Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Moony_Lily 

27th April 2013:
I love your version of Sirius! How he's NOT chasing after everything with boobs that's an acceptable age. I get so tired of reading that Sirius over and over again! This story is pretty great thus far :) (Also koodos on how spectacular your grammar is. That's another thing that bugs me, is really bad grammar ;))

 Report Review

Review #2, by classicblack 

10th December 2011:
No. Nope. Nu-uh. James is not allowed to date Ursula Zimmerman. No, haha. Lily and James forever!
Ok so I just want to say that I really like how you portray the Marauders as a whole. Unlike a lot of fics I've read, you have Peter as an equal part in the group and Sirius isn't a total playboy. I like it- it's new and original. You've done a brilliant job describing the friendship overall, although sometimes I think Sirius and Peter are closer than James and Sirius...
Great chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Agh, I am taking forever to reply. I'm so sorry. School is the worst for sucking up all my time!

I'm glad you like the way I portray the Marauders. It's actually something I'm a bit self-conscious about! I don't think I have the wit to do them justice, but reviews like yours are very encouraging.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Noblevyne 

30th June 2011:
Love it again. The dialogue feels very smooth and natural and so do Lily's developing feelings. You're a really amazing writer, sorry I can't think of much more to say other than that - must. read. more!

Author's Response: Right, here I am, back to continue replying! :D It feels like I used to be able to do this much more quickly...I guess I'm getting the internet version of old, or something. :P

I'm glad you like the dialogue! I'm definitely one of those people who finds it much easier to write dialogue than description...I usually really have to force myself to stop for a moment and tell people what a scene looks like, and that kind of thing.

You don't have to worry about saying more--the fact that you're so eager to read more is a great compliment in itself! :D

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by doglover 

31st December 2010:
she found out! wonder how the party will be...

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad that you were still reading and enjoying, even if it's taken me forever to get back to you. :P Thanks so much for another review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by girly1393 

8th September 2010:
Seriously, Ursula? Oh, god, if she isn't desperate to go out with James, I don't know who is.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Ursula is quite forward, isn't she? She's very different from Lily in that regard, I suppose, which is maybe why it's so easy to know that she's not right for James. ;) I guess you have to give her some credit for having confidence, though!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Isannah 

15th June 2010:
Ha! That's what SHE thinks!
I liked this chapter too, but it there was a little repetition in the Ron/Hermione/Lavender triangle, don't you think?

Author's Response: Haha, yep, she's sadly a bit mistaken there, isn't she? ;)

This love triangle makes my skin crawl when I think about it--I've seriously considering removing it from the story completely, but haven't worked out how to tie together all the loose ends that would create. Anyway, I guess all love triangles are fairly similar, or at least stick to a few different patterns. It's one of those things that's considered a bit cliched, and I'm not confident that I wrote it well enough to take it out of the territory of being a really bad cliche. :P Anyway, thanks for your thoughts!


 Report Review

Review #7, by _hedwig_ 

23rd April 2010:
This is the best chapter yet--I love how you ended it!

Author's Response: Oh, I'm glad you enjoyed this one. :) I feel like this was around the time that I really started hitting my stride and getting a better sense of where I wanted to story to go...so perhaps that's what accounted for you enjoying it more than the others! Or, you know, a little bit of curses and careers and jealousy always does the trick. ;)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #8, by CaribouProngs 

18th April 2010:
This is officially the first fanfic I have ever read where the author remembered that the full moon lasts 2-3 days, not just one. FINALLY!

Author's Response: Oh, lucky me, I thought I had no new reviews left...and now I find you're still in the middle of reading and reviewing! :) Awesome!

I'm so glad you liked that, because...I have to admit, I'm not totally sure if a multiple-night full moon is aligned with canon. :/ I completely thought it made sense until I started to think more about comments made in the books, and now I'm kind of in this ambiguous mindset about it. It makes more sense to me to have more than one night (and I know it's that way in other stories involving werewolves), but at the same time, comments made by Remus in the books seem to indicate he only really transforms one night of the month. But I won't edit that part in the story, if only because you were so happy that I included it that way! :)

Thanks again! (And if you leave more reviews right after this, I may have to get to them tomorrow instead. I really appreciate it so much, though!)


 Report Review

Review #9, by allie_0608 

12th April 2010:
Lol, this is great. [:
Seems to promise a shouting match
is in order soon [;

Author's Response: Awesome; I'm so glad you're still enjoying it! Not so much of a shouting match occurred, I suppose, as you've read--my Lily and James tend to be very un-shouty, which might be unusual for them. :P Anyway, thanks for reviewing again!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Anna 

15th February 2010:
I love this chapter, I think it might be my favorite so far! I love how James has a date and Lily is sorta jealous! Great Job!

