Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
76 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dramione 

21st November 2016:
cute, and i would like to see more advancement in the relationship. Then again, i still have half the book to go.

Author's Response: Yes, there's quite a bit to go yet. Though I do like torturing people and making them wait, hahahaha. Glad you're enjoying it!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Mikaila 

27th July 2016:
Something just occured to me, I'm pretty sure J.K. Rowling said James was a seeker.

Author's Response: Ah, the first movie said he was a Seeker, but JKR actually made him a Chaser. It's easy to get confused, though. Just Google "James Potter Chaser" if you want to find the original quote.
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Once again, you somehow managed to make a chapter about exams interesting to read about! I think that alone says something about how interesting and entertaining this story is to read, not to mention the quality of your writing.

Laura is making me laugh a little bit with how pessimistic she is when it comes to Sirius. I can understand why she would be so convinced that he's never going to like her but it's obvious that he does to me and she's putting herself through hell for nothing - soon she'll be worrying that he sees her as just another one of the fan club! I've not mentioned her character development for a while but she's grown so much in confidence over this year that it's really nice to see.

I loved reading about the conversation between Sirius and Laura (okay, I love reading all interactions between the two of them) and seeing the way that he decided to confide in her. It shows how much he trusts her and is more proof to me that he likes her; at least he's going to be able to support himself now and he won't feel so bad about the fact he's living off charity.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, he's confiding in her. And with something like this, that's kind of a big deal, and much bigger than Laura realises at the time. And yeah, I really do think that living off charity would have galled him, don't you? Remus puts it well later in the story - you have to sacrifice a certain amount of pride and personal dignity to let someone else support you. And pride and personal diginty is somthing the Blacks have in spades, don't you think?

And yes, Laura is completely pessimistic, but like I said, with Elvira as a comparative it's easier to understand why she's so secretive about it all. Sigh. If these kids could only communicate, the story would ahve been very different!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Harry Potter 

28th February 2013:
James is seeker, not chaser!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

I hate to break it to you but it was only the movies that had James as a Seeker: JKR has most definitely confirmed he was a Chaser. I'm not allowed to do links here but if you Google "James Potter Chaser" you'll find the quote quickly enough.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Olga 

1st January 2013:
I love that he told her his uncle died. And haha ooh sexy shirtless marauders! I love Lauras thought process, too:-)

Author's Response: Lol. I think Laura's thought processes are very common for girls around that age, don't you? Glad you liked it though. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
Great chapter. Loved it 9/10 : )

Author's Response: thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gigi 

4th January 2012:
No I just notice I'm nearing the middle of the book. NOO! I don't want it to end. This is so good it doesn't deserve 10/10.

Author's Response: Why thank you! That is indeed a compliment. Unfortunately it does end, though it is VERY long so maybe that will make up for it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by classicblack 

21st October 2011:
Good job! I like these no-drama chapters, espeically the "strip show" as you so gently put it haha. 6th year is over and I'm hoping to see more Sirius/Laura next year! I just realized that you spend 30 chapters of 7th year, weird...
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: LOL. Do I? I guess I do. Then again, a lot happens in seventh year so that's my excuse, hahaha. :D

As for the strip show, well I thought a bit of "self-promotion" from the boys would do the girls the world of good. At least, if it was me it would have. And that's as good a reason as any, right?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Switchfan 

13th September 2011:
I thought the books said that James wasn't a Chaser, he was the Seeker??
However, I have literally been unable to put down my iPod since I started reading this story. It's so cute and adorable. I live the tension between Sirius and Laura.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

The movies made James a Seeker, but JKR has confirmed he was definitely a Chaser. A lot of people get confused by that so don't worry, you're not alone. :)

And i'm so pleased you're enjoying the story so much, that really does mean a lot to me. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

7th August 2011:
If I had to pick a line that summed out how obvious her feelings are getting to the general public thus far, I'd have to say this has made it more than obvious: “Look, James,” I said with a touch of exasperation, “just because I’m female doesn’t mean I automatically know where Sirius is. Not every girl is so hung up on him that they keep tabs on his whereabouts.” Particularly because I can only imagine the look on James' face when she said it. It's one of those magical lines that you can just hear being delivered from one character to another, and I think in a lot of ways, it was just one of those lines you can never quite forget reading for all the right reasons.

