Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sushmita 

14th November 2016:
What a cool chapter! This gave me an idea that it would be so easy for Sirius to have been spying on the Blacks in the future when James and Lily would be killed as Sirius wouldn't be around to be the secret keeper of their home.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TeamPadfoot 

23rd February 2012:
And he was at Malfoy Manor, right? Sorry..you kept referencing to both, bug I'm pretty sure the dungeon was at the Malfoys' considering it was in the seventh book as well... Lovely story, by the way, my favorite chapter so far, sounds like JKR herself. You're going somewhere with this, I hope you make it big.

 Report Review

Review #3, by girly1393 

13th May 2011:
Yes, the Minister is out! Go Sirius!

Bravo to you.

 Report Review

Review #4, by spangles 

14th February 2010:
I appericated the authors note, I was wondering that myself. The whole scene with Sirius breaking in was great, I love how Sirius notes how the Muggle way can be the better. Way. Another superb chapter. 10/10.

Author's Response: Hmm, now I can't remember what my A/N said. Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed that part! Just proving that wizards really aren't better than Muggles - just two separate ways of doing things!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Casey 

27th January 2010:
I like the little Muggle point of view at the beginning. You should write more stuff like that, I don't mean a huge section but maybe something which deals with the outside world like that because its really interesting to see how the other side feels in a time of war. Not like introducing new characters but perhaps just a little twist on things.

So true how you never realise the true nature of someone till you live with them. Then you really get to understand how they are, it was quite intriguing to see how James was, we barely know anything of him but what you wrote sounds true to character.

It seems as though everything gets a damper on it. Its a shame that it had to happen at Remus's birthday, I probably would have reacted the same way as James did to Sirius's statement. Putting oneself in danger always has its consequences but I don't think anyone else could have done it as well.

Ugh, I HATE HATE Bellatrix and Lucius, just want to - ugh, snotty little -s

Anyway.. poor Minister, great on Sirius saving him. I bet itll put him back in the good books with anyone who thought differerntly.

Author's Response: Nice, I am glad you enjoyed the Muggle POV. I like putting that stuff in now and then to try to show how the war is going, and I definitely think this story could use more of it. It makes things seem darker and a little more frightening, I think. Ever since I got an actual plot and series of events going (instead of just random occurrences as what happened in the first 20 chapters) where one thing leads to another, I feel like that interrupts the flow a little bit. I put it in here because it seemed a fitting way to squeeze it in along with showing the passing of time.

But you're right, I definitely think it needs more of that, and in the future chapters perhaps I will try to give it more focus.

LOL Everyone always says that about getting married. You never REALLY know til you live with them. Glad you enjoyed Lily's new perspective of James. As for Remus's birthday party, I suppose it didn't REALLY have to happen there... but I didn't feel like creating another scene, another get together, just for Sirius to tell them his news. Might as well have it done while they're all there anyway! Glad you liked James's reaction, I always enjoy when somebody storms off to have a fit. haha!

I hate Bellatrix and Lucius also, but figured it was high time I brought them into this story.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jetske 

3rd January 2010:
I totally loved reading your story! I've been reading during Christmas holidays, and I must admit; I'm an addict ;)! The way you describe the feelings that James and Sirius, and James and Lily experience are really touching, and the whole werewolf thing was interesting to read too!
But then I was skipping through your reviews, and I saw that it took you a month to update last time. Which understand, because of the high quality your wrighting is. But please..I love reading In My Time of Dying, so please update soon!
Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you :D I have had a lot of worried reviews lately about my updates, it seems, so hopefully the AN in the next chapter helps people out with that. Anyway, glad you liked it, especially the werewolf thing (which I was pretty iffy about whilst writing, but now that it's done I'm glad I did it).

