Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
75 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
What another great chapter! Although quite a big cliffhanger for you to leave it on so I'm glad that I can just continue reading this story to find out what happens next! Laura's such a lovely and likable main character and I love reading this story from her point of view. Her voice is so strong but she's quite self-deprecating as well, and we can see that in the way that she can't believe that Sirius could possibly like her and it's so sweet to see her like this. I'm so glad that she's got a friend like Mary in her corner to support her though, she's so lovely!

Aw, she should have taken her chance with Sirius at his party while she had it! I'm pretty sure that there was much more to it than him just being drunk and making a fool of himself as Laura thought he might be doing. And then for her to see him kissing another girl in the middle of a corridor! I don't think that he really does have another girlfriend - I'm sure they'd have found out about it before - but I felt so sorry for Laura here!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: You know, I actually did write that scene as though she did say yes, and it's a really sweet read. THough it didn't fit with my story plan so she says no in this version. :) Poor Sirius, though, takes it as she's SO not interested she won't even give him a birthday kiss. I'm so cruel, aren't I?

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

2nd January 2013:
Whaaa Siruis nooo!!! Not good! I'm off to find out what happens

Author's Response: Lol. Yes, that did put Laura in a bit of a bind. Glad you liked the cliffy!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by JustanotherHarryPotterfan3816 

28th November 2012:
Yeah. Ugh. I'l the hurl the nearest object(which happens to be a piano) to the girl he'd snogging. Ughhh! Such a disgrace! Sucha dishonor to the most Noble House of Black! I could sooo totally hear Mrs. Black screaming.

Author's Response: Oh, a piano? That poor girl. I hope she's okay. As for Sirius dishonouring the name of Black, well he did that a while back when he ran away in the Christmas holidays. ;p

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by HP 

23rd August 2012:
This is amazing! I am so happy to finally have a GOOD
HP fanfic to read- with so many chapters as well!
I can't thank you enough :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so pleased you're enjoying my story so much.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by moodymarauder 

27th December 2011:
in that case, him being able to use reducto, i will throw a live wand, emmiting Bea's spells at an alarming rate, at him and his new bimbo. WE ALL KNOW HE TRULY LURVES HER!

Author's Response: LOL. I love it. I'm sure Bea has invented a self-spelling wand, as well, if it doesn't exist already.

Oh, and my deepest apologies for taking so long to respond to this review. I'm a year behind but am now trying hard to catch up. Sorry!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack 

22nd October 2011:
Hahahahaha, Stubby Boardman referance :) Nice one.
But in all siriusness, no, Sirius has a girlfriend and it's not Laura and now I'll have to wait even longer until they FINALLY get together. Darn it! Great chapter overall, though.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Yep, you have to wait. Sorry about that. HOwever, with my story plan The Snog had to happen at a certain time, and that time hadn't come yet, so yeah, another roadblock. Cruel, aren't I? :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

9th August 2011:
I can promise you this review won't be all that long, because I absolutely must find out what happens next, I have to say I'm both shocked and well intrigued as to what will happen next... It's a rather strange mix, I do want to find out what happens but I sort of don't in case it's bad. Now I'm just rambling. I have to say you certainly know how to throw a party! The parties in this remind me so vividly of the parties I went to at that age (although those weren't in the Gryffindor Common Room) and I have to say, I got a good giggle out of drunk Sirius, and the ever reasonable Remus.

Also, I'm very excited about the Yule Ball approaching and how this will all turn out. I also love all the developments which were made in this chapter, there was an awful lot that happened, and I guess there were also a lot of choices to be made for Laura, which is always good to see how she is developing as a character over the course of the entire novel.

I wish I could write more, but I simply have to find out what happens next!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Ah, poor Laura. I am mean to her sometimes, and this was just too good a cliffy to ignore, don't you think?

Glad you liked the party. It seems to me that those boys would definitely know how to throw one, so I'm very pleased that it came off well, complete with drunken antics and the like. Well, can you blame them? It felt totally in character, hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne 

6th August 2011:
Hehe Stubby Boardman, I'm glad you mentioned him hehe.
NO! he's been kissing someone else! That made me really sad :-( we all know he likes Laura though, Why wouldn't she kiss him? we all know she likes him too!
I would have definately jumped at the chance to kiss him! Oh the troubles of teenage romance, it makes it all so much more interesting.
Another great read!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yes, he's been kissing someone else. Or, at least, it certainly looks that way. Laura didn't exactly hang around to get the details,did she? Yes, I had to throw another roadblock in the path of our main pair, just because I could (and hey, it's fun!). Or something. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
Of course it's not you, you daft dimbo. Throwing yourself at him = bad. Letting him know you're interesetd = good. See it there? One hint, and you'd be in business.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: And, of course, that makes a huge difference. She hasn't figured that out, though. She can be a bit thick at times, methinks :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by dannydeboy 

19th May 2011:
also a try can be worth 4 and conversion 2 in league but thts a pansy sport and union is the sport of kings
wkd story
dan -=]

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, I know the scoring system in rugby league but (a) I share your thoughts on that particular sport, and (b) it's not big in Wales, so with a Welsh main character I really had to use union. Hence, the explanation of the *correct* scoring for a try and conversion. But yes, you are absolutely right. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by HartOfARebel 

16th May 2011:
loved the reference to the try as im a big rugby fan..irish tho ;)

Author's Response: Hi again!

