Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Penelope Inkwell 

15th September 2015:
“No, Harry,” said Molly firmly, reaching out to turn his face back toward her as she shook her head. “The thing is that I felt the exact same way when I watched Hagrid carry you out of that forest! I thought you were dead! That I’d lost another one of my sons!”
--I literally teared up. There are tears in my eyes.

Here he was, only seventeen, and already ripped from the heart of one family and casually discarded by another. He’d had father-figures and friends thrust upon him and then torn away without care. The Wizarding World had willingly laid its salvation at his feet, and then tossed him unthinkingly aside when he shouldered its burdens without complaint and accomplished what it couldn’t do. He was an instant celebrity, the poster boy of the war. Everyone wanted his autograph, but no one thought to ask if “The Boy Who Lived” had a roof over his head, clothes on his back, food in his stomach.
--this is so real I cannot. I feel so deeply for Harry right now. You really connect us to Molly's worries, compassion, and her motherly love phenomenally well. Once again, your ability to truly think through all the likely details and outcomes astounds me. I could see this happening to Harry--being sort of left in the dust, but the Weasleys taking care of him, of course. And the way you bring back how he's lost father figure after father figure. Ohmygracious, that poor, brave boy!

Oh my gosh, Harry has never had someone to comfort him in a motherly fashion--not like that. And of course we knew that, but knowing is different than hearing it and seeing it like this. My heart!

She paused, but not because she felt odd, holding a conversation with the dead. She was the mother of seven wild children; odd didn’t exist in her vocabulary.
--there are just so many lines that I love in this chapter!


Oh wow. Wow wow wow. This scene with Molly at Lily's grave. I can't! This is perfect. This is the scene I've always needed and never knew I wanted. It's beautiful. And the way she's asking permission to help raise Harry, and to take him in. The daisies. The way she talks to Lily. Just all of it. Wow.

They grow their hair out and hang fangs from their ears, or traipse across the continent thinking fire-breathing lizards make good pets.
--haha, oh my gosh, it's the sniffle laugh. I'm laughing through the tears that are building in my eyes ever minute.

CC:

The sunshine just felt warm and comfortable on her tired shoulders and she waited a moment, soaking it in.
--This is totally just a matter of opinion, but I thought "comforting" might fit better than "comfortable".


Girl, this chapter. Wow. I'm probably at least halfway through the Dobbys list, and this might well be the most beautiful, emotionally touching thing I have read from it so far. This is an incredible chapter, and you should be really, really proud of it. Molly absolutely shines here. It's truly excellent work.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter 

11th September 2015:
Wow, one ticket for the emotional rollercoaster please!

Harry and Molly's conversation has taken my feels, ripped them to shreds, chewed them up, spat them out, and then kicked them while they were down. Oh my goodness. I know I've said this so many times already but I'm in awe at your ability to write the canon characters. Everything that Molly said to Harry and then to Lily just felt so perfectly Molly. She said everything we know she's been feeling since the minute she met Harry and it made me sob unashamedly.

Perfect chapter ♥

Dee

 Report Review

Review #3, by TreacleTart 

10th September 2015:
Hi there!

You should know that I rarely cry, especially from reading. In regards to fanfiction, I can count on one hand how many times a fic has made me sob. It doesn't happen very often. After reading this chapter I was full on sobbing. There are just so many emotions in this and I truly believe you'd have to have a heart of stone to not be affected by this at all.

The first scene where Harry comes home is so touching. It's heartbreaking that he feels so guilty, but it's so lovely to see Mrs. Weasley comfort him and try to take away some of his burden. I love how clear she makes it for him that she considers him a son. The part about her heartbreaking when she thought he and Fred died was really what started the sobbing.

AND THEN YOU WENT AND DID SOMETHING I SIMPLY CANNOT FORGIVE!!!

You took Molly to the graveyard to introduce herself to Lily.

JUST GO AND RIP MY HEART OUT WHY DON'T YOU!

I've read several versions of Molly at the graveyard talking to Lily and vice versa, but I think this was possibly the most moving version of it that I've read. You didn't make it overly dramatic or cliche. You had Molly saying all sorts of things that a mother might really say to another mother. It read like a real conversation and I could imagine Lily standing there nodding her head in agreement.

