Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rainpixie 

12th April 2013:
Your vocabulary is delightful!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by classicblack 

11th December 2011:
And so it has begun. The thing that always must happen in these kinds of stories. Both Lily and James are completely oblivious to the fact that they both like each other. *sighs* When will they finally get together?!
Also, Mary's annoying me a bit. It's funny that every single Marauder's era story has also given me a different take on Mary McDonald, haha.
By the way, I think you've got Dumbledore's character spot on. It's really rather good how you show his reluctance to immediately condemn people and how he won't always share all his plans to people.
Wonderful chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Yes, it does always seem to come to this point, doesn't it? :P But I feel like we wouldn't enjoy James/Lily stories nearly as much (or at least I know I wouldn't) if this didn't happen. It's a bit torturous, but amusing nonetheless.

Hahaha, I love that Mary is annoying you. Not in a cruel way, but because Mary is indeed annoying. I have trouble seeing her any other way after writing this story.

What a huge compliment about Dumbledore's characterization! He is a hard one to write well, so that's awesome to hear.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Noblevyne 

30th June 2011:
Great work gain. Dumbledore's a hard one to get right, especially as there's a lot of what he says that contradicts what he does, and plans that are laid way in advance.

I really do like Mary, she's whiny - but she's complicated and real. Her, Anna and Lily are a great little trio of friends who play off against one another nicely.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like the way I write Dumbledore! :D He really is tough to get right--probably one of the toughest characters in the series. But, again, I find him very compelling, because he's so contradictory. I'm not anywhere NEAR as clever as JKR is about planning things in advance, so I probably don't do as well with writing Dumbledore in that regard, but hey...she's the billionaire author, not me. :P

Haha, although I've said a few times that I like Anna more than Mary--and I do--I do also appreciate that Mary acts like real people often do. I'm glad you like her and the trio of girls!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by doglover 

3rd January 2011:
yay! she admitted it to somebody!!! :D

Author's Response: I know! Finally, right? Took them (me) long enough! :P

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by navya 

19th November 2010:
hey i think that they shud hav been better frends.. tht is to say, mary nd anna nd lily shud hav bin beter frends rathr dan dis perfunctory ones...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review once again, and for your feedback. It's always good to get different perspectives on what I've chosen to do with the characters. :)

My reasoning for writing Lily, Anna, and Mary's friendship the way that I did was that it seemed to me that Lily would have alienated any Gryffindor friends she would have had because of her friendship with Snape--especially when you consider that Mulciber, one of Snape's friends, attacked Mary, who I've chosen to write as Lily's friend in this story (we don't know if they were friends for sure from canon). Lily didn't stop being friends with Snape when Mulciber attacked her--she only did that later--so I think that would have been a problem between them.

But, hey, you're entitled to their own view. :) Hope you still enjoyed the story nonetheless!


 Report Review

Review #6, by girly1393 

8th September 2010:
Wow. I don't even know what to say. I'm all in a blur, a good blur, and I just want to know what happened.

It was intensely fantastic (ha, ha, pun).

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: I'm so, so glad you liked this chapter! It is one of my favourite ones, as well. There's just so much...tension, I guess, would be the way to describe it. I felt like it was important to have Lily and James bond over the war, because I think it would have definitely played a part in them getting together. It's great to know that you think it turned out well!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Isannah 

15th June 2010:
Yes, it was a bit rushed, but it was fine. Naturally, Lily and James would be a bit nauseated after hearing from the Slytherins. I also liked how you put in that bit from DD. He acted exactly the same when Harry told him about Draco so naturally he knew something about it.

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad to hear you thought this chapter was fine, albeit a little rushed. And I'm also happy that you thought the part with Dumbledore made sense--I tried to offer some sort of explanation for why he might have turned a blind eye to something that he was aware of, and I think the reasoning was similar here as it was with Draco...and therefore, hopefully, in character!

Thanks for reviewing again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Helena 

6th June 2010:
Omg I'm so stupid... I actually thought it ended with chapter 18... Oo weird^^ sorry for the misunderstanding^^

Author's Response: Haha, don't worry! It can get confusing with all the arrows and drop-down boxes; I know, it's happened to me before, too. And if you hadn't noticed on your own, I would have pointed you in the right direction. ;)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Helena 

6th June 2010:
Aah please continue, I want to read more!!