I figured you were Irish from your first review, there were a couple of phrases in there which were very Irish so this doesn't surprise me. Glad you liked the rugby reference, though - there were a few people who didn't get it, and others still who didn't see it (even when they went looking) so I'm pleased you picked that up. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by theelderwand 

22nd August 2010:
Consider things thrown at you! well, at least now I'm certain that Remus, James and Peter know that Sirius is madly in love with Laura but can't figure out how to get her interested, that her control is so thorough, Sirius isn't picking up any positive vibes.

But I do hope there's an innocuous explanation for the girl sirius is with now. maybe its a relative? Maybe someone slipped him a love potion? Anything but a girlfriend.

Yikes!

Ok. I have officially lost my man card.

Eldy

Author's Response: *ducks heavy items flying at her from Eldy's man cave*

Yep, as I've said before, the boys all know, but Laura's so good at keeping things to herself that Sirius isn't getting any clues from her. Or, when he is, the signals are so mixed that he's got no idea what to do.

As for the mystery girl, well I shall say nothing. I had a few people guess when the chapter was posted initially but I won't comment on your speculations - spoilers, you know?

cheers, Mel

PS You lost your man card the day you decided you wanted to read this story by choice. Giving it up now won't achieve anything. Sorry! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Capella Black 

15th August 2010:
NO! What on Earth is Sirius up to? Again, the miscommunication and self-esteem issues are spot on for high school life, and thus utterly believable while being simultaneously very frustrating - why can't one of them just tell the other how they feel?!!!

Anyway, also liking the rugby references (I thought there was both enough detail for those who know nada, without patronising those who do) as this really grounds the story as being British, without the use of the word "Blimey", or some such.

Great chapter, off to read more...

Author's Response: Hahaha. What is Sirius up to? Good question! And one that I'm not going to answer in this review response, even though I know you've read the next chapter - spoilers, you know. But yes, miscommunication and self-esteem issues are par for the course in teenaged relationships so I'm glad you noticed that. And of course they won't tell each other how they feel, mainly because they're both terrified of rejection. As, again, most teenagers are. (Yes, I'm cruel. I admit that.)

As for the rugby references, I'm very very pleased that you think they work in that way. Once I decided to make my OC Welsh I kinda had to include it, I thought, as it's such a huge thing in Wales and if her mother was a Muggle it would only make sense. I've seen fics where the OC is really into football/soccer, so why not rugby? And I was far more comfortable with the rugby references than in trying to throw in the word "Blimey" ate every corner because that just screams "non-Brit trying to make amends", don't you think?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
oh is he trying 2 make her jealous, or forget about her?

Author's Response: My lips are sealed!!! I won't say anything that could count as spoiler, in case someone who hasnt' read the next chapter clicks on the reviews. Either could be right but I won't say any more than that. Sorry!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Schnatz 

17th June 2010:
Oh Merlin, you did it again! Made me remember some similar party I was when I was 17. And I didn't take the opportunity, too, and I have to say that I understand Laura - that she didn't take it but also that she's a little sad because she missed the opportunity - especially when you allow for the last passage of this chapter. *sigh* I've seen that coming but now it's here I'm also shocked a lot! Now I'm very excited who his new 'girlfriend' is! But can sadly sadly sadly not read it until Monday! Aaaah, I'll go mad! ;D

Well, all in all I liked this chapter very very much ... anyway I like the new chapters more because there is more love and action in it which wasn't when they were only 15/16.

Till Monday, have a nice weekend,
Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi Schnatz!

You know, it really is so wonderful that people like you can relate so well to the scenarios I wrote for this story. I tried to make them the sorts of things that most people would experience, at least to some degree, but this sort of reaction is quite overwhelming for me. Thank you! I'm really really thrilled that you can relate to this. :D

As for the cliffy - well, sorry about that. But I had to include it and it was just such a great place to break a chapter, don't you think? *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by always_dreaming 

25th March 2010:
i think describing the yule ball as being "biannual" is incorrect. doesn't biannual mean twice a year?

okay i write down these questions whenever i encounter them so i don't forget them, and now i've finished the story and had time to think it over, i think biannual is right. because bicentennial is 200 years. anyway... sad ending! hallelujah i can just move onto the next chapter haha. here i go, off to find out the mystery woman!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

No, you've got me there. I always get confused between "biannual" and "biennial" and, as you noticed, I used the wrong word in this chapter. I'll go back and fix that very shortly. Thanks for picking it up!