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, Jetske!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Sara_Sj 

30th December 2009:
My GOD that was absolutely amazing. The way you describe everything it just...renders me speechless, there's truly no other way to put it. Everything is so artfully written. You describe everything, you let us actually /feel/ what the characters are feeling. You have depicted war so accurately and amazingly...
You let us see into each of the characters and the character you have built seems right on. I mean, most Marauder FanFics end up showing Sirius as a care-free, funny person, not a care in the world. True, he is funny and extremely sweet but it seems he has the world on his shoulders. He loves his family, whether he wants to accept it or not. The relationship you show between James and Sirius is simply amazing, and heart-warming. It's amazing how close they are and you never truly see this kind of closeness between the two in other Marauder eras...you can't see this type of relationship shown in any story for that matter, it's very hard to convey. The subtlety of your writing is what makes it so amazing.
James is another character altogether. He is light itself and the way you described him, especially in this chapter where it's coming from Lily was just astounding.
And Regulus. You can see his doubts and I can tell that he has already found out about the horcruxes (I /think/ that's the important thing he told Sirius he had figured out). He is so...complicated, yet you can see he's just as scared and still a good person. The part where he offered help to Remus and the way he spoke to Remus was just ...I don't know, I felt like it truly showed Regulus's character, more than you actually writing it out would have.
The way you show death.../that/ takes skill, and not everyone can do that. It's absolutely amazing. It breaks the heart, and it's just so final.

I honestly don't know what to say. Just know that this FanFic is absolutely AMAZING and I am eagerly awaiting the next chapter.

Author's Response: wow, i think this review was more amazing than the story! I'm completely stunned at all of the wonderful things you said, and amazed that you were receptive enough to notice all of those things. I'm really thrilled that you like the descriptions and seeing what the characters do (as well as the war scenes, those aren't easy) - sometimes I do worry that I include too much description, too much detail.

I do agree with you on Sirius - he comes from a family where the family name and pride and everything means so much. As a young child, he had to have been swayed by his parents - I doubt that he was destined to be a Gryf from the start, and he really did give up EVERYTHING for his choices. He lost a lot, but gained a lot, and I think that's more important to him than girls. JKR herself wrote that he paid girls little interest, so I hate seeing fics where Sirius is nothing but a silly, goofy teenage boy with a different girl every week, and who barely acknowledges James at all.

So I tried to show him the way I thought he would be, and his priorities (which, IMO, would be James.) I love your comments on the subtlety and closeness of them. I try not to have them hanging off of each other or anything lol, so it thrills me that people can see that they would die for each other, just as Sirius told Harry they would.

I love Regulus, I wish I had room to write more about him. He does already know about the Horcruxes and he is going to have to meet his end soon.

Anyway thank you for this fabulous review. Made my day, I came back to stare at it a few times before responding. I was hoping to update this week, but I've found myself having to babysit my 2 nieces the last few days and just havent had a chance to finish up that last chapter :(


 Report Review

Review #8, by Allyson 

22nd December 2009:
Girl- what happened to you?

Maybe I should have commented earlier, but I think it's about time.

I think your story is great and the characters don't stray from how I pictured them in the cannon. It's a great interpretation of what could have happened in that period that we just don't know a whole lot about. I especially like the storyline you've got going on with Remus and his mission. I'm anxious to see how that experience affects his relationship with his friends now that he's back. We've caught a bit from Sirius' reaction to seeing a change in him (I think that was the chapter before this...), and I'm wondering if this is going to develop into suspicion and all that...

But I can't see- because you haven't updated!

I seriously check here every day when I get into work to see if you've updated- and I'm starting to loose hope! This has happened with other stories I've followed before, but I don't want it to happen to this one! It's too good! I won't be satisfied without the rest!

Great job so far- and update soon woman, or I'm going to give up on waiting!

Author's Response: Hi Allyson!

I'm glad you like the story! I really love the characters (really, it's the only reason I even write fanfic - if JKR had written the Marauders, I probably wouldn't be here). So I'm thrilled you like how they're written, that's probably the most important thing to me. It's still a little bit early for there to be any suspicion, but when the time comes, Sirius will remember the days of awkward following Remus's return. Obviously I don't want to say too much though :D

I know, I know! gah! lol. It's hard to update this monster! The chapters tend to go fairly long, and I'm constantly having to check back to make sure I haven't condradicted myself somewhere. And then I write myself into corners that I have to try to get out of. Currently, I'm struggling with the fact that the Minister could (and realistically, probably WOULD) have Lucius arrested. While it's probably common knowledge about Bellatrix being a Death Eater, Lucius has always seemed able to keep his nose clean and still be out and about the Ministry, at least in JKR's books. So now I've been trying to figure out how to not tarnish his rep and remain canon.