You know, I never read a ff before that pictured Lily's changing feelings towards James so well... It's great, really... :D So looking forward to MORE!!!

10/10

Author's Response: Hello again! :) Thank you for another review.

Hearing your comments about Lily's feelings changing is like music to my ears...that was one thing that I felt was portrayed wrongly in many stories, and wanted to try and write differently in my own. It's so nice to hear that it rings true for other people, as well. :)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by _hedwig_ 

24th April 2010:
Lily was just like 'boom' I like you...when she admitted it, I was like "took you long enough."

Author's Response: Ah, well, not so fast...she never did admit in this chapter, did she? She was quite adept at dancing around it in that conversation with Mary, and never actually confirmed it. ;)

But yeah, generally the reaction to Lily realizing she likes James is, for us, "took you long enough." Because we just really want to get to the exciting bits, don't we?

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #11, by RainbowVeins 

17th January 2010:
dont get me wrong i like ur OC's and stuff but i couldnt help but hate anna a bit just a bit loved the James/Lily development :)

Author's Response: I'm not the least bit offended that you hate Anna. She's not an overly nice person, and I intentionally made her that way, so it actually makes me quite pleased to hear that you don't like her. :) I'm strange like that.

And yes, there is some development going on! I told you it would get there, slowly but surely...

Anyway, I've finally gotten to all the reviews you left so far, and THANK YOU! It was so nice to hear what you thought, and I really do hope you enjoy the rest of the story as well. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by saffy 

1st January 2010:
aaahh the saga continues i have been reading for 3 hrs straight and i cant bring mysefl to stop this is (dman cant spell the word i want to use grr) well its reall really good insert your prefered word if you like :)

thanks for providing me with some exceelent reading material :)

p.s sorry if this hard to read im dsylexic

Author's Response: Hi there! Here I am, back to respond to the rest of your lovely reviews. :)

I'm so flattered that you would read my story for that long straight! Hopefully it didn't keep you from doing anything too important in the meantime, though. If you're anything like me, it probably did, for which I apologize. ;) I'm so glad that you think the story is really good, and that you're enjoying reading it, though!

There's no need to thank me--you're the one who deserves the thanks for reviewing! I really appreciate it very much.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Prongs05JP 

9th December 2009:
you really keep me hanging on a thread with this story! ~ every chapter just could be the one that is the "right moment" :O I just really want it to happen xD. Aahh, the friends have gotten so far apart :( It's sad to watch how it turned out, unfortunately. Slytherins are gay, end of. Thanks for updating and now UPDATE SOON or.. I'll do.. something O.o
1000/10 XD
Prongs05JP

Author's Response: Haha, this review made me laugh! I'm very glad that the story keeps you interested. And don't worry, it will happen eventually! I just hope that it meets expectations when it does. :)

It is sad to see friends drifting apart, isn't it? I suppose it's just one of those sucky parts of life. And I'm sure there are SOME nice Slytherins out there. But I see your point about these particular ones we're talking about; they're not very nice.

Since the queue got shortened, the new chapter might be up by as early as Friday! But please don't come after me if it's not. :P I hope you like the next chapter, and thank you so much for leaving a review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Leigh Kelley 

9th December 2009:
So, I read this chapter back when you only had two reviews on it, but I wanted to finish reviewing the stories for those who requested in my thread before I reviewed yours.

I don't know if I have told you this before, because it's been a while since I initially reviewed the first chapters of your story, but I'm going to do so now. You have a very good understanding on human emotions, and the proper reactions of a character given a certain event. Both James and Lily reacted in different ways to what occurred, and I can definitely see that you have a sense of both your main characters. It's difficult for most people to not let characters blend together. It's even more difficult to write about a male and a female and not let the one you're less familiar with. In the sense of not understanding a male's thought process if you're a female, and letting that interfere with a proper portrayal of the character. Here, we have too distinct human beings. If you were to leave off everything in this chapter (no description, no dialogue tags, no hint that it's from a different character's POV), and just had plain dialogue, I will still be able to tell which character is speaking. That, my friend, is fabulous writing.

I loved their conversation. It was necessary, and they got to see what each other thinks on the subject of the war and such. And we got an idea of James' feelings towards Lily dying (ironic, since they both meet an end but they don't need to know that xD), and I am glad that you show that it affects him. It once again cements the fact that James is not just lusting after Lily, and will leave her as soon as she gives him what he wants. He cares deeply for her, truly likes her, and does have a need to protect her.