I did notice one thing that caught my eye, you mention that they brewed the Polyjuice Potion under exam conditions, however I was under the impression that it took a month to brew due to the lacewing flies (or something like that) being required to stew for 21 days or something along those lines. It's only small I know, and it's probably me being a complete and utter canon-fact-collector, but it caught my eye so I though I'd mention it.

Another brilliant chapter here, I particularly love how you've portrayed Sirius' emotions and the reasoning behind them... Poor Sirius, I really do pity him in your story, he seems to be so much more than the usual trouble maker he is usually portrayed as in fanfiction, and actually human in this, and it's so amazing to see! Keep up the great work!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Right, Polyjuice Potion. I've now added an author note to this chapter because people kept bringing it up. I know it takes a month to brew, but the idea was that the students would have been provided with pre-stewed lacewing flies and fluxweed picked at the right time and the like, and then have to brew the potion under exam conditions. That would still be hard, right? So yeah, while it does seem like an error that was what I had in mind. :)

Aside from that, yeah James thought that line was funny, but I will say that she's not being as obvious as you think because only a couple of people are catching on. More on that later. :)

And thank you for saying that Sirius is something more than the pranker so many fanfics make him. He's actually a pretty complicated character and that was what I tried to show in this story - I know that it's not a common portrayal of him but I like to think it might be accurate.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne 

6th August 2011:
Aww James took muggle studies to know more about Lily's world, he is becoming such a sweet little character.
And I always end up feeling sorry for Sirius :-(
And it's nice to see a tiny bit of the pride the Black household has in him, when he mentions how Blacks don't normally accept charity, even though he appreciates it.
I can't wait to read more

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yes, good old James. I always figured that he'd take Muggle Studies as a bit of an easy subject, and the link to Lily made it even better. Well, in my version, anyway! :)

And yes, I think that a lof of how he was brought up would have been hard to leave behind, even if he didn't realise he was doing it. Pride in the name is part of that, I think.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by girly1393 

6th June 2011:
Ah, teenage boys. If only I could find the attractive variety at my school...

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, not all schools have a James or a Sirius, who seem to have it all (and in a sense are totally cliched characters as a result). But then again that's the joy of fiction, isn't it? You can make someone as fantastic as you want to. And if they choose to put on a display during exam week, then so be it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Katie 

27th December 2010:
just a quick bit about the potions exam, didn't polyjuice potion take quite some time to stew? Even in Chamber of Secrets once they had procured the ingredients they had to steal it still took two weeks, and that was after it had gotten to the point where those ingredients were needed.
Obviously you're the author not me, and I really enjoy this story. Just a thought

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

I've had a few reviews like this so I think that once the queue re-opens I might put a revised author note in this chapter. Yes, Polyjuice Potion does take a month or so to make from scratch, because you have to pre-stew the lacewing flies and pick the fluxweed (or whatever it was) at the full moon. However, I was thinking that for an exam the students could be provided with pre-stewed flies and fluxweed that's already been picked and still have to put it together in order and correctly. That would still be hard, right? So yes, while you are absolutely right this was what I was thinking when I wrote it.

Thanks for pointing it out, though, it's nice to know I have such attentive readers. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lucifers Daughter 

8th December 2010:
Great chapter, as always. I would just like to point out that it is very unlikely that they would get the polyjuice potion to brew at the exam, as the lacewing flies have to stew for 21 days, thus taking the potion almost a month to brew. Just a minor detail.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!!

You're not the only person who has pointed this out in this chapter, but the way I was thinking was like this: while you need to stew your lacewing flies for a month and pick the fluxweed at the full moon (or whatever it is, I forget), I thought that for an exam the students could be provided with pre-stewed lacewing flies and other ingredients that are at the right stage in their development and have to put them together in the right order, doing the right number of stirs, under exam conditions. That would still be hard, right? At least, that was where I was coming from with this. Maybe I should put in an author note or something explaining that, hahaha.

