Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by girly1393 

13th May 2011:
I hope everything works out for Lily.

Bravo to you.

 Report Review

Review #2, by spangles 

14th February 2010:
Oh poor Lily!! And poor Sirius, even though he's being stupid. But at the same time, he's not being stupid. Your protrayel of Sirius is amazing, he's my second favorite character in this lovely novel (the first being Peter, you make me love him) and I feel so bad for him but at the same time I wish he'd just get over it all. 10/10

Author's Response: I admit that I've gone a little overboard on the Sirius/emo thing - but I am not sure if it is REALLY overboard, or if it only seems that way because much of it is from Sirius's POV and you see so much more of him and his thoughts.

Either way, I do think he is haunted by his past and people treat him a certain way because of who he is (though Hogwarts sheltered him from that up until now), but I probably need to cool it a little bit, lol.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Casey 

27th January 2010:
It seems like James is the only one who can talk some sense into Sirius. I'm suprised with Sirius though, I always thought he would do anything and put up with everything in order to finish this war. I guess Moody affected him, and the death, in ways one cannot grasp.

Now Remus needs to readjust to normal life, I guess its another culture shock from going to one liftstyle to another. But I reckon having Lily, James, Peter and Sirius as friends probably help alot. I don't think I ever said so but Remus is extremely brave for going to the werewolf, alot braver than I would ever think he could be. You know, because everyone has their limits.

Poor Lily (Don't I say that alot?) I guess its sort of fate that she has James and her other friends. She would probably be homeless if she didn't.

Author's Response: You're right, James is the only one Sirius will listen to. I was thinking about JKR's "Snape's Worst Memory," when Harry got the impression James would only stop playing with his snitch for Sirius and nobody else. I tend to think Sirius would be the same way.

I can understand your surprise, given he's always seemed like a fairly heroic, skilled, motivated character. Personally, I think JAMES is the one who would stop at nothing to end the war. James is the one who HATES dark magic, as both Remus and Sirius told Harry. I tend to think Sirius is mostly in it because James is, and I think Sirius could be perfectly happy doing something else and ignoring the war altogether, so long as James was around. They're both purebloods after all; he knows they'd be fine.

So that was my reasoning for Sirius walking out - I don't think he was so into it in the first place, and yeah, Moody pushed him over the edge a bit. To be honest, though, I think you could go both ways with Sirius, and I think your thoughts on how he'd put up with anything could be accurate, too. I think the situation would just depend on how Sirius's character is depicted in the story, and in this one... well, I told you my thoughts :)

Culture shock indeed. I think Remus is brave also - not only to be staying potentially dangerous werewolves, but to face his own fear and dislike of his condition right in the face like that - to have to embrace it just to survive in the wild with the pack.

Things have a way of working themselves out (real life, not just in the story). If Lily didn't have James, I'm sure she'd have found another way to survive. If anything, I doubt Dumbledore would allow her to be homeless. But yeah, considering the story and all that happens, perhaps its fate :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lizzie 

3rd November 2009:
God I feel so sorry for Lily. The poor girl has had so many problems and now she has to worry about finding money for an apartment. I really hope everything is alright with her and everything works out.

And Sirius, tsk tsk tsk, I bloody hope he goes back to the Order, well we know he will but I hope it is soon. Poor boy has been through so much with his family and Moody, almost like Lily, I guess it was too much in the end.

It was a lovely chapter. I would write more but I have to go and do some things. I am so glad there is another chapter for me to read. Haha. So addicted to this story, it seems so realistic.

Author's Response: Hey Lizzie!

LOL I felt bad for Lily too. It has to be a stressful situation. One of those tiny things that you never thought of, that's overshadowed by the death of a loved one, but then when it comes to light it's a really big problem.

You'll find out about Sirius and how soon it is, but yeah, he goes back XD It really was too much for him, I kind of think he has a short temper anyway, so it wouldn't have taken much.

Thanks for reading, I missed seeing you around. I'm extremely pleased you find it realistic, it's kind of what I'm going for here.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Sb 

30th October 2009:
AH! Why'd you end it there? (I accept that I might be over reacting a wee bit since it wasn't exactly a cliffhanger or anything but stil)
LOVE your story! Pure awesom-ness! Aodate as soon as you can please! Can't wait! =D

Author's Response: Well it was getting a little long! Had to end sometime! Thanks so much for enjoying the story. I'm working on this story next month for NanoWrimo, so I plan to write the next chapter (and hopefully post it) on November 1st. As most of my chapters are at least 5k words, I expect to have around 10 chapters posted just in November :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Fairytale12 

26th October 2009:
Wow, what an amazing story you have going here. I haven't reviwed any other chapters yet because I've been so busy reading all 25 chapters in the past week. I just wanted to let you know how amazing this story is so far. I love the way you focus on the relationships between the Marauders and show the real difficulties they have to face. It seems like you really show the emotional bonds between all of them, and how they each relate to each other in certain ways. In addition to this the plotline is wonderful, it really keeps me interested in the story, always wanting to now what's coming next. I like that you have the romance between Lily and James as well. It's almost a subplot to the rest of the story but you have a way of making it important and sweet without taking over the story. Really what I'm saying is that you are an amzing author and I eagerly await more!