Ignoring my romantic side, I agree with James. That wouldn't have been the right moment to kiss her, as much as she seemed to be anticipating it. They were having a very serious conversation, and to possibly ruin everything by kissing her, it's just not something to be done, though we all know that Lily wouldn't have minded in the least. I'm glad he wants to wait for the right moment, especially after he's wanted her for so long.

You write Dumbledore so well. He's sometimes overdone, or doesn't have that Dumbledoreishness that we have come to expect. His speech and mannerisms are on point, especially when he exclaims, "Every member of Slytherin house? Good heavens." I laughed, despite the seriousness of the situation.

I can see how James would feel negatively about Dumbledore's lack of what he thinks is a proper reaction. He's wanted them gone for so long, and here Dumbledore is, not immediately rallying the troops and booting those low-lives out of school. He's angry, and with reason. Though, Lily is right. Just what can he do when the other people can influence the governors? He needs solid proof.

Ouch. I'm glad that James said what he did to her. Not glad that it made her angry with him, but glad that you wrote it. He's angry, and it lets him not think before he speaks, which is natural in such a situation. Walking on eggshells around the girl you like when you're not in the best of moods is difficult. But at least Lily accepted his apology because she didn't think he meant it.

Ugh. That silly portrait. Though, I feel that Lily wouldn't have had the guts to say what she wanted to anyway, so it's alright. Wish she showed some of that Gryffindor bravery though xD.

I am still liking your portrayal of the girls and their friendship. It's clear, like Lily is thinking, that they are growing apart and into different people. Mary being bothered by their jibes at her is normal, since it does make it seem that they think her as a bit of a joke. Anna doesn't know how to shut her mouth, though she wouldn't be Anna if she did. I'm glad Lily went to talk to Mary about it, and tried to cheer her up. At least someone did.

I'm also glad that Lily still recognises her feelings for James, and was effected by that smile he aimed at her. I can't believe that Mary thinks they were dating, but it makes sense. They are certainly acting better towards each other than in previous years, and if Mary is that observant, the little blushes and such on Lily's part would make it appear that way. I'm curious to see if Lily will take her advice, and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Perfectly written as always, I don't see any errors, your characters were portrayed well, the scenes were set up beautifully, and I am giving you a full rating on this one.

Keep it up!

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Wow, this is such an incredible review! I don't even know where to begin, I'm so flabbergasted.

So...first off, I'm really, really happy that Lily and James were well-characterized, and that their reactions were distinct from one another. It is really hard to keep them from blending together, you're right, and sometimes I don't think I do as well at it as I could. But it was really important to me in this chapter that they reacted in a way that was true to their characters, and your review makes me feel like I've had some big victory, or something. :P I think I'm going to keep your comment about being able to tell pure dialogue a part in mind--not just because it's amazingly flattering, but I think it might help me keep their characterizations more separate.

I thought James' thoughts about Lily dying were kind of ironic, too--although I kind of have a thing against people putting ridiculously obvious irony just for the sake of being ironic when it comes to their deaths, and against one of them having dreams (or whatever) that foreshadow it. So I hope it wasn't really corny there or anything. But you're definitely right about it showing the depth of his emotions for her, and I'm glad that was clear. :) Despite all of that, it wasn't the right moment, and it's nice to know that you agree. She wouldn't have minded, you're right, but I don't think it would have been good to have this as their starting point.

I've been so surprised about the positive feedback I've received on Dumbledore in this chapter--I honestly didn't think I could write him very well at all! He's so tough to capture, so it makes me feel really good that everyone isn't finding him completely out of character.

I'm glad that you could see the situation from both James and Lily/Dumbledore's perspectives. There is a bit of truth in what he says to Lily about Snape, because I think she does have a more sympathetic view in this situation. It's less black and white for her, though her sympathy may not always be founded.

It's also really nice to know that you think the friendship between Lily, Mary, and Anna seems authentic. And you're right, Anna wouldn't be Anna if she knew when to stop. :P I think it's much more understandable that Lily would feel bad that Mary was upset and go after her to try and fix things. As for her thinking that James and Lily were dating...well, you're right in some ways, it's not like it's the most unthinkable thing in the universe. I'm not sure if Lily will take her advice seriously (hmm, sounds familiar) given all of the troubles she's had with boys in the past, though.

