Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
I was really glad Sirius made an appearance in this chapter even though it was summer, because I love the scenes with the two of them. And Sirius, a little bit. Maybe ;) I'd actually forgotten about the fact that Laura had agreed to wait till Mary was of age to take the Apparition test, but it's great that they both passed. And that she passed her Muggle driving test, too - I dread to think what the Marauders would be like if she actually did try and teach them to drive. I think that dangerous would probably be the best adjective to describe that concept.

The wedding was a nice interlude to read and to see some more of Laura's family and another appearance from Bea. It made made me laugh how much Laura had to coach her sister on how to behave properly as a bridesmaid at the wedding though - a year out of school and the younger sister is still sorting out problems caused by the elder :P Then it was great to see another Diagon Alley trip as well, with the girls again - I'm really glad Laura and Mary got included more and more with the other three so that all five are now friends. And I'm looking forward to see what it's like when Lily finds out that James is the Head Boy!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yep, Bea is still completely clueless. She's so much fun to write, to be honest, that it was a shame her role in the story was so small. Significant, but small. Sigh. And yes, we had to see Sirius over the summer. AFter all, even I needed to have my fix! *giggles like a schoolgirl*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

1st January 2013:
Great job! I love the girls friendship. This story is really freaking awesome:-D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! That makes my day. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
I think lily knows sirius likes laura 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Yeah, Lily's pretty clued in. I like her that way.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by classicblack 

22nd October 2011:
'Star Wars' referance- nice! I like your description of Diagon Alley. It was also sort of weird to have all these couples breaking up; making room for the new ones to come I suppose. Lily probably did figure it out, and I also can't wait to read about how she reacts to James being Head Boy. Nice job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Hi again! And I"m sorry it's taking me so long to respond to these - life is a bit hectic at the moment, unfortunately. But better late than never, right? :)

Anyway. This chapter. There were really only two breakups, right? And both of those were between one person who had now left school and one who was still attending, which would have made things fairly tricky. I didn't think it was a big deal, especially as they weren't hugely close relationships anyway, but maybe it does read that way. I'll have a think about it. :)

As for Lily, yeah, she's pretty cluey. And that's all I'm saying there. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne 

13th August 2011:
I really enjoy how you're getting her to drive as well, andhow she saw Star Wars! totally love that film!
Uh-Oh! why do I thinik that teaching them how to drive would be a disaster?
The talk about death eaters has made me realise that most of the ones they mentioned, if not all of them, were in Slytherin. There's got to have been more from other houses at some point apart from Peter in the future? mmm *ponders* got me thinking.
That would be scary having that many death eaters around, I'm glad they're all gone together.
Overall a good filler chapter :-D

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, Laura was always going to learn how to drive. if nothing else it was a way for her mum to stay involved in her life, which was getting more and more difficult for her. And Laura recognised it as a useful skill - all the more so if Sirius wanted to learn it from her, right? :)

I agree that there had to be some DEs who werent' in Slytherin, aside from Peter Pettigrew and Barty Crouch (whose house we don't know but it's assumed it wasn't Slytherin). The ones mentioned, though, either we do know their house or it was implied they were in Slytherin, and of course most HP fans fall back on Hagrid's generalisation - "wasn't a wizard who went bad who wasn't in Slytherin" or words to that effect, which of course has an impact on our thinking about the whole thing.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

8th August 2011:
This was a long chapter! But I particularly love what you've managed to fit into it, I'm always interested into how the summer holidays are spent by characters and once again, Laura proves to be a most brilliant narrator for your story, particularly as she proves time and time again to have some of the greatest insights into the character surrounding her, and I love how you've highlighted James and Sirius' fascination with Muggle driving, it was very much in character for the both of them, and in particular oh so Sirius as we know from his love of motorcycles.

I think what I love even more than this is how you set the world around them up, and the darkness which surrounds them during this time. I think we sometimes forget that it was not only Harry's generation that lived through such dark times as Voldemort rose to power, but his parents as well, and you capture that so well by creating an equally as dangerous and dark atmosphere which surrounds these characters, despite some of the lighter moments the characters share. I love how you create this so perfectly particularly in the rules forced upon the girls due to the current danger, it makes it clear how bad things have truly gotten in the outside world when they usually seem so safe and locked away from it at Hogwarts, despite hearing of the deaths and witnessing and fending off the Dementor attack.

