15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TallestTower 

21st December 2010:
I loved this too! I really like that you chose to put some history behind their love/hate relationship.
The introduction was brilliant- I really love how you phrased that.
I think you have a real gift for playing with the reader's reactions- it was so hard to see both of their points of view, and how they were both pining after each other and yet, I had to sit there and watch as they fell apart! I think that the characterization of both Lily and James was really good. The way she was going to confess her feelings seemed very Lily, and the situation she was in - believing she was the only one who really understood James was easy to sympathize with.
The ending was very sad, but again well written - it tied up really well. Oh! My only comfort is that canon will re-unite them in the end! Still, as painful as it is to see Lily and James all confused and messed up, it was still a joy to read :)
Merry Christmas and thanks for posting!

Author's Response: Merry Christmas to you too! Your review has mightily cheered me up about this most long-running WIP (I will finish it, honest!)

I really wanted to do something a little different for this story - so often Lily is portrayed as simply hating him, and then suddenly realising she loves him. Personally, I don't get that - those kind of emotions, ones strong enough to make you marry only a year or so later - take time. This fitted that, hopefully!

As ever, I do enjoy the messy and sad relationship issues, and what's a story without conflict! So thanks for encouraging me with this review, as you've made me see the better aspects I can keep working with, now I have a lovely ten-day break to do it in!


 Report Review

Review #2, by theelderwand 

22nd August 2010:
Ella, this is great. I so HATE tortured love stories like this; that is, I hate how addictive they are and this one is VERY addictive. I can tell that already.

So tragic that she overheard that conversation. And I've a sneaking suspicion that it wasn't exactly a "date the nerd" game Sirius and James were playing. Ugh!

That said, this had me laughing out loud: "Well, that went well"

I loved the opening and how you brought it back around and sewed it up with the ending: "Lily Evans always had and always would hate James Potter; everyone knew that, even him."

I'm favoriting this

Eldy

Author's Response: Glad you liked that line - it's the kind of dry humour that cracks me up, but I'm never sure if it works for anyone else!

Yeah, they definitely weren't playing date the nerd. They were playing "ask out the girl you have a massive crush on, but everyone will think you're pathetic for being rejected by" - a much scarier game. Just needed a good reason for them to be perfect for each other and yet never together, and thus the epic misunderstanding seemed apt.

Ah, yes - the opening and closing lines were the first ones written. Then I just added the minor detail of a plot. Glad you liked it.

Really hope you aren't favouriting it, because I have to admit, I'm not the most regular updater. After all the love during the review fest, I will be continuing it (it almost got changed to "abandoned") but not too quickly. Bad Ella.

Anyways, thanks for the epic review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by music_is_inside_of_me 

21st August 2010:
Hey!

I like it!! I don't think i've seen anything like it before which is saying something due to all the J/L fics out there. I really like the idea of Lily liking James, its super unique!

musiclover

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I always used to sit there and think "how do you go from hating someone and looking down on them, to being married?" And then I thought, how about if she never really hated him at all? This entire novel/la is the result!

Thanks for the support!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ronhermione4evr 

16th August 2010:
Aw. That's just sad that Lily had just high hopes, and they all were crushed when she heard about the bet between James and Sirius. You have to admit, though, she's tough. I don't think I would've been able to stand up to the boy I loved and tell him that I would never go out with him. Great chapter!
-ronhermione4evr

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! Not sure if she's tough or just proud, but it's exactly what I would do if I thought someone was making fun of me, and thus not the person I thought he was.

Yeah, this prologue is kinda sad, but then that's how their love story does start, and we all know the ending will be much happier!

Thanks for reviewing this!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ericajen 

16th August 2010:
Hey Cappie! You caught up to me in reviews and I am here to give you your well earned five reviews.

I don't read a whole lot of Lily/James, but this really caught my eye. And when I started reading, I realized how different and unique this is. The reason I don't read a lot of Lily/James in the first place is because most of them involve Lily needlessly and unreasonably despising James and becoming an utter monster every time he comes near her. This is, obviously, much different from that. It's refreshingly unique. I really enjoyed it, especially for that reason.

I think that the plot you have set up in this first chapter has excellent potential and I'm excited to see where you take it(:

Author's Response: Hee hee - I really will do anything for reviews, huh?

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I'm glad you liked my premise; I've always had an issue with Lily's irrational dislike of James too, and that's part of what this story was all about addressing.

Of course, I can't promise that she won't revert to type a bit in the later chapters, but I see you've reviewed them too - better go check out what you thought!

Thanks for reviewing this - what a lovely thing to wake up to!


 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginny 

16th August 2010:
AHAHAHA James.

It's so cute when he's trying not to cry! I "AWW"ed out loud! (I think it's you I stole that from) And Sirius is hilarious, as is Remus. Off to read the next chappie now!!!