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad you liked this chapter. Thinking back, I think this chapter may have been the one where I kind of got into my groove and had a good feel for what I wanted the story to become...so hopefully, if this is your favourite, that's a good sign for the rest of the story too! :)

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by RainbowVeins 

17th January 2010:
oh i really hope u dont make lily wallow in self pity because thats a HUGE cliche it would be nice if she gets a guy herself ;) but im still lovin this story so u must be doing something right! :)

Author's Response: I don't think Lily is much of a wallower--she's quite stoic, so I imagine she would carry on and try to not let the little things bother her. In any case, since you've read further, you know she doesn't have much time to spend wallowing, anyway. :)

I'm so happy that you're still loving the story, and thanks for continuing to review as you read along!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Allitee 

9th January 2010:
Yes i no my name is a lil weird- its really Alyssa Tepperman-my older brother Hank couln't say it all when I was born,so thats what it sounded like, anyhoo just sayn i looove ur story. TA TA!!!

Author's Response: Hi there! I don't think your name is weird. :) Considering that very few people use real names for their pen names on this site, you fit right in!

I'm really glad to hear that you're enjoying the story. I hope you like the rest of the chapters when you read them!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review, and also for bringing my review count up to 200! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by RocketBabyDoll9 

3rd January 2010:
I really enjoy the way you alternate between your POVs. You do it in a way that Mental used to write "Match". You don't have the same type of story, but the way you switch them is very similar. It's not confusing, and it's refreshing to hear from someone else. I never plan on writing from another person's POV in my story, unless it's one chapter, because 1st person POV switches are not only aggravating and confusing, they're difficult to write, and sometimes annoying to read. It's easy to write 1st person though, if you don't change the POVs. Sorry if that was confusing, hah. It's midnight and I'm sleepy.

I really liked this chapter. It drew me in and had a nice flow. Not a lot happened, but I still really liked it.

I dislike Ursula though. I don't care if she's pretty and knows a lot about Quidditch, she throws herself at James. Okay, she doesn't *throw* herself at him, but she's annoyingly blatant over her feelings for him, and that bothers me immensely. I like people who are subtle. Or maybe I just really want Lily and James to be together. (:

I didn't know that Lily and Anna and Mary weren't always friends! Maybe you mentioned it and I forgot? It's understandable though, as she was always friends with Severus. I never saw her in a "clique" anyway, so that's refreshing. I have to admit though, Anna has kind of always bothered me. She's very harsh, but I feel like we need to see her family or something to understand her better.

Anyway, another great and enjoyable chapter!

10/10!

Author's Response: Whoo, that is a hefty comparison there. :P I never noticed that before, but I'll have to go back and read a bit of "Match" to see if I can spot what you mean. I am really glad that you find them refreshing. It's certainly nice at times when I'm writing to be able to switch over and write about a different scenario. I know EXACTLY what you mean about 1st-person POV changes. Unless you've got characters with really distinct voices, it really doesn't work, and even then it can be kind of confusing. I do like 1st person when you're just staying in one perspective, though. I think if I had written this story from only one perspective I might have ended up using 1st person, which was precisely the reason that I didn't write it from just one perspective. I really wanted to be able to include both Lily & James equally.

Ha, I don't blame you for not liking Ursula. She's a bit of an obstacle, though a minor one, as I'm sure you know since you've read on further already. I suppose you have to give her points for confidence, though. :P

You know, I don't remember if I mentioned the dynamic between the three girls before this chapter or not. I don't imagine that they weren't friends before--after all, they're in the same house and the same year. I just figure that Lily would have spent less time and effort on her friendships with them than the one with Snape, and only really changed that after fifth year. And I completely agree with you, it never seemed like Lily was part of some tight-knit group of friends, or else you'd think it might have been mentioned somewhere in the books. I think your judgment of Anna is probably fair at this point--she's not really a very appealing character, but she does have her good sides. Hopefully I'll be able to expand on them a bit as I keep writing.

Thanks again for the review! I look forward to seeing what you have to say about the rest of the story, whenever you get the time to review. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Leigh Kelley 

30th October 2009:
And Dearborn is once again being an idiot. I know he's dealing with Seventh Years, but I can't help but wonder if he's a bit like Moody, and happened to show those objects to the lower years as well. What if some idiot didn't take the thing being cursed seriously, and did something stupid and ended up dying? With Dearborn's philosophy, it would just be the boy/girl's own fault, so I guess he wouldn't care. Oye.