Another brilliant chapter!
- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Yeah it was a long chapter, but I couldn't really cut it because of how the next chapter flowed. But, I'm glad you liked it, because it did cover a fair bit. The driving lessons thing I was very pleased with when it first occurred to me, because as you said it did seem very much like James and Sirius to want to know how to do that. :)

Equally, I thought that the chapters away from Hogwarts really did have to cover the war and how it was affecting people. I think I've said it before but I get pretty annoyed when people ignore the war in Marauder fics because, if it wasn't a huge thing, then why would they all have joined the Order straight out of school? So I tried to show that here. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
Everyone but Laura sees it now! Or well, at least Lily sees it.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, Lily sees it. But not any of the other girls, not at this stage. They're too caught up on the history of the group (and therefore the impossibility of the match) to see what's right under their noses. Unfortunately, it happens more than you'd think.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by theelderwand 

21st August 2010:
Some filler, sure, but there's important stuff in there. Nonetheleast was making it clear that Sirius opening up to Laura is such a big deal.

While I'm sure the other Marauders know whats going on, it seems the girls (save Mary) don't. But Lily is quickly figuring it out. the sooner the better because its going to take everyone pushing to get L/S together, just the same as its taken everyone to get J/L together - different situations, but same problem.

Haven't mentioned it in a while, but the writing is tight, gramatical and all around great.

Eldy

Author's Response: You're right in that the boys know the score (or at least that it goes one way) but the girls are clueless, save Mary of course. Lily's figured it out but Martha and Charlotte, like Laura, just haven't even considered it as a possibility yet and so are missing all the signs.

And yes, Sirius opening up to anyone is a bit of a big deal I think - I suspect he was very private in his own way and letting anyone in was significant, even if the person themselves didn't realise it. She does get it later on though, don't worry. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Well, I liked it (that's in response to your AN)! In particular, the description of passing first the driving test, and then the apparition test, was brilliant. As this story has quite a "journey/coming of age" feel to it, this bit was really spot on - covering the emotions that go with this perfectly.

And yay - despite being set in the holidays, you still allowed us a little Sirius/Laura time. You are good to us readers! Another little development, another person beginning to clue in. Eventually they'll be as bad as Lily and James, with everything in place bar the actual relationship!

Really promised myself I'd go to bed now, but...

Author's Response: Hi again!

Well, I must have got the driving test vaguely right because you didn't pick me up on anything, so thanks for that! There is only so far that internet research will take you, after all. :D

And yes, I just had to throw Sirius in there, just to torture them both a little bit more. Cruel, aren't I? *evil grin* And yes, Lily has worked it out. What she does with that knowledge, though, remains to be seen. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
they both like each other and lily knows!!!

Author's Response: Guilty as charged. And Lily finds the whole thing hilarious. But there is still some time before even Lily thinks about forcing her hand - she prefers to let things take their course.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Schnatz 

16th June 2010:
Hey Mel,

I've only a shorter review today. Don't worry not because this chapter was a little bit fillerish or so but I have to hurry because I also have to study a lot today *groan* I would a lot better reading all day your story than studying something like medieval studies. oh, I'm so not a Ravenclaw! ;D

The last two chapters were great. I loved how you discribe Laura's everyday life at home ... and I was pleased that Bea appeared. I've missed her in some way.
Well, everything fits so perefectly ... the drivers licence, the apparition licence, meeting James and Sirius, Lily's letter, the talk with Bea and the others, the second time in - oh, I'm sorry I can't perceive the English name for the street they buy all their school things, in German it's called Winkelgasse. Yes, just perfect.

Also the exam-chapter was brilliant. I've loved the short talk to James and then, of course, the talk with Sirius where he told her that Alphard had died. I'm so sad about that! :(

Also there are so much little details in your story which make me smile very often only because it reminds me of being 11 and wishing that a letter from Hogwarts is bringing or of being 16/17/18 and thinking exactly like Laura or the other girls. I love this details as I love your whole story.

