Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Singularity 

13th August 2011:
I loved Siobhan's reaction to the wedding discussion! Hilarious and so in character for her :P I was sad that she broke up with Roddy again at the end. Oh, Siobhan! I just want to give her a hug, though she would never let that happen.

As much as I hate to think of 'claws behaving in such an atrocious manner, I'm glad the girls who insulted Molly weren't Slytherins. It's a good reminder that blood purity isn't just a Slytherin prejudice.

Molly's duel with her brothers...just wow. You wrote that really incredibly. And I loved Arthur's ability to calmly step into the middle and end it all, even after Flitwick had been yelling at them for several minutes.

I've always felt a little bad for Petula. It's got to be hard being the fifth Gryffindor girl, the one without the best friend. Especially because the other girls are often quite mean to her behind her back, and sometimes in front of her face. I thought the conversation at the end was a great way to pull in the time period to the story.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I deliberately made those girls Ravenclaws - it couldn't have been limited only to Slytherins, and I think Ravenclaw is the next most likely house, sadly, although I do think you would find people like that in every house.

Arthur stepping in as Molly fights her brothers, I have to admit, I think that's totally sexy XD And I'm glad you liked that scene, it's one of my favorites in the entire story.

The other girls are mean to Petula a lot, aren't they? They really do like her, she's just a little abrasive at times. Not that the other girls aren't occasionally (or a lot, in Cecilia's case) abrasive too, but Petula and her drama-mongering would get tiring. Hard not to treat her as the odd man out after a while. But, she has Dunstan from this year on as her bestie, so she does have someone. And of course there's Thomas. ;) The sex conversation, poor Petula and Molly, they're both so shy about it, but Siobhan's got a point that if you can't even talk about it... Well anyway.

Thank you so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by RonsGirlFriday 

9th July 2010:
I laughed quite a bit at Siobhan's reaction to hearing everyone was talking about weddings - jumping up right away and moving to another table. It created the perfect visual and it was so funny.

Arthur's protectiveness is really endearing, and his character obviously isn't completely overwhelmed by Molly's forceful personality. You write them so that they're very well matched.

Author's Response: Hehehe... I liked that scene a lot when I wrote it, it made me giggle. Siobhan's not a girly-girl, into weddings and all. I don't think she ever would be.

I think they're well-matched in canon, too. Molly does ride roughshod a lot, but she really does defer to Arthur quite often too. He's stronger than he sometimes seems ;) His calmness is a nice match for Molly's temper.


 Report Review

Review #3, by theelderwand 

24th February 2010:
Siobahn's reaction when she found out that Molly and Petula were talking about marriage had me in stitches. Really well written piece, that.

I loved the duelling scene. Molly's temper was perfectly protrayed there. I especially liked how she went into rage-mode when she saw Arthur hurt and how dangerous a dueler she is. Excellent forshadowing of her ending Bellatrix thirty years from now. Loved this!

The Quidditch scene was great fun, Molly being at a loss as to what was going on or why it mattered, that is, until the end when she realized that she got to run out and kiss the Quidditch hero.

I know I sound like a broken record, but it really is amazing how've you've given us a picture of a young Arthur and Molly that occasionally conjurs images of their children, (Molly's temper being similar to Ginny, Arthur's demeanor and Quidditch skills perhaps harkening to Charlie or Ron) and yet they always remain uniquely themselves.

This is quite a great tale. The whole sex discussion was enlightening as to the more's of the time and rather funny. Siobahn has some comitment issues, methinks...

Great stuff. I'll try to get to the last two chapters tonight.

You are a gifted writer.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have been savoring this review for a few days before responding to it. :)

Siobhan has a lot of issues, commitment among them. She's worse than the guys, honestly. heh.

I really don't get sports, so writing the games from Molly's perspective was much easier for me. I had a REALLY hard time writing the one game from Arthur's POV. Molly has no idea what's going on, much like I feel when watching football (a bunch of guys running around after a ball) or soccer (a bunch of guys running around after a ball), or - you get the idea ;) I could describe dancing in great detail, but I don't get sports.

I like showing how facets of their personalities were passed on to their kids. I think that happens a lot. Petula's remark in one of the early chapters that we all become watered-down versions of our parents is generally quite true, I think.

Thank you again for this lovely review! I really appreciated it.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Georgia Weasley 

15th December 2009:
Siobhan is such an incredible character. While I love Molly, there is something about this tough exteriored, broken girl that just strikes a chord with me. She's smart and funny, but hides the caring part of her behind this facade of an aloof bad girl. No one gets too close, except maybe Cecilia. And not even then does she show her vulnerable side. You write her so beautifully. Well done.

Author's Response: Siobhan is one of my favorite OCs, she's very interesting to write. I like complicated people. She has a lot in her that no one gets to see, except Cecilia, who sees it anyway despite Siobhan trying to hide it. She really made a mess of things with Roddy, poor girl. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ilisten2potterwatch 

13th December 2009:
Wow! I love cecilia and Reid so much!! this is an amazing story! Please update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll try :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hermione528 

12th December 2009:
Wow, quick update! What a lovely chapter-- I loved the dueling scene with Molly and her brothers. I can't wait to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm hoping to get the next chapter up before Christmas. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Harry and Ginny 

11th December 2009:
emotions flew on this chapter and it was very interesting to read this chapter. look 4ward to read more from u soon.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Hopefully soon, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by laughhard91 

11th December 2009:
Oh, that duel was absolutely marvellous! Just the bit of action I've been looking for! And of course we all knew that Molly had to be a brilliant dueler, most especially when someone she loves is on the line. (Of course this is an aspect only shown in the last book when Molly totally trumps Bellatrix). Really, that made me so happy, and it was so incredibly realistic. That was a big connection point for me in this chapter. You really managed to pull me right in to where I could see what was happening in my mind's eye. The rest of the chapter was really rather excellent as well, but that was the highlight. I'm really enjoying your work, and I'm very excited to see where you're going to take this story!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm really glad you liked it. I think Molly had to have been extremely talented at duelling for her to defeat Bellatrix, and that was after she'd been a SAHM and probably out of practice for almost 30 years! That's one of my favorite things about Molly, that she shows you can be more than "just a mom". When she fights out of love, she is really formidable. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rachel 

10th December 2009:
Yay!!

Yes... I have to say that I liked this chapter a lot better. :-) And my goodness... Molly and her brothers! I completely understand how annoyed she got that they are in the dueling club too, as that's how I've felt about my little brother and sister, too. You are so good at bringing your characters to life.

I felt like I got a little confused at places, but I'm pretty sure that's my fault. I'm a REALLY fast reader, you see, and so sometimes I'm reading so quickly that I miss bits and then get really confused. This chapter was wonderful writing. :-)

I think it would be very interesting if Molly let Arthur take their snog sessions a little farther, if you know what I mean. ;-) Maybe after they get engaged? When is that happening? I cannot wait!

Please, please, please, please update this again quite soon! I LOVE reading this story.

Author's Response: Oh, I do that when reading too - I skim too lightly over description and then have to go back and re-read. lol.

They're actually never going to get officially engaged. Because they elope, the asking and the marrying are going to happen on the same day ;) I started writing their elopement quite some time ago, I'm going to start posting it as soon as "What It's Worth" is finished (it's only 3 more chapters and maybe a small epilogue), so keep an eye out.

I've felt the same way about my sisters, too. I think it's pretty common for siblings. It does get better as you all get older, though.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review