I think you understood everything I was trying to get across in this chapter so well, which is so nice to hear in a review. Thanks for taking the time; I know you have a ton of other requests on the go all the time so I really feel so grateful and flattered that you keep coming back to give me these amazing reviews. You're fantastic! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lulu 

8th December 2009:
I really like your story, and this chapter is great! It feels like your writing is true and pure in a way - you don't make anyone perfect or with too many flaws. You describe real emotions like they truly are and that is actually kind of difficult. Good job!

Looking foreward to the next chapter

- Louise

Author's Response: Hi again, Louise! Those are all such wonderful compliments. :) Writing things realistically is so important to me, and it makes me feel great to get a review like this one!

I hope you enjoy the next chapter just as much! I'm hoping that it will already be validated by this time next week.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by rainbowsocks 

8th December 2009:
i cant wait for james and lily to go out !!
haha, yeah but i really like it, although i still don't fully understand what is going on between lily and anna and mary..haha i just noticed all their names have four letters in it :o
peter, james, sirius, and remus..sirius ruins it by having six letters in his name 0.o oh well, i love him anyway♥
update soon
xoxo ~

Author's Response: Hi rainbowsocks! I'm glad you liked the chapter. At the moment I think Lily, Anna, and Mary are just experiencing some tension, as all friends do. I don't imagine that Lily's friendship with either of them would be that strong of a bond, just because there were many years where she always considered Snape to be her best friend.

Wow, I never realized all those similarities with their names. That's the kind of thing I would usually notice, too!

Thanks for reviewing again; I really appreciate it! Hopefully the next chapter will be up within a week!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Margravine 

7th December 2009:
I just thought I'd let you know how much I'm enjoying this. It's refreshing to read believable romance and non-painful Marauder fics - thankyou =)

Your characterisation is spot on, and congrats on reaching the 100 review mark!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story. It makes me so happy to hear that it's believable, because that's very important to me. :) And I've never had someone say that the story is non-painful, but that's a great compliment! Haha.

I'm really glad that you think the characterization is good, too. I really obsess over it. And thanks for the congratulations! It feels so nice to have made it to 100 reviews, but it's all because of fantastic people like you who've taken the time to write down a review. So, thank you very much for reviewing, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #18, by technicolor 

6th December 2009:
Great chapter!! I love how the tension is building up now. And thankyou for the update, I needed a pick-me-up this morning.. : )

As usual, excellent portrayal of Lily and James. Lily's really clueless, isn't she? It makes sense for someone as rational as she is to doubt her feelings like that and not get carried away, though. I tend to fail epically in that dimension of writing because I'm too impatient to wait for things to happen.

Very good characterization of Dumbledore as well. A lot of authors that manage to stick to canon when it comes to students' characters are terrible at teachers. I guess it's hard to relate to someone much older (usually they come over as too cliched). I liked how measured yet amused your Dumbledore is. The only sentence I had a problem with was "There was something like a smirk on his lined face". I just can't imagine anyone over 80 smirking. Maybe a suppressed smile would be better? Hmm.

Finally, I especially like the added value of Anna and Mary. While a lot of fics have Anna's and Mary's in them as Lily's friends, girls who are undoubtedly girly and ever-loyal to Lily (or backstabbing bitches) it's quite nice to have a believable portrayal of friendship. The way Mary reacted to them not taking her serious is pretty characteristic of a lot of girls, and the undercurrent of tension is something I definitely recognize.

Anyway, excellent job. Keep it up!

Oh, and the mention of Snape. Liked that part too. : )

x Sophie

Author's Response: You're welcome for the update, but much more importantly: thank you for reviewing!

Yes, Lily is a little mistaken in her reading of James, isn't she? Of course, it's very easy for us since we know exactly what's going on in James' head, and that it has nothing to do with not liking her anymore. But it is true that he hasn't been as vocal about things as before, so I suppose we can excuse her for a slight bit of misinterpretation.

Sometimes I get a little impatient, too, but then I just have to think to myself, "No, that would not make sense. Don't even go there." :P But I have gone there in my mind, sometimes as far as writing it, and it only confirms that voice in my head. I hope you don't mind it too much, and I REALLY hope that the end result will be satisfactory.