I'll read and review again as soon as possible,
till then, Schnatz

P.S.: Now it's not such a short review as I expected *lol*

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

And yes, not quite as short as perhaps you thought, but I don't mind. I love long reviews - more to appreciate :D

Anyway. You're not the only person who was pleased that Bea made a reappearance, which makes me pleased because it means that people are getting attached to my characters, even the minor ones. Bea's character gold in a lot of ways but she becomes less and less relevant to Laura's life so she does drop out of the story a bit. And I'm glad you liked the summer holidays chapter, with the trip to Diagon Alley (that was the name you were trying to think of, no?) and bumping into Sirius at the Ministry and all that. And the exam chapter - well I'm very pleased you liked that one because again I had some criticism that it was TOO filler-ish. Then again, having a shirtless Sirius at the end there seemed to atone for most of the sins of the rest of the chapter so maybe I shouldn't be too worried. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by always_dreaming 

25th March 2010:
good chapter! i don't have much to say. i was disappointed by the lack of sirius/laura action :P ha but a nice summer chapter, nonetheless

Author's Response: Hi again!

yes, not much Sirius in this one but at least he did pop up that one time. I'm still not all that happy with this chapter but people seemed to like it so I haven't gone back to edit. I do promise more Sirius in the chapters to come though so don't despair :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by ochalke5 

10th January 2010:
It was good. I think though that lily has caught onto the Sirius/Laure thing. I cannot wait to see what happens back at school!!! GReat chapter!
10/10
natalie

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, Lily has worked it out. She's pretty cluey about this sort of thing,and I needed someone who knew where things stood! *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
Mhmmm.. I love holidays.. like the one I'm on right now. It just feels sooo good and relaxing to know you don't have anything to do. It's great. Haha. I can't wait for the summer... SO MUCH TIME. I can't wait. I love that they can apparate and that Laura can now drive as well. Woo, go driving! And aw, that's cute that she was the only one to know about Sirius getting an apartment and all. Hehe. Just goes to show how open he lets himself be in front of Laura. God, they need to get together.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, they need to get together. They're frustrating a lot of people, both on page and off. But the thing is that I have a very strict story plan so The Snog had to happen at a certain time. Which you've now read, so you know when that is, haha. This chapter felt a lot like filler to me but there were a few things in there that are referred to later on (driving lessons, for example) so I had to include them, and this was how it ended up.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Me Thinks you rock 

28th October 2009:
Oh no, only two more chapters.D; great story so far...still... and most likely one of my top favorites EVER created in the history of fan-fiction. Its a great read, thanks.

Author's Response: Hi again! Wow, you have made it a long way, that's quite a marathon reading effort. :D I'm so pleased that you're enjoying it, it means that I must be doing something right which is very gratifying. After all, I still see this as a little story idea that I had, so to have so many other people like it is just so rewarding. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by marauder fanatic 

17th October 2009:
Cute chapter!~
Yes, it was most definitely a filler, but we NEED fillers!
Every story needs fillers, so, oh well, and it was written very well. There was a lot of dialogue which is good and needed in a filler because it keeps the story going faster...I loved how you incorporated Star Wars! I squealed a little when I glanced over that! I'm like, HAZZAHHH! It totally is the year 1977. That was brilliant! Jinkies, you sure you're not some expert historian? It's incredible how you take everything into THOUGHT! There are absolutely no plot holes or errors in your writing *watches in awe*.

LILY IS PICKING UP ON THINGS!
She's making it obvious, too. Or, at least, Laura's just intelligent lol and knows somethings going on in Lily's brain.

I loved how you incorporated the Malfoys too! : ) (I bet it's the actual year for them to be marrying but I didn't look into that.) Awesome job, I got all happy when Lucius was mentioned. Haha, the prick! xD

Anyway, another amazing chapter! Looking forward to more Sirius and I have this strange feeling about Lupin. Loony Loopy Lupin...

Author's Response: Hi Ana! Another lovely review, thank you! :D

Ah, I'm glad you picked up on Star Wars. I couldn't find a release date for the UK anywhere but it was out in the US by summer 1977 so I drew a bit of a straw to say the UK had it as well. But yeah, totally right for that time isn't it?

As for the Malfoys, well I have no idea when they got married, I don't think we have that info. But it seemed close enough :)

And Lily. Yes, she's picking up on things. I needed someone to work out how things stand! What she does about it, however (if anything), is another matter entirely.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by W@illa22 

17th October 2009:
i loved this! Please update soon. What's the net chapter about?