Molly leaves the graveyard and my face is all streaky red from tears...

AND THEN YOU HAVE LILY SHOW UP! ARE YOU TRYING TO KILL ME WITH FEELINGS?

Something that I've noticed so far in your writing is that your words flow very smoothly and clearly. Even though there is a lot going on in quite a few different places, the story is still easy to follow and never verges into murky.

Another thing is how beautifully vivid and real you make each character. They seem more complete because of all the little worries and thoughts you've given them. The way that they all interact is so real too. It never feels forced or contrived.

Good job!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #4, by ginnypotter242 

11th July 2015:
Poor Harry! He has had so much pressure on him! And he really is so young- he's only 17, I can't imagine having the weight of the world on my shoulders at that age! I love how you wrote him all hesitant to come in and guilty. He is someone that takes all the blame on himself, and none of the success, so of course he would feel bad for Fred's death/injury. Molly is so sweet though, and the way she was comforting him was a total aww moment. I am totally in love with their relationship. Harry always seemed a little awkward around Mrs. Weasley, like he didn't want to get to close or he was unsure if she'd want him to get close. I love how you wrote Mrs. Weasley in this, you really showed her motherly side, both with her thoughts about Fred and the rest of her children, and her actions towards Harry.

And oh my gosh, the part with Molly talking to Lily's gravestone? That was he sweetest thing, and definitely something I can see Mrs. Weasley doing. Great job on the characterization here! That was such a sweet speech that she gave too! I'm so glad that she considers Harry a son, but she made it known that she wasn't trying to take Lily's place. I also love that you made Molly assume that Lily really did know what was going on- she just knew that Lily would've looked over her son, just as Molly would've if it had happened to her. I'm glad that Molly brought daisies to Liy's grave as well. The remark about her not setting much in store by societal conventions was great- plus my headcanon is that Lily hated it when people brought her lilies (but she loved daisies so...) So that was a nice touch! Okay, and the part with Lily at the very end, with her saying thank you to Molly- not going to lie, I actually teared up a bit. I'm so jealous of how well you can write emotion- you do it so well, and it fits just perfectly in everything. Great job on this chapter!

~Sara (Gryffindor, House Cup 2015)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack 

3rd May 2015:
Greetings Farmgirl. I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack, an elusive inhabitant of the northern boreal forest who only comes out on occasion to play practical jokes on humans and then hide from them, although today I have decided that instead I'll leave reviews for humans.

This was such an emotional chapter and I feel like there were a lot of things that had been a long time coming - like Harry finally coming to terms with the idea that things are not his fault, and he does have a loving family, even though they're technically not blood relatives. That scene with Molly hugging Harry just tugged at my heartstrings.

Her mother had always held firmly to the belief that all of life’s problems were best solved over good food. -- I must agree with Molly here. Whenever I face any problems in my life, they can easily be solved by a feast of leaves and dirigible plums.

But the last paragraph is what really got me. That whole section really, when Molly talks to Lily's grave... this was just truly beautiful and I will admit I had some tears sliding down my furry face. What an amazing scene. You write emotions so incredibly well - it all just feels so real (even to me, and I don't normally know how to feel human emotions since I am not a human.) Wonderfully done. ♥

I have greatly enjoyed reading this fic so far and I am happy to see that Fred is alive. I think I would like Fred and George, as they also seem to appreciate how fun it is to play practical jokes on humans. But now I must depart for I promised to meet Bigfoot for tea in the woods.

 Report Review

Review #6, by merlins beard 

27th April 2015:
Hi again.
I'm actually crying too hard to come up with a funny way of telling you I'm not done yet, that four reviews is even better than three.

This one is going to be much shorter though. I can't even see what I'm typing right now.

This chapter was so emotional and sad. I have written something like this before, but I never thought anyone could make it this perfect.

I've been crying from the second paragraph and I can't seem to stop.

I love this chapter so much. This story is going on my Favourite - list right now.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Would you like some more tissues? Sorry to make you cry again, but that is actually probably the best way to tell me that you are still reading. Thanks. :)

But sorry about the crying thing again.

