Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by deluminator 

5th March 2012:
And so the plot thickens. You are really setting this story up for quite an ending. I find myself insanely curious as to what exactly Salazar has planned and what role Rowena will play in it...

All in all, great chapter! And I apologise if my reviews begin to get repetitive but each chapter really is as brilliant as the last.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sirius Blacks lover 

1st October 2010:
Wow, that was amazing. Your writing is so unique and definetly some of the best fanfiction I've ever read. The portrayals, the imagery, the insight into each characters mind plus a really excellent prose style combined just makes it awesome. I can tell it's getting more serious! Also, the characters are perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for the lovely review! *blushes* I feel terribly spoiled by all of your kind feedback. As always, it was just wonderful hearing from you. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by me_thehplvr 

26th May 2010:
Don't you hate it when real life gets in the way? Basically sucks.

Unlike this intriguing story.

Author's Response: Yes, real life can sometimes put a damper on fanfiction, although I suppose there is a time and a place for all hobbies. ;)

I'm so glad you're enjoying this, me thehplvr. Thanks for the thoughtful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #4, by RonsGirlFriday 

11th April 2010:
The plot thickens! I'm always worried that my reviews for multi-chaptered stories will get repetitive, which is what I worry about my reviews for this story, because every chapter is just as divine as the last. The developing relationships and alliances and loyalties are fantastic. This is publication quality - it really is! By far one of the best Founders fics I've read on this site.

Melanie

Author's Response: Hello Melanie!
I simply don't know how to thank you for all your lovely reviews! I'm so very grateful for your thoughtful feedback. *blushes* You are really too kind. To be honest, I thought this was one of my weakest chapters.

Thanks again! It was wonderful hearing from you. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #5, by hallowsorhorcruxes 

21st March 2010:
Back again- exams are certainly time munching fiends. :) Three things:

1) I was wondering if you had ever come across this quote, written by John Milton in his masterpiece Paradise Lost:
"Better to reign in Hell, than to serve in Heaven."
I feel like your story poses this question to the reader in a very clever, interesting, and thought-provoking way to the extent that it is difficult to give a completely concrete response. To me, it's sort of reflected in the decision that Rowena (I love how this story has put me on first name terms with the founders, btw, it's rather hilarious) is facing at this point.

2) It's becoming so much more difficult to choose a favorite character! Right now it has to be Rowena, methinks, because although Salazar is a bit more intriguing and complex, to me, anyway, his slippery nature makes me very hesitant to completely trust him. At this point it looks like he is simply trying to use circumstances to his best advantage no matter how everything is resolved. Gryffindor is worrying me slightly because he seems a bit seduced by power and influence, but perhaps given what I have read in the previous chapters I am underestimating him. My least favorite character is Helga at this point, although what is wonderful about this story is that all of the characters are rich in their own rite.

3) I still love this story! :) Keep writing, please! It must be so difficult writing such a sophisticated story, but it's so wonderful! Off to read more!

Cheers-
Hallows

Author's Response: Hello Hallows!
Eep! I'm so sorry it took me a while to reply to this review. I honestly thought my spring break would give me some time to catch up on review responses and what not, but I've been so much busier than I expected. I do sincerely apologize for the delay, though. Please forgive me!

I'm really so thrilled to hear that you're still enjoying this fic. I encountered a bit of writer's block when first attempting to draft this chapter, but thank goodness it went away after a few weeks. I actually think it's quite funny that you find this story complex...I always worry that my character interactions are too straightforward, especially where Godric and Helga are concerned. ^_^

And I suppose you're right, Rowena is probably the most selfless, moral character of all the Founders. Salazar, Godric and Helga are all a bit too power-hungry for their own good, though to be honest, only Helga has the talent to pull off her ultimate goal. ;)

Again, thank you so much for the thoughtful review! You comments are truly inspiring. I always keep them in mind whenever I write a new chapter.

I hope you have a great weekend! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lily Windsor 

4th March 2010:
This story is amazing! Please update soon. That is so fabulous!

P.S. I have just written in your Meet the Author thread. Someone else has also posted some questions recently so I thought I would let you know. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, Lily Windsor! I really do appreciate your encouraging feedback. It was just wonderful hearing from you. ^_^
The next chapter has already been written and it should be posted sometime this weekend.

Also, I received your questions on my MTA thread. Thanks for letting me know that someone else had posted. I'll get right on my replies. ;)

I hope you have an enjoyable weekend! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by aPennyForYourThoughts 

22nd December 2009:
I LOVE where the story is going! Please update!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by pennyardelle 

14th December 2009:
Hi there! I just read all four chapters, and wow! This is a really fantastic Founders story.

I know you say you haven't been too concerned with historical accuracy, but I think that the story is actually chock-full of a lot of great historical details, and it has a really authentic feel to it. I've always imagined backgrounds for the characters very much like the ones you have here, and I really do like that there's more substance to them. You've put some thought into it beyond them just living in castles with an ambiguous social status.

A few other things I loved: Helga's characterization (yay! For once she's not weak), the tension between wizards/witches and the Muggle world, Salazar's ride through the Forbidden Forest, the inclusion of the cup and diadem, and the fact that they're not all friends. I know it's always been said that they were great friends, but as anyone who's interested in history knows, often the truth can be twisted...so I'm really interested into seeing how this all plays out!

I'll definitely be putting this on my favourites and watching out for a new chapter when it's up. Happy holidays!

Author's Response: Hi Penny!
Wow, thank you so much for the great review! You have no idea how thrilled I was to receive your feedback. I'm so very glad you're enjoying this story so far and I honestly can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your opinion with me. ^_^

Haha, to be honest, this story is quite AU, regarding both canon and history. I'm not entirely familiar with early medieval England, so I cannot vouch for the historical accuracy. ;)

I'm thrilled that you like Helga. I decided to make Rowena the weak one and give Helga a chance to strut her stuff, for a change. ^_^ And, of course, I'm so glad you're enjoying the plot. This story has been giving me a tough time lately and I wasn't sure if I was headed in the right direction or not.

Thanks again for the review, penny! I really do appreciate it. The next chapter is in the works and should be posted soon. Happy holidays!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by Margravine 

7th December 2009:
I'm enjoying my summer.. and I'm absolutely enthralled by your premise, writing, characterisation, everything! It's epic, and I'm sure it will continue to be magnificent =)

Author's Response: Thank you, Margravine! It was great hearing from you. I'm so glad you're enjoying this fic. ^_^ The next chapter is in the works and should be posted soon. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #10, by Over the Rainbomb 

6th December 2009:
This is probably the best Founders Era fic I've ever read. I love the different take that you've put on the characters and how they come together for the first time. Also, the fact that you've given the description and dialogue and authentic feel and accuracy for the era makes this so much better.

It's brilliant and I can't wait to read more.

10/10

Author's Response: Oh my! Thank you so much for the amazing review! *blushes* You are really too kind. I'm not sure I deserve such praise.

I am thrilled to hear that you're enjoying this fic. With any luck, the next chapter should be posted soon. ^_^ I hope you have a pleasant weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review