I said in another response that Dumbledore probably sounded right because he didn't say too much...in the past when I've tried to write him in longer passages I don't think I do as well. But I'm so glad that I did all right here, for the most part. And you know, that line kind of bugged me too but I forgot about it. Suppressed smile would be better, you're right.

I'm so, so glad you enjoy Anna and Mary, and their friendship with each other and Lily. I don't think they've ever been proper best friends with each other. Maybe Mary and Anna, but neither of them with Lily, because I figure she would have always been more invested in her friendship with Snape until the end of fifth year. And then by that point you've missed out on five years of bonding. I'm especially glad that you thought Mary's reaction felt realistic.

I thought you might like the mention of Snape. :) Proof that I don't hate him, right? Despite what it may seem in other chapters. Haha.

Thanks again for the review, Sophie!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Fangs_Up 

6th December 2009:
this has to be the best lily and james story i've read! can't wait for the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Wow, the best you've ever read? That's an incredible compliment. I'm so glad that you're enjoying it that much. :)

I've submitted the next chapter so hopefully you won't have to wait too much longer than a week or so for it to be up. I hope you'll come back and tell me your thoughts when it is. Thanks so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by padfootandprongslover 

6th December 2009:
A great chapter. I really liked the beginning...it didn't seem rushed to me at all. I hope lily tells james soon...keep writing!!!

Author's Response: Oh good, I'm glad that you didn't find it rushed. I think it still feels slightly hurried to me, but the more I think about it, the more I feel like it kind of works with the characterization. And I think the split between the two chapters might have made it seem a little more rushed than it necessarily is.

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter! Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Harry and Ginny 

6th December 2009:
the Fat Lady had to interrupt when Lily was about to say to James that she fancied him, but now i can't wait to see her trying to drops hints or flirt with him. will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Ahh, yes, you're very perceptive. :) Although I'm not entirely sure that she would have ended up saying it even if the Fat Lady hadn't interrupted. And we'll have to see what she does with Mary's advice.

The next chapter is waiting to be validated, so hopefully it'll be up soon! Thank you for another lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by heyITSme 

6th December 2009:
i absolutely adore this story. its one of the best i've read, partially because its updated so frequently (and therefore don't forget any of the plot) but mainly because it follows the books so closely. your characters are very real and relatable. i love james and lily (obviously). james is perfect because he's a gentleman who's a child at heart. lily's excellent because she's so rational. i love that about her. her emotions, while not obvious, are well thought-out. she doesn't just have random outbursts of emotion for the heck of it. and the plot is also great. but i think this review is long enough for now :) thanks for the great read and update soon!

Author's Response: Hi there! One of the best you've read? Wow! That's so flattering; thank you so much!

I do try and update as often as I can. I'm lucky in that I started posting the story when I had quite a few chapters written already, and I've been able to stay ahead for the most part. I always appreciate it when authors of stories that I like post new chapters regularly. :)

It's really great to hear that you think the story follows the books pretty closely, and that the characters are very real. I'm especially glad that you like Lily's personality! She really is very rational, you're right. I don't think her emotional state was at its best in OotP, although it's come to define her characterization in a lot of other fan fictions. I don't think she would have been that volatile all the time.

I'm really glad that you enjoy the story. The next chapter is waiting to be validated, so maybe sometime next weekend it'll be up! Thank you so, so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Groundswell 

5th December 2009:
Wonderful chapter... once again. You keep impressing me with everything you write. It's just great.

I suddenly get the title. I think :P I'll just have to wait and see if I'm right.

That start is so powerful. Especially here; "So he settled for carefully folding up the Invisibility Cloak, something he had never bothered with before." Just wow. There really is something in this sentence and what's before it, but this really underlines it. Very, very strong.

Overall a very powerful chapter.

I love the connection between James and Lily. It's so natural and you've built it up perfectly, developing it in the right pace. And now with all this... feeling. I don't know how to explain, but I htink you get it. Tension, one might say.

I was actually thinking that the part before they went to dumbledore was a tiny bit rushed. I just needed a little... something.

And Dumbledore. I really get a feeling there's something wrong and he can't do anything about it. His coment to James about leaving them alone was spot on, and so fitting. It... well, it really made me think 'Oh, Harry actually had parents who Dumbledore knew and this is them'. I know it sounds strange, but I can't realyl describe the feeling any better. Point is, you wrote him well, perfectly, a thing not often seen. Congrats on that!