Thanks so much for your kind words about this chapter. I really makes me feel so good.

Can I just give you a hug to try and show you how much I loved this review?


 Report Review

Review #7, by DougA 

8th November 2014:
The insights into the loneliness of Harry and the love of a mother/Molly are well done. This is one of the best chapters that I have read anywhere on this site. All I can say is brilliant, absolutely brilliant.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you. I am so glad that this chapter has touched some many people, because I really did try to put heart and meaning into it, maybe a little more than I usually do with my stories. So, thank you again. I have really enjoyed all of your reviews.

 Report Review

Review #8, by ella144 

20th November 2013:
This is just lovely and sweet and perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by toomanycurls 

27th September 2013:
Your intro bit about Molly and the changes/new direction was a bit ominous. Oh man, Molly's reflection on the recent events and her love for the family was perfect. It was sad but still had a touch of hope and thankfulness.

You really nailed the descriptions in this chapter. Harry walking up to the house perfectly captured the sullen behavior he'd been acting out but in a very poetic way. The way Molly recognized him and his feelings really showed her maternal love for him.

...then Harry starts with the self-blame.

This chapter may have brought out some tears. Just FYI.

Molly's description of what if felt like to see her son dead and then feel the same when she saw Harry dead was heartbreaking (I'm running out of words for sad).

I am so glad you have Harry breaking down his defense a bit. It's nice to see him open up about his feelings. I like her advice to take his recovery one day at a time.

Seriously - making me cry here.

I never thought of Molly going to Lily's grave. Her discussion with Lily's grave area was terrifically sad and brilliant. Molly's comments about Harry were perfect. I've never gone to someone's grave to talk to them but this seems like the kind of stuff you'd say to someone's tombstone.

Is Lily alive??!?!?!?! My head just exploded.

Really good chapter - I don't think I've teared up so much reading in a long time.

Author's Response: Oh, I am so slow responding! I am very, very sorry! Real life has been even crazier than usual these last few weeks.

Very glad you liked the beginning with Molly reflecting, even if it was kind of somber as you said. I can't imagine what it must have been like for her and Arthur, fighting in a battle with all their children fighting along side. *shudders*

That image of Harry walking up the lane was one of the driving forces behind this whole story. It came into my head and just kind of stuck there, and I knew it was important and I had to use it. He's just...so alone, you know? Even when he's surrounded by bunches of people, he's set apart by his past, the fame he never wanted, and the fact he doesn't completely belong to anyone, and yet the whole wizarding world thinks they should get a piece of him.

Sorry about the tears. *hands over hanky* And yes, Harry is REALLY good at guilt and self blame.

Harry really needed a hug, and I think Molly really needed to give him one. The tears were good for both of them.

So glad you liked the graveyard scene. I've talked to people in the graveyard before, so I guess it didn't seem all that odd to me, but maybe I'm weird.

And sorry to get your hopes up, but no, Lily is not alive. I just was trying to say that in my mind I like to think her spirit is still watching over her son.

Thanks so much for reading! Again, sorry for the tears.



 Report Review

Review #10, by Illuminate 

25th September 2013:
Hi! Sorry this is going to be a short review, I'm quite busy today xD

This is a lovely chapter! You have great characterisation in both Molly and Harry, and I'm glad this was a low-key chapter in terms of the emotional conversation that she had with Harry, and the scene at the graveyard. It's all written very well and I'm glad the story slowed down for a bit to let these conversations happen.

Great job!

Author's Response: No worries about the short review! You're reading, which makes my day! (And you've got me beat. Been meaning to get back to your story but real life keeps ganging up on me right now.)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter. It was one I really wanted to write at the time. Harry is so alone, but there are so many people who WANT to love him if he'd just let them. I wanted him to finally realize that, realize he DOES have a family, just not the one he was born with.

Thanks again! Your reviews make me smile.


 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane 

7th September 2013:
For some reason your mention of all the funerals reminded me of the executions after 1916. There were only 16 of them, which isn't much compared with fifty deaths (although many more people died in the battle itself), but they happened a couple at a time which created a lot of sympathy for the rebels.

You quoted Agatha Christie. *grins* I've been an Agatha Christie fan since I was about 7 or 8.