Willa

Author's Response: Hi Willa! Thanks for the review! :D

Ah, I'm saying nothing about what the next chapter is about except that there is a reference to "Hogwarts: A History". Sorry! However I'm about to upload it so you will be able to read it soon enough anyway. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Macey 

16th October 2009:
Selwyn...hmmm...isn't that the purebred family Umbridge said she was related to to Deathly Hallows? You know, sometimes I wish James/Lily and Sirius could have a happy ending (which I know they won't. But one can dream, right?) The main part of this story I love best is how accurate it is, and as I read I catch references from the HP books. I also love your title, how did you come up with it? Also, will Remus have a girlfriend in the near future (Charlotte?.)

Macey

Author's Response: Hi Macey!

Yes, the Selwyns are that family Umbridge referred to. One of them was also a Death Eater in Harry's flight to freedom at the start of DH, so I have used that name quite deliberately.

I'm very pleased that you appreciate how authentic I tried to make this fic. The idea was that it would be a story that fit within the canon that we do have without needing any (or at least too much) tweaking, so it's great that you have picked up on that. Thank you!

As for the title, well I'm thrilled that you love it but I'm afraid that makes one of us. I think it's pretty lame, to tell the truth. It's based loosely on a Marilyn Monroe film called How to Marry a Millionaire but really I chose it because when I started loading up this story and realised I didn't have an overall title, it was the first thing I thought of so I thought it would do for starters. And now it's feeling like it's too late to change it even if I do come up with something better.

And Remus? My lips are sealed. Sorry!

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by JennyMc 

15th October 2009:
Even though it was "filler-ish", I enjoyed it.
I feel that it's an important chapter. Lily's figuring things out, it seems. :)
Wonderful.

Author's Response: Hi Jenny! Thanks for reviewing again!

Yes, Lily is figuring things out - someone had to! And yes, there are some important things in this chapter, but there are important things in every chapter. That doesn't stop them from feeling like a filler sometimes though.

But thank you, I do appreciate your show of support. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

15th October 2009:
Is it me or does it seem that everyone around Laura and Sirius see what they are not seeing. ( with the exception of peter and mary.) Remus is cracking me up and the girls are so intune to this relationship it is almost comical. Wow now I have to wait for your next update. Please dont make me wait too long. Mel, This a AWESOME fanfic. One of the best I have read! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Ah, I think some people are interpreting everyone around them as being a little more perceptive than they are. At the moment I've got Lily who's worked it all out, and that's it - the boys know about one side but not the other (though as you guessed Remus has suspicions) but Martha and Charlotte aren't really paying much attention.

And wow, one of the best fanfics you've read?? That is so flattering! Thank you! *beams* You will be pleased to know then that the next chapter will probably be up Sunday or Monday, depending on when I get a chance to load it.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Devoted Potter Fan 

15th October 2009:
Another spectacular chapter!! Kudos on the length I absolutely love long chapters (especially if they are chapters from your story!) You are wonderfully talented and have me completely hooked on this story. I must say how you really made my day to find out that there are 20 more chapters! Any chance there are 30 more chapters? LOL I have read some of your reviews before I posted mine and I have to say that your reviews (the long ones) definitely sum up how I feel about your stories. I come home from work everyday and check to see if you have posted another chapter - hope hope!

Looking forward to the next installment! Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for another lovely review! :D

Hmmm - 30 more chapters? That may be pushing it. At the moment the total is between 55 and 60 - I may change chapter breaks between now and when I post them so I won't give a definite number, but there won't be any more than 60 I don't think. Sorry!

And wow, you check every day for updates? I'm so flattered. Though if you use Twitter I do post on there when I get a new chapter up so that may save you some time ...

Anyway, thank you so much for being so nice about me and my story! *beams* That really does make my day. And I can tell you that I am hoping to put up the next chapter either Sunday or Monday, depending on when my kids give me some me-time. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauders_girl11 

15th October 2009:
i don't think this one as a filler, loads happened- the wedding, the deatheaters, i'd forgotten about lily's mum for one thing, and then her dad. now lily and martha seem to know about sirius and laura, and diagon ally was a rather nice touch to the story. :)

i wonder why laura's parents didn't go though? too busy perhaps. it was a bit dangerous, a muggle watching over them, but then again, they are of age, are they not?

sorry it took me so long to review, i had to read this chapter in bits and pieces at a time, so much has been going on lately. again, sorry.

all for now!

upgrade soon,

-Nickole.

Author's Response: Hi Nickole! Thanks for the review!