Aside from that minor detail, I'm glad you still liked the chapter. Thanks!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by theelderwand 

21st August 2010:
James, Remus and Peter all know, don't they? Sirius has confided in them (or they figured it out on their own) and now they're doing everything in their power to help him out.

James line "And that of course is why," was excellent. Perfect.

Good to see Sirius has some funds of his own now; but he did still manage to inherit the Black fortune - I don't remember my canon here, I'll have to check how that all worked out. Good flourish with his uncle's death and Sirius not being told. Great opportunity that opened up for Laura.

Now, when will this finally fall into place? Urg! James seems to be making progress, but L/S are still in a holding pattern.

Mel, this is really great writing, compelling

Eldy

Author's Response: Oh yes, they all know. And they are making Sirius' life hell as a result, as I'm sure you can imagine. *grins* But yes, they are trying to help, in their own ways. I do love James, he's so obvious, but Laura is so oblivious to the whole thing that it's wasted. Like I said, I'm cruel to my main pair.

I'll help you with your canon - Sirius lived with James from the time he left home (aged 16) to when his uncle died and left him some gold (aged 17). We don't know exactly when either event occurred, nor do we know that Sirius wasn't told about it (that was my invention), so I had some leeway there. He got the rest of the Black fortune on the death of his mother in 1985 because she hadn't done her Will well enough to disinherit him - the magical bonds entailing it to the eldest son were too strong. Make sense?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Nice - I was wondering what might happen in order for Laura to end up showing her interest, and topless sports definitely fitted the bill. Poor Peter indeed though - again, his eventual betrayal makes sense when you think of how insecure he must have constantly felt around them.

Also loved the way you handled Sirius' uncle dying - an important plot point, but one I'd never fully considered before. His mixed emotions were perfect, and it was lovely the way you had Laura helping him to break out of the conflict.

Finally, the section where James and Remus try and get Laura to spend time with Sirius - does that mean what I think it does - that they know about his interest? If so, then yay! As ever, things are put forward so organically and subtly in this story that I'm constantly guessing, but never certain what the other characters are thinking, which is really compelling to read. On the note...

Author's Response: Hi again!

Absolutely that scene means what you think it does. They're trying to help their friend out, and if they manage to embarrass him in the process so much the better. :D

And yes, topless sports were needed, I think. Though you make an excellent point about Peter - he never could live up to them in any way, could he? And he must have felt so triumphant at being able to fool them for a year when he'd turned. Probably not relevant to the matter at hand but certainly food for thought.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
one more year of school!!! so short!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, one more year left. But a lot of chapters to go because I squeeze a LOT into that one year. Hope you like it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by ericajen 

27th July 2010:
Oh, those boys. I would have been exactly in Laura's position in such a situation as three decidedly gorgeous boys removing their shirts. Though I would have played it off like I wasn't embarrassed, haha. At risk of sounding like a broken record, this story is very good, Mel(: I'm glad I finally took the time to read it.

Author's Response: Hey, the girls needed some eye candy, I thought. Or at least a distraction from studying - and what better than this? It would have distracted me at that age, I'll admit that much. :) As for pretending not to be embarrassed, well Laura's not that confident about her acting abilities. Or much else, for that matter. She'll have to work on that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by always_dreaming 

25th March 2010:
i loved the bit where james asked laura where sirius was. her response was so good! i might memorize it and use it on my friends :)

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Oh, you liked that one? That's been sitting in the back of my head for years, I have no idea where I got it from. I do know that I've used it myself more than once though so by all means do it too. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Shootingstar_miracle 

23rd March 2010:
Hey, great story! I really enjoy reading this, but I thought I'd point out that Polyjuice Potion takes a month (or more, I can't remember exactly) to brew and therefore wouldn't be on a practical exam.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