Author's Response: Hi Fairytale, I can't believe you've already caught up on all 25 chapters! they aren't short! I don't blame you for not stopping to review! And I'm really glad you like the story.

I think the relationship between the Marauders is a really important thing. Those relationships are what lead to things turning out the way they did with Peter. Those relationships are what brought Sirius and Remus into Harry's life later on. Plus, JKR gave us such a good background on their friendship that it's so much fun to write something so great.

I'm thrilled you like the plotline. I'm mostly just going off of the vague info given by JKR on what happened. Most of it is me throwing in a battle here and there, and it's been tough so far! As for L/J romance, I am not much of a romance writer. I wanted to include some of it because I want this story to have a balance of everything, and obviously L/J starting their own family plays a big part in the Marauders' story. So I'm glad you fight it subtle and important all at once :D

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I plan to update a TON in November for NaNoWriMo, so check back on the 1st! Until then, I'm not writing anything just so I can be ready and excited for it.


 Report Review

Review #7, by auror_snape 

24th October 2009:
I know it makes it more lifelike that the war is getting to Sirius now, and he's started smoking, but I still don't like the fact that he's smoking. I hope he quits soon.

I'm glad Remus is back, and I'm sure Lily will think of something. Maybe James can help out. They are engaged, after all. Or am I thinking of a different story? I can get so confused sometimes.

Author's Response: I get a lof of people who are off and on about that smoking thing. I don't know, I personally think it's kind of realistic. Lots and lots of stress there, and they are all still quite young, at an age where a lot of people do that sort of thing anyway. Not that it's good, but realism is what I'm going for here.

It's so nice to have Remus back! I missed writing him around his friends. You are thinking of a different story - James and Lily aren't engaged yet here - but regardless, you are on the right track.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Confused Fly 

22nd October 2009:
Aww.. poor Lucy. She's so sweet. And it's slightly uncomfortable for Lily .. But maybe she'll go live with James. Or find a job? If she has time for that, with the Order and all, of course.
I love Sirius. It must be really hard for him. And he's feeling alone! Oh God, I hope he goes back to his usual cockiness and finds himself a girlfriend.
And Lily and James making out. Hm. Can't they get a room or something?
So, I like this fiction very much! It's very realistic. :)
Update soon!

P.S. I think most people get information about Lily in other fictions, like I do. You know, you read some stories and find out what facts are repeating themselves and you get used to idea of them. Of course, not all fics are identical, so you can pick out some things and think to yourself that Lily is like that. So basically, you can choose what things you believe she's like and - bam! That's Lily to you!
Sorry if this review is a 'bit' messy but I'm don't know English that well and didn't quite know how to say what I wanted to say. Yeah, so .. hmmm. Bye! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Lucy. As one of my few OC's, it's nice to hear somebody thinks she's sweet :D It's definitely an uncomfortable and embarrassing situation for Lily. She won't be finding a job simply because I don't recall canon ever saying she had one.

I love Sirius too! It's probably why I put him through such horrid things. Because it's fun to see how I can make him react. I think he has a short temper lol. Nope, no girlfriend for him. I never wanted to write that - I want to write the war. But he will perk up without one :)

For some reason, I am occasionally told my characterisation of Lily is wrong. I dont get that, considering she's never really been written by JKR. So yes, I agree with you.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumor 

20th October 2009:
Yes! A new chapter! I've been waiting forever, it seems like!
It's wonderful. Sirius' doubts, Remus' return, and now Lily's problem... aah!
I hope Lily moves in with James. I'm really looking forward to him popping the question.
I just realized something... In the third book, Harry stops Remus and Sirius from killing Peter because he "doesn't want them to become murderers". God. That must have been hard for Sirius. I wonder, though... will Remus ever have to kill anyone?
I really can't wait for the next chapter to come out. Really. This probably my favorite story on this site.

Author's Response: It has been forever indeed! nearly 2 months, I believe. I'm sorry! I had such a hard time with this one, both with the content and with buckling down to actually get it done.