SEE? small details. They are crippling, and this story is so big, one mistake could throw everything off. I also need to have this Minister out of the office soon, because I believe a female Minister was appointed in 1980. Sooo I'm trying to work with that, and I have an idea that might work.

Anyway, rest assured that it's being worked on, it just takes some time, and please don't give up! I'd hate to lose a reader, and the next couple of chapters are going to be good ones!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Allacaya 

20th December 2009:
I half-expected Sirius to be caught... thank you very much for the update. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Everyone did, I think. I hope I didn't disappoint anyone. Just seems like not much has really gone right so far, and something has to now and then. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by pennyardelle 

14th December 2009:
Hey, how did I not notice this had been updated?! Silly me. Anyway, on to the review.

Lily's description of James in this chapter is just...so poignant. I don't even know what else to say about it! I just loved it and thought it was a perfect characterization of him. There was this intensity about it that just fit with the fact that they're young and in love and that there's a war going on. It was a really beautiful thing to read.

Speaking of characterizations, Sirius' inner monologue when he was disagreeing with James was spot on. Wanting to do it to separate himself from his family further makes completely sense for him as a character. I was fairly surprised that he was able to help the Minister escape so easily--I thought there might be more of a confrontation. But it's a good thing he did, since it was sounding like their window for actually getting the Minister back was closing fast. Oh, and I also thought you wrote Bellatrix really well. I appreciated that she wasn't completely raving. Often I find that authors assume that her madness was an inherent characteristic, but I personally feel like it was more a result of Azkaban.

Another fantastic chapter, and I hope you'll update soon!

Author's Response: Cause I slacked so long, you probably stopped checking :)

I'm quite thrilled you enjoyed Lily's description of James. They always say that you don't truly know somebody until you live with them, so I was trying to imagine what it would have been like for Lily to be with James constantly rather than just Order meetings, missions (in which they are busy fighting), and the occasional evening alone when James snuck out to see her. Anyway, considering that I don't enjoy romance - writing OR reading it - that I have a hard time making it not sound cliche or silly, I'm really glad you like that part :)

I'm glad you think Sirius's reasons for wanting to do it were in character! I got a LOT of reviews in the last chapter saying that they didn't think Sirius would do that sort of thing, although I think most people misunderstood and thought I intended him to go pretend to change to the dark side (which wasn't the plan, just Dumbledore's suggestion should he be caught to spare his life).

Anyway. So far, everyone has said that they expected a confrontation with the Minister's escape, so you aren't the only one. I don't know, I didn't really know what to do. I don't want to do anything too incriminating since obviously Lucius has managed to avoid being in trouble or seriously suspected of being a Death Eater (I mean, if he was, you'd think he wouldn't have been so chummy with Fudge in Harry's time). As the whole thing was done under an invisibility cloak, I didn't think it was so farfetched that they could get by without incident, especially seeing as the Death Eaters were engaged in a meeting or discussion. They would never suspect an intruder in the house, especially with the security measures to keep people out - they just overlooked Muggle things :) And I figured that not everything has to be a fight for their lives, sometimes things can go their way :) lol. Not much has lately, so I thought people would welcome the change, but perhaps not.

Huzzah, I'm glad you liked Bellatrix. It's pretty much my stance too that she wasn't crazy prior to Azkaban, that she was probably this woman that could get anything she wanted...

Thanks for such a wonderful review (sorry if I sounded defensive in my explanation - not meaning to be at all, just trying to explain my reasoning) I hope I update soon too, I hate keeping people waiting because I'm stuck on a small detail.