Gosh, that part about her lost boy coming home brought tears to my eyes. I think I mentioned to you in another review that it isn't deaths that usually make me cry. Somebody coming home when they were feared lost (or in Harry's case, nearly lost) is far more likely to do it. I think this is a cultural thing, related to our centuries of emigration.

Yeah, I was thinking the same as Molly Weasley. There was no way Fred would back away from a fight.

Love this chapter. It made me cry.

You portray Molly's feelings so well and you really bring the horror of the war to life.

Author's Response: I understand the need for a happy ending of Deathly Hallows, really I do. But I have always felt it ended way too abruptly. Voldy's gone, battle's over, book's done. I'll just skip ahead 19 years and that can count as a happy ending. That didn't work for me. I need more closure than that. I really, really wanted a few chapters more. The Weasleys going back to the burrow, the people who died having their sacrifice recognized somehow, a quiet moment for Harry to sit and watch a sunset or something. So, I guess that's why I put the funerals in. I don't want the people who died to get overshadowed by the fact that in this fic, Fred didn't.

Sorry for the tears, but hearing about them is really a compliment. Poor Harry. He just really needed a mother and a home to come back to. It felt so good to finally give that to him.

I'm not sure Fred has ever backed away from anything, has he?

Love this review! It made me smile! Thanks so much for reading and your amazing reviews that keep popping up.


 Report Review

Review #12, by readinghummingbird 

14th July 2012:
wow. this really made me wanna cry. but I'm in public so I can't just start sobbing ;) but I REALLY loved it! especially the "talk" between Molly and Lily!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so honored you chose to read it and that you enjoyed it! It was certainly a fun chapter to write, because Harry finally, finally got to have someone comfort him instead of the other way around.

Thanks again for reading, and for your patience as you've waited for this review response. Life has been crazy for way too long.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sirius Black Dog 

20th November 2011:
Now I think iv reviewed this particular chapter before but iv got back and reread it and just wanted to say how absolutely brilliant it is. You make me want to reread it and continue to, let your words swallow me up in the love and sadness and beauty. You captured Harry perfectly and Molly well you made her and her thoughts so blunt and honest and true and I loved it. I thank you for writing such a beautiful happier. It's one I constantly remember and when something like that comes to mind you know that it was special enough to have grabbed you by the heart and guts and thrown you into a place only few writers can place you and you I'm proud to say are one of them. Absolutely insprirng and riveting, deep and meaningful. Harry and Molly are perfect and molly's talk with lily ate at my heart but in a firey good wa and I just want to again thank you for what is the best piece of writing iv ever read :)

Author's Response: Wow. I think I'm blushing right now. It always awes me when people tell me they read my stuff multiple times. Thank you! You compliments are so, so kind! This review was simply stunning and I'm so thrilled to have recieved it!



 Report Review

Review #14, by unexpected error 

11th January 2011:
Oh Lord, I cried while reading this, I really did.

Author's Response: I'm sorry to make you cry, but I'll also have to take that as the ultimate compliment. Thanks! (The tissues are on me.)

 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly 

29th November 2010:
Farmgirl,
BRILLIANT! May I say BRAVO, too. I absolutely loved this chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: *Blushing* Thank you so much. I'm not sure what else to say, other than your reviews have made my day.

 Report Review

Review #16, by angie123 

29th November 2010:
I'm sorry for this sad review. While reading your story, I started to tear up. Next thing I knew I was silently crying. I have no idea why. But Fred had something to do with it. I guess losing him was really bad for me. He really was the other half of George. I always had a soft spot for Fred. George is amaazing as well, but Fred completes George.

Sorry for this sad review. I give this chapter and the ones before that I read a 100/10.

Author's Response: *hands over box of tissues* I'm sorry to have made you cry, but it really makes my day to know my story brought out emotions. That is something every writer loves to hear.

Fred dying devestated my little Harry Potter world. I could NOT believe that she would do that. So I completely understand what you meant about losing him being bad for you. They really do complete each other, Fred and George.