I'm glad, after all this chapter has been through, that you liked it :D Especially since its so much dialogue, sometimes chapters like this don't go over very well. I originally had plans for the wedding to be happening very quickly after this incident, but I am thinking I might push it back a little now.

I think it is so fun to try to think of certain things that happened in the books and see if I can get them to match up with what I'm writing. Or try to think of what went through his mind when Harry said some things. I don't know if I'll have Remus killing anyone or not. I've been back and forth on that for all of them. It's a war, it wouldn't be uncommon if he did. It wouldn't make him a bad person. But can we really picture Remus killing? I don't know.

Next chapter, hopefully November 1st :) I've decided to write 50k on this story for NaNoWrimo.


 Report Review

Review #10, by pennyardelle 

20th October 2009:
Ever since you won the Dobby (I love Marauders so I just HAD to check out the winner in that category), I've been reading this story and waiting for the next chapter--and I felt so guilty about never reviewing! But sometimes I read a story and I just don't even know what to say, because it's so good. It's not really fair to you though, so I'm finally getting down to it!

This story is excellent for so many reasons, the first of which being that it sticks to canon in every possible instance. I can tell that you've paid a lot of attention to that, which makes it really enjoyable to read. That's the wonderful thing about Harry Potter in general, I think: you're being guided through this fully-structured world where the author knows everything. So that kind of confidence (accompanied with actual mastery, of course) is what separates a great story from a good one, in my opinion.

And this story has a sort of gritty quality to it that's so poignant and real; it reaches out and gets across how hard things must have been for all of them. I think that's one thing that most Marauders stories are sadly lacking: an acknowledgment that they were living in the middle of an awful war. Of course, you don't want to over-dramatize it, and you have done a fantastic, brilliant, stupendous job of making it subtle and nuanced but still incredibly powerful.

Well, I'm not sure if that did all my thoughts justice, but I'll be back with more reviews for future chapters (which will hopefully come soon)!

Author's Response: Hi Penny! Winning that Dobby award has been a godsend... the number of reads has gone up by about 10,000 in what, a little over a month? And the reviews and favourites has skyrocketed. I think a lot of people started reading it after that :) But I know what you mean about not reviewing. Sometimes its overwhelming and nothing you say seems like enough. Or sometimes its not a good story at all and you just dont want to be rude lol. I'm glad you came to review, I really do enjoy reading them and I check all the time for them!

For some reason, it just bothers me if its not canon. I don't know why... I just feel its not a proper fanfiction if it doesnt even abide by the rules JKR gave us. I always love it when somebody can appreciate that its canon. It is so much work and thought involved in keeping it this way and I don't think people realise that. The smallest mistake can ruin an entire timeline/plot. But it is all worth it and so much fun to try to bring in those tiny things JKR mentioned that never amounted to anything (Like Crouch allowing the use of Unforgiveables).

My hope for this story has always been that it is realistic, and that, even though the situation is kind of... well, fictional, obviously, that people can still relate to them, that they can still think about things, for instance, reacting out of passion which Sirius has been doing the last 2 chapters. Or stopping to think why somebody is the way they are, as James's father just gave food for thought on Moody. I always hope that people can relate it to real life situations and think, Hey, this story actually MEANS something.

If people can relate to that, then I think it becomes easy to understand how hard it all was, and how frightening :) I'm glad you found it well done. On the one hand, I don't want it to be nothing but descriptions on how scary, and on the other I don't want to completely ignore it...

Anyway, I went off on a rant there :) Thank you for the review. I plan on putting my efforts for NaNoWriMo into this. So instead of starting a new novel in November, I'm going to try to do 50k on this one. So very shortly, expect a cascade of updates.


 Report Review

Review #11, by angahith 

20th October 2009:
YAY I was so excited when this was updated, I have been checking every day and I absolutely loved it to pieces.

I had never pegged Sirius as being a coward who would not go to meetings simply because of Moody. I would have thought he would be used to this reaction and just go with it and pretend like everything was okay. That being said the boy has been through alot and its not surprising that cracks are beginning to show.

And Remus! Ah I am so glad he's back and out of trouble now. I really missed him interacting with his friends like usual.

And poor poor poor Lily. I feel so bloody sorry for her and everything she is going through. Its so unfair when stuff like this happens and everything goes downhill. But there is something so real and human about her situation which makes it seem to real to me. Things like this happen all the time and I just feel so sorry for her.

Wonderful chapter! I loved it so much, can't wait for the next. :D

Author's Response: Sorry I kept you waiting so long! Being a chapter full of so much dialogue, I had some difficulties with it. Normally I do better with a mixture of things.

