Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
75 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

8th July 2014:
Ah, what a lovely chapter to start off my day's reviewing with, lots of fluff and Sirius and Laura time! The two of them are seriously so cute and it was nice seeing them get pretty much a whole chapter to themselves so that they could discuss some of the things that had happened in the past without having everyone else there to listen. I love the way you write Sirius at the moment - he's still in character but there are some changes starting to creep in and a lot of that is clearly due to just how much he cares about Laura and wants to protect her and make sure that she's alright. I loved his concern when he was asking about security systems, because it reminded me of when he was talking to Harry. Then the meeting - even if it was in secret - was just so cute. His explanation about the clasp was even sweeter than I thought it would be! And I'm glad that Laura's finally started to realise that just because nobody had the guts to ask her out before, it doesn't mean she's unnoticed or completely ordinary. I loved reading all the fluff between them this chapter and it made me smile to know there'll hopefully be some more in the next with the party!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, SO much fluff. It was needed after all that frustration, I felt - and besides, the beginnings of relationships are always like that, aren't they? And yes, Laura is starting to realise that just because no one actually asks her on a date, doesn't mean they're not interested. I think a lot of girls need to have that lesson at that age, to be honest. :)
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
Loved it!! They are so cute 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by singer123 

14th December 2011:
Bloody awesome chapter!!
Aww.. I love them.. They're so cute!
I can't believe Sirius liked her for that long though..
But doesn't matter cause now they're TOGETHER!!
Can't wait to read about the party!!

Author's Response: Yes, this is a rather fluffy chapter, but I think it has to be in there. It was building up for so long that it's like the reward for the wait. Again, thank you, I'm very pleased you liked it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by classicblack 

22nd October 2011:
Don't worry, I love cliches; I believe I might over use them in my fics too. OH I almost forgot, FINALLY you work in a "I'm always Sirius" joke in there; it's like the ultimate Marauders fic cliche that always has to be said at least once in any story.
Anyway, I also loved that it was revealed that Sirius sent the clasp :) I feel like they might be getting seriousy a little too fast though... but I suppose they've been friends for ages so it sort of makes up for it. Nice job overall.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: I'm not sure that it's all that fast - remember, they don't have to go trhough that whole "getting to know you" thing that most couples have, because they've already done that. And remember, they're essentially horny teenagers who just want to get to the good stuff, so to speak. I am basing this in part on my own experiences of that age so hopefully I'm not too far off. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne 

13th August 2011:
Aww that's so cute that Sirius writes her letters everyday, and I like Lauras quick excuse for recieving so many.
I knew Sirius brought her the clasp! Yay! go me for knowing! :-D he really does know what she likes. and they're so cute together talking about their feelings for each other.
I don't mind cliches I love them, just as much as I love this story which is lots!
I reckon they'll get caught out sooner or later! :-D

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yes, he's being a bit lovestruck at the moment, but hey, all new relationships are like that and I thought it was kinda sweet. :) This chapter really is absolute mush, but I figured that it needed to be in there after so many chapters of sexual tension - the resolution is I think necessary to see. And then their talk served to get rid of a lot of misunderstandings that I wanted out of the way if their relationship was to progress properly. (Not all of them, obivously, but some of them at least.)

Thank your for suffering my cliches. There are a few in this story (it's impossible to avoid them entirely, I think) but I they all serve a purpose so that's my excuse. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

10th August 2011:
Ahh, so much was revealed, and it turns out I was right about the clasp, although it was nothing more than a wild guess at the time, it's still nice to know of course that it came from him! I always wonder about Sirius in the Muggle world, it seemed as though he certainly loved aspects of it, the motorcycles etc. So I think it was a nice touch that they spent their day together in the Muggle world, that and this line had me bursting out in laughter, "He smiled mischievously. Of course Im Sirius." I just love Sirius references with his name being so serious and all.

