Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
90 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jack Johnson 

23rd May 2015:
I'm literally dying right now just waiting for one of them to confess to the other. I just want them to get togheter and I can't wait!!!

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. I did drag it out, didn't I? But, in my defence, it was so much fun doing so i couldn't resist. Thanks for the review!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
SO MANY FEELS! Oh wow, this chapter just killed me a little bit inside because I just felt so sorry for Laura here! The poor girl, she thought that she was 'facing reality' but it's just making her more miserable by denying what she wants to happen. I can understand how sad she felt at the beginning of this chapter because she likes Sirius a lot more than she's telling herself, probably. But then when she got caught by the Slytherins on the staircase and had to go to the Hospital Wing - I felt so sorry for her! Mary's a really good friend though and I'm glad she cleared up the fact that Sirius was just attacked by one of the fan club and was overseen by Laura.

Then all of the parts with Sirius! They just gave me so many feels because I felt so sorry for him since Laura was denying all the possibilities that the two of them might get together! It just broke my heart a little bit because the two of them clearly like each other a lot but she's denying it and Sirius is too scared to say anything when she keeps rebuffing him like this, just because she's trying to protect her own feelings!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, poor Laura. I am cruel to the poor child, aren't I? But yes, you've absolutely captured it - she's so terrified of letting on how much she likes him that he's getting all the wrong messages. SO much fun to write, but so cruel to the pair in question.

That said, I did like the bit on the stairs and then the conversation with Mary. We can work out what it's about, but Laura is as usual absolutely clueless. ;) Thanks for the review!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Nina Miya 

28th June 2014:
I am so annoyed at Laura right now. The way she has no self-esteem. I get that thinking Sirius is out of reach might be something a lot of girls would think, but she really doesn't see herself good enough for anyone or anything, and it's not rising sympathy out of me. Just anger. I'm self-critical sometimes, just like everyone else, but I know my worth and thats important. I know the story has already been written so this review isn't gonna change the character, but I just really needed to say this. Oh and I feel like theres not enough description on her emotions! It feels a bit too factual, but that's just me. And the way she acts around Sirius, it doesn't look like she likes him or anything, just like she's obsessed, and that frustrates me. But I do really love this story, especially the detail into Hogwarts and events and people in the wizarding world, and can't stop reading. I'll review again on the last chapter!!

Author's Response: Ah, yes, you're not alone at being annoyed with Laura right now. But you're also right in that I'm not about to change her character based on your review. Yes she's frustrating, but that's kind of the whole point right now. I know, I know. Needlessly cruel. But SO much fun!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Olga 

2nd January 2013:
Gaaah, so close! Come on, Laura!

Author's Response: So close, but yet so far. Yep, I'm cruel and I admit it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by qwerty23055 

10th November 2012:
This is so goood!! And so beautfully written. I so ship sirus and laura

Author's Response: Thank you! So do I, to tell the truth :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by mel 

1st November 2012:
Laura! How can you not realise that Sirius has a thing for you! Her oblivity (don't think that's a word, but regardless-) is unbelievable. Seriously, I'm so annoyed at her, not giving Sirius any opportunity, but then again, none of the other girls seemed to have realised either. They're all so blind! This is going to cause problems, I can see it now..

Author's Response: I think the word you were searching for is "obliviousness". But yes, it is a little frustrating at the moment. To see it for what it is, though, she needs to understand that it's a possibility, and her mind is so entrenched in what they were like in fifth year (and the years leading up to that) that she doesn't see that it's changed to the extent it has. Same goes for the others, though Lily's worked it out. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
Why did sirius react that way. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Ah, poor Sirius. He really doesnt' know how to behave in a situation like this. The truth is he was wary of being a rebound, but he went about it all the wrong way. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lanniejo 

29th December 2011:
I really enjoy your creative perspective on Sirius, I really hope they hook up. They'll be so cute. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm aware that not everyone interprets him the way I have, but it's really nice to have this kind of feedback.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Isabella 

6th November 2011:
I started reading this yesterday and I promised myself I wouldn't review until I read it all, but Merlin's beard SHE IS SO CLUELESS IT'S DRIVING ME INSANE! The amount of times I've made angry aggravated noises reading this and have my parents give me funny looks is ridiculous. You are an amazing writer and I love how you've packed so much dramatic irony into this and been so clever in your dates and interpretations of the original text, it's incredible. I'm going to read on now and shut up. I'll have to have a break though if Laura continues to be a oblivious fool or I'll throw my laptop out the window and throw myself on the floor and kick and scream and my parents will disown me because I'm a first class nutter.