100/10? WOW! I'm humbled! Thanks so much and I hope you'll keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #17, by schoenemaedchen 

13th November 2010:
Ok way to go, you brought tears to my eyes. I'm not sure this has ever happened. I'm not even particularly emotional this evening! Bahh. This is a compliment to you, my dear. Wonderful writing as always.

So I could gush and gush about your writing, but you already know that drill. So I've taken to making notes as I go along about what strikes me as I'm reading.

We all know Molly was always the "Mother hen". It's in her nature. What you've done here is created a scene that literally IS canon. (Ironic for an OC story...) This scene is literally what would have happened. I think JKR would have to STEAL this idea from you to make it as perfect. No, not exaggerating. It was heartwarming and simply just beautiful to read.

I can just see Harry, even our strong Harry, falling into the arms of this woman and sobbing. What a war it must be.

Then you go and you pull on my heart strings by visiting Lily's grave. Good grief do I love me some Lily and James Potter. You really show this passion that Molly has as a mother--such a passion that she feels the need to go and talk to Harry's mom. She does so with such a reverence. With such...mom-ness. It was wonderful. Its where the tears came.

Just beautiful, as always. Way to go. Can't wait to keep reading.
-schoenemaedchen

Author's Response: Okay, so everyone keeps telling me I've made them cry when they read this story. I'm starting to wonder if I should post a tissue warning. :) Anyway, I hope the crying didn't make the reading less enjoyable. And thank you so much for the compliment.

I must tell you, from an author's standpoint, I never mind the gushing. Makes me blush, and I'm not sure it's entirely deserved, but I still like it. So thank you!

I love Molly. And I love that what Molly is known for is for being a mom. I love that JKR lets her be a mom and love doing it, and doesn't use that as an excuse to belittle her abilities, make her weak, etc. She can hold her own with politicians, in battle, in the Order, but she chooses to be a mom. I love that. And I had so much fun writing Harry FINALLY getting a little mothering.

Now, can I say how entirely honored and amazed I am for the compliments you just gave me, compairing my writing to JKR. I sometimes get so depressed as I read through the books and then through my own stuff, thinking I can never get them incharacter enough, which is really important to me. I might be writing about slightly AU topics but I want my characters to react just as they would have if it had happened in the books. I think you just gave me the ultimate compliment there! Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

I've never really had a desire to write Lily and James. I don't know why - I like them well enough, just not big on writing about them. But I have always wondered who Lily would have chosen, Sirius being unavailable, to take care of Harry if she had been given the choice. And I've always felt she would been very grateful to Molly for taking Harry in. I just wanted the chance to show that a little. I'm really glad you liked it.

Well, I will continue working through your other wonderful reviews in the next day or so. I really love reading them! You brighten my day. And I hope you'll keep reading the story. I can't wait to see what you think of what's coming up.

Thanks so much, for everything!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Kelly 

21st August 2010:
Amazing...I'm only now beginning to enter this world of fan's writing their own stories with our beloved characters, and I'll say that some of what I'm reading is just not what I'd hoped for..but this chapter alone is beyond what I was hoping for. Waiting patiently (or not so much) for the next movie to come out and hoping to stay with the characters a little longer in the meantime.
Your writing has an unbelievable honesty and freshness. My eyes were watering and felt like I was reading the next book in the HP series. I can't wait to continue this story!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know I'm a bit tardy replying to this, but I wanted you to know how good your review made me feel. Thank you so much for such wonderful praise and compliments. I hope you did go on and read the rest of what I have up and I'd love to hear what you thought of it.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Pixileanin 

21st August 2010:
Go Molly! Poor Harry finally has the opportunity to let it all out and she's there to help him through it. Very touching scene!

And then Molly talking to Lily was wrenching and sweet all at the same time. How you do that is magic. Magical writing. That's what it is. Reading this is like looking at a moving painting.

Author's Response: I really did feel that a huge Harry getting some comfort was in order after the last, oh SEVEN books. It felt like it was time, and Molly was the one to do it. It was so nice to let that boy get some mothering.

Molly talking to Lily just felt right. In all the books no one had ever asked Lily what she would have liked to see done for her boy. I thought it was time.

Thanks for reading, and again thanks for making me blush. Your reviews are ellagant and ego building!