 Report Review

Review #11, by vivek 

13th December 2009:
great story! i really loved it. however, it seemed much weaker than your older chapters. you didn't seem as much into it, and it seemed more like an ordinary fanfic instead of your usual "WOW!" also, why didn't you include lily's response? i would have loved to see that.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you loved the story. You are right about this chapter being weaker. I tried really hard with it, but it's a chapter that just wasn't happening. It took me a MONTH to update with it because I wasn't happy at all, so no, I suppose I really wasn't that into it lol... So you are pretty much right on the money. But then, I think everyone has a chapter or two they aren't fond of, and I guess it'd be asking too much for all of them to be perfect :)

I didn't include Lily's response because, to be honest, it scared me. Weddings, engagements, those are the sorts of things that shippers love the most and are pretty serious about. So I was worried about doing it wrong, ruining the scene... I was already unhappy with the proposal and didn't want to make things worse. Maybe I'll go add her response in at some point, but at the time of writing the chapter, I felt it was best to leave it up to the readers to imagine on their own.


 Report Review

Review #12, by auror_snape 

13th December 2009:
Sirius goes in to snoop around and comes out with the Minister of Magic himself, and still alive too. Amazing.

Is that pocket knife Sirius used the same one he gives to Harry later? It would be almost poetic if it was.

Author's Response: heh, well, I thought about having the Minister thing be a battle for their lives (also involving other members of the Order) but. I figured every once in a while, things do go your way and end up surprising you. Not everything has to be a huge war, so I just let Sirius have a little good luck for once :)

That's the same knife. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lizzie 

12th December 2009:
YAY YOU FINALLY UPDATED!! WOOT!!

It was a bloody wonderful start! I love how you set the atmosphere by the dark marks, it really gives a sense that the peace and world is over and I feel extremely sad for the Muggles. It seems so realistic with the Muggle reactions and their theories and the fact that the Ministry just can't remove all the memories.

And Lily and James. I'm not afraid to admit that I was never much of a L/J fan, never took a wonderful liking to them, I did love them but only to a certain degree but from that little interaction and everything, I really do love them now. They fit each other perfectly, I love the way Lily spoke about James as though she finally understood and it just seems to bring them closer.I really felt for them both in that section, as though they were not fictional characters but real people for some odd reason.

And James's reaction to Sirius deciding he would leave. Its in such a friendship and brotherly way. I can see myself reacting the same way if my best friend decided to do something like that as well. Although very brave, you can't help but be angry at them or sad about it. Its a shame that it had to happen on Remus's birthday, you know,but in a way, the good things are always interuppted by the bad during a war.

The bit where Sirius was eves-dropping on his relatives and his disgustedness at it really seeped through the page. It was really as though one felt disgusted at their presence even though we aren't there. I really hate Bellatrix because of the fact that she had killed Sirius and the hatred increases after reading her in this light.

YAY for Sirius rescuing the Minister! I'm thoroughly glad for the both of them and knew something along these lines was going to happen. But I reckon it'll be shortlived considering the Death Eaters are going to be extremely p'd off about this as will Voldemort and how do they know that the Minister isn't Imperiused? (maybe that isn't a word but whatever)

But I LOVE THIS CHAPTER SO MUCH! It held so much realism and truth and great visual descriptions so you could really see it happening. I can't wait to read the next one!



Author's Response: LOL after my horrific failure at NaNo, yeah, i finally updated haha.

I feel like I have to say something to show the Muggle POV. I've often sat and wondered what they think and HOW on earth the magical world wasn't exposed during this time. No way the Ministry could possibly cover it all up. I mean, giant movements? How many people would SEE that?

I was never much of a Lily/James fan either, though nothin against the ship. I'm just not a huge fan of romance and prefer reading about other relationships instead. Even in published stories, I hardly ever see things written purely about friendship. But I'm glad you enjoyed this, I figured I haven't given their 'ship much attention and really need to start building on that.

I agree, of course you'd be angry or upset with your best friend if he/she was doing things like that. Even if it wasn't their fault and they had little choice, what else can you do? You care too much and don't know how to deal with it, so. I don't know why I'm saying "you". But I mean James. I guess it didn't HAVE to happen on Remus's birthday, but for the sake of making things easy and not creating additional scenes, might as well lump stuff together.

