying to know who that is now. I do hope you haven't just thrown it in there to tease us but don't follow through because I really want to know who could have survived, and how. I have an inkling towards Luna, just because she's so other-worldly that you get the impression she could survive just about anything, but I don't remember that scene in Clocks well enough .. we could well have seen her body as part of that carnage and I just don't remember it. Oh, I'm rambling again. Sorry.

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Ron the strategist is probably my favorite maturation flourish. It pervades all of the Crusadiverse stories. I think its an easy, simple and very believable way to mature my hero Ron and still keep him recognizable.

I can assure you it will be all sunshine and roses on the road to Calais...Sorry, really couldn't keep a straight face and say that. But you'll see soon enough.

Thanks for the praise of my flourishes vis a vis the Imperium. There's more on the way as to what the AU looks like now, four years after the Disaster at Hogwarts. I hope you like how that turns out.

Ah, the missing DA members. That reveal is one of my favorites. Rest assured it gets covered but no more will I say.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Miss Lily Potter 

15th August 2010:
The scene with Harry braiding Ginny's hair was so sweet. (: It was romantic, a tender moment.

I can understand Harry's frustration at Hermione and Ron; however, I can also understand Hermione and Ron's need for each other. Or, at least, "'Mione's" need for him.

Oh! I don't think I mentioned this, but I meant to: I really like the idea of the armor. It's original and very Hermione-esque to do something like that.

I like that Madame Maxime is an important character in the other reality; she is, after all, the Headmistress of Beaubaxtons, and I've always liked her character. (:

Oooh! Again, I'm really excited to see how this turns out. (: Death Eaters in Normandy... Another battle, maybe?

Reading on. (:
-Jasmine

Author's Response: I really enjoy brushing my wife's hair so I just couldn't resist throwing that in there. I'm an old softy at heart!

Harry's frustration and R/Hr's distraction. I'm glad you sympathize with both points of view. I was hoping to convey that as this conflict will continue to grow throughout this part of the story.

Thanks for the compliment on the armor. I thought it was a cool flourish and I just always pictured the Aurors as Quidditch players. LOL! Dunno why, I just do. Odd...

Another battle? I think that's a safe guess.

Thanks again!

Elder


 Report Review

Review #6, by PrincessPadfoot 

18th July 2010:
oh plans plans plans.

The 'Imperium'?!?!?! hehehe what kind of name is that?? lol Voldy's Moldy and living underground with a snake :P

This was a very good chapter (they all are really). The strategy here was once again excellent, but I'm not sure I understood how they were exactly getting to the Imperium...but I'll most likely figure it out as the go along :P

My computer battery is dying!! *cries*

On to chapter 12!!

PP

Author's Response: Voldy's moldy...LOL!

How they're getting to the Imperium? With a great deal of difficulty. First they're gonna sneak up the coast, then Apparate across the Chanel at Dover. After that, they're gonna make it up as they go and hope the resistance is there waiting for them, if the Galleons can be made to work. Here's hoping...

Thanks for the great review!

Elder


 Report Review

Review #7, by edward ollivander 

3rd July 2010:
another nice one. Hopefully Ron and Hermione can cool off some of that heat or the death eaters will feel them coming from miles away. it won't be easy from now on me thinks. Happy writing.

Author's Response: Heat? LOL!
It definitely will not be easy from here on out. Things will only get more complicated as things go on.

Thanks again!

TEW


 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsKatieGrint 

1st March 2010:
Really well thought out chapter here. I absolutly love the ideas you have going here. This really seems like something that would happen, because you have everything so well detailed! I love love love it! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much. The details here were key as I had to find a way to force the quartet to slog through Voldy's minions in northern France.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by TheDirigiblePlum 

5th January 2010:
Ron and Hermione!! Goodness me. ;) They've become a bit naughty!

I feel like I repeat myself a lot when I review your stories but again I have to say I admire how you manage to create that sense of infinite danger, and also the expansiveness of the danger, like knowing it's out there but being unable to see it.
That again reminds me of The Stand where you know that evil bloke (Randall Flagg I think? - Sorry, been a long time since I read it!) is out there but they only see him in their heads, a bit like Harry used to see Voldemort in his dreams. That is one scary book... *shivers*! Being unable to directly see all the threats that Harry and his lot are facing makes it seem all the more menacing. Leaves more with your mind to play with which is why I find your story so effective.

Another thing is I love how they all interact with each other. It's very realistic and their conversation flows really easily like they all have the chemistry that is so present in the books.

I can't wait to read more and sorry I waffled on about other books whilst I was meant to be reviewing your story! :D I just remember you said you'd read The Stand and I got all excited because I've only ever met one other person who has. :D

10/10

Author's Response: DP!

The Stand; absolutely amazing book. Stephen King is my hero. Hence the references to his characters thoughout this story. I haven't told anyone else this, so dont' tell anybody!

"Deschain" and "Duchamp" are taken from King. Deschain was Roland's last name in "The Dark Tower Series." DuChamp was the last name of one of the characters in his novella, "The Body," from his collection "Different Seasons." In the movie version, "Stand by Me," Teddy Duchamp was played by Corey Feldman.

A little homage.

Back to the point...

Hr/R are definitely a bit distracted. And that may well be a problem later on, because, you're right. The danger outside the tent walls is very real. It's only a matter of time before our heroes will be truly emersed in this horrible reality. And there will be consequences...

I can't thank you enough for the great review, and the chance to spill the beans about the numerous King references here. Good to hear from you and I'm loving "A Lifetime of Insensitive Teaspoons!"


 Report Review

Review #10, by AvadaKedavra1 

3rd January 2010:
Again, flawless logic. I am unsure what is new and what I just dont remember.