 Report Review

Review #20, by pennyardelle 

17th August 2010:
It takes incredible writing to make me even feel the slightest inclination towards crying, but you managed it. My eyes definitely welled up several times throughout this chapter. You wrote Molly and Harry, and their relationship with one another, with such tenderness.

You're very good at getting to the heart of certain facts in the books that haven't necessarily been pointed out so far, like how no one bothered to check whether Harry had a place to stay, something to eat, and so on. It's true, though, isn't it? Everyone would assume that he had a place to go because he's famous and defeated Voldemort, but they forget that he's famous because he lost his family. And then there was the, "What do I do now?" question. What does he do now? As awful as being Voldemort's nemesis was, the direction and driving force in Harry's life has been eliminated. Now he has to start over.

Molly's conversation with Lily was just...masterfully written. Her description of parenthood was unbelievably moving. I do have a suggestion, though--I personally didn't think that the last paragraph was necessary. In fact, I think it almost would have been better without it. It was touching in its own way, but I think Molly's talk with Lily would have been more effective if it had been one-sided all the way through. Maybe it was just because it kind of felt like you were suddenly changing POVs for just one paragraph? I'm not sure...anyway, that was really the ONLY thing that I felt was off in this entire chapter. It was amazing.

Also, I realized right after posting my last review that I mistakenly wrote "George" a couple times when I clearly meant "Fred"! :P

Author's Response: Wow! I'm honestly flabbergasted at your compliment! Thank you so much! You've quite litterally left me speechless.

Seriously, I can't really figure out how to respond to a review this good. It's one of the reasons your reviews have sat here on my account unanswered for so long. When I have time to respond to reviews I duck in and do the ones that are easy to answer, but yours are so incredile they take much thought and I'm still left wondering how to tell you how much they mean to me. So thank you so much!

I'm excited that you like my interpretation of after DH events. I always wondered it, when all the hype and drama had calmed down, people would still remember Harry, or if, now that he'd fulfilled his "duty" to the wizarding world, they'd just forget about him. And I'm sure most of the wizarding world, having no idea what back ground he really comes from, would assume he had a warm home and open arms waiting for him after the Battle and just not check on him. Of course, he does have a warm home and open arms waiting, it just takes him a while to realize where it is. That's what I wanted to show, and I'm so glad you think it worked.

Now I'm seriously blushing at the second half of your review, about the Lily and Molly conversation. Thank you. And thank you for the suggestion. I'm planning a massive edit of this story (not changing anything, but people keep pointing out silly typos to me that I really want to fix) in the near future and I'll have a look at that chapter again when I do and see what I think about your suggestion.

And no worries on the George thing. Eldy does that all the time. I'm used to figuring out which twin people mean. LOL.

THANKS FOR READING!


 Report Review

Review #21, by melian 

16th August 2010:
Bawling. Again. First the Molly/Harry conversation set me off, but Molly talking to Lily's headstone was the icing on the cake. Yes I'm ridiculously sentimental (and I do cry more when I'm sick so that cold you gave me is playing a role too) but you always hit exactly the right notes with this sort of thing. It's a real talent and I'm quite envious.

Again, I praise your characterisation to the bone, but I'm not really sure what else I can say about this chapter aside from the fact that it reduced me to tears. Even writing about it is setting me off again, to be honest. You just hit the emotions so perfectly and captured Molly and Harry so brilliantly that there's not much else to say. Fantastic chapter. Close to perfect. Does that say enough?

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Okay, yes, I'm jumping into my review responces right in the middle, but I just decided to start at random at the bottom of the page. LOL

So, I'm really sorry about the bawling. I didn't mean to make you do it, but I will take it as a compliment that you did. I'm really glad you liked Molly talking to Lily. No need to be envious, however. I know you are a much better writer than me, but again, thanks for the compliment.

Now, about that "cold." Now that I know more details about the "cold" you had at this time, I'm really not sure you can blame me for giving it to you. But nice try.

Thank you so much for such an amazing review! And for your incredible patience as I took my time getting to the responses.