LOL. I am thrilled you enjoyed the part with Sirius eavesdropping on his family. I really, really, REALLY hated the second half of this chapter, and I can't tell you how relieved I am to see somebody actually take something from it and like it. I'm completely chuffed that you're hating Bellatrix. You're right on about Voldemort and the DE's being EXTREMELY angry and more will come on that in the future.

Thanks SO much for this wonderful review, made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by spaghettiemandolino 

11th December 2009:
Instead, James glared at him and then got up and stalked off to his bedroom. Sirius, after watching him go, looked sheepishly at Lily. Lily's lips thinned to a grim, apologetic smile.


“I’ve ruined Moony’s birthday,” he finally said miserably.


“No!” Lily objected sympathetically. “Not at all, Sirius. James is just… He… He loves you.” She bit her lip awkwardly and reached over to pat his knee.


Sirius’s face melted into an expression of pain, desperation and confusion as he glared at her for a moment, but it was very brief, and then he leaned his head back against the couch and shut his eyes.

My favourite. I love Sirius, heì's a handsome character.
Well done. I really expected a fight, but I'm glad for once things went smoothly!

Author's Response: Hehe, thanks. I was thinking about doing some sort of fight, but I don't know how I would have pulled it off. It was three against one, after all. I could have had Sirius return to the Order after finding the Minister, and then there could have been a fight when the Order went to rescue him... but I don't know. It didn't seem right for Sirius to find the guy and then leave without saving him, you know?

To be honest, I was glad things went smoothly for once too :) In the end, I figured that if I were to be realistic, every now and then something would go their way. Not everything has to be a huge deal.

I still have a lot of doubts about this chapter and some things are still subject to change... However, I also had a lot of doubts about my vampire chapter earlier, and now I rather like it. So perhaps this one will take that route and once I get more writting, it will fit in better and not be such a disappointment!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lily 

9th December 2009:
As always, this chapter was great - it definately wasn't my favorite one, but I think you did a good job. The whole Siruis-spying-on-his-family thing was over very quickly - or will he continue even after he has rescued the minister? Update quickly, please!

Author's Response: Definitely not a favourite of mine either. The Sirius spying on his family thing was something that I expected would be over very soon. I only wanted to resolve the Minister issue, and the 'spy on family' was a last minute idea that came about during NaNo, so I had to scramble to make it work. Still dont know if I should scrap it and do something else or not.

So I don't know if he'll continue to spy. Now that the Minister is recovered, there's little reason to continue, but then, why WOULDN'T they want spies out there when they KNOW the family is full of Death Eaters? Even without the situation I wrote, you'd think Dumbledore would want such people watched. But I really don't know how to make some of this stuff work, so we'll see.

Of course, my new concern is that the Minister will be able to identify his captors, or Sirius can for sure. So people will be looking at Lucius Malfoy, who, according to JKR's writing, has always seemed to stay out of trouble. So now I don't know how I'm going to get him off the hook.

Sorry to babble, I'm a little worried I backed myself into a corner here. Because of THAT, I will try to update quickly but can't guarantee that it will happen, I apparently have a lot of brainstorming to do :(


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rumor 

8th December 2009:
YES! FINALLY! AN UPDATE!
I guess the only thing I can say is that it was worth the wait. I get so excited whenever a new chapter pops up--AAH! It's amazing!
There's not much I can say that I haven't said in past reviews or stories, but I really love your style. It's so easy, so flowing, so smooth... it's a joy to read.
I could go on forever but I have to go so I'll cut this short.
I AM SO HAPPY.
I love Sirius, and Remus, and James, and Lily, and EVERYBODY except Bella, Peter, Lucius, Narcissa, and the Minister. Although I'm sure he's a swell guy, men who smell nasty just don't hit a good note with me.
Haha.
Anyways, I just wanted to let you know how glad I am that you got this chapter up, no matter how long it took.
MAKE SURE THE NEXT CHAPTERS DON'T TAKE OVER A MONTH!!