I really think James should have said something to Lily about Snape. I just feel that Snape and their feelings about him is in the way for their relationship to really grow. They might like each other, but this block will always be there until they settle this. Well, I feel so at least :P

And I'm glad you didn't make James kiss her. It didn't seem at all like the right moment to me. It'll come, but I want Lily to speak what's on her heart. Or at least some of it.

I think one thing I haven't commented on is the friendship between the girls. It just seems so real, and there's several things that makes it so. First off, Anna and Mary actually seem real. Second, Lily's feelings about growing apart from them, and feeling that they actualy have more of a friendship than she has with them. Thirdly, their fighting. It's not something major, but there's a little as there is in most friendships. It's a nice change. Also, you don't overdo the girl talking and giggling :P

I think, once when I get the time, I might go back to re-read this. I think this is a story that can also be enjoyed a second time. And this really is, in my opinion, the best L/J story out there. Truthfully.

Fantastic chapter. I can't really say with words just how much I enjoy reading this story. It's just great.

Author's Response: Hi again, Vicki!

I think you're probably right in whatever you're assuming about the title of the story. :) I don't think that's much of a giveaway, though, so you'll still have to wait and see how it all unfolds!

I'm so glad you liked that line about folding the Invisibility Cloak--I feel like it conjures up a better mental image of the scene that just saying that there was an awkward silence, or something like that. And I'm really happy that you liked the chapter as a whole, especially regard James and Lily's interactions. I'm always hoping that I'm keeping them in-character and developing their relationship in the right way, so it's really nice to get compliments on those things.

I think you're right about it being rushed--I felt it too. The only excuse I can make that's somewhat plausible is that it's just in James' personality to end it that way. I think he really didn't know what to say and wanted to move the situation forward to dispel some of the awkwardness. But it's helpful that you pointed this out, because I think my next chapter might take some editing for sort of the same reason.

I think I probably wrote Dumbledore well because he had such a short part, haha. It's really nice to hear that you found him believable, though! We'll see how it goes when I have to include him in a chapter more one day...

Oh, and I completely know what you mean with the connection between Harry, Dumbledore, and James and Lily. It's something that kind of strikes me at times when I'm writing, too. It's like Dumbledore's linking the generations together, in a weird way.

As for Snape...I doubt this is the last time he'll be the subject of some frustration. I can't see them ever fully agreeing about him. But every relationship has points of contention, so I don't think it'll hinder them too horribly. :)

And yes, contrary to the title of the chapter, this was not "the right moment" for it to happen. But it's yet another thing that's pushing them towards that moment, which is something, at least.

The whole subject of Lily and her friends is one that kind of intrigues me. Disregarding the way that I (or anyone else) have written it, I think that Lily must have spent years in a sort of half-friendship with both Snape and her other friends. And then there's the whole interesting dynamic of Mary being attacked (in whatever way she was) by Mulciber, who was obviously a friend of Snape--and the fact that it obviously happened before Lily stopped being friends with Snape at the end of fifth year. I think the whole situation must have caused some tension that's always lingering under the surface, which of course feeds into Lily's perception that she's sort of the odd-person-out.

And that's so nice that a) you think this is good enough to re-read, and b) you think it's the best Lily/James story out there! I'm sure there are some that would blow mine out of the water but it's such a nice compliment regardless.

Thank you so much for another amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by SnitchSnatcher 

5th December 2009:
This chapter was AMAZING!

Seriously, I'm envious of the ease in which you write Lily and James. Everything seems so natural - their conversation, their motions, even the way they seem to move around one another. It's like they are hyper-aware of one another, but cautious as neither would know what to do if the other reacted. It's just...it's a fantastic dynamic that's had a really beautiful growth since the beginning of this story.

Speaking of, I'm so sorry I haven't reviewed any of the previous chapters! For one, I sat down in front of my computer and consumed the first dozen or so chapters in one sitting. I told myself I was going to review, but then preparation for finals began and I was only able to read one chapter at a time, which I should've reviewed, but didn't as time was lacking, but I hope this makes up for it!