Author's Response: Probably - I awww a lot, though in my defence only when a story is awesome. Yes, I just out cheesed myself.

Thanks for R&R-ing, and I'm glad you found my boys funny - let's face it, that's why we love them!


 Report Review

Review #7, by mizzxpearl 

16th August 2010:
Hello there, fellow Gryffie! :D

Aww, this was so cute! It's soo different to read a Lily/James where 1.) Lily not only has a reason to hate James but also 2.) Lily used to have a crush on James! I think it's the second one that makes me like this story so much! I love this story so far. It has great flow and I'm just itching to know what's going to happen in their seventh year!

This was a very nice first chapter. Onwards!!

Author's Response: Yay! Glad you liked the idea. To me, it's always seemed strange that someone could legitimately dislike someone for six years, and then marry them two years later. So I thought, hey, what if there was more to it? What if there was a reason Lily kept saying no? And voila... this story was the result!

Hope the next part doesn't disappoint!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Adrielne 

16th August 2010:
The first paragraph of this chapter made me immediately fall in love with it. But I can't go all lovey-dovey over your story, can I now? ;) So here's the cruel critique!
Firstly, there is no unusual plot twist in this chapter. There's few things beyond that first paragraph that would convince me to read this story over any other.
Secondly, the descriptive paragraphs are way too long and they appear to be quadruple-spaced. You could break them into two or three smaller paragraphs each, making them more interesting and less of a bother to read.
Thirdly, you could add some more humor to this. The first paragraph is a promise of a humorous chapter and the rest lowers the standard a bit.
But it was still a great read and it's the "Ella is such a wonderful writer, she should show it off more by making her stories absolutely perfect!!!" side of me that's omplaining ;)
Hugs full of Gryffie love and support,
~ Adrielne

Author's Response: OK, give me a moment to put perfectionist Ella in the corner, cause she doesn't deal with criticism well...

Thanks for the review, as given how little I'm feeling this story, it really does need some work doing on it to make it draw me back in. I'll definitely have a look at the lack of humour, and see if I can use this as a means of breaking up the descriptive areas. As for plot twists, I'm not sure I want to change the story itself, but I could certainly try and give it a rework in order to make what I am saying seem less obvious from the start - get a little misdirection going.

Anyways, thanks for reading, and giving me something to think about!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jessabelle 

9th May 2010:
Jesi here with your requested review! (:

Poor Lily! Poor James! So much misunderstanding~

I think this was a brilliant start for your story. Your grammar and vocabulary are wonderful, and the flow was nearly flawless.

I didn't see any obvious errors, so I don't think that's going to be a problem. Before I comment on anything else, I want to read the second chapter. (:

Jesi

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review this. Your encouragement has made made stop and think about really trying to get back to this story properly - I had been debating about scrapping it, to be honest, but this has helped highlight the reasons to bother keeping it going!

The spelling and grammar I can't take credit for - my beta is the reason that stays decent. However the flow is all mine, and is a problem at points, so it's good to know this chapter doesn't suffer there.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by LindaSnape 

3rd February 2010:
Aw, I positively adore Lily/James stories. I really do. I really like this.

It seemed very in character and I loved the dialogue and the flow. I really appreciated the fact that Lily wasn't too strong to actually cry like a real teenage girl would in some situations.

Ah, poor James.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your feedback! Glad you liked the characterisation - this is my first fic using truly canon characters, and so I've tried really hard to be both original and true to the books. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #11, by gryffindorrocker 

24th December 2009:
awesome, i cant wait to read more

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Glad you liked it, more to come.

 Report Review

Review #12, by apriltruex 

21st December 2009:
loved it please write more!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Will get more written and up ASAP. :-)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hoggy_warty_hogwarts 

20th December 2009:
I love! this is great! Please continue to write!

Author's Response: OK! Seriously, thanks for letting me know this is being enjoyed; will get more up soon.

 Report Review

Review #14, by confusedlover 

20th December 2009:
very lovely.

i thought that this was a very nice beginning to a story. i have been working on getting myself a bit more involved with Marauder era stories and this one is definitely well on its way to being simply fantastic. keep up the wonderful work. i will anxiously be waiting for an update.

Author's Response: WOW! I think that's the nicest thing anyone's ever said to me! Will make sure I have some more chapters ready as soon as the queue reopens.

Thanks for reviewing, you've made my day!


 Report Review

Review #15, by spam_up_sam 

20th December 2009:
I liked this, it was well written and just something a little different from what I usually read =]
Hope you update soon!
spam_up_sam

Author's Response: Yay! Glad you liked. Will update as soon as the queue re-opens in January.

Thanks for reviewing - was beginning to worry that no-one liked this story!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review