Author's Response: Yep, she's clueless. Totally and utterly. Her problem (and Mary's, for that matter) is that their minds are so set in the social structures that were established during their first five years at Hogwarts that they don't see how much they have actually changed. Hence, Laura doesn't see it as a possibility and is therefore missing all the signs.

However, the fact that I've made you so frustrated means that I must have done a decent job so far, so thank you! Your compliments, though, are going to my head so beware, it may expand too much for me to fit through a doorway soon.

Oh, and you're not a first class nutter. Just someone who is reading, and anyone who reads must be a great person, right. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by classicblack 

22nd October 2011:
I'm guessing Sirius and James had thought Remus had broken the Marauder code of going after the girls that other Marauders fancied? (i.e. Sirius and Laura)
Oh and Laura's really starting to bug me with her obliviousness of the fact that Sirius likes her. Quivering Wreck needs to get her head on straight.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: That is precisely what James and Sirius thought - as another reviewer put it, a violation of the Guy Code. So there was a bit of explaining to do there.

As for Laura, well she's frustrating a lot of poeple a the moment. I'm not apologising for it, though - it was all part of the plot, hahaha. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Marauder4Life 

9th September 2011:
I love this chapter! It's funny reading about a girl being so imperceptive. It's generally guys who are the ones so bad at picking up signals.

Author's Response: Ah, it's not always boys who are inperceptive - anyone naive in this kind of relationship is going to miss signs, or if they see them (and want to see them) they're going to read too much into it and think they're imagining things. It's one of life's givens, and lovely to work with to create sexual tension. :) So yeah, not totally out of the ordinary to have a girl in this situation, and in character for Laura I think. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

9th August 2011:
It would seem as though everything has a way of sorting itself out despite initial impressions which had me assuming I'd been completely off the mark when I thought that would be the chapter the moment they would realise they need to be together would occur, but in a lot of ways I'm glad it wasn't. I love a good cliff-hanger! (Quite possibly from watching far too many dramatic television shows...) I just love how it all came together and it seemed as though there really is so much more to Sirius than I first assumed.

I imagine it would be difficult living with a group of girls giggling behind you as you walked about the castle, not to mention throwing themselves at you at any available opportunity! Again, I pity Sirius, not just for everything he has been through but for what he continues to put up with.

I love the genuine concern and friendship he has formed with Laura, it's natural and works so perfectly. Their conversations flow beautifully, and I never really want them to end when reading (and they say I'm not romantic) it's one of those perfect relationships which has grown ever so slowly into something so beautiful and amazing, it's truly been amazing to watch it unfolding as I've read through this.

Forwards I go!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: You know, I'm quite fond of this chapter. I didn't want to string the misunderstanding out for too long, but 2000-odd words seemed to work quite nicely. As for characterisation, you've probably guessed that I got a bit sick of the one-dimensional Sirius you see portrayed so often and tried to give him the depth that JKR hinted at, so I'm glad you like how I've gone about that. As for the relationship, well I think I've said before that I wanted slow, steady and believable, so again thank you because it sounds like I managed that okay. *beams*

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by alicia and anne 

6th August 2011:
Oh Laura! I just want to hug her. Sirius needs to hurry up and snog her! And stupid Carrow! I'm glad Remus found her though, I just want to kick Carrow!
Yay! it wasn't Sirius's fault, but you are killing me here! I want them to kiss!
I really thought Mistletoe would happen! You just really like torturing me don't you? :-D I can't wait to read more

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Does it help if I say that you're not the only person who was reacting this way at this point of the story? I certainly plead guilty to being intentionally frustrating,b ut then I had a very strict story plan and The Snog had to happen at a certain time. Which was, well, not yet.