As for the ending, well yes, it was a bit of a shock. Poor Laura. She really couldn't get a break.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Ronsgirl29 

21st January 2010:
I was proud of myself that I actually understood the rugby reference before you explained it, yay me. haha :D

Great chapter once again Melian! It broke my heart though that Sirius was snoggin some other girl! poor laura! but i do think that it was wise of her not to kiss him when he was too drunk to remember it fully.

10/10

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I'm most impressed you got the rugby reference. I'm guessing then that you come from a rugby-playing country? *grins*

As for the other girl, well unfortunately it was necessary for the plot. And the cliffy hahaha. *evil grin* But I believe you've read on from there now so you know what it was all about.

As for the potential drunken snog, well I will just refresh your memory as to the existence of Sobering Solution, so it may not have been as drunken as you're thinking. However, the timing for The Snog happening then wasn't right, so it didn't.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by ochalke5 

11th January 2010:
WHAT? NEXT CHAPTER!!!
10/10
natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie! Thanks for the review!

Ah, yes, this was a cliffy, wasn't it? The new girlfriend. I quite liked that ending, though it did inspire the sort of reaction that you had. At least you have the luxury of going straight to the next chapter rather than sitting on that ending for a week. *evil grin* Glad you liked it though!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by nextgenoration 

7th January 2010:
Dear, dear, dear.

Sirius can really bother the lights out of me sometimes. He is so immature, the whole time I'm reading from about the beginning of seventh year until here, I have been bothered by him. Why can't he just make it sodden CLEAR that he his feelings for Laura? I mean, let's face it, there's no way Laura is going to believe he's interested until he... hmm, I don't know, he TELLS HER! He needs to stop being so shy around her and just try and get things going.

Alright. Rant over. That was sort of my thoughts of him for the past few chapters congealed together. I think that proves now that you write the most wonderful chapters imaginable, if I got that much emotion out of it. You're too brilliant. ;)

I also got a bit intimidated when Remus there was being so harsh to Laura. He came across as almost defensive, which got a reaction out of me. He's always been a favourite of mine - especially in this fic - and it's interesting to see this rather defensive side of him. And it really fits with the character JKR made for us, doesn't it? I remember - particularly in the Half Blood Prince - how he sometimes had a more defensive side. The conversation between Harry and Remus in the HBP about Remus's staying with werewolves was sort of rough. I certainly felt some strong emotions there, as I did when he sort of told Laura off for suggesting she knew what Sirius would regret, come morning.

I'm also interested in how this fic will end... do you plan on sticking strictly to canon? Because if so, how could Laura end up with Sirius? And Lily and James... oh no, I will definitely cry at the part I foresee coming...! Unless you plan on killing off Laura, (which you better not do, mel! I'm warning you!! >:o) how are you going to end the story? Just a thought, even if you killed off Laura, Sirius would probably be really torn up over it...

Oh dear, here I go, over evaluating things again! Don't feel the need to answer my hypothetical questions. :)

Another beautifully written chapter that has honestly made me sit here and review the lights out of this chapter for about half an hour. :D But don't fret, these things make me happy! *beams*

On to the next chapter!

-NGseries
Cheers!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Wow, that's a review and a half. Thank you! *beams* And I think I can say very safely that Sirius has been annoying a lot of people, both in the story and outside it. As has Laura,for that matter - she hasn't yet learned that denial is not only a river in Egypt.

I'm glad you like my take on Remus - he's been a tricky one to get right so to have you saying that is wonderful. As for the ending, well I assume you don't honestly expect me to tell you that. I will say though that the epilogue has been written for several months now and I'm not changing it, so once we get to that point you'll see how everything gets tied up. But yes, I'm sticking strictly to canon. The idea was to have a story that could slot in to what we do know about that era without too much difficulty, so I need to have it compliant with the HP books.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
Well, she's an idiot for not taking that chance. You say to hell with it, down a shot, and snog him. You may regret but at least it happened. And you never know what could happen. Aghh, and he's been driving her upside the wall for who knows how long now, this isn't going to help. And I LOVE the huge outings where you just end up with the person that you like, haha. Those're my favorite momentss and I understand her intimidation, it happens, unfortunately...

Author's Response: You know, I did write that birthday scene as though she'd said yes, and it turned out really sweet. But it was never going to happen so it was just a bit of self indulgence on my part I think.

As for Hogsmeade, well do you honestly think it was coincidence that got them sitting together like that? No, it was Sirius. (And Charlotte.) Laura was just making the most of things - until she got intimated. Like you said, it does happen.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by StudentGardener 

3rd December 2009:
Oh. My. Gosh.