At this point I am reading so fast, I just cant take it. Every time Ginny touches the sword, I cringe in anticipation.

LOL.

This is good stuff.

Author's Response: Thanks bro.

It's coming, be patient. You're almost there. Just a matter of time...


 Report Review

Review #11, by 1917farmgirl 

29th December 2009:
Review:

Okay, first off I really liked this chapter.  Let me tell you why…

I love the relationship you have built up between Harry and Ginny. It seems so natural and easy, so far from the teenage crush we got to see in the books. Very good work!

I love your use of geography and real places to anchor this story! Although, dang you, I’m gonna have to actually break out a map now, to follow where they are going. I’m not that up on my French geography…

I really, really, really love the details you are using and bringing back. I love facts and trivia and details in books and movies and shows. It thrills me that you are using them! The Galleons! The DA. The blood protection. And even the stuff you’ve thought up, like the wards, get detailed explanations. I LOVE it. I know this is a little off topic, but you know I love the show Stargate. One of the things I love about it is their attention to detail. They have a running “show” canon that is incredible. Nothing is forgotten. Some little detail from season one you thought was just a throw away comment is suddenly what will save the universe in season eight or something. Well, I get that same feeling from this fic, and that is a HUGE compliment to your writing.

But, one question. How do they know it’s even safe to USE those coins? What if Voldie’s got some of them?

And you never answered me. What if Voldie’s made MORE horcruxes? It’s been four years now, he could have easily done it…

I’m really worried about this trip down the coast of France though. I’m quite certain it’s not going to be easy, and knowing you, it will probably be deadly!! Please don’t kill anyone else!

Still, loved it! Can’t wait to read the next one!

Author's Response: Farmgirl!

Thanks so much for the great review. So let's get to it.

Natural. That's the best compliment you could give me for H/G's relationship. I'm really glad you liked it. The braiding scene is one of my favorites.

Geography. I've picked certain places in this story for a very specific reason, most particularly, Dieppe. Anyone familiar with the history of the place can probably suss out...well, I'm not gonna give anything else away!

As to all the fine points all I can say is "aw shucks." The reason for the detail is two fold. First, I'm deathly afraid of the legions of nitpickers that would say "Hey, you forgot..." and Second, since I'm one of those annoying nitpickers, I'd darned well better get it right.

So, I guess I need to check out SG1. That sounds like a VERY impressive plot bible and I'm honored to be compared to those writers.

Ah, the Galleons. The quartet don't know whether its safe to use them. They're definitely gambling. They don't have any other choice. But, they are assuming that nearly all of the DA are dead and deadmen tell no tales. That is, there'd be no one to have told Voldy how they work.

Horcruxes. Well, I'll remind you that 'Mione told Ron in "Clocks" that she didn't think Voldy would make any more, because his soul was so unstable.

As to a further body count: Remember, no one's safe till the last page is read!

Thanks again so much for reviewing!



 Report Review

Review #12, by siledubhghlase 

22nd December 2009:
Wow. So not only do they have to orient themselves to the AU reality, they have to adjust for lost time. Yikes.

I was a little worried about Ginny going off to fly reconnaissance by herself as was Harry. But he at least had the grace not to argue with her about it. But I loved the breakfast scene where she's eating while he brushes and plaits her hair. You dropped the dreaded 's for a plural there, though. Naughty, naughty.

I wondered about the wisdom of them having spent so much time in the open like they did and then retiring without a watch. Thank goodness Harry and Ron realized what danger they put themselves in and resolved not to allow it happen again.

So pulling a few more teeth was cast off as a bad idea. Good. I'd have hated to see them have to fight through that again. Ron's a great strategist--flying arcs along the beach and against the wards under cover of darkness to find the breach. Excellent.

The Galleons! I do hope there are a few DA left and that they're still loyal. Merlin help them if they contact a turncoat, or worse yet, a DE with a captured coin. That would be messy.

So they're going to storm the Ministry/Imperium again? Oh well...they've done it before and they have the added bonus that they know their way around it. That'll work to their advantage...at least we'd like to hope. When Harry finally faces Riddle again, he has 'Mione's memories to draw from so he knows what to expect.

Overall, an excellent chapter and you're setting the stage very well. I can feel the tension already. Merlin help them all.

Author's Response: SD! Great to see you.

The hairbrushing scene is one of my favorite moments between Harry and Ginny. She has him SOOO wrapped around her finger (you can probably guess where the inspiration for this whole scene came from!)

Pulling teeth? LOL. Ron the Great to the rescue. But, yes, we are going back to Dover and it will be dicey. That I can promise you.

I'll let you in on a little secret. There are some DA still alive. Took me quite a while to figure out who they are cause I killed nearly everyone off in Clocks. I think you'll like how that plays out...

Harry v. Riddle, Elder Wand v Elder Wand - that chapter's done and its long by my standards. I hope you like it.

I'm really flattered that you're enjoying this! (and thanks for catching the gramar probs)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Karkaroff 

20th December 2009:
I liked how you wrote Harry, Ginny in this chapter. Please write more thanks as I am enjoying the plot. Thanks for updating and Merry Christmas.

Author's Response: Merry Christmas to you, too and thanks again for coming back and reviewing!

I'm glad you liked the interplay between H/G in this chapter; it was fun to write. But Ginny is definitely the boss, ain't she?

I plan to update with another chapter tomorrow: "Dieppe." See you then.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Sirius Black Dog 

20th December 2009:
oh.
i cant wait for the next chapter
:)

Author's Response: It's coming, I promise. Should be up tomorrow (Dec. 21).

Merry Christmas!


 Report Review

Review #15, by You Know Who 

19th December 2009:
yes harry, stay quite. Well, I'm unknown and not allowed to join until my grades are all Bs.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. Good luck on getting your grades up!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review