In other words, yes, I do like torturing you. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by LivingLife42 

23rd July 2011:
"Quivering Wreck had just caught the Snitch. "
Loved that line!
I love Sirius and Laura's relationship! But i want them to date! :P It's really cute when they get all sarcastic with each other.

Really well written :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

You know, that line about Quivering Wreck was added almost as an afterthought, but just about every review on this chapter has mentioned it so I'm glad I included it. :) As for my main pair, well it's just a little longer now. Like you I enjoy their conversations beforehand so I strung it out for as long as I could.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
BECAUSE YOU'RE WRONG!

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, of course she is. But if she knew that, it wouldn't be nearly as much fun, would it? No, I thought not. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by theelderwand 

22nd August 2010:
"Quivering Wreck had just caught the Snitch."

How absolutely horrible. Crushed! At least, at this point, I was thinking Sirius would finally realize that she liked him. Too late.

I loved the twist that it was bad timing. Excellent! And I assume that huge fight between the Marauders was because James and Sirius saw Remus with his arm around Laura and assumed he was making a move on her as opposed to taking her to the hospital wing? A violation of the "guy code," of course.

Then the ending. When Sirius finally says: "A year or two ago, maybe. But not now." I actually did a fist pump. Here it is! He's finally given dense-Laura a major signal!!

And then the dense wench ignores it.

YOU ARE KILLING ME HERE!!!

Gods, I love this story.

Eldy

Author's Response: Got it in one with the fight - though you would not believe the number of times I had to explain that to girls who didn't get it. I think my gender needs some serious educating sometimes. *sighs*

Anyway, yes, all bad timing. Him being there was of course deliberate, but he hadn't counted on being cornered like that and she came in at just the wrong time. As for him guessing that she actually likes him, well this is part of what I said about mixed messages. He got mildly hopeful from her reaction but then that was countered the next day with her telling him that she didnt' care who he snogged, which of course he just took at face value. Silly doofer.

And yes, that was a pretty big signal, but she was so convinced that he was just being nice (my memory is a bit hazy but I think there was some of that already in that scene) that she didn't dare think of it otherwise. Dense? Absolutely. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
Oh it's getting so good! I just love the constant misinterpretations. Eventually though, Sirius is just going to have to man up, because clearly Laura is never going to get the picture unless he does something drastic. Hmmm, if only there was a Yule Ball coming up...

Favourite line: "Quivering Wreck had just caught the Snitch." - I'm always a fan of using wizarding concepts in metaphors, and this is possibly the best example I've seen. Really adds to the depth of the character, particularly as it is contrasted by the muggle reference re:rugby in the last chapter - perfect half-blood referencing.

Super excited to see where this goes, as the suspense has now built up to somewhat epic levels, but sadly have to go to church. Still, this is really beautifully crafted.

Author's Response: LOL. Yes, if only there was a Yule Ball coming up! I know it was kinda obvious, but hey, it's my story and I can be obvious if I want to! *grins*

It's funny because that line about Quivering Wreck and the snitch was almost an afterhought, but almost every review of this chapter has mentioned it so obviously I hit a chord somewhere there. Glad I decided to throw it in!! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
she is really being too oblivious...

Author's Response: Oh, but it's charming, don't you think? No? Just frustrating? LOL, how do you think Sirius feels? I do admit to being cruel to my main pair but I had a very strict story structure which meant that The Snog had to happen at a certain time. And that time hasnt' come up yet. Sorry!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ghille Dhu 

4th August 2010:
As a big fan on another fanfiction site where this is not yet completely posted I was dancing when I found this. *dances* great chapter.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, I've had a few people find me on this site after initally reading what's been posted so far on the other one. The disparity is because I found this site first and, frankly, I prefer it; I started putting it on that other site because we're encouraged to post in as many places as possible to reduce the likelihood of anyone plagiarising our work. Anyway I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter - and now you can read on to the end, unlike the other place. ;)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by ericajen 

28th July 2010:
Again I will say that Laura is horribly oblivious. Goodness. I would have jumped the boy by now. I suppose that's all part of her charm, though, haha.