 Report Review

Review #22, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

29th July 2010:
Wow. Really, just wow. That was a really touching chapter, one of the most heartfelt things I've read on the site in a long time. There was the part, which I could have predicted, but required: Harry had to go home and be comforted at some point, after all. And then the second half, with Molly addressing Lily. That was original, and so, so right. Once again, your characterization is strong with Molly, and her mother-to-mother talk. The fourth to last paragraph, the one starting with "She gave a little sigh and arched her back," completely and utterly touched me. For one who's never been a mother, at least, it managed spectacularly to sum up what Molly's felt, bring up all these kids in a war. It was an incredible piece of writing, definitely.

You know what makes me happy? Having reviews in which I can find nothing wrong. I'll say it again, this was a natural read, and firmly good one. The only tiny error I spotted was an awkward wording: "One more and a few more moments with her thoughts". The phrasing was hard to read, and the extra 'more' made it more confusing.

But really, I'm grasping at threads here. You may have noticed I've favorited this. Great job, really. Characterization and believability still strong and nothing to worry about.

~lllb

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is one of my all-time favorite chapters. Harry has been through SO much and had to be so tough, and I feel like he's never really had someone just hold him and such. I really wanted to do that for him, and of course I knew Molly was the one to give him that love. But then I got thinking about how Molly might worry Harry thought she was trying to take his mother's place. And then the graveyard scene was born. It was really just so nice to write that, one mother talking to another about the same boy they both love. I'm not a mother either, but I know some rather incredible ones and I like to think I steal bits of Molly from the ones I know. And yes, I really wanted people to remember that Molly has esentially been raising her family in a war, and knowing they were going to grow up to go off and fight in that war. I couldn't even fathom doing that as a mother.

Thanks so much for your wonderful reviews! And to have you favorite it! WOW! I'm stunned! It still amazes me that people actually LIKE the stuff I write. Gives me warm fuzzies all over. Thank you and I hope I can come back and request again soon!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Amanda 

19th July 2010:
Amazing. perfect. better than i could ever have hoped for. these kinds of sites are filled with amateurs, and i am so glad to read a masterpiece. it brought tears to my eyes. dont you dare stop.

Author's Response: Wow! I'm just blushing from your praise! Thank you so much. I'm so glad you found it and started reading, and then took the time to give a review.

No plans to stop writing.:) I am a little slower on the writing side than some authors, but I always keep going, so don't worry if you don't see updates right away. They're coming.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Sirius Black Dog 

16th May 2010:
i've read your amazing story before and everytime i do i fall in love with it all over again.

It's an amazing storyline and your writing style is captivating. The emotions and depth is intriguing.

This chapter, the use of Molly and Lily was the most beautiful thing i've ever read. You should be so very proud of this story it really is a brilliant fanfiction.

Thank you so very much for the amazing read. I loved this chapter and was overloaded emotionally and so amazed by the honesty. You developed Molly and Harry so well and i can't wait to read more from you.

I myself wrote a post Hogwarts story but as my first one it lacked the emotion that yours has. Thanks again for the gift you gave me in your story. By far my favourite fan fiction. A perfect way to complete the battle :)

100/100

Author's Response: 100/100? WOW! That is astronomical praise! I'm not exactly sure how to respond to such high praise! And to find that you were back to read it for a second time? That's even sweeter! Thank you so much!

Using Molly and Lily wasn't something I really planned. It just sort of happened while I was writing and I liked it so I kept it. It has seemed to grab the attention of many people, so I'm very glad that I DID include it, but I can't say it was a brilliant plan right from the start. Sometimes the things that happen on the fly are the best I guess.

Your story still sounds intriguing. I like to read other stories and see how people are doing things. If I get the chance, I'll be sure to check yours out.

Your favorite? Wow. Again, I'm stunned by this review. Thank you, thank you, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Sirius Black Dog 

7th April 2010:
OMG that chapter was amazing.

So far i am totally loving this story, its so one of a kind and the way you write is brilliant, Heart wrenchingly brilliant :)

Author's Response: Thank you so so so so much! And I'm so sorry it has taken me an eternity to get around to replying to your wonderful reviews! Life has been rushing forward on lightspeed at the moment and hobbies have been pushed aside for a bit. But I wanted to take a moment and say how much it means that you've read and taken the time to review! I hope you'll keep reading!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>