I also love the hints at the danger of the times they live in, often when I find myself forgetting that they are living in the midst of Voldemort's first rise to power you add something in that always reminds me that it's not all about romance, there's some very important events happening right before our eyes, decisions that would ultimately affect the entire world. I also love how you portray Bea and Laura's relationship, and I loved how Bea comes across as initially helpful, but really she was anything but, it seemed like the sort of mischief she would get up to according to what we know about her.

This was a really sweet chapter, and it's nice to see just how much he has cared for her over such a long period of time! Now, to the next chapter!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Yes, this was one of those chapters that had to happen if I wanted to disperse a lot of the misunderstandings and doubt and let this relationship actually progress. There's a bit of insecurity to deal with (on both sides) so I thought it was important to get as much out in the open as possible. Not saying that it means it's all smooth sailing from now on, of course, but it did help. :)

As for Bea, well she's a gem of a character in a lot of ways, and so much fun to write. Those little snippets are actually hugely helpful to Laura if she'd just pay attention, but of course she doesn't so it all goes over her head. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by RJ 

1st August 2011:
Hehe - Im reading this again. Best distraction from the insanity that is end of semester uni. Man, I love this and the last couple of chapters. So sweet.. x

Author's Response: Hehehehe. I've been told this is good for procrastination ... not that I condone that, but I can understand it . Glad you're still enjoying it even though you know what's going to happen!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
No offense, but man, I hope I'm never quite like that. Sweet, but I'm gagging.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: The funny thing about scenes like this one is that almost everyone does live through one at some stage or another, but invariably you don't realise you're doing it. Very sweet but it does'nt feel like that when you're in it, it's just part of the rush of the new relationship. So I'm sorry I made you gag but I think it's a real part of any partnership.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by theelderwand 

22nd August 2010:
Just loved this chapter. Its like that good, quiet rest you get after a particularly harrowing, gut wrenching ride. Everything's fallen into place, everything's wonderful, the boy got the girl and...now everything's going to go pear shaped isn't it? A rocket sled ride straight to hades...Grumble!

Dialogue was smooth as silk, as was the writing. If you missed anything that should naturally have come up during the character's conversations, I didn't see it. Nice cover with the shopping bags, by the way!

I hope she makes the party and her parents don't find out and shoot her down.

Must read on - I'm into the last hour of review fest, so I can't tarry too long, much as I'd like to.

Eldy

Author's Response: You know, it's a darn good thing you've already handed over your man card because I would have been calling for it after this review. :) However, you are of course right in that everything will go pear-shaped, because we can't have it all peaches and cream, can we? If nothing else it would make a pretty boring story.

I actually had to do a bit of an edit to make the shopping bags era-compliant - I originally had them plastic before I realised that plastic bags hadn't come in yet. At least that didn't entail much of a rewrite and no one's commented on it so I probably got it close to being right, at least. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
"a gentle yet purposeful kiss that lasted somewhere between a few seconds and half an hour" - I love your use of descriptions like this, which aren't graphic or M&B-esque, but instead capture the emotions behind said actions. Also, manages to be completed non-purple, which is refreshing when compared to other writers.

Yes, the Potter new year party is a cliche, but as you've said, it's not un-canon, just extra-canon, and that's more than fine by me!

Best bit of this chapter though was the way we finally got to see Sirius' point of view during so many of those moments in the earlier chapters. I love how you held off on that until now, giving the reader questions to be answered, but not answering them until it was right for the plot. Awesomeness.

Onwards...

Author's Response: Oh, thank god I'm not like Mills and Boon! Aside from my own personal writing style, of course, I chose a narrator who's far too coy to go into any significant detail about these sorts of things. I also figure that the human imagination is far more graphic than anything I can put into words so I was probably better off leaving it so people could picture it themselves. :)

I'm also very pleased that you liked the Sirius POV on those things - it's abridged, of course, but it was important to try to iron out all those old misunderstandings before they could go on, I thought.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by doglover 

12th August 2010:
they are just too adorable!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! This is a really fluffy chapter but after all the dancing around each other for the past ten I thought it was warranted. How long the fluff lasts, of course, is another matter entirely. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by ashgal72 

9th July 2010:
All I gotta say is... FINALLY! I love the story and can't wait to see what else happens!