Author's Response: But she won't jump him because she's terrified of rejection. And worse, after he rejects her, that he'll avoid her because that's what he does with everyone who throws themselves at him. She hasn't worked out that as a friend she holds a different status anyway ... regardless of the fact that he's obsessed with her. But yeah, that's what's keeping her back. She doesn't want to lose what she's already got. I can understand that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Helena 

27th March 2010:
OMG Why is she so... so... BLIND??? He's so sweet and she keeps on... well... doing what she does... :/
This chapter was so good :)

*starts to read next chapter*

Author's Response: Hi Helena! Thanks for reviewing again!

Yes, she's blind. And she's blind because I chose to make her blind. Or, in the context of the story, because she's so convinced that it's not possible that she's missing all the signs. I do admit that it would be hard for him to make it much more obvious, short of pushing her up against the wall and kissing her, but she just doesn't see it as being even possible.

But yes, frustrating, I get that. And I'm sorry. But I had a very strict story plan and The Snog (which I think you've got to by now, I'm WAY behind on my review responses) has to happen at a certain time.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by always_dreaming 

25th March 2010:
have her roommates figured it out yet? james seems to have cottoned on. i just sort of still see this as not going anywhere. oh well, i still have like 19 chapters to read before i run out of excuses and have to write a 7 page paper. on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Well, the answer to that is pretty much, no. Aside from Lily, of course. So there's a big shock to come, as you can appreciate. As for it not going anywhere, well it does pick up pretty shortly (as you now know - you've read it all now) so that's my excuse. The calm before the storm, so to speak.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by GoldenSunset 

27th January 2010:
wooo! i'm enjoying the story more and more with every passing chapter! can't wait to keep reading it. keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean. :D

I'm really pleased that you're enjoying my story and I see that you've got a few chapters to go yet so I hope you continue to appreciate it as it progresses. I'm not sure that I can live up to it getting better with each chapter, though ... there are a few rather weak ones in there that are taking up space between the good ones, but then again all stories are like that I think. *grins in an embarrassed kind of way*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ronsgirl29 

21st January 2010:
THAT PEEVES IS KILLING ME! i wonder what sirius would have said if they hadn't be interrupted! and its obvious James and Sirius were yelling at Remus because they saw him with laura wrapped around him. of course it was just to help her to the hospital wing, but they didnt know that. i think its cute he got that jealous, I love jealousy in a romance haha.

that's so sad that laura thinks she's not good enough for him! sirius obviously was taken aback by it. I think it would be really interesting to see some of these chapters, such as this one, from sirius's point of view!

10/10 lovely job

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, there were a few people frustrated with Peeves in this chapter. He definitely interrupted A Moment, as some would say. Sorry about that. :D

And yes, that's precisely what the argument was about. It did look suspicious, especially considering Remus had cleaned the blood from Laura's face so it wasn't obvious she'd been hurt. I'm quite fond of that argument all told, to be honest. :)

As for Sirius' POV, well I have written some scenes from his POV which I'll be loading up as a short story collection once this has all been posted. And I may write more, so I do take requests. I'll admit that this isn't one that I've written but I'll have a think about it and if I get inspired you may well see it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by ochalke5 

11th January 2010:
She' so stupid sometimes... i hope they hang out or get together soon...! Another great chapter! And James and Sirius were mad because Remus was walking rather close with Laura, no?
10/10
Great chapter Mel!!!
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, she is stupid sometimes. And poor Sirius, he tries so hard, but nothing he's doing is working. Oh, and yes, James and Sirius were certainly dirty at Remus because they'd misinterpreted him helping her to the hospital wing. As one person put it, they thought he was "hitting on another Marauder's girl", and that of course is unforgivable. Glad you picked up on that because I had to explain it to a few people.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>