You know, a few people have pointed this out now, to the point that I'm thinking of putting an author note in to explain it. You certainly have a point in that Polyjuice Potion takes a month to brew, that was hammered home pretty strongly in CoS. I do realise that. You need to pick the fluxweed at the full moon and stew the lacewing flies and all that sort of thing (and I don't have the book handy to check the details but it was something like that - please forgive me if I've got those wrong). But, what I was thinking was, even with all that, the potion is still pretty complex to put together, isn't it? Even Hermione groaned when she looked at the method. So, the idea for the exam was that the students would have all the ingredients provided to them, including pre-stewed lacewing flies (or whatever it was that had to be stewed for a month), and put it all together in the right order under exam conditions. That would still be tricky, right?

Of course, I could have it completely wrong but I'm not sure that anyone other than JKR could tell me with any certainty if it would be possible to do it that way or not, but that was how I approached the exam thing. So yeah, it does take a month to brew, but I thought that sixth year students could do a pretty reasonable facsimile of the finished potion if they had all those ingredients already provided in the correct condition.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by ochalke5 

10th January 2010:
I always, want more Sirius/Laura action!!! But i am rather hopeful seeing as these last few chapters have gone that it will be soon!!! Great work Mel!
10/10
natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie!

Ah, I think just about everyone wants more Sirius/Laura at this point, including the two in question. However, I have a very strict story plan so The Snog has to happen at a certain time. When you get there hopefully you'll understand my reasoning. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
For the last bit with all the shirtless guys: BAHAHAHAHAHA. That's just brilliant. I would have been giggling so badly... I love being an annoying girl sometimes. Haha. But that's amazing.. and god! Just let them go at it or something.. this is getting way too.. cruel to watch/read. It's so... I can't even find the right words for it. I love all the talk of alcohol, it's always amusing to joke around like that. And she totally should have taken up the offer to have Sirius tutor herr! Agh...

Author's Response: Hi again!

As I've mentioned to other people, I very nearly took that shirtless scene out entirely. Something to do with it, or a variety thereof, happening in every single Marauder fic out there, so it felt a bit too cliched. But then, people seem to like it so I'm glad I left it in. :D

As for the sexual tension, well sorry but it's just too much fun to write! I had a lovely time torturing my main pair. Still am, come to think of it. And yeah, maybe she should have taken up the offer of tutoring - who knows what might have come out of that one. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by boo 

20th December 2009:
polyjuice potion takes a month to make. you can't make it in one exam.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

I know Polyjuice Potion takes a month to brew because you have to stew the lacewing flies and pick something else at the full moon (I don't have CoS handy to check the details). However, I thought it could still be used for an exam in that they could have pre-stewed lacewing flies and everything else already done for them, and the students have to put it all together in the right order. That would still be tricky, right? In any case that was what I was thinking when I wrote that. (Of course, it may not be possible - I'm not JKR so I don't know the intricacies of things like this - so it could be an error. I'm open to that.) Good pickup though! :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by The Merry Quoter 

10th November 2009:
Great story, awww I'm almost reaching the end of what you've posted T_T

Just wondering, hehe,
In the err second to last paragraph you say they made a Polyjuice Potion... Doesen't that take like a month to make? xD Unless they just made one days' worth I guess.

Author's Response: Hi again!

You're not the first person to ask me about the Polyjuice Potion, and I know you need to stew the lacewing flies for a month and that sort of thing, but I figured that for an exam they would just have pre-stewed lacewing flies, and provide fluxweed that was picked at the full moon (or whatever it was, I don't have the book handy to check), and the students have to put it all together in the exam. That would still be hard, right? In any case, that was where I was coming from with that one.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by love drama fun 

25th October 2009:
the drooling part was hilarious but not exactly in tune with the rest of the novel...everything else is perfect

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

You know, I never really thought about that scene not fitting with the rest of the story - I'll have a think about that. Because it felt like it did when I wrote it. Maybe I'll have to re-read the chapter and see whether I agree with you. :) I do appreciate the feedback though.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>