Author's Response: Hahahaha. Yes, finally. It did take a while, didn't it? But then again sexual tension is so much fun to write that I couldn't resist dragging it out a bit. :) Cruel, aren't I?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Schnatz 

29th June 2010:
This clishe isn't that bad. Sometimes you need clishes and I think it's only important how you discribe it. Clishes can also be great or cute or romantic or whatever ... it's a kind of a prejudice that they're so negetive and boring and mary-sue-like. So, I'm sure I'll like your big party at the Potter's ;-)

So chapter 40 was also a little clishe-ish, wasn't it?! *g* It was really romantic, almost kitschy ... but every girl needs kitsch sometimes, right? Me, too. To tell you the truth I love kitsch, can't get enough of it ... I'm hopelessly sappy and kitschy and romantic ... and I LOVED loved loved this chapter! *sigh and smile*

Sirius is so cute and such a gentleman. Oh, I can't believe that it should be the same Sirius who was a nasty git, a womanizer and a completely heartbreaker. Haha, thanks, Laura, for making Sirius Black a better lover! ;-)

Really cute chapter, I enjoyed reading it a lot and hope that there will be more romance and kitsch in the next chapters :P
10/10 - as always!

Till then, Schnatz

P.S.: Yay, only 22 chapters left! ;-)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, I don't think that the occasional cliche is a hanging offence, I just thought that I should acknowledge that I realised I was using one. So long as it's done with the full understanding that it IS a cliche, normally it doesn't really matter I don't think. :)

I don't know that ch40 was also cliched but it was certainly fluffy and probably a little kitschy, but then again those two had been dancing around each other for so long that I thought a bit of fluff wasn't too bad. And let's face it, we're all like that at the start of relationships, aren't we?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by always_dreaming 

25th March 2010:
wow. 40 chapters down, 15 to go in like 28 hours or something. good thing it's spring break, or else i would have to go to school. i totally understand how this is the most addicting story, although i think i said that. sorry if some of my reviews are just fluff. i get the idea that some readers might like reviews or something (sarcasm... duh), so i've been trying to review every chapter since i started. i still love this story and i'm going to be so sad when it ends!

Author's Response: Ah, no worries if some of your reviews are a bit fluffy. As you guessed, like all writers I love all reviews so the last thing I'm going to do is complain about that. :D I'm really pleased that you're enjoying it though after it took a while to grow on you (that slow start again) - it means that I must have done something right somewhere along the line. So thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by nextgenoration 

7th March 2010:
H'lo Mel. Well, of course this chapter was quite fluffy. It's the first stage of blissful love in their relationship - this chapter just has got to make you smile. What with all the heartfelt confessions and tiny explanations (which I was happy to be right on my assumptions with:)). The whole thing was just cute. But of course - this stage of relationships won't last forever. I'm a little curious as to what the first fight will be. It's one of those things where you know there is going to be an argument and you obviously don't want that, but at the same time, you're kind of intrigued as to what it may be. Oh and I adore when stories have parties. It gives me something to look forward to in a story. But in the sense of an event that you know will have some serious action (perhaps drama) in it. :)

Anyway, I thought it was a really well written chapter. As usual, of course. ;)

On to the next chapter!

cheers, ash

Author's Response: Hi Ash! Thanks for the review!

I'm really sorry it's taken so long to respond to this but like I said on the forums, the last chapter I posted had a pretty intense cliffy so I've been a bit flooded with reviews. And it's actually really nice to respond to a review from a sweet fluffy chapter because it makes a pleasant change.