Okay, so I'm a new reader and I just spent the ENTIRE past few days in front of my computer absolutely AGOG. Everything else in my life is suffering from neglect. I am currently suffering from Harry Potter withdrawal (once again... my life is just not the same since Deathly Hallows was released) and I have turned to fanfic to ease the gaping hole in my being. Some of the stuff I've read was... alright, addicting if a bit shallow. CONGRATULATIONS on having
a) A slow, steady but addictive story - no rushing unbelievably fast into different scenarios
b) Well-rounded, believable characters
c) A great writing style - engrosing and, more importantly (at least to me, the Grammar Nazi), SPELLED AND PUNCTUATED CORRECTLY! Nothing turns me off a story more than bad grammar...

So yes, well done!!! The reason why I am writing this review in this chapter and not your latest one (eeek!!! Yule Ball!!! FINALLY!) is because I have a question about this chapter and I thought I'd kill the proverbial two birds with one stone. I've read through this chapter twice now looking for the rugby reference but I just can't find it! I'm a Kiwi, and if I can't spot a simple rugby reference then there is something seriously wrong with me.

I LOVE YOU! KEEP UPDATING!!! Even though I know you probably won't update for another week I can't help but check back daily, hoping against hope that you've put something new up... Yes, I have no life. It's the holidays, what can I say.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I love getting reviews from new people .. actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean.

I'll answer your question first ... the rugby reference is in the Quivering Wreck count. I'm not sure when exactly it is but the quote is something like "this had to be a try for Quivering Wreck at the very least, and probably a conversion as well". So rugby as such is not mentioned, but since Laura is a rugby buff I thought the scoring would be ingrained in her psyche. And then I thought that some people would be scratching their heads at that line so I put the author note in.

Anyway. So pleased that you like my story so much! And even more pleased you found no spelling or punctuation errors - both my parents were teachers so i might be in trouble if there were. I too get frustrated by stories with bad grammar.

Oh, if you're on Twitter I post on there when I update. I don't think we're allowed to give out user names but if you search for the story title you'll find me. Next chapter will be up mid next week sometime anyway.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Fairytale12 

16th November 2009:
You just couldn't make it easy, could you? Now Sirius went and got himself another girlfriend. I understand he's probably lonely and upset that Laura isn't giving him any responses, but come on. I hope that gets cleared up soon. I am a bit mad at you for adding this element into the story, but every time you throw another wrench in it I just have to remember that it will make it so much better when they finally do get together. Oh, and I'm glad Laura didn't kiss Sirius while he was drunk, it just wouldn't have been the same. Great writing as usual! Thank you!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

Don't worry, you're not the only person who reacted like that. I think I was a very unpopular person for about a week there, and I had to check Sirius into the hospital wing for a little while so he could recover from all the hexes, curses and Howlers sent his way, and be cured in time for the next chapter. However, I've see that you now know what it was about so I assume I'm forgiven. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by JeanSyrotS 

11th November 2009:
What!!! totally a cliffy!
oh c'mon, UpDatE! UpDaTe!
lol, I am so entirely hooked on your story it's driving me bonkers! lol...

so thank you, dearest author in common, for brightening up my oh so tedious life of midterms and quizes. (and I bow, hats off.)

Seriously though, I really enjoy view and take of Sirius' character. So in depth of how he is but from someone else perspective...(I stuggle with that style but your writing is very clean)
I really enjoy coming across stories like yours that can keep me coming back, and that allow me to create fanfic off of fanfic -in my mind alone of coarse-those nights at 11 pm when I can't fall asleep.

:D...

thankyou,
your avid reader...

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

You will be pleased to know that this story will be updated within 24 hours, so you'll find out what happens after the cliffy soon enough. I'm not so cruel as to leave people waiting too long! *grins*

I'm really pleased that you like my version of Sirius, as there are so many different versions out there. This was just how I saw him from what we have from JKR, so to have people appreciate that is just fantastic. *beams*

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by hp4eva786 

11th November 2009:
oh my god, i love your story, truly addicting as i only started this last night, please update asap, cant wait to find out what happens next

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean. :D

You're in luck because you read this just before the next chapter was due to be posted. It should be up within 24 hours and probably sooner, depending on when I get enough time online. Now I just have to hope that what I've written justifies all this anticipation!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Gabriella 

10th November 2009:
I'm a bit saddened by the whole Sirius other girl thing going on. I refuse to believe he doesn't have a thing for Laura by now. :( Brilliant story though! I'll give you that! ;)

Author's Response: Hi Gabriella! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... actually, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean. :D

My lips are sealed about the Sirius other girl thing. However, you are right, he definitely does have a thing for Laura by now. So now you can mull over that while you wait for the next chapter to come up - which should be in the next couple of days.

thanks, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>