As for James snagging a date... Good for him, but I feel bad for Lily. She likes him, and now she's experiencing the pangs of jealousy. I almost wish he hadn't gotten a date, but it would have been unbelievable if he pined after her for all those years and didn't date anyone else :/.

Ah well, it works for creating tension. Can't wait to see what happens at ole Sluggy's party.

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Definitely not the best judgment on Dearborn's part! I think he thought that people would be really impressed and didn't really think about how stupid it was...again with the bad teaching methods. Haha. Anyway, I like that you pay attention to him and have stuff to say about his character!

And yes, poor Lily! :( But of course she's so stubborn she'd never admit that it upset her, just like she didn't go do the simple thing by talking to James after they argued. I'm glad you think it makes sense that he would have dated someone else, at least!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Harry and Ginny 

14th October 2009:
this chapter was fantastic and i'm sorry again if i only got to review now. school makes it impossible, plus i have been using my laptop. i like how Lily, even though she won't admit to herself, is jealous of James taking Ursula to Slughorn's party.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Don't worry at all! I appreciate reviews so much, I will take them any time. :)

And yes, she is just a tad jealous, isn't she? Although I might be tempted to say it's not just jealousy alone, because I don't think she really wants to date him yet. It's more like...she kind of thinks if James is going to be friends with a girl, it should be herself. Friend jealousy, not romantic jealousy, you know? Or that's how I see it, at least!

Thank you so much for reviewing, and good luck with school! (Oh, what's that? Is that an essay that I should be doing right now, calling my name? Maybe if I pretend I can't hear it, it'll just go away...) :P


 Report Review

Review #16, by heyITSme 

12th October 2009:
love the story!! its great! i like how you're taking everything slow and it's all...real. and so not clique. lily has only been good friends with anna and mary for like a year and there are no perfect head's dorms. this story is great and sticks to canon perfectly! i love it!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm so thrilled you took the time to review! I'm glad you like how it's going slow and realistically--sometimes I feel like I'm going TOO slow and people are really bored. But I feel like it's worth it to make a story that's realistic and not over-dramatized and accurate to canon. Although I read stories with Heads' dorms, I could never put it in one of my own stories, just because I don't think it makes sense with canon. And I'm glad you like the real-ness of Lily's friendships with Mary and Anna--it's going to become a bigger focus of the story later on.

It makes me so so so happy that you enjoyed the story!! Thanks again for reviewing! I hope you'll keep reading. I'm just about to put the next chapter in the queue, so you won't have to wait too long. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jimmette 

11th October 2009:
YAY! UPDATE!
aah, I was starting to go into withdrawal!

Well, I would once again like to praise your knack for making a story very original, yet believable.
Dearborn, the DADA class and the story of the cursed candlesticks felt like it could've come straight out of one of the books!
I also like how you've done the Lily-develops-feelings-for-James part.
She is obviously conflicted but you haven't made her a desperate, hormonal, blubbering mess, which seems out of character for her, yet so many other fics tend to do that to her.
Which is what I like about your writing. It's articulate and descriptive, but not exaggerated :)

Oh, and to top it all off, you made me laugh again;
"Lily wondered if being in the presence of dragons had made him thirstier than a regular person"
lolololololololol!

Please update soon! :)

Author's Response: Oh, I'm SO sorry it took me such a long time!! I am really pining for the days of summer when I could just write and not have to worry about homework...blech. Anyway, I think I've got to do something like set aside an hour or two every other day just to write this story.

Your reviews make me feel so good about this story. :) The cursed candlesticks thing was actually what I wrote to replace what I edited out, and I'm so glad you liked it because I thought it might sound a bit rushed or something.

And Lily, a desperate, blubbering, hormonal mess?? No way! I completely agree with you; besides the fact that it doesn't seem in character for her at all, it's been done a million times. She misses having him as a friend, and she's unbelievably stubborn (as is James), but we're still a ways away from anything recognizably more. Which I think is realistic. Am I wrong?

I love hearing what you thought was funny, because most of the time I don't think I'm that good at humour! When I do, it's very dry things like the dragon line, so I'm glad someone appreciates it.

And to top it all of, I just glanced up and smiled again: "Which is what I like about your writing. It's articulate and descriptive, but not exaggerated". Thank you so so so so much for brightening my day with your review!

Next chapter coming soon...in which Lily and James may actually speak to one another at length. Maybe. That's all I'm saying. ;)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Felicity 

10th October 2009:
Great story ! Looking forward to the rest of it !

Author's Response: Oh yay, it makes me so happy to hear from new reviewers!! Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and I'm so glad you like the story! (And by the way, I love the name Felicity!)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review