I don't think walking out makes Sirius a coward, personally. I just think he has a short temper and he's at his wits end. I figure it must have been extremely stressful and scary to be fighting in a war. Even the bravest of people has a breaking point, and I think Sirius has met his. He's not as noble or heroic as James is. James really wants to do this, and I think Sirius is mostly just doing it to be with James. Obviously he has good intentions too, but I think that's they way I've implied it so far. So yeah, Sirius is a bit weaker there, but now that he's reached rock bottom with it, it should go a bit better for him until Regulus dies.

I missed him too! You have no idea how hard it was to keep Remus away (which is why I ended up bringing him back for a couple chapters).

I agree, poor Lily. It's definitely a realistic situation that I'm sure a lot of people find themselves in. Not being able to pay rent, and the awkward conversation afterwards. I try to keep some real life struggles in as well, aside from just the war, and I'm glad that it was this that spoke to you.

I don't know when I'll update again - I do plan on 50k for this story for nanowrimo, I won't be starting another one. So I might just wait until November 1st.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Moonylupin 

19th October 2009:
Yay! You updated! I would've done a happy dance when I saw this, but there were people around.

You know, I never even thought about Sirius quitting the Order, even for a short amount of time. That could definitely be a thing that would plant seeds of doubt in Remus's (and Dumbledore, now that I think of it) mind about Sirius. I can see where Sirius is coming from, though I don't agree that he quit. He was trying to do what he believed in and Moody just wouldn't hear any of it and Sirius has hardly ever been appreciated by authority figures. It has to hit him the hardest. And back to smoking the gillyweed... shame on him

Remus is home!!! YAY! It really does have to feel strange, being away for so long and then to finally go home and know that you're going to get to stay there. Poor Remus, he needs a bath. That has to be awkward... walk into your own home and there are two of your best friends snogging in the living room. I can just picture Remus standing in, looking around awkwardly like 'What do I do now?' At least they noticed he was there. I liked Remus's worry when he kept thinking of who was missing from the group in the flat like Sirius and Peter and James and Lily reassuring him they were okay. I liked the conversation they had. Was that what you were having a tough time writing? If it was, it came out well. It is a lot of information to digest, but they've been apart so long, so it's to be expected.

I liked the little visit to James's house, especially how Sirius noted how he was actually greeted when he entered a room. I hope Sirius will go back to the Order soon. Ooh poor Lily. I know where her roommate is coming from, trying to be a good friend but needing to get by. Lily will find out a solution, hopefully! Excellent chapter, can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: It only took me like.. forever. haha! You should have happy danced anyway, they probably would have liked it :D

I hadn't thought of him quitting the Order either, honestly. But you know how sometimes you're writing along, all going according to plan, and suddenly something just HAPPENS that you hadn't planned for, but it works really well? Well. Sirius just got up and walked out on me, and I just sat there and let him because I liked it. I agree with you, though, about the seed of doubt. I'm also hoping that Remus's troubles with adjusting back into his usual routine can also plant some seeds for the future.

Anyway, I think we all know by now that (at least in this story, though I personally think it's canon) Sirius acts out of passion. So I guess he couldn't help but quit when it got to be too much. You know he'll be back soon, and I'm glad you can understand his side of it.

I forgot that I had them snogging when he walked in. This is.. sort of where I had a hard time. I wrote the first two sections back in August in a word race. Naturally, since I raced through it, I wasn't super pleased with it, and I was disappointed enough that it kept me from going back to edit it to oblivion. After that, I had plans for Lily's situation, and that was it. Nothing else, and I just wasn't happy. So yeah, even though this part has been written for a very long time now, it is part of the reason it took me so long to update.

Turns out it wasn't so bad after all, though. I made very little changes to it today before posting, so I guess I just needed to step back for a while before dealing with it. And then when I was responding to your comment on my site, I had the idea for tea at the Potters, which I think worked out great.

It's definitely a lot of information/talking to get caught up on, and part of the struggle was worry about boring my readers with things they already knew, but Remus didn't. I'm glad you found it to be okay :)

And poor Lucy. I am happy you understand! She is my only OC aside from the werewolves, and while she has no huge role, I don't want people to hate her for putting Lily out. Sometimes you have no choice.


 Report Review

Review #13, by lunahermione181 

19th October 2009:
YES!!! You updated!! Finally! This is a great chapter. Keep writing and update soon!

Author's Response: lol yeah, finally. Sorry it took so long. As you can see, this chapter is full of nothing but conversation... which makes for tough writing. I have a hard time with straight dialogue and not much else happening.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review