I'm rather fond of this chapter all told, even if it is very fluffy (hence the warning on the chapter summary), because like you said it's that early stage of the relationship where everything is sunshine and lollypops. Or whatever. You know what I mean. The first fight is coming up, of course - you can't give your protagonists a perfect relationship because it's just not realistic - but naturally my lips are sealed as to when it occurs. You may have read on and come across it already. Or you may not.

Anyway I'm really glad that you're still enjoying this and I hope that, in future chapters when it starts to dip a little, you keep going because I think *hope* that it's worth it in the end.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ronsgirl29 

24th January 2010:
hahah thats okay, who doesn't love a good cliche?! (:

this chapter was pretty dang adorable! haha it was fluffy, but i think laura and sirius needed some fluff considering how long they waited to get together, they deserved the cuteness.

My favorite part of this chapter is when they are going over stuff that happend, like when sirius got mobbed by that giggler, and showing how they both interperted stuff in different ways, it was interesting as well as wonderfully writen.

oh and it was cute that she found out sirius gave her the clasp (:

10/10 as always

Author's Response: HI again!

Yes, the fluffy chapter. It was VERY fluffy, I know, but like you said they deserved it after all those months of missed opportunities. I will say though that the number of really fluffy chapters like this isn't very high so I can indulge myself occasionally.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by JeanSyrotS 

22nd January 2010:
I am such a terrible reviewer! (Cries). But alas! the guilt has caught up with me, I'm here to review, regardless that yes, it was I who read, and moved to the next chapter, and did not leave a review. BUt worse! I kept moving to each new chapter, and only jsut now reviewing.
But hey, for what it's worth, In my head I would create a review and I'd plan and writing, but whoa to me and my procratinatage-way...
ANYWAYs to the reveiw

YOU TOTALLY HAD THE FLUFFY-LOVEY-DOVEY SIDE of thier relationship and I was like, "Ode to fluff, of that which was written. Which hath not been afore, but is now."
I was in shock! I mean I know you said you'd write this kind of lovey dovey, but thier so acting like well, lovey dovey!

At first I honestly didn't know if I would like it, but then I thought the letters were cute, and the chance they got to explain to each other how they felt, and they were acting the roles of how two teenagers separated should and I came to a conclusion: They both needed the lovey-dovey, and the story wouldn't be complete without it.

So there, my review, and on to the next chappy.

ps, yes this chpt will forever be known as the lovey-dovey.

Author's Response: Hi Jean!

First of all, there is no need to apologise for missing a few reviews. I certainly don't blame you for it. However, if you feel the need to go back and write the reviews, then I won't complain. *grins*

Yes, this was very much a lovey-dovey chapter, but like you said they needed that. And what relationship ISN'T all lovey-dovey at the very beginning? They had all those months to catch up on. :)

I guess I shouldn't be surprised at your surprise, though, because I hadn't written a lot of the really fluffy stuff in this story yet. But hey, it is a love story, so there is going to be fluff. And at least I put a warning in the chapter summary!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by ochalke5 

12th January 2010:
Another wonderful chapter! I love Laura and Sirius and love them together... i however cannot wait for the party!!! Those are always interesting... i can't decide if something bad will happen or not... it will be a fun read never the less.
10/10
Brilliant Mel!
natalie

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, this was a rather fluffy chapter, wasn't it? But that's okay. They're kinda cute together, I think. As for the party, well my lips are of course sealed, but you'll find out soon enough I expect.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by pinaygrl3123 

27th December 2009:
Mmm, I love it. And dear Beatrice, I hate to say it (not really), but I'm so glad you no longer exist at Hogwarts. If you did.. this would have made Sirius and Laura getting together just that much harder.. And that's so cute about the present. And of course the clasp was from Sirius.. whoever didn't know that should be slapped upside the head. Again, way too much time with evil plot-twisters.. Haha. But I can't wait for the party, it should be loads of fun!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Hahaha, yes you're absolutely right with Bea. If she was still at Hogwarts then none of this would have happened, because Laura would still be caught up in her shadow and wouldn't have come into her own like she did.