Author's Response: ROFL. You're funny :D Well, I am glad you find it worth the wait. I personally think this is one of my worst chapters ever. I am NOT happy with it at all, and I don't know what to do about it. It does technically fulfill the plans that I had for it, so I can't really complain about that. I guess the idea just didn't meet my expectations, and I wasn't that sure of this idea in the first place but decided to keep it. I'm definitely glad you like my writing style, though.

LOL I feel bad that you don't like the Minister. He really is a nice guy (not that I plan on showing that much, I don't think I'll be writing much of him, and I think he's going to retire soon after his scare lol) - it's not his fault he's been forced to sit in a dungeon for weeks! It's... well. Mine, I guess.

You really should like Peter. I know what he did was really bad, but I have some plans for that which I hope will make it seem - not better or excusable - understandable. I'll never forgive him for it myself, but I'll just say that he never MEANT to be evil :)

I'll try to get the next chapter up sooner. This one really took a while because I was so unhappy and afraid of it. But now its over and hopefully the next should be a little easier to deal with.


 Report Review

Review #17, by KaiaRose 

8th December 2009:
I really enjoyed this chapter. I was so nervous for Sirius the whole time!

Can't wait for you to post again!

Author's Response: Thank you, it gave me a lot of trouble, plus I was kind of avoiding it in shame of failing at NaNo. Anyway, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Moonylupin 

7th December 2009:
First... that's awesome that you thought to put the pocket knife Sirius gave Harry into the story (at least I'm assuming that's what this knife is), especially the added fact that James gave it to Sirius. It's like it came full circle in the generations.

James is sweet to think of giving Remus a party for his birthday. It was even sweeter that he didn't want to combine it with anything else and he was conscious that the full moon was so close to it. I like that Lily wanted to make it at a time when Remus would feel better, but I like what James thought better. It's a shame Remus wasn't really fully awake for the party, but who can blame him? The part about the cakes was interesting. The cakes represent each of the Evans sisters, I think. Petunia likes everything big and fantastic without any real meaning, but Lily's the complete opposite. And, I just need to say, Lily is deliriously in love. Can't blame her. Too bad not every man in the world is like James.

I can see why James would be mad with what Sirius has to do, but they've all got to make sacrifices. It was creepy when Sirius was spying on the Blacks and I like that you had him ignoring the talk about Regulus. It was as if he refused to make the connection that he was a Death Eater, even if he knew it. I'm glad Sirius got the Minister out. The man's reaction was perfect - the disbelief and the fear that Sirius may not be who he said he was.

Overall, great chapter and I can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: I can't fully take the credit for the knife - I never would have done it at all if it hadn't been suggested to me to have him enter the house through Muggle ways. I was thinking about Harry's knife as I was writing it, though, so it's pretty cool that you picked up on that.

LOL I was initially going to skip Remus's birthday because I just hate writing birthdays and Christmas. It's hard to come up with gifts and it's hard to write birthdays so often and try to have each of them be unique. it was like UGH i dont want to write 5 different birthdays... but since I wrote one for Sirius (and even Lily, those hers wasnt happy), I figured it'd be odd if I didn't do it for the rest of them.

I'm glad you enjoyed the cake part :D

Poor James. He probably kind of thinks of Sirius as being in HIS, the Potter, family now, and hates and despises any thought of Sirius having to go back for ANY reason, even if it's just to spy. LOL I hate this chapter sooo much. I feel like the rescue wasn't a very big deal when it should have been, but at the same time, not everything HAS to be a big deal.

Anyway. Thanks for reading :) This chapter still needs a lot of work, but it's been so long since I posted anything, i was kind of in a rush/excited to get it up. And I see you've been super busy on your story lately!


 Report Review

Review #19, by marauders lover 

7th December 2009:
oh my god!!! that was so awesome! i loved it just.. loved it! i cant say more just please please please write soon i really want to know whats going to happen next. brilliant! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you loved it, this is a chapter that has given me a lot of doubts. I will hopefully have an update soon now that the hard chapter is out of the way!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review