Honestly, I can say that this is one of the best-written Lily and James stories that I've seen in a long time. As I said before, I like the gradual growth of their relationship; I can't stand it when authors have them together within two or three chapters. It just doesn't happen like that - at least, not with Lily and James, the most sacred couple of all HP fandom.

I'm only a little disappointed that James didn't kiss her when he visualized himself doing it. Though this is a bit contradictory to my previous statement, it would be AWESOME if they could just get together. It's plain to see that they like one another, so why can't they date already? Yes, I'm aware I sound like a petulant four year old, but that's how I always feel when I want my favourite couple of all time to just get it together!

On a completely different note, I really like how you've written her friends, Anna and Mary. They aren't the stereotypical best friends that you usually see in Marauder fics. They've each got their own personalities and they're not perfect. Most importantly, the sarcastic bitter one isn't trying to wrangle Sirius, and Mary and Remus aren't living a happily ever after. However, I think one of the best cliches of all that you've managed to avoid is the whole 'Sirius Black is a playboy' theme that occurs in an alarming amount of fics. To put it simply, I love your take on Sirius as he's exactly how I imagined him being. All of the Marauders are, to be fair.

Gah, I could go on for days and days about the wonders of this story, but I'm sure you would get bored rather quickly. You have an amazing talent, my dear, and it shows in your writing. It's just a shame that this story doesn't have more reviews, for it totally deserves them!

I can't wait to see where it goes from here! Until the next update!

Molly

Author's Response: Hi Molly! Don't worry about not having reviewed before. I completely understand what school can do to one's schedule, and I'm guilty of loving stories and taking some time before I review them. I'm just thrilled that you've reviewed now, and that you love the story so much!

Everything you've said is so reassuring. Sometimes I feel like I'm too involved in the process of writing to pull my head away from it and assess how I'm writing the characters, or how Lily and James' relationship has been progressing as a whole. To hear that you think that their behaviour towards one another is natural makes me feel really good, because I try so hard to do that. The way you described it--them being "hyper-aware" of one another--is perfect, and so poignant.

I know exactly what you mean about making their relationship a sort of gradual progression. I too have read (and of course, loved) many stories where they get together in short time, but in some (not all) cases, I feel like it's cheapening their relationship. I really believe that Lily & James loved each other very much, but the problem is I can't see where that love is growing from when they get together after they've just been arguing, or when they don't seem to have any past issues that they have to work through. Of course, it's not like great love stories can't start in some non-ideal situations--but in writing this story I just wanted to give them a solid foundation that I could actually visualize them building the relationship that they did on.

And wow, that's so fantastic that you like Mary and Anna! Original characters (I suppose I can't call Mary an original character technically) are really tough to make believable, so it's so nice to hear that I've done all right at it. And Anna and Sirius? Goodness no. To be honest with you, I can't see Sirius liking that type of girl at all. He must have had enough criticism from his family to last a lifetime, and Anna is very, very critical. And I think some aspects of their personalities would put them at loggerheads more often than not. I also can't see Sirius as a "playboy", which is, of course, why he isn't one in this story. He seems to me like he would be content with his friends, and I also think that he might turn his nose up at most girls. I think I had some line in a chapter that suggested that idea, at least. But I can't tell you how pleased I am that you like his and the other Marauders' characterizations, because I think it might be the thing that I struggle with the most.

You know, sometimes, when I get such lovely reviews like this, I don't mind at all that the story doesn't have a ton of reviews. :) Thank you so much for taking a moment to review, and I look forward to your thoughts on the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #25, by ginnygirl808 

5th December 2009:
okay james and lily TOTALLY have to start dating now, i mean lily finaly realized that she really likes him and it would just be so perfect. . . i like the chapter i think you protray lily and james really well and if jk wrote a james and lily story i think you have their characters close to how she would write them so good job! how far are you going to go with this story? i dont want it to end so i hope you go as long as you can! keep up the good work! update soon!

Author's Response: They are taking their time about it, aren't they? Someone should tell the author of this story to get a move on... ;)

I'm sure what ever JKR wrote would be far superior to this story in every way...but I can't tell you how much I appreciate that compliment! You just made my day!

And as for how long the story's going to be, well, probably in the range of about 25-30 chapters, probably leaning closer towards 30. But I do plan on writing sequels, so it won't really be the END.

I'll update as soon as humanly possibly, and I hope you'll review again when I do! Thank you so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review