Anyway, you and just about everyone else worked out who the clasp was from, but I had an awful time trying to explain it in a believable way! The timing was all wrong. So I'm glad you think that worked. *beams*

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by werewolfluvr11 

23rd December 2009:
I have loved the last couple chapters! They were amazing! I can't wait to read more. Happy Christmas! =)
~Cassie

Author's Response: HI Cassie! Thanks for reviewing again! :D

So pleased you liked these chapters - yet another person who doesn't mind a bit of fluff every now and then, I see!

Have a great Christmas too. :D
Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Cluds in the Sky 

23rd December 2009:
This is one of the best fanfictions I've ever read! It's awesome, keep writing and merry chrimbo.
Cluds in the Sky

Author's Response: Hi there! thanks for the review!

Wow, one of the best you've ever read? What a compliment. Thank you! Next chapter will be up shortly so I hope you like that one too.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by lilylvr 

23rd December 2009:
I READ THIS STORY IN ONE WHOLE DAY!( i know, big achievement ) and let me tell you, it is amazing, not that you don't get everyone telling you that ;). sorry for not reviewing for the other chapters but your story was so engrossing that i couldn't stop reading long enough to write a review for the chapters. :D :D :D anyways, YOU ABSOLUTELY MUST UPDATE LIKE REALLY SOON!!! this is such an awesome story (not that you don't know that) so i will die waiting for it... i'm already getting old ;) beard and everything. lets hope you update before it turns gray right? ;) i'm so not suprised that this story got most addicting. ITS BRILLIANT. but i'm not saying you should let this all go to your head ;) ha ha & just to humor you, this story is awesome!!! just saying;) defintaley what i would call a 12248056785046730467302002020202486y20u9/10 but unfourtanetly they don't have that in the ratings so i guess ill just have to settle for a 10/10. *sighs* ha ha update soon!

luv one of you biggest fans ;) ,
LILYLVR
ps i would suggest you update like RIGHT NOW!!!

Author's Response: Hi Lilylvr! Thanks for the review!

And what a nice review it was too. I'm very impressed that you read the whole thing in a day, there's a lot to get through and this time of year people are usually busy doing other things. So that's a huge compliment, thank you!

And you will be pleased to know that I"m about to load up the next chapter. Hope you enjoy it. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by amarief 

21st December 2009:
Laura is adorable and your Sirius makes me want to melt. Keep after it please!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks amarief! I'm blushing. It's so nice to have people appreciate my characters so much! *beams*

There's still quite a bit to go (the whole story is written) so hopefully you will keep on reading and you like where I take it all.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Moon Woman 

21st December 2009:
AWESOMNESS! Loved it as always! You probably get sick of people singing your praises =D

WOOP party at James'!! Everybody needs a bit of cliche once in a while besides party's give everyone a chance to get dressed up =]

Hope you can update soon. And Merry Christmas.
Liz.

Author's Response: Hi Liz! Thanks for reviewing again :D

Ah, who gets sick of people singing their praises? I admit it pushes my ego up a bit but then again, it is Chrismas! *grins* So thank you :D

And yes, a chance for everyone to get dressed up is indeed coming up. Hopefully people will like what I have planned. :)

You have a lovely Christmas too.
Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by desert_oasis 

21st December 2009:
I love it! So my computer broke... again. First I fried his laptop, spilled water in mine, and I have no idea what happened this time. So I got desperate and got on the ps3 to read ur story and im still in love with it. :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Wow, you read this on your PS3? That is dedication. I'm extremely flattered. *beams* And I'm glad to see that you clearly don't mind a bit of fluff every now and then, because in this chapter there wasn't much else. :D

Have a lovely Christmas
Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>