It's funny what people see as fillers, isn't it? Because I saw this as a lot of filler. But if you didn't, then hey, I'm happy! :D

Laura's parents didn't go to Diagon Alley because, as she guessed, her dad didn't twig that Mr Evans was a muggle and so thought they'd have two adult and qualified wizards/witches looking after them. And yes, they do work full time so they were busy. With the war on both their jobs were requiring more of their time.

And yes, Lily at least is working it out. Martha isn't quite so clued in, though. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by nire 

15th October 2009:
Back!
Now first of all, before I even start reading I want to say Iím really looking forward to this one coz its like 6000 words! Yay! How exciting! Shouldnít be a detriment at all! Unfortunately this isnít going to be as huge as my other reviews, but hopefully you will let me off just this once :)

James found his voice first. ďLaura! Mary! What are you doing here?Ē
Oh yeah! And do you know what, I totally wasnít expecting it at all. I usually guess that type of thing! And also, when I read that bit about James first, it didnít even occur to me that Sirius would be with him. So it was a double whamy. Good one!

ďBoth passed, I see,Ē said Sirius, smiling as he raked his fingers through his hair distractedly. ďBut isnít that downstairs somewhere?Ē
Sirius getting a little anxious there? The ever charming, calm Sirius is feeling the heat. Well, I hope he is anyway.

Sirius was looking uncomfortable and changed the subject. ďHey, weíre about to head out for a bite to eat Ė did you want to join us?Ē
Oh poor Sirius. He just doesnít remember how to be his usual suave self when he is around Laura. He gets all embarrassed and uncomfortable! Actually its prob coz they are talking about his issue about living off someone else. I do understand his discomfort. I would feel bad after a while too.

Martha and Charlotte looked surprised and demanded more information, though through their questions I could hear Lily muttering something that sounded like, ďOf course he did.Ē
Hahah! Wow. Lily and James to figure it out first. They are the best couple ever. I donít know why anyone would diss them/think Lily could ever end up with someone else. They were totally meant to be. So perfectly in tune :D It makes me so happy to think about them. And then of course I get depressed when I think about how they died. Bloody hell. Here i go again.

Lily was looking at me shrewdly and I could almost see the cogs in her brain moving. I hoped ardently that she hadnít guessed my guilty little secret about Sirius: Lily was pretty cluey and I wasnít sure I liked the look on her face.
Deja vu. I seriously was brought back to the time when she thought James was figuring it out. As I said in the last comment, Lily and James are so meant to be and it makes me happy to see them both clued in. I bet she approaches Laura as well. :D

Ahhh yay! Nearly into seventh year! I canít wait til we get to see Sirius a far bit more. Is he going to be very involved in the coming chapters? Iím so keen to see how it all falls into place.
I also love how mature Sirius has become. Itís oddly satisfying. And is pretty alluring... him having his own place and all.

Canít wait for more. 10/10!

Author's Response: Hi again! Another lovely review. And no worries if it's not as long as usual :D

Glad I surprised you with that thing at the Ministry. And yeah, Sirius was a little nervous, as well as a bit self conscious because, as Mary pointed out later, he wasn't exactly dressed to impress.

And yes, Lily's figured it out. I needed to have someone do that! As to whether she confronts Laura ... well that remains to be seen. :D

I'm saying nothing about the coming chapters but I will say that I got TA Status! Yay! So I can post the next one whenever I like and it just goes straight up there. :D So that'll be on Sunday or Monday, depending on when I get some time.

Oh, and yes, his own place is pretty alluring, isn't it? And I'm glad you think he's grown up a bit, that was definitely the intention. Though he's still a bit of a scallywag as you will see. :D

thanks again, Mel :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by hamiltl 

15th October 2009:
Love love love it! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi hamiltl! Thanks for the review! It's so nice to have new people reviewing my story :D

I hope to post the next chapter either Sunday or Monday, depending on when my kids allow me some me-time on the computer. So it's only a few days away. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by mystic05 

15th October 2009:
i love long chapters!
and Lily is getting the vibe off of Laura and Sirius friendship
soon as her brain processes the info I think Lily will be in the know and start observing them both more
I loved the wedding and mostly her interaction with her family
lovely chapter as always

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Yes, Lily is working it out. I needed to have someone do that, after all.

And I'm very pleased you liked the wedding scenes, I did think about taking them out but (a) it would have required too many edits in future chapters, and (b) I just wanted to have Bea in there. We don't see much more of her and she's such a